Did Jonny Cooper dive?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Number 1 Jim , McManus didn't man handle a linesman.

Number 2 Jim , Ciaran branagan didn't run and barge into Connolly.

So they are very different incidents and des Cahill should have brought it up for discussion tonight."
McManus made much greater contact to Cooper than Connolly made to the official

Do you not consider it a far greater case of "man handling" as you described a finger lightly poked as man handling previously..

Just using your own description of lightly touching someone...

McManus made far greater contact compared to Connolly

Yet you wouldn't consider this as man handling ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/08/2017 00:20:21    2030034

After watching the hurling today it's a good thing Cooper doesn't play that. He wouldn't last five minutes if what happened yesterday hurt him so much. And please don't let that awful word "contact" come into GAA. It lets the most pansy looking incidents in soccer become big deals. There's always been decent clashes in GAA and lads get up and get on with things. I hope it's never any different.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 07/08/2017 00:23:36    2030037

Replying To IrishGael3:  "And of course Whelan keeps his mouth well and truly closed"
Sure Whelan probably told him to do it. I'm surprised they never questioned Ciaran Whelan for shooting JR Ewing. Probably responsible for global warming too.......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 07/08/2017 00:31:19    2030041

Replying To IrishGael3:  "And of course Whelan keeps his mouth well and truly closed"
Should have had Spillane on. Johnny would have gotten 6 a month suspension. Funny the way McManus didn't object to the card.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2017 00:32:05    2030042

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Big difference in contact and acting as if he got hit on the head. He wasn't hit on the head. There was contact on the head area. Just like the Mark Bradley incident in the league...faked been hit. Got man booked/sent off."
Ah come on. "There was no contact to the head, He was hit in the head area". Yes exactly, so you are saying that it was a high tackle and so warranted a yellow card then? Is it normal for fellas to go down holding their head when hit 'in the head area'? Granted he may have stayed down longer than expected but he was struck in the 'head area' as you say. A nothing incident.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2017 00:36:49    2030043

Replying To KK1926:  "The type of contact one would get playing with your 3 year old child."
Yes the kind of contact that a linesman got from Connolly. The rules are the rules though, as was pointed out to Dublin fans at the time. High tackle from McManus is a yellow card again according to the rules. A high tackle is a high tackle the same way that a prod to a lineman may as well be a punch.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2017 00:40:20    2030047

Get over it, lads

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 07/08/2017 02:06:46    2030054

Replying To MesAmis:  "Exaggerated contact in my opinion.

Happens all the time, be it to win a free or in an instance like Cooper and McManus.

It's part of the game."
If staying down and getting an ice bag held to your head after something like that is now part of the game then it's in a very sorry state. The incident was very similar to an infamous one in the 2003 All-Ireland final. Fair play to the Dubs who have recognised it for the embarrassment it was but i genuinely thought there would be very few of them defending him as they usually come across as knowledgeable football supporters who like to see the best traditions of the game held onto.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/08/2017 08:58:32    2030086

Yeah he went down and made a meal of the whole thing to get Mc manus booked.

But Mc manus gave him that opportunity by swinging his arm in the first place so don't really see the issue.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 07/08/2017 09:08:07    2030087

Look it happens all the time , our goalie done it v Monaghan a couple of years ago and was embarrassing for us Donegal fans
But let's face it I doubt if these footballers would last if they had to take the hits in hurling as we saw yesterday.
How come the hurlers take massive hits , dust there selves down and get on with it
All inter county players ( football) would learn a lot from watching the hurlers yesterday or indeed any day and see how manly the hurlers are comparing to the crybabys of footballers who cheat and try get other players booked/ sent off and that goes for every county

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 07/08/2017 10:12:07    2030109

Whatever happen in the playing field the front page of the Irish news don't make good reading.
Armagh and Tyrone fans battle on the train back home. According to an eye withness he saw a young Tyrone man punch an Armagh girl in the face and he left the train at Drogheda for his safety.
Now we don't want this creeping into our games Bad news
A lot of drink was supposed to have been involved

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 07/08/2017 10:18:41    2030111

Im not condoning Cooper in anyway as to the naked eye i think it looks objectively as McManus struck out there was a brush of each other and he exacerbated it.

Though i happen to have experience of working with victims of traumatic violent incidents and it does leave a long lasting psychological impact. The stabbing incident he experienced was life threatening and wold have left him with many psychological scars. Now i am not saying he didnt make a meal of it or their wasn't gamesmanship going on and only Johnny knows.

What i would say i can understand him keeping himself out of harm ways when their was a potential threat to the part of his body were he was almost killed, there is serious historical context there and maybe we shouldn't be as quick to be judge, jury and executioner in what is often a complex problem in trauma.

