Development of Tuam Stadium

Will Tuam Stad get a match in the National League?

philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 21/10/2017 17:01:13    2056836

Replying To philip3:  "Will Tuam Stad get a match in the National League?"
Doubtful

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 21/10/2017 21:22:53    2056882

Hopefully not.

Diabhal (Galway) - Posts: 181 - 21/10/2017 22:39:56    2056898

They should play the Dubs there and not cut the grass.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 21/10/2017 22:56:05    2056904

Somehow I don't think the Dubs would take to kindly to having to do a warm up on the mulch behind the tin hut of a changing "facility" and neither should they or any team for that matter be made do a warm on that. Worse than the facilities is the fact that teams are not allowed onto the pitch until 10mins before a game. An absolute disgrace

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 22/10/2017 09:34:43    2056941

Replying To mkeary5:  "Somehow I don't think the Dubs would take to kindly to having to do a warm up on the mulch behind the tin hut of a changing "facility" and neither should they or any team for that matter be made do a warm on that. Worse than the facilities is the fact that teams are not allowed onto the pitch until 10mins before a game. An absolute disgrace"
Will be all change this time next year

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 22/10/2017 11:48:41    2056962

Salthill is the place for all the big matches,,,,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 22/10/2017 12:12:55    2056966

Replying To hoppingball:  "Salthill is the place for all the big matches,,,,,"
Tuam is the spiritual home of Galway football and the stadium needs to be developed. At present its like something from the 1950s and is an absolute disgrace. Pearse Stadium is far too wet and windy and too far removed from Galways football heartland. What has happened to the GAA in Tuam? Tuam is a fine town with a big population and deserves much better than this. Tuam is the home of Sean Purcell, Frank Stockwell, Mick Reynolds, Mick Garrett and St Jarlaths College. Is there no pride left in Galway football people? Imagine Galway playing in a new stadium in Tuam. It would be fantastic and would go a long way towards restoring the spirit and pride of Galway football which is not there at present. Young lads would aspire to playing there and not feel embarrassed by whats there at present. Planning needs to start now!

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 22/10/2017 12:50:26    2056971

Replying To crafty:  "Tuam is the spiritual home of Galway football and the stadium needs to be developed. At present its like something from the 1950s and is an absolute disgrace. Pearse Stadium is far too wet and windy and too far removed from Galways football heartland. What has happened to the GAA in Tuam? Tuam is a fine town with a big population and deserves much better than this. Tuam is the home of Sean Purcell, Frank Stockwell, Mick Reynolds, Mick Garrett and St Jarlaths College. Is there no pride left in Galway football people? Imagine Galway playing in a new stadium in Tuam. It would be fantastic and would go a long way towards restoring the spirit and pride of Galway football which is not there at present. Young lads would aspire to playing there and not feel embarrassed by whats there at present. Planning needs to start now!"
In all fairness Crafty you need to take your head out of the sand. Pearse Stadium not in football area? Galway is not that big of a place and we should support the football team no matter where they play or where they are from. Thats the difference with the Hurling supporter in the county they get behind their team where as in football a small minority are twisted and worry too much with where a lad is from etc.

philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 22/10/2017 20:16:15    2057051

Replying To philip3:  "In all fairness Crafty you need to take your head out of the sand. Pearse Stadium not in football area? Galway is not that big of a place and we should support the football team no matter where they play or where they are from. Thats the difference with the Hurling supporter in the county they get behind their team where as in football a small minority are twisted and worry too much with where a lad is from etc."
I didnt say that Pearse Stadium wasnt a football area. I said that Tuam is the spiritual home of Galway football and that the stadium needs to be modernised. It doesnt matter where the players come from as long as they really want to play for the jersey. I havent seen that in Galway football for a while. Many changes are needed to improve Galway football and I believe that a proper stadium in Tuam is one of them. You should respond to what is actually in the post and not what you imagine is there.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 22/10/2017 23:33:52    2057097

Replying To crafty:  "Tuam is the spiritual home of Galway football and the stadium needs to be developed. At present its like something from the 1950s and is an absolute disgrace. Pearse Stadium is far too wet and windy and too far removed from Galways football heartland. What has happened to the GAA in Tuam? Tuam is a fine town with a big population and deserves much better than this. Tuam is the home of Sean Purcell, Frank Stockwell, Mick Reynolds, Mick Garrett and St Jarlaths College. Is there no pride left in Galway football people? Imagine Galway playing in a new stadium in Tuam. It would be fantastic and would go a long way towards restoring the spirit and pride of Galway football which is not there at present. Young lads would aspire to playing there and not feel embarrassed by whats there at present. Planning needs to start now!"
This notion simply infuriates me and is beyond pathetic.

