All Ireland Final line-up?

Im desperate for a Dublin v Kerry final .... would love it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2017 19:26:49    2030534

Replying To Byanthon:  "I have went for Tyrone v Mayo from the start of the season."
i have tyrone--mayo on another post as a double with the bookies with a tyrone win.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 07/08/2017 19:30:49    2030539

Replying To waynoI:  "Im desperate for a Dublin v Kerry final .... would love it."
What's the point? It could be Dublin v mayo, you would win either way. The only reason you want Kerry is to have a one up on the yerra boys. Dublin are a professional team in a amateur sport. The elites as was spoken of today. The gaa have created a monster with the endless funding and making sure the one way funding goes to the capital. Don't get me wrong I'd love to see it coming to Meath or even Westmeath, but unfortunately since the draw was made only one team were ever going to win it ( I know that's how it is ) but I mean Dublin. I guess the only thing I would like to know is bought success as appreciated as genuine success? While I understand it wouldn't make a blind bit of difference for the first few years, surely it gets hollow afterwards, like yer man namar with psg. Dublin are the Man City or psg of the gaa. And fair play to them. When 30 plus lads can drive to training in free cars, or can buy hotels in Meath it shows how much "professionalism " is in Dublin gaa. While the rest are still doing the amateur thing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/08/2017 21:26:08    2030624

Replying To waynoI:  "Im desperate for a Dublin v Kerry final .... would love it."
No wonder because you want an easy final, don't wan't anything to do with Mayo

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 07/08/2017 22:14:24    2030655

I don't genuinely believe any Dub or Kerryman thinks they won't be contesting the final.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 07/08/2017 22:28:23    2030665

As Ulster and Connacht are the only competitive provinces, it would be fitting to have a Tyrone v Mayo final.

2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 07/08/2017 22:40:17    2030677

Replying To royaldunne:  "What's the point? It could be Dublin v mayo, you would win either way. The only reason you want Kerry is to have a one up on the yerra boys. Dublin are a professional team in a amateur sport. The elites as was spoken of today. The gaa have created a monster with the endless funding and making sure the one way funding goes to the capital. Don't get me wrong I'd love to see it coming to Meath or even Westmeath, but unfortunately since the draw was made only one team were ever going to win it ( I know that's how it is ) but I mean Dublin. I guess the only thing I would like to know is bought success as appreciated as genuine success? While I understand it wouldn't make a blind bit of difference for the first few years, surely it gets hollow afterwards, like yer man namar with psg. Dublin are the Man City or psg of the gaa. And fair play to them. When 30 plus lads can drive to training in free cars, or can buy hotels in Meath it shows how much "professionalism " is in Dublin gaa. While the rest are still doing the amateur thing."
You mean amateur counties like Meath I presume? How much did Meath spend on their centre of excellence? The Meath county border also has the NSC on it's doorstep. Kerry are building/have built a €8m centre of excellence. Offaly are spending €2.25m on a centre. The Cork CB has spent €70m developing PUC and building a centre of excellence. You seem to think that Dublin's professional approach is unique for some reason. If counties like this are not becoming more professional having invested millions in these facilities then serious questions need to be asked.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2017 22:57:45    2030683

Tyrone v Mayo final is a possibility. More Tyrone would prefer to meet kerry in the decider if they can get past the Dubs... That's the big question??

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/08/2017 22:57:50    2030684

I really loved the Tyrone v Kerry battles in the noughties and would love to see another Tyrone v Kerry final,

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 07/08/2017 23:14:26    2030692

Dying for a Tyrone vs Mayo Final.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 07/08/2017 23:18:42    2030696

Replying To Joxer:  "You mean amateur counties like Meath I presume? How much did Meath spend on their centre of excellence? The Meath county border also has the NSC on it's doorstep. Kerry are building/have built a €8m centre of excellence. Offaly are spending €2.25m on a centre. The Cork CB has spent €70m developing PUC and building a centre of excellence. You seem to think that Dublin's professional approach is unique for some reason. If counties like this are not becoming more professional having invested millions in these facilities then serious questions need to be asked."
Not one Meath player has a free car. Dublin have 70+ full time coaches, Meath have 2 , Dublin has a full time paid back room staff of god knows how many fully paid , they are sourced jobs if they can't get ones, not one of them is unemployed unlike other counties. They have masseuse assigned to every player and sports phaycolgists , every advantage, including playing every major game in home ground with a home dressing room for every match. Other teams are barred from warming up on one side of pitch. Meath centre of excellence was very basic by comparison to others and is very small , I can't recall the cost but it was funded by a sports grant ( as well as fund raising) which Meath would not have got unless it was for a centre of excellence. If Meath cb asked for the money for cars for players they would not have got it.
Dublin are professional in EVERY aspect. This is something the gaa need to sort asap

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/08/2017 23:30:26    2030701

The Tyrone/Mayo final is far from an impossibility

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/08/2017 00:16:51    2030728

The oul Derryman I walk the dog with in the park is STILL insisting Tyrone will beat Dubin. His predictions are scary at times at how accurate they are. He has been watching Gaelic football for over 60 years and can name you dates, fixtures, teams, results from the 50's onwards. As I stated before he predicted Donegal would beat Dublin in 2012 and Kerry to beat Donegal in the final.......he won 2 grand.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 08/08/2017 01:10:45    2030741

