Kerry v Mayo

Mayo have nothing to fear in the replay. Start Paddy Durcan for Seamus o Shea, play Keegan in midfleld and Durcan wing back. Finally switch Vaughan to full back and play AOS at 11. That would bring much more pace and power into the middle third. I think Vaughan would do a better job on Donaghy. He would be able to try and spoil him in the air and has natural defensive instincts that O Shea doesnt have.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 23/08/2017 15:49:01    2036830

Replying To unclegerry:  "Mayo have nothing to fear in the replay. Start Paddy Durcan for Seamus o Shea, play Keegan in midfleld and Durcan wing back. Finally switch Vaughan to full back and play AOS at 11. That would bring much more pace and power into the middle third. I think Vaughan would do a better job on Donaghy. He would be able to try and spoil him in the air and has natural defensive instincts that O Shea doesnt have."
I hope both teams go man on man and may the best team win.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2017 16:04:02    2036836

Replying To tiobraid:  "Mayo have plenty of their own ex players giving interviews too! Including comments from ex players slagging off the likes of Roscommon. They literally queued up to give interviews after the drawn All Ireland last year. Andy Moran's one being up there with the cringiest in living memory. Rochfords last Sunday is up there with one of the strangest I've ever heard. The Kerry boys literally ran down the tunnel after the game the last day. Only one job on their minds."
Mayo players have stayed away from the media this year bar post match interviews. Last year was last year. Again don't concern yourself with facts.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 23/08/2017 16:30:46    2036844

Replying To nextyear:  "He was great when he came on the scene 2 seasons ago but not since then for seniors. If ever there was a case to suspect a young player of burning out because of too much football I think it's him. Played county senior, U21 (AI champs), sigerson and club last year.
He is not playing bad but just not reaching the heights you'd hope for. I think I'd drop him for Saturday"
Drop him for Paddy Durcan but leave Paddy back, 7 defenders Keith sweeping. Vaughan on Donaghy. Both him and Keith doubling up on Donaghy when needed. I don't agree you need a man as big as Donaghy to mark him. Midfielders aren't defenders, certainly they're not good fullbacks with a few weeks notice. Aidan between midfield and the 40 contesting every knockout with Tom and Seamus.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 23/08/2017 16:46:05    2036853

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Drop him for Paddy Durcan but leave Paddy back, 7 defenders Keith sweeping. Vaughan on Donaghy. Both him and Keith doubling up on Donaghy when needed. I don't agree you need a man as big as Donaghy to mark him. Midfielders aren't defenders, certainly they're not good fullbacks with a few weeks notice. Aidan between midfield and the 40 contesting every knockout with Tom and Seamus."
I think that is the way to go.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 23/08/2017 18:21:15    2036883

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Drop him for Paddy Durcan but leave Paddy back, 7 defenders Keith sweeping. Vaughan on Donaghy. Both him and Keith doubling up on Donaghy when needed. I don't agree you need a man as big as Donaghy to mark him. Midfielders aren't defenders, certainly they're not good fullbacks with a few weeks notice. Aidan between midfield and the 40 contesting every knockout with Tom and Seamus."
If you drop Diarmuid then Doherty will have to play wing forward and Kerry will have a spare back to cover Andy and Cillian. We may limit Donaghy but we won't score enough that way. We need to keep 6 forwards up as much as possible.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 23/08/2017 18:34:42    2036886

I would drop Seamus O'Shea - not great footballer - gave away the ball the goal came from. Not near good enough - what about that big lad Barry whatever his name is?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 23/08/2017 18:58:50    2036889

Replying To TheHermit:  "The auld predictive text is a curse, not without talent was what so meant"
I gathered that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2017 20:54:44    2036926