Tell me what spiritual nonsense aided Galway when they only managed to win half of their games played in Tuam Stadium during the 80's and 90's? Even that fantastic team in 1998 didn't win in Tuam.

Pearse Stadium may be wet and windy, but were you in Tuam for the Connacht finals of 1998 and 1999? Real scorchers they were!

You yourself ask what has happened to GAA in Tuam, so even you recognise things have changed. Yet you still think they deserve better. You only get what you deserve. Hence why this county has not won another All-Ireland in 16 years. As for football heartland, please! You're living in the past. Furthermore to the point, in 2014, when both Interprovincial games involving Connacht were held in the famous old stadium, was the famous football heartland receptive to the stars coming to Town? Around 100 people turned up to the first game, no more than 500 turned up to the second. Whatever your opinion on the Interprovincials, those numbers are pathetic. The numbers attending National League games in Tuam are nothing remarkable. What exactly does Tuam deserve based on this?

If you for one second think getting upgraded Tuam Stadium will solve anything wrong about Galway football, then football in Galway will never improve. Spending significant resources on a stadium that will never host a Championship a game again is ludicrous, all to satisfy a group of people who cannot let go of the past.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 23/10/2017 12:44:14    2057210

Replying To FallenStar:  "This notion simply infuriates me and is beyond pathetic.

Tell me what spiritual nonsense aided Galway when they only managed to win half of their games played in Tuam Stadium during the 80's and 90's? Even that fantastic team in 1998 didn't win in Tuam.

Pearse Stadium may be wet and windy, but were you in Tuam for the Connacht finals of 1998 and 1999? Real scorchers they were!

You yourself ask what has happened to GAA in Tuam, so even you recognise things have changed. Yet you still think they deserve better. You only get what you deserve. Hence why this county has not won another All-Ireland in 16 years. As for football heartland, please! You're living in the past. Furthermore to the point, in 2014, when both Interprovincial games involving Connacht were held in the famous old stadium, was the famous football heartland receptive to the stars coming to Town? Around 100 people turned up to the first game, no more than 500 turned up to the second. Whatever your opinion on the Interprovincials, those numbers are pathetic. The numbers attending National League games in Tuam are nothing remarkable. What exactly does Tuam deserve based on this?

If you for one second think getting upgraded Tuam Stadium will solve anything wrong about Galway football, then football in Galway will never improve. Spending significant resources on a stadium that will never host a Championship a game again is ludicrous, all to satisfy a group of people who cannot let go of the past."
Fallen star, the idea of redeveloping Tuam Stadium started with people in the town taking it into their own hands. It will start with 4 new dressing rooms, referee rooms , warm up area in Brownes field behind the stand as im sure you well know. This is not been done to improve Tuams chances of hosting Galway games but for every young footballer, schools clubs etc that use it every day. Their is a great history of football in Tuam and in the stadium so ther is no harm in people saying nice things about it, it has a history and a proud one so that fact cannot be ignored or belittled. The Dafts committee are doing great work in fundraising so i say fair play to them and if down the road Tuam does get more league games than Pearse then so be it..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 23/10/2017 14:55:16    2057256

Replying To FallenStar:  "This notion simply infuriates me and is beyond pathetic.

If you for one second think getting upgraded Tuam Stadium will solve anything wrong about Galway football, then football in Galway will never improve. Spending significant resources on a stadium that will never host a Championship a game again is ludicrous, all to satisfy a group of people who cannot let go of the past."
Your comment here is, to use your own phrase "pathetic". As with your earlier comment on this thread, yet again you base much of your dislike of Tuam Stadium on an attendance in a game against Leitrim in the late 90s. You're a gas to be giving out to others about living in the past.

