Development of Tuam Stadium

Replying To johnterry:  "We couldn't beat Leitrim in Tuam in the 90s, lost to mayo 97, drew with roscommon in 98, lost to mayo 99 and roscommon in 2001 all with one of our greatest ever sides that win 2 all irelands. I'm a fan of Tuam but don't paint it up as some sort of advantage without factoring in actual results. It's also closer to Castlebar/Ballyhaunis/Claremorris/ than most of the clubs affiliated to our own football board and is if no use to our hurling team which has a much bigger fan base."
It certainly was an advantage. Yes we lost to mayo in 97 and 99 but that was no disgrace. That mayo team were arguably one of the best mayo teams of all times. They were narrowly beaten or robbed in a controversial All Ireland replay by meath in 96 and then lost again to kerry in 97 when maurice fitz kicked 10 points off pat holmes.

The victory by mayo in Tuam in 1997 was hugely significant for them. It was viewed by them at the time as a massive monkey off their backs as up to that point, they had failed to beat Galway in senior championship football for nearly 45 years in Tuam Stadium. You have failed to mention that.

If you were to ask any mayo supporter or former mayo player in the 50's, 60's, 70's, 80' or 90's was playing Galway in Tuam in senior championship seen as an advantage to Galway or Mayo, anyone with any knowledge of the game would tell you it clearly was an advantage to Galway as mayo couldn't beat them there. That's the sort of tradition Tuam Stadium had.

As for that leitrim team, from what I can recall, they beat Mayo, Roscommon and Galway in 1994 so it's clear they were the greatest leitrim side ever produced by that county. Likewise, that Roscommon team was very strong and indeed connacht football at the time was never as strong.

Reversepass1 (Galway) - Posts: 268 - 21/06/2019 18:54:48    2198387

Replying To Reversepass1:  "It certainly was an advantage. Yes we lost to mayo in 97 and 99 but that was no disgrace. That mayo team were arguably one of the best mayo teams of all times. They were narrowly beaten or robbed in a controversial All Ireland replay by meath in 96 and then lost again to kerry in 97 when maurice fitz kicked 10 points off pat holmes.

The victory by mayo in Tuam in 1997 was hugely significant for them. It was viewed by them at the time as a massive monkey off their backs as up to that point, they had failed to beat Galway in senior championship football for nearly 45 years in Tuam Stadium. You have failed to mention that.

If you were to ask any mayo supporter or former mayo player in the 50's, 60's, 70's, 80' or 90's was playing Galway in Tuam in senior championship seen as an advantage to Galway or Mayo, anyone with any knowledge of the game would tell you it clearly was an advantage to Galway as mayo couldn't beat them there. That's the sort of tradition Tuam Stadium had.

As for that leitrim team, from what I can recall, they beat Mayo, Roscommon and Galway in 1994 so it's clear they were the greatest leitrim side ever produced by that county. Likewise, that Roscommon team was very strong and indeed connacht football at the time was never as strong."
So to summarise what you're saying. They only time we lost in Tuam was to the greatest ever Mayo team in 99, the greatest ever Leitrim team in the mid 90s and one of the greatest ever Roscommon teams in 2001.

I don't see the relevance in asking mayo people what they think of playing in Tuam.
Ask the clifden, renyvle and Leitir Mor people.
Do Kerry people wonder whether Corkonians prefer Tralee or Killarney.

Anyway its 2018 not the 50s and 60s.

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 22/06/2019 08:26:50    2198496

Replying To johnterry:  "So to summarise what you're saying. They only time we lost in Tuam was to the greatest ever Mayo team in 99, the greatest ever Leitrim team in the mid 90s and one of the greatest ever Roscommon teams in 2001.

I don't see the relevance in asking mayo people what they think of playing in Tuam.

Anyway its 2018 not the 50s and 60s."
No relevance in asking you either ..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 22/06/2019 10:41:08    2198515

Replying To johnterry:  "So to summarise what you're saying. They only time we lost in Tuam was to the greatest ever Mayo team in 99, the greatest ever Leitrim team in the mid 90s and one of the greatest ever Roscommon teams in 2001.