Kingdomboy, I'd be happy enough to us go man for man. I don't see our FF line being beaten by the lads who marked them the last day. Not given the same circumstances. This isn't disrespectful to the Kerry FB s, defending that amount of space is a suicide mission. At the other end I'd always fancy Harrison to compete with Geaney, despite his class. JOD is not right, is he fit? and Chris Barrett is a tight marker. David Moran is another class player, but a lot of reviewers gave the nod as the best performer in midfield to Tom Parsons. Both teams have good options in that department. TP is like Boyler, lots of ability, but needed to appreciate that talent is just the starting point. The jokers are the two big lads. Donaghy had a great game the last day and for Mayo to win his influence has to be reduced. But I don't think that Fitzmaurice has a repeat formation and tactics in mind. I think a sweeper and a running game is what he's likely to look to for the replay. I think he won't underestimate Mayo's forwards again, which he did the last day. What sort of game that will give us is hard to know. I don't know where Aidan is likely to play or where his talents will strengthen the team's efforts. Being double marked at fullforward will just reduce the space for the other forwards so it has to be further out. Whatever we see, man for man is unlikely again.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/08/2017 20:56:15    2036928

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Just don't see what it is that he does so well apparently?
Not a good man score points, not a great man to win his own ball
One thing he does to well if kick pass, I will give him that, but apart from that I don't see it atall
And this is his third year not his rookie year"
I remember also thinking he was a fabulous talent, I think he need to taste victory, I don't think he has the same mental stamina as his brother. I think he'd shine on a 'winning' team if you know what I mean.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2017 21:01:10    2036929

Any have any recommendations on what changes Fitzmaurice should make or should Kerry go out the same as the last day? From what I see alot of people seem to think Mayo can't play as well again but seem to be suggesting 101 changes for Rochford to make. So Kerry go out again as they were and we all assume they won't be as bad again? Strange

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 23/08/2017 22:12:08    2036953

Replying To Pericles:  "Kingdomboy, I'd be happy enough to us go man for man. I don't see our FF line being beaten by the lads who marked them the last day. Not given the same circumstances. This isn't disrespectful to the Kerry FB s, defending that amount of space is a suicide mission. At the other end I'd always fancy Harrison to compete with Geaney, despite his class. JOD is not right, is he fit? and Chris Barrett is a tight marker. David Moran is another class player, but a lot of reviewers gave the nod as the best performer in midfield to Tom Parsons. Both teams have good options in that department. TP is like Boyler, lots of ability, but needed to appreciate that talent is just the starting point. The jokers are the two big lads. Donaghy had a great game the last day and for Mayo to win his influence has to be reduced. But I don't think that Fitzmaurice has a repeat formation and tactics in mind. I think a sweeper and a running game is what he's likely to look to for the replay. I think he won't underestimate Mayo's forwards again, which he did the last day. What sort of game that will give us is hard to know. I don't know where Aidan is likely to play or where his talents will strengthen the team's efforts. Being double marked at fullforward will just reduce the space for the other forwards so it has to be further out. Whatever we see, man for man is unlikely again."
To be honest Pericles I think fitz will go with exactly the same team (bar Mikey geaney who is supposedly carrying an injury)and same tactics as the last day as in we played shite and still should have won really.

I think he's gotta back the boys and hopefully this game will have auto tuned the boys a bit.

James is 100% fit but he's just picked up the fear unfortunately and is minding himself (understandable considering his shoulders are being held together by tape I've been told) but there is no tomorrow for some of these boys after Saturday if they don't throw them selves into it , and that goes for both our teams, this is no time to be minding yer selves.

I think mayo I'll move Aidan back to centre forward on Saturday and that's what we had planned for last Sunday so I can't see any change for bar the Mikey injury one.

