Did Jonny Cooper dive?

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What do you want me to say then ? What exactly are you looking for? I've said he dived wtf more can I say? Obviously we've dived in this situation but we haven't dived before or play act , if we have I can't remember. A player playing today did an obvious dive but there won't be a word about it but if a Dublin player does anything against the rules there's threads set up ffs"
Threads have been set up about Aidan O' Shea and TiernanMc Cannwhen they dived. It's not only when a Dublin player does it so don't pretend it is now.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2017 15:55:16    2030344

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Just seen the replays. I feel he did make a meal of it. No contact to the head however he held his head as if it was.
I remember he was involved in an incident in the league against Tyrone with Mark Bradley and he hit the deck after instigating a row.
Duscuss."
I guess the game was so one-sided you feel the need and urge to talk about something, how about the new queing/security arrangements in Croke park - far more interesting.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 07/08/2017 15:55:42    2030346

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Threads have been set up about Aidan O' Shea and TiernanMc Cannwhen they dived. It's not only when a Dublin player does it so don't pretend it is now."
Completely different, Aidan O Shea dived for a last minute penalty that changed the course of a game it was always going to get its own thread.

McCann's hair was tossed you telling me that wouldn't get it's own thread? It was the worst dive ever seen on a Gaelic football field.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/08/2017 16:22:28    2030401

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Completely different, Aidan O Shea dived for a last minute penalty that changed the course of a game it was always going to get its own thread.

McCann's hair was tossed you telling me that wouldn't get it's own thread? It was the worst dive ever seen on a Gaelic football field."
Last minute penalty? Was it, don't think it was. Open for correction.
Threads have been set up on diving plenty of times. Stop playing the victim card. It was an incident in the game that's worth talking about

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/08/2017 16:27:34    2030409

McManus did make contact with Coopers head but it wasn't enough to justify Coopers reaction. In my opinion there are only 2 kinds of posters who don't think Cooper exaggerated the reaction. The posters for whom no Dublin player can do wrong or the poster who never kicked a ball in their life. Also as many previous posters have said, this is nothing new. Its a major problem in the game and its getting worse every year. And the reason is that there seems to be no downside for the guy faking the injury. No coverage of it on The Sunday Game which means Jim Gavin' s hissy fit worked. Have to listen to Wolly tomorrow.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 07/08/2017 16:42:59    2030430

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Last minute penalty? Was it, don't think it was. Open for correction.
Threads have been set up on diving plenty of times. Stop playing the victim card. It was an incident in the game that's worth talking about"
Victim card ha ok.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/08/2017 16:50:12    2030434

Replying To FootblockREF:  "McManus did make contact with Coopers head but it wasn't enough to justify Coopers reaction. In my opinion there are only 2 kinds of posters who don't think Cooper exaggerated the reaction. The posters for whom no Dublin player can do wrong or the poster who never kicked a ball in their life. Also as many previous posters have said, this is nothing new. Its a major problem in the game and its getting worse every year. And the reason is that there seems to be no downside for the guy faking the injury. No coverage of it on The Sunday Game which means Jim Gavin' s hissy fit worked. Have to listen to Wolly tomorrow."
Firstly, there was definite contact with Coopers head. How badly was he hurt?

Well, I seen a Mayo boy go into contact today, lying on the ball and holding his head. I thought he was faking. Then on seeing the reverse angle of the incident he did get a bang on the head. On getting up from the ground, his face was blood soaked.

My point is McManus did hit him, how hard was the blow? Only two people really know....McManus and Cooper.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/08/2017 19:22:47    2030531

Replying To JayP:  "Firstly, there was definite contact with Coopers head. How badly was he hurt?

Well, I seen a Mayo boy go into contact today, lying on the ball and holding his head. I thought he was faking. Then on seeing the reverse angle of the incident he did get a bang on the head. On getting up from the ground, his face was blood soaked.