You said in your original post "I'm a fan of tuam but don't paint it up as some type of advantage without factoring in results". What do you call mayo failing to beat Galway in Tuam in the championship for nearly 45 years until 1997. How would you paint that up or is it irrelevant.

That was an amazing record. You can ignore that fact all you want but It's called tradition something that Pearse stadium lacks. You're probably too young to even know that record existed and I'll give you a pass on that one but you should read up on the history of Galway football and Tuam Stadium in particular before you come out with daft comments like that.

In your eyes, venue is not important. The fact is, we made a mistake moving to Pearse Stadium. It has been unpopular with players and I'd argue with most supporters also. Getting to and from matches is a nightmare and attendances are down in general.

You never concede your home venue in sport and that's what we did when we switched from Tuam to Pearse Stadium. You mention Kerry people in your latest post but It's hard to imagine Kerry deciding to abandon killarney or Tralee and setting up shop in Dingle 500 yards from the beach. That's what we did.

By the way in relation to the defeat in 97, I said it was one of the greatest mayo teams of all times not the greatest mayo team.

There are alot of people doing amazing work in Tuam Stadium at present. We should all get behind the development. They deserve great credit and should be supported in their amazing efforts to date. You might dismiss it but history, tradition amd venue counts for alot in all sports and by extension so does Tuam Stadium

Reversepass1 (Galway) - Posts: 268 - 22/06/2019 14:59:34    2198578

Argue all ye want lads. We're staying in Pearse for championship. If you want to support the lads, by all means come and support them in Pearse. Don't cry and whine about a little wind or moan about traffic. If it's a traffic issue then why not travel from Pearse through Moycullen and around the corrib to the Tuam/NG area??

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 22/06/2019 16:01:58    2198592

In all fairness Clifden, Renvyle and Leitir Mor havent contributed a lot to Galway football and the number of supporters travelling from these places wouldnt fill a bus. Tuam is the home of Galway football and always will be. On the day of the Connacht final once you left the Salthill area you wouldnt even know there was a game on. There is practically no support for football in Galway town.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 22/06/2019 17:20:55    2198617

Replying To Reversepass1:  "You said in your original post "I'm a fan of tuam but don't paint it up as some type of advantage without factoring in results". What do you call mayo failing to beat Galway in Tuam in the championship for nearly 45 years until 1997. How would you paint that up or is it irrelevant.

That was an amazing record. You can ignore that fact all you want but It's called tradition something that Pearse stadium lacks. You're probably too young to even know that record existed and I'll give you a pass on that one but you should read up on the history of Galway football and Tuam Stadium in particular before you come out with daft comments like that.

In your eyes, venue is not important. The fact is, we made a mistake moving to Pearse Stadium. It has been unpopular with players and I'd argue with most supporters also. Getting to and from matches is a nightmare and attendances are down in general.

You never concede your home venue in sport and that's what we did when we switched from Tuam to Pearse Stadium. You mention Kerry people in your latest post but It's hard to imagine Kerry deciding to abandon killarney or Tralee and setting up shop in Dingle 500 yards from the beach. That's what we did.

By the way in relation to the defeat in 97, I said it was one of the greatest mayo teams of all times not the greatest mayo team.

There are alot of people doing amazing work in Tuam Stadium at present. We should all get behind the development. They deserve great credit and should be supported in their amazing efforts to date. You might dismiss it but history, tradition amd venue counts for alot in all sports and by extension so does Tuam Stadium"
Great work going on in Tuam. I rem. a relative of mine worked in Mayo and coming up to Connacht finals in Tuam he would sound out the Mayo lads. The general consensus then was "Ah sure, they're beaten before they go up.." That's the effect Tuam Stadium venue had on not just Mayo, but most opposition. Nowadays, the opposition know Pearse is an albatross to Galway football and, they come to play confident it's a 50/50 battle.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 594 - 22/06/2019 18:11:09    2198627

It's been 20 years since Tuam Stadium was full for a game involving Galway, even at a drastically reduced capacity.

Can the patrons from the "home" of Galway football explain this fact?