But hey, a stadium where the locals don't want it and parking is a nightmare is ok? You couldn't make it up.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 23/10/2017 17:53:12    2057312

Of course Tuam Stadium can host championship games again. Why not? Tuam is the spiritual home of Galway football and the hinterland of Tuam is the heartland of Galway football. It includes places like Killererin, Cortoon,Dunmore, Milltown, Caherlistrane,Abbey,Annaghdown, Kilconly, Kilkerrin and of course Corofin. Do the young people of these areas not deserve a proper Stadium? This is not to belittle in any way the fine players that come from other parts of the county. If you dont understand the significance of Tuam in relation to Galway football then you dont know too much about it. A team without spirit and a spiritual home is going nowhere.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 23/10/2017 18:28:20    2057317

Replying To crafty:  "Of course Tuam Stadium can host championship games again. Why not? Tuam is the spiritual home of Galway football and the hinterland of Tuam is the heartland of Galway football. It includes places like Killererin, Cortoon,Dunmore, Milltown, Caherlistrane,Abbey,Annaghdown, Kilconly, Kilkerrin and of course Corofin. Do the young people of these areas not deserve a proper Stadium? This is not to belittle in any way the fine players that come from other parts of the county. If you dont understand the significance of Tuam in relation to Galway football then you dont know too much about it. A team without spirit and a spiritual home is going nowhere."
I'm from Tuam, I grew up only a five minute walk via the tracks away from the Stadium, I know all about the significance it "once" had. What people from the heartlands need to understand is that this significance and its meaning is greatly overestimated, to the point people think it will directly influence Galways fortunes in modern football.

Put simply, did the redevelopment of McHale Park revive Mayo football to its current standard or was it, for example their management team, their county board and supporters groups instead etc. that propelled Mayo football to the heights Galway football fans wish to be seeing?

Why can't Tuam Stadium host Championship games again? As you may gather from some of the comments on this thread alone, the stadium is in a poor poor condition. A significant amount of restoration work would have to be done, on top of providing suitable dressing room and warm up facilities to bring that stadium up to inter county standard. The pitch is fantastic but that is the only redeeming factor. And if people think traffic issues will suddenly disappear then they've got another thing coming. I vividly remember the backlog driving past the stadium after the 2013 county final between Corofin v Salthill, which I believe wasn't even a sellout. There's more cars on the road than there was back in 2001

Where is the money going to come from to pay for this redevelopment work? The Dafts committee? not enough. The county board, I sincerely doubt it. Now far from me to dismiss the work that committee is doing to raise money but what is there end game I wonder. Is it just to raise money for improvements or they do seriously think they'll garner enough money to redevelop it to a standard worthy of championship football.

People lambasting the county board for not supporting it fully is nonsense, I'm sure they have far more pressing issues. Funding several inter-county teams to a professional standard in a what is still an amatuer sport is not sustainable. What logic is there in spending a decent percentage of the countys resources on an old stadium that needs significant work done?

Whether Pearse Stadium is in the best location for all concerned is debatable. Point is that it is still best GAA ground in Galway, and efforts to promote that and provide a better experience in match day events should come from everyone involved in Galway football. Tuam Stadium will be improved to a higher standard in years to come but not to championship standard.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 25/10/2017 15:06:44    2057899

I think it be a waste of money doing up the present dressing rooms leave them as back up what's needed is a proper stand and put dressing rooms underneath that way ur doing things right and try aim for a proper stadium that can hold 15 to 20 thousand people we all know it costs money but main things is do it right once and it's done for life

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 856 - 25/10/2017 16:28:14    2057931

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Your comment here is, to use your own phrase "pathetic". As with your earlier comment on this thread, yet again you base much of your dislike of Tuam Stadium on an attendance in a game against Leitrim in the late 90s. You're a gas to be giving out to others about living in the past.

But hey, a stadium where the locals don't want it and parking is a nightmare is ok? You couldn't make it up."
I have no dislike of Tuam Stadium, I have played there many times and will gladly give credit to its fantastic pitch surface all year round. My issue is with the opinion held by many that it is imperative Tuam Stadium is revamped for the benefit of Galway Senior football. It is a disgrace it doesn;t host Championship games again etc. etc.

How else am I supposed to tackle this nostalgia without bringing up facts from the supposed eras where Galway were dominant? You may have notcied in the comment you quoted that I never mentioned Leitrim. I mentioned ALL games in the 80's and 90's. You can look it up for yourself, Galway only won 50% of the games played in Tuam Stadium in both of these decades! Tuam was never a fortress for Galway, just handy for North Galway people to get to. Never mind people travelling from the West.