My point is McManus did hit him, how hard was the blow? Only two people really know....McManus and Cooper."
how you can even compare those two incidents is ridiculous

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/08/2017 19:52:41    2030558

Replying To Joxer:  "Should have had Spillane on. Johnny would have gotten 6 a month suspension. Funny the way McManus didn't object to the card."
Final attempt to respond to this message! I get it - Spillane picks on Dubs and most Ulster counties never Kerry. Whelan picks on most Ulster counties and never Dubs. Brolly picks on Tyrone all the time. Upshot is no matter who's sitting in SG chairs it's Ulster counties that get the forensic analysis. I'd rather Whelan just said nothing about these incidents period.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 07/08/2017 20:16:49    2030578

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Final attempt to respond to this message! I get it - Spillane picks on Dubs and most Ulster counties never Kerry. Whelan picks on most Ulster counties and never Dubs. Brolly picks on Tyrone all the time. Upshot is no matter who's sitting in SG chairs it's Ulster counties that get the forensic analysis. I'd rather Whelan just said nothing about these incidents period."
Nah ye don't get it. Someone commented that Whelan didn't mention Cooper's 'dive'. Fact is it was a nothing incident, he went down having received a clip to the head and that is a yellow card. It was hardly mentioned in commentary, McManus didn't object, analysts from north and south didn't see it worthy of comment. My point was that maybe the poster would have preferred if Spillane had been on and that he make a big deal out of it. That was in jest. No victim card being played here if that's what you think.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2017 20:56:49    2030603

It was a totally nothing incident. Cooper went in aggressively but McManus came out on top in the tussle.....move on. Having said that Ciaran Whelan's totally mute response to anything negative involving Dublin has gone beyond embarrassing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 07/08/2017 21:24:34    2030622

Replying To Ulsterman:  "It was a totally nothing incident. Cooper went in aggressively but McManus came out on top in the tussle.....move on. Having said that Ciaran Whelan's totally mute response to anything negative involving Dublin has gone beyond embarrassing."
In fairness that can be said of them all. The only exception is O'Rourke IMO as he doesn't hold back when it comes to criticising his own county. The likes of McGuigan and Whelan are still too close to their respective county panels to be critical.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2017 21:32:43    2030626

Replying To catch22:  "They certainly do but some lads from one of those counties just love to highlight these things with no little irony involved. I'm from Iowa by the way. Have a nice day now !"
Iowa4sam!!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 07/08/2017 21:52:46    2030637

Replying To JayP:  "Firstly, there was definite contact with Coopers head. How badly was he hurt?

My point is McManus did hit him, how hard was the blow? Only two people really know....McManus and Cooper."
We'll put you in the first category

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 07/08/2017 22:00:35    2030645

Whether you agree with it or not, diving is an established element of club and county football. What annoys me more than the diving is the inconsistent media and public reaction to specific diving incidents. For example these quotes can be attributed to the Sunday Game:
Cooper dive- 'nothing incident'
O'Shea (repeat offender) dive against Fermanagh- 'he felt the contact'
Tiernan McCann dive- 'he should issue a public apology'

There also seems to be a belief that some dives are worse than others. A dive is a dive. The outcome of the dive may differ, but it's still cheating. What we need is a consistent approach to tackle diving.

2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 07/08/2017 22:31:51    2030667

Cooper came in very late on Mc manus. Mc manus dident see him coming and basically reacted with his arms to save himself. Cooper dived and stayed down and mc manus got the card.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/08/2017 23:14:33    2030693

Look lads you have to forgive the Dublin fans for believing it was a vicious assault on cooper, there view was a bit obscured by the fact they where in Dublin 4 while the Cooper Dive took place in Dublin 3.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 07/08/2017 23:30:00    2030700

Replying To border Gael:  "Cooper came in very late on Mc manus. Mc manus dident see him coming and basically reacted with his arms to save himself. Cooper dived and stayed down and mc manus got the card."
Agree with you - then he went after McManus again after incident goading him when the game was effectively over - what will he be like if it was a tight game - he might find out soon enough! However if an Ulster player did what Cooper did it would be highlighted period and by Whelan - I have no doubt about that.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 07/08/2017 23:38:30    2030710

Replying To Ulsterman:  "It was a totally nothing incident. Cooper went in aggressively but McManus came out on top in the tussle.....move on. Having said that Ciaran Whelan's totally mute response to anything negative involving Dublin has gone beyond embarrassing."
why would he comment on a 'nothing incident' (your words)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2017 23:52:46    2030717

Anybody with eyesight could see that the wrong guy got the yellow card!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/08/2017 00:59:44    2030738