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 22/06/2019 18:24:59    2198631

Replying To Really:  "Great work going on in Tuam. I rem. a relative of mine worked in Mayo and coming up to Connacht finals in Tuam he would sound out the Mayo lads. The general consensus then was "Ah sure, they're beaten before they go up.." That's the effect Tuam Stadium venue had on not just Mayo, but most opposition. Nowadays, the opposition know Pearse is an albatross to Galway football and, they come to play confident it's a 50/50 battle."
Everything is dandy until Galway lose. When they lose blame the pitch. Ffs.

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 22/06/2019 18:31:12    2198634

Even though I love Galway city as a venue for games - for pre and post game options mainly.
In terms of the actual matches themselves it has to be Tuam Stadium .
Pearse as a venue has no atmosphere - for either football or hurling.
Tuam Stadium itself I much rather for the matches themselves.
This thing about the crowd in Tuam is a myth though.
Early 90s home games in Tuam and we had rubbish crowds.
Even this year at home to Kerry - hardly renowned for their support - it was 50-50.
The only two really big Home crowds I can remember in Tuam Stadium were the Connacht finals of 1998 and 1999 against Ros and Mayo.
The Galway crowd on both of those days was savage.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 22/06/2019 18:55:52    2198636

Replying To crafty:  "In all fairness Clifden, Renvyle and Leitir Mor havent contributed a lot to Galway football and the number of supporters travelling from these places wouldnt fill a bus. Tuam is the home of Galway football and always will be. On the day of the Connacht final once you left the Salthill area you wouldnt even know there was a game on. There is practically no support for football in Galway town."
Absolute hogwash.My first Connacht final was Galway hammering the Rossies in 71.
There was bull talked about Tuam then same as now, mainly by people from Tuam or close to it.
I've seen us play in Tuam in many occasions and seen us lose there on many occasions!
I've seen our supporters outnumbered there too.Last January in the FBD game 90% of the crowd in Tuam were Mayo supporters.
Furthermore some of the most loyal Galway supporters come from the outposts in Connemara.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 22/06/2019 19:06:35    2198641

Replying To crafty:  "In all fairness Clifden, Renvyle and Leitir Mor havent contributed a lot to Galway football and the number of supporters travelling from these places wouldnt fill a bus. Tuam is the home of Galway football and always will be. On the day of the Connacht final once you left the Salthill area you wouldnt even know there was a game on. There is practically no support for football in Galway town."
Well said crafty. It's a gas to hear those giving out about Tuam not being much of a 'fortress' on here. Salthill wasn't much of a fortress against Ros recently or for the hurlers against Wexford.

We'd be a long time waiting for one football Ireland never mind nine, only for Tuam and the surrounding area.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 22/06/2019 19:43:46    2198654

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Well said crafty. It's a gas to hear those giving out about Tuam not being much of a 'fortress' on here. Salthill wasn't much of a fortress against Ros recently or for the hurlers against Wexford.

We'd be a long time waiting for one football Ireland never mind nine, only for Tuam and the surrounding area."
Were each one of those All-Ireland winning sides exclusively made up of mythical North Galway footballers who could win games by themselves?

For all the sense of entitlement the likes of you still hold onto, there's very little to justify it nowadays.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 22/06/2019 20:26:41    2198671

Replying To FallenStar:  "Were each one of those All-Ireland winning sides exclusively made up of mythical North Galway footballers who could win games by themselves?

For all the sense of entitlement the likes of you still hold onto, there's very little to justify it nowadays."
The only wonder of this thread is that it took you so long to give out about Tuam in particular and North Galway in general. Normally you're a lot quicker off the mark.

If you're such a fan, you should know how much that part of the county contributed to those All-Irelands. As you don't, try looking it up sometime.

No sense of entitlement at all. But it's hard not to laugh at the likes of you on here who waste no time in giving out about that part of the county. It must kill you to see the likes of Corofin doing so well.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 22/06/2019 21:07:17    2198693

Galway county board are broke. They have no money at the moment. So it will be Pearse stadium for the forseable future. Pearse has a great pitch. Galway hurlers won an All Ireland on it in 2017. It is ok, Galway need the stadium in the city. Tuam is a long term job, fully refitted in 2027 or 2028.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 22/06/2019 21:28:51    2198711

Replying To Ailteoir:  "The only wonder of this thread is that it took you so long to give out about Tuam in particular and North Galway in general. Normally you're a lot quicker off the mark.