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The oul Derryman I walk the dog with in the park is STILL insisting Tyrone will beat Dubin. His predictions are scary at times at how accurate they are. He has been watching Gaelic football for over 60 years and can name you dates, fixtures, teams, results from the 50's onwards. As I stated before he predicted Donegal would beat Dublin in 2012 and Kerry to beat Donegal in the final.......he won 2 grand."
Stop it, you're scaring me

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/08/2017 01:30:52    2030746

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not one Meath player has a free car. Dublin have 70+ full time coaches, Meath have 2 , Dublin has a full time paid back room staff of god knows how many fully paid , they are sourced jobs if they can't get ones, not one of them is unemployed unlike other counties. They have masseuse assigned to every player and sports phaycolgists , every advantage, including playing every major game in home ground with a home dressing room for every match. Other teams are barred from warming up on one side of pitch. Meath centre of excellence was very basic by comparison to others and is very small , I can't recall the cost but it was funded by a sports grant ( as well as fund raising) which Meath would not have got unless it was for a centre of excellence. If Meath cb asked for the money for cars for players they would not have got it.
Dublin are professional in EVERY aspect. This is something the gaa need to sort asap"
Hard to argue with that royaldunne. In a week that Donegal may possibly lose 2 very promising players to Aussie Rules, it no coincidence that Dublin, even though they have a vast array of talent at their disposal and should be ripe picking ground for the AFL, have little to worry about in competing with a professional sport. No county can fend off the Aussies better.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/08/2017 08:53:27    2030772

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not one Meath player has a free car. Dublin have 70+ full time coaches, Meath have 2 , Dublin has a full time paid back room staff of god knows how many fully paid , they are sourced jobs if they can't get ones, not one of them is unemployed unlike other counties. They have masseuse assigned to every player and sports phaycolgists , every advantage, including playing every major game in home ground with a home dressing room for every match. Other teams are barred from warming up on one side of pitch. Meath centre of excellence was very basic by comparison to others and is very small , I can't recall the cost but it was funded by a sports grant ( as well as fund raising) which Meath would not have got unless it was for a centre of excellence. If Meath cb asked for the money for cars for players they would not have got it.
Dublin are professional in EVERY aspect. This is something the gaa need to sort asap"
You've only got to look at the population base and club spread across Dublin to see the need for the number of GPOs employed. The real work costs nothing and has been implemented at U13, U14..... levels where Jason Sherlock, David Henry, Paul Casey, Declan Lally all give up weekends and coach teams. Paddy Christie and Ciaran Whelan are also involved. This is where the real strides are being made, having legends train the kids and establish an interest. And you know, it costs nothing!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2017 08:59:16    2030775

Replying To royaldunne:  "What's the point? It could be Dublin v mayo, you would win either way. The only reason you want Kerry is to have a one up on the yerra boys. Dublin are a professional team in a amateur sport. The elites as was spoken of today. The gaa have created a monster with the endless funding and making sure the one way funding goes to the capital. Don't get me wrong I'd love to see it coming to Meath or even Westmeath, but unfortunately since the draw was made only one team were ever going to win it ( I know that's how it is ) but I mean Dublin. I guess the only thing I would like to know is bought success as appreciated as genuine success? While I understand it wouldn't make a blind bit of difference for the first few years, surely it gets hollow afterwards, like yer man namar with psg. Dublin are the Man City or psg of the gaa. And fair play to them. When 30 plus lads can drive to training in free cars, or can buy hotels in Meath it shows how much "professionalism " is in Dublin gaa. While the rest are still doing the amateur thing."
So tell me Royaldunne, does Cluxton just do a bit of teaching to keep his hand in, like, he doesn't get paid for it or anything;?? Perhaps Cian O'Sullivan only masquerades as a tax accountant or Jack McCaffrey is not training to be a doctor.
By the way, don't try to tell me your own county doesn't offer inducements to players. There was a famous Meath midfielder from the 90s who was offered an unrefusable inducement to abandon his plans to retire..... Successful Meath teams from the past were very well looked after.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/08/2017 09:06:06    2030778

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The oul Derryman I walk the dog with in the park is STILL insisting Tyrone will beat Dubin. His predictions are scary at times at how accurate they are. He has been watching Gaelic football for over 60 years and can name you dates, fixtures, teams, results from the 50's onwards. As I stated before he predicted Donegal would beat Dublin in 2012 and Kerry to beat Donegal in the final.......he won 2 grand."
So yourself and this old guy 'walk the dog' together? Fair play to ye. Are there good places 'to walk the dog'" in your neck of the woods?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/08/2017 09:22:26    2030789

Ah well if the old fella in the park says it'll happen then we might as well not turn up! :P

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 08/08/2017 09:29:44    2030795

Replying To NorthKildare:  "how will mayo deal with donaghy, geaney, donoghue ?, Most of Mayos success came from pressurising Roscommon kickouts and out musceled them, Any combination of moran, maher, buckley, barry should ensure Kerry dont have those problems"
Agree and there in lies Mayos problem - their inability to deal with a strong Full Forward Line - be it Kerry, Donegal and Dublin. Whilst I believe I was vastly impressed with Mayo yesterday they still have that nagging issue that hasn't been resolved for a number of years now.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 08/08/2017 09:34:07    2030800