And for the record, where is the parking any better in Tuam. Back in the day you had streams of cars parked up on Athenry Road for a Connacht final. I sincerely doubt there is suitable parking to cater for another 30'000 attendance in Tuam today. There is more to than just revamping the stadium at hand that would make Tuam a suitable venue.

I have no issue with Dafts either. I would commend them for the money they raised. I'm curious to know what their long term ambitions are but if 100k+ goes to improving the ground then fantastic.

People need to be realistic however and realise its never going to host Championship again. They need let that go. It can be a solid venue for league games at inter-county level. No more.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 27/10/2017 11:02:28    2058510

Replying To Belclare1:  "Fallen star, the idea of redeveloping Tuam Stadium started with people in the town taking it into their own hands. It will start with 4 new dressing rooms, referee rooms , warm up area in Brownes field behind the stand as im sure you well know. This is not been done to improve Tuams chances of hosting Galway games but for every young footballer, schools clubs etc that use it every day. Their is a great history of football in Tuam and in the stadium so ther is no harm in people saying nice things about it, it has a history and a proud one so that fact cannot be ignored or belittled. The Dafts committee are doing great work in fundraising so i say fair play to them and if down the road Tuam does get more league games than Pearse then so be it.."
I'm well aware of the work Dafts has done and if I haven't said it already, then fair play to them. I have read much of their plans and ambitions for the redevelopment and I applaud them for the initiative. What I have an issue with (not expressed here as much) is that some of the people campaigning on a volunteer basis for Dafts are using the idea of getting championship games back to Tuam as a marketing tactic. And you'll have loads of people buying into it. If its purely a marketing ploy then fair enough. However, it is very misleading and divisive to use that approach when there is already enough division in Galway football as it is.

Furthermore, there is abuse directed towards the county board. Now whatever about the original idea of redeveloping Pearse Stadium and not Tuam isn't the issue. Thats been discussed to death. The thing is you have Galway fans demanding investment from the county board into this project as a priority. For me that is ludicrous, for reasons I've outlined in previous posts. Failure to support the redevelopment of Tuam is seen as crime, a sin, unacceptable. I wish these people would take a dose of reality and see it simply isn't possible to splash major funds on new work for Tuam, whatever the long term goal is.

I'm also well aware of the history of football in Tuam and of the Stadium. I feel however some of that history is overly exaggerated and often gets lumped in with the futile cause of getting games away from Pearse Stadium. A split between League games depending on opposition would be a solution I'd all be in favour of. I'm very surprised the Mayo fixture for 2018 isn't in Tuam.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 27/10/2017 11:13:38    2058513

The best playing surface I recall in Galway was Dunmore, followed by Tuam stadium. Pearse stadium always seemed alien - surface patchy, and lacking that lush texture, not to mention soul. Same could be said of Corofin playing surface, for all its other obvious attributes. North galway clubs identify with Tuam stadium and I'm sure the serious business funding will kick in, once the issue of the Sports Capital Funding, of what should be 200,000 has been awarded, and put to bed next month. For the moment, the Dafts committee has to appear mealy mouthed until this grant is out of the way. I expect, as it will be in their own interests, that local and not so local businesses will contribute well to this project beginning 2018. The plan should be to target league fixtures, bearing in mind that league football has never been so well supported, and especially as we are in Div 1. It's also important that services such as - parking, restaurants and food outlets are brought up to the mark - huge potential. So, in my opinion, this development will become an unstoppable force beginning 2018..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 594 - 29/10/2017 15:29:40    2058958

The best playing surface I recall in Galway was Dunmore, followed by Tuam stadium. Pearse stadium always seemed alien - surface patchy, and lacking that lush texture, not to mention soul. Same could be said of Corofin playing surface, for all its other obvious attributes. North galway clubs identify with Tuam stadium and I'm sure the serious business funding will kick in, once the issue of the Sports Capital Funding, of what should be 200,000 has been awarded, and put to bed next month. For the moment, the Dafts committee has to appear mealy mouthed until this grant is out of the way. I expect, as it will be in their own interests, that local and not so local businesses will contribute well to this project beginning 2018. The plan should be to target league fixtures, bearing in mind that league football has never been so well supported, and especially as we are in Div 1. It's also important that services such as - parking, restaurants and food outlets are brought up to the mark - huge potential. So, in my opinion, this development will become an unstoppable force beginning 2018..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 594 - 29/10/2017 15:38:32    2058959