If you're such a fan, you should know how much that part of the county contributed to those All-Irelands. As you don't, try looking it up sometime.

No sense of entitlement at all. But it's hard not to laugh at the likes of you on here who waste no time in giving out about that part of the county. It must kill you to see the likes of Corofin doing so well."
Oh don't worry Ailteoir, I grew up hearing all about it. You forget where I actually come from and still actually live. Being a Tuam Stars man, I'd probably take greater joy if another Galway club team was winning everything like Corofin are right now. However, unlike yourself and many others who reinforce this home notion every now and then, I'm rooted in reality. I have no problem crediting Corofin for their success. They deserve every single bit of it!

Indeed I am fan of Galway football. I'm a bit of anorak when it comes to history in general, but even more so when it comes to sport. So it was only natural I did a little bit of digging.

It is often mentioned how terrified Mayo were coming to Tuam up until 1997. The last time before then they had beaten Galway in Shamtown was 1951 (they won something else that year as well). Over the next 46 years, they would play Galway another 11 times in Tuam. Now 11 games doesn't sound as vast as 46 years but to Galways credit (or was it Tuams?) they won 9 of those games and drew the other two.

Another question I often ask was why did it take Mayo 38 years to reach another All-Ireland final after 1951? Was it that Galway were so dominating? Were the Rossies too strong on occassion in other years? To an extent yes, we all know what Galway achieved since 1951 and the Rossies reached 2 All-Ireland finals in that time as well. But another thing was Mayo really weren't a force to be reckoned with in Connacht football for long periods of that 38 year spell. They would win only 7 provincial titles in that time period, compared to Galways 21 and the Rossies 9.

As a matter of fact, Mayo would fail to beat Galway in their own backyard of Castlebar from 1944 to 1969. There is much talk of how Mayo have failed to beat us in just the last 4 years so that's a lengthy drought. In the 46 years Tuam traumatised Mayo, Castlebar did little in return to Galway. Galway would in fact, win nearly as many times in Castlebar against Mayo as they did in Tuam (8 times from 1956 to 1987). Mayo would only beat Galway 6 times in the same time period.

It's possible that Mayo weren't that good of a team any time they played in Tuam. It would only be their resurgence in the late 90's that saw them overcome two very good Galway teams in 97 and 99.

It's also important to note that Galway actually played games in Pearse Stadium during this period after it initailly opened in 1957. Mayo would enjoy a rare victory here in 1967, their first in 14 years against Galway. They played twice more in Salthill, a draw in 1969 and a Galway win in 1984.

Galway's record in Pearse Stadium from 1957 until 1997 reads at 7 wins, one draw and 3 defeats. About what I would expect looking at their form in that same time period (the most successful Connacht team but not invincible)

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 22/06/2019 21:52:58    2198727

Anyone any idea when the work on the stand is due to commence had joe Otoole pledged the money to this work,DAFTS are doing a great job in rebuilding Tuam Sradium of there own back as there is little or no funding available from county board

Thelastword (Galway) - Posts: 37 - 23/06/2019 06:16:24    2198813

Replying To FallenStar:  "Oh don't worry Ailteoir, I grew up hearing all about it. You forget where I actually come from and still actually live. Being a Tuam Stars man, I'd probably take greater joy if another Galway club team was winning everything like Corofin are right now. However, unlike yourself and many others who reinforce this home notion every now and then, I'm rooted in reality. I have no problem crediting Corofin for their success. They deserve every single bit of it!

Indeed I am fan of Galway football. I'm a bit of anorak when it comes to history in general, but even more so when it comes to sport. So it was only natural I did a little bit of digging.

It is often mentioned how terrified Mayo were coming to Tuam up until 1997. The last time before then they had beaten Galway in Shamtown was 1951 (they won something else that year as well). Over the next 46 years, they would play Galway another 11 times in Tuam. Now 11 games doesn't sound as vast as 46 years but to Galways credit (or was it Tuams?) they won 9 of those games and drew the other two.