Again im not saying he wasn't acting maggot, just that their is some mitigation there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2017 10:54:47    2030123

Like an Olympic Gold medalist!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 07/08/2017 11:04:38    2030129

Replying To Soma:  "If staying down and getting an ice bag held to your head after something like that is now part of the game then it's in a very sorry state. The incident was very similar to an infamous one in the 2003 All-Ireland final. Fair play to the Dubs who have recognised it for the embarrassment it was but i genuinely thought there would be very few of them defending him as they usually come across as knowledgeable football supporters who like to see the best traditions of the game held onto."
I'm not defending him. I just don't see the point in condemning him for the type of thing that countless others engage in all the time in inter county and club football week in week out.

Exaggerating contact, to win a free or to get someone carded, has happened for years. There have been numerous instances of it this year and it happens in every single game.

I don't see the point in selective condemnation though. I mean what's the point in condemning one man for it and turning a blind eye most of the time?

Cooper looked like a bit of an eejit and McManus was unlucky to be carded but there are numerous times where that happens and is part of the game whether we like it or not. It's been in the game for as long as I can remember.

It is very difficult for referees to spot players manufacturing frees or cards. We need to accept that and realise that players from all counties and clubs do it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 07/08/2017 11:07:37    2030132

Replying To Joxer:  "Ah come on. "There was no contact to the head, He was hit in the head area". Yes exactly, so you are saying that it was a high tackle and so warranted a yellow card then? Is it normal for fellas to go down holding their head when hit 'in the head area'? Granted he may have stayed down longer than expected but he was struck in the 'head area' as you say. A nothing incident."
Why was cooper running at McManus 5 seconds after the whistle had gone anyway?

No I know McManus played on after the whistle but he probably thought the ref whistled for the mark.

But I just don't get why with the dubs up by about 10 points at the time was cooper running so aggressively at McManus like that. And in fairness McManus just swatted cooper away he didn't punch him Or anything .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/08/2017 11:15:19    2030134

Replying To MesAmis:  "I'm not defending him. I just don't see the point in condemning him for the type of thing that countless others engage in all the time in inter county and club football week in week out.

Exaggerating contact, to win a free or to get someone carded, has happened for years. There have been numerous instances of it this year and it happens in every single game.

I don't see the point in selective condemnation though. I mean what's the point in condemning one man for it and turning a blind eye most of the time?

Cooper looked like a bit of an eejit and McManus was unlucky to be carded but there are numerous times where that happens and is part of the game whether we like it or not. It's been in the game for as long as I can remember.

It is very difficult for referees to spot players manufacturing frees or cards. We need to accept that and realise that players from all counties and clubs do it."
So you had no problem with the Donegal player who faked injury in 2011 to get Connolly sent off? You accepted back then that all counties do it and so there was no point condemning the Donegal player? It's a real stain on the game and despite what you say it's not very often that players lie down pretending to be injured when they have barely been touched. Usually the reason for doing it is to try and con the referee into sending your opponent off which is a despicable thing to do. We are constantly reminded by players about their sacrifices so why they think it's acceptable to get an opponent wrongly sent off when they have made the very same sacrifices is beyond me.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/08/2017 11:21:27    2030135

We rarely dive if ever and as usual it's a massive talking point ,our players are watched so closely on here it's ridiculous yes he dived and embarrassed himself but it was a one off and if any team should be given the benefit of doubt it should be Dublin cause we very rarely if ever dive. Yes this Dublin team is far from angels but I'd like to think that diving and play acting is one thing this Dublin never does.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/08/2017 11:26:15    2030137

Replying To TheUsername:  "Im not condoning Cooper in anyway as to the naked eye i think it looks objectively as McManus struck out there was a brush of each other and he exacerbated it.

Though i happen to have experience of working with victims of traumatic violent incidents and it does leave a long lasting psychological impact. The stabbing incident he experienced was life threatening and wold have left him with many psychological scars. Now i am not saying he didnt make a meal of it or their wasn't gamesmanship going on and only Johnny knows.

What i would say i can understand him keeping himself out of harm ways when their was a potential threat to the part of his body were he was almost killed, there is serious historical context there and maybe we shouldn't be as quick to be judge, jury and executioner in what is often a complex problem in trauma.

Again im not saying he wasn't acting maggot, just that their is some mitigation there."
If he can't handle that level of "threat" I doubt its time poor Johnny hung up the boots. As bad as the incident that he came through was to use it as mitigating in this instance is simply ridiculous

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 07/08/2017 11:34:41    2030142

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why was cooper running at McManus 5 seconds after the whistle had gone anyway?

No I know McManus played on after the whistle but he probably thought the ref whistled for the mark.

But I just don't get why with the dubs up by about 10 points at the time was cooper running so aggressively at McManus like that. And in fairness McManus just swatted cooper away he didn't punch him Or anything ."
Thankfully It was nothing like Aidan O'Mahony succeeded in getting Donncha O'Connor sent of in 2008. That still has to be worst i have ever seen.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHuU3EdJ1NQ

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2017 11:43:21    2030148

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:5563 - 07/08/2017 11:15:19   2030134 

How on earth could McManus have thought the ref was blowing for a mark?!!!!

It wasn't a kick out and the ball bounced before he got it!

You may not understand the rules but I think we can safely say that McManus understands the rules perfectly well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 07/08/2017 11:47:53    2030153