How bout yer selves can you see any changes?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2017 22:38:17    2036960

This reminds me a bit of the Mayo/Roscommon drawn game, Roscommon were happy to get the draw, I think Mayo were happy to get the draw and not get beaten, Kerry were disappointed not to play better and win, maybe Brolly has a point about Mayo not knowing how to win, it's strange.
I expect to see a different Kerry on Saturday,though it's hard to see them winning Sam either, Dubs again for Sam looks like.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 23/08/2017 23:43:47    2036980

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I would drop Seamus O'Shea - not great footballer - gave away the ball the goal came from. Not near good enough - what about that big lad Barry whatever his name is?"
not ready

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 24/08/2017 00:40:41    2036983

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "To be honest Pericles I think fitz will go with exactly the same team (bar Mikey geaney who is supposedly carrying an injury)and same tactics as the last day as in we played shite and still should have won really.

I think he's gotta back the boys and hopefully this game will have auto tuned the boys a bit.

James is 100% fit but he's just picked up the fear unfortunately and is minding himself (understandable considering his shoulders are being held together by tape I've been told) but there is no tomorrow for some of these boys after Saturday if they don't throw them selves into it , and that goes for both our teams, this is no time to be minding yer selves.

I think mayo I'll move Aidan back to centre forward on Saturday and that's what we had planned for last Sunday so I can't see any change for bar the Mikey injury one.

How bout yer selves can you see any changes?"
That should say I think mayo will move Aidan O'Shea back to centre forward and that's all the changes Kerry will have to make as I think fitzs plan will just come to fruition on Saturday.

We have planned for this since last February.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/08/2017 02:28:21    2036989

Kerry need to make a call on James O'Donoghue. Poor against Galway and anonymous on Sunday.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 24/08/2017 08:26:44    2036996

Replying To Weary:  "Any have any recommendations on what changes Fitzmaurice should make or should Kerry go out the same as the last day? From what I see alot of people seem to think Mayo can't play as well again but seem to be suggesting 101 changes for Rochford to make. So Kerry go out again as they were and we all assume they won't be as bad again? Strange"
Agreed, everyone is talking about Kerry being so bad, but this is the level they have consistently played to in Championship for the past 2 years (Dublin semi final last year aside where Cluxton had a 10 min breakdown). The question Fitzmaurice needs to ask is do they push up on Mayo or not - they did last week and while it stopped Mayo's runners from deep it left huge space for the Mayo full forward line. Personnel aside, a solution to this problem could be the winning or losing of the game Saturday. I actually think Mayo have more room for improvement as it was their better players that struggled to get to the pitch of the game - I don't expect AoS, CoC or Keegan to play as bad the next day albeit Moran and Doherty probably won't play as well as they did the last day. I don't think Kerry have this improvement in them as barring JoD their stronger players all played fairly well.

razor425 (Roscommon) - Posts: 45 - 24/08/2017 08:55:35    2037004

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "This reminds me a bit of the Mayo/Roscommon drawn game, Roscommon were happy to get the draw, I think Mayo were happy to get the draw and not get beaten, Kerry were disappointed not to play better and win, maybe Brolly has a point about Mayo not knowing how to win, it's strange.
I expect to see a different Kerry on Saturday,though it's hard to see them winning Sam either, Dubs again for Sam looks like."
You've got to love the amount of amateur psychologists on the internet.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 24/08/2017 09:54:38    2037025

As for James O' D he was carrying an injury into the Galway game and afterwards it was to be seen he was no way near fit enough to play.
Against Mayo he did try very hard and you couldn't knock his lack of effort but he seemed to have lost that dink or turn that would have given him a yard of free space.
I would preserve with James though and just hope the extra game and not playing well the last day will put that extra grit between his teeth and get a performance out of him.
In the forward line I think we will be dropping Michael Geaney with maybe Darren O Sullivan coming in.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 24/08/2017 10:22:49    2037039

Replying To Weary:  "Mayo players have stayed away from the media this year bar post match interviews. Last year was last year. Again don't concern yourself with facts."
Take your head out of the sand. A quick search on google shows numerous interviews outside post match interviews with O'Shea, Moran and McLaughlin. Never mind that ad of them promoting the west of Ireland or whatever it is! But maybe they strive on the distractions who knows. No need to take offence to an opinion! ;)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/08/2017 12:05:18    2037092