Another question I often ask was why did it take Mayo 38 years to reach another All-Ireland final after 1951? Was it that Galway were so dominating? Were the Rossies too strong on occassion in other years? To an extent yes, we all know what Galway achieved since 1951 and the Rossies reached 2 All-Ireland finals in that time as well. But another thing was Mayo really weren't a force to be reckoned with in Connacht football for long periods of that 38 year spell. They would win only 7 provincial titles in that time period, compared to Galways 21 and the Rossies 9.

As a matter of fact, Mayo would fail to beat Galway in their own backyard of Castlebar from 1944 to 1969. There is much talk of how Mayo have failed to beat us in just the last 4 years so that's a lengthy drought. In the 46 years Tuam traumatised Mayo, Castlebar did little in return to Galway. Galway would in fact, win nearly as many times in Castlebar against Mayo as they did in Tuam (8 times from 1956 to 1987). Mayo would only beat Galway 6 times in the same time period.

It's possible that Mayo weren't that good of a team any time they played in Tuam. It would only be their resurgence in the late 90's that saw them overcome two very good Galway teams in 97 and 99.

It's also important to note that Galway actually played games in Pearse Stadium during this period after it initailly opened in 1957. Mayo would enjoy a rare victory here in 1967, their first in 14 years against Galway. They played twice more in Salthill, a draw in 1969 and a Galway win in 1984.

Galway's record in Pearse Stadium from 1957 until 1997 reads at 7 wins, one draw and 3 defeats. About what I would expect looking at their form in that same time period (the most successful Connacht team but not invincible)"
No, I hadn't forgotten where you're from. But you spend a lot of time talking the place down.

As for reinforcing the 'home notion', not at all. The point I was making in relation to critics of Tuam such as yourself, is that Salthill isn't exactly a fortress either. e.g. 4 wins, 3 defeats against Mayo since 1997.

Fair play to the likes of the DAFTS for trying to re-develop the stadium. It's a pity a fraction of the millions of euro wasted on the Mountain South fiasco weren't spent on renovating Tuam.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 23/06/2019 12:45:05    2198912

Tuam Stadium & North Galway is the home of Galway football & historically so. Rural depopulation hasn't helped North Galway nor the fact that the football board is now dominated by the West. Representation on m'ment teams & players hasn't always what it should be at all levels of Galway teams over the last number of years. Some of these clubs with the most chimney pots esp around the city area winning underage titles but unable to produce anything else at adult level is a joke & is only building up certain coaches & players. The fact that DAFTS have to do all the fund raising themselves for Tuam Stadium is so wrong yet a Board can spend €30K on a doctor or €20K on an advisor from another sport, it shows the whole thing is a mess. Roscommon were delighted that the Connacht final was on a wet day in Pearse Stadium, they had no fear of it, outnumbered Galway supporters 2 to 1 & used the full width of it to show their kick passing abilities.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/06/2019 13:26:23    2198932

Replying To moc.dna:  "Tuam Stadium & North Galway is the home of Galway football & historically so. Rural depopulation hasn't helped North Galway nor the fact that the football board is now dominated by the West. Representation on m'ment teams & players hasn't always what it should be at all levels of Galway teams over the last number of years. Some of these clubs with the most chimney pots esp around the city area winning underage titles but unable to produce anything else at adult level is a joke & is only building up certain coaches & players. The fact that DAFTS have to do all the fund raising themselves for Tuam Stadium is so wrong yet a Board can spend €30K on a doctor or €20K on an advisor from another sport, it shows the whole thing is a mess. Roscommon were delighted that the Connacht final was on a wet day in Pearse Stadium, they had no fear of it, outnumbered Galway supporters 2 to 1 & used the full width of it to show their kick passing abilities."
Pearse stadium is also beside the Salthill Knocknacarragh GAA club. That is a Football club. The Pearse stadium pitch is great. It is not the pitch's fault if Galway Senior team hand pass all the time. Why don't they kick the football?
And quit blaming the ground. Another example, Connacht rugby play at a Greyhound track. FFS

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 23/06/2019 13:37:26    2198938