Car park - Clonliffe Road

Replying To Onion Breath:  "That advice is no use at all.

Matches in Croke Park are played on Saturdays and Sundays.

There are no trains from Sligo, Longford or Newbridge that stop at Drumcondra on these days - only on weekdays.

Getting the Luas from Hueston only gets you to Middle Abbey St., Busaras, or Connolly. All are min 20 mins walk from Croke Park, but a lot longer with young kids and requires walking through parts of the city that best avoided."
Reckon you should avoid altogether until Uber bring in Drones that will bring you safely from the leafy suburbs of Carlow to the corporate suites in croker

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/08/2017 21:36:57    2029951

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Usually the Sligo train is last stop Maynooth before Connolly on weekends, but on some matchdays a few of them will stop in Drumcondra. And you can always alight, as the man says, from the Sligo train in Maynooth and get a train to Drumcondra if you like."
What man says?

For reasons outlined earlier, getting a train from Maynooth is not an option if the crowd is going to be big. Grand for a league game on a Saturday evening but worse than third world conditions, reliability and safety on the day of a big match.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 06/08/2017 22:35:22    2029968

Replying To MesAmis:  "Getting the Luas from Hueston only gets you to Middle Abbey St., Busaras, or Connolly. All are min 20 mins walk from Croke Park, but a lot longer with young kids and requires walking through parts of the city that best avoided.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts:917 - 06/08/2017 20:22:36

????

It's not war torn Damascus bud.

Thousands of us manage to live there without incident everyday believe it or not.

"Area best avoided" me hole."
I can't think of another part of any city or town in the 26 counties that would be less safe to walk through than the drug ravaged crime ridden hell hole that is the north inner city of Dublin. You may feel comfortable walking around there however.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 06/08/2017 22:38:44    2029970

Replying To Onion Breath:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Getting the Luas from Hueston only gets you to Middle Abbey St., Busaras, or Connolly. All are min 20 mins walk from Croke Park, but a lot longer with young kids and requires walking through parts of the city that best avoided.

????

Thousands of us manage to live there without incident everyday believe it or not.

I can't think of another part of any city or town in the 26 counties that would be less safe to walk through than the drug ravaged crime ridden hell hole that is the north inner city of Dublin. You may feel comfortable walking around there however."
Seriously exactly how do you intend to go to croke park without going through north inner city Dublin ( short of a helicopter or drone )

A million odd people a year seem ok to brave it and the casualty rate hasn't been high enough to invoke a DOF travel ban

To be honest the walk to Croke park experiencing the headband makers / ticket touts / water sellers / unofficial parking attendants and having a pint in sone pub that being honest I wouldn't visit on a Friday night ( is all part of the atmosphere ) and what makes match day special

Whatever route I take - summer hill parade / gardiner street / mountjoy square / Buckingham street - I've never experienced any discomfort on match day - thousands of match fans / families / kids heading to and from the games -

I do hope that you are able to insulate your family in your utopian bubble for the rest of their lives but failing that you might need them to experience the fact that the world and your country is a bigger place

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/08/2017 23:27:04    2029999

I can't think of another part of any city or town in the 26 counties that would be less safe to walk through than the drug ravaged crime ridden hell hole that is the north inner city of Dublin. You may feel comfortable walking around there however.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts:919 - 06/08/2017 22:38:44   20299

Hyperbolic and offensive nonsense that really should not have been allowed to be posted on this site imo.

You obviously live a very sheltered life if you wouldn't walk through the North Inner City (where Croke Pk is) on a match day alongside thousands of other match goers from all over Ireland.

It must amaze you that all of those thousands of people emerge from their experience unscathed.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 06/08/2017 23:38:50    2030007

????

I can't think of another part of any city or town in the 26 counties that would be less safe to walk through than the drug ravaged crime ridden hell hole that is the north inner city of Dublin. You may feel comfortable walking around there however."
Grow a pair.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 06/08/2017 23:42:12    2030012

Replying To arock:  "There are far easier ways of getting to the stadium, parking beside it and and eating next door are NOT good ideas at all, in fact they are very very bad options. Plus planning the route in, yesterday had three northern counties routes south were always going to be jammers, there are better ways to come in. In Ireland we don't do forward planning - traffic cops, road capacity planning, park and ride all that stuff fly's over our heads or is only for Germans, hence we try to park outside an sold out 80K seater stadium and eat dinner next door."
have to say had a great time yesterday parking in clonlife college..parked next door to the stadium..sat in the car till the heavy rain passed..had a cuppa before the short walk into the ground..then a short walk back to the car..got out the tea and sandwiches while the kids kicked a ball around on the grass, and after a while got into the car and was out of the car park in 5 mins..what's the problem with parking next door to the stadium and having something to eat?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 06/08/2017 23:57:27    2030022

Replying To Onion Breath:  "What man says?

For reasons outlined earlier, getting a train from Maynooth is not an option if the crowd is going to be big. Grand for a league game on a Saturday evening but worse than third world conditions, reliability and safety on the day of a big match."
It's OK for adults but not bringing kids, train too packed. If you're luck enough to get on the Sligo train to Drumcondra, in Maynooth it's people standing in aisles. Less crushed than train just going Maynooth to Drumcondram

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7350 - 07/08/2017 00:19:28    2030033

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "have to say had a great time yesterday parking in clonlife college..parked next door to the stadium..sat in the car till the heavy rain passed..had a cuppa before the short walk into the ground..then a short walk back to the car..got out the tea and sandwiches while the kids kicked a ball around on the grass, and after a while got into the car and was out of the car park in 5 mins..what's the problem with parking next door to the stadium and having something to eat?"
Fair play to you.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7350 - 07/08/2017 00:27:01    2030040

????

What an absolute lowlife to post something like that, sick how the moderators let that disgusting post through which says alot about them as it does the lowlife who posted it.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/08/2017 07:26:04    2030074

From what I can see it's the traffic management within Clonliffe road that's the big problem. Once they get your tenner going in they don't give a flying you know what after that! What happens is people start to lose patience after sitting in cars over hour and a half because nothing is happening. This is quickly followed by impatient queue skippers merging into bigger queues and it's like a domino effect with nobody getting anywhere. Could they not try and coordinate a traffic flow plan in coordination with Garda on the exits? As I said once they have your money good luck.....I'd never park there

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 07/08/2017 09:45:16    2030096

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "
Replying To Onion Breath:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Getting the Luas from Hueston only gets you to Middle Abbey St., Busaras, or Connolly. All are min 20 mins walk from Croke Park, but a lot longer with young kids and requires walking through parts of the city that best avoided.

????

What an absolute lowlife to post something like that, sick how the moderators let that disgusting post through which says alot about them as it does the lowlife who posted it."]Agreed

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 07/08/2017 11:09:14    2030133

I work within 30 minutes walk of Croker. Yes, some seedy areas alright but not once in my 8 months there have I ever felt threatened. Quite the contrary. The people for the most part are genuine and friendly Dubliners.
I still love it though on the rare occasion their football team loses :) c'mon Tyrone

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 07/08/2017 12:34:35    2030185

????

Be honest....you've never left Carlow in your life have you?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 07/08/2017 17:30:09    2030455

????

Can you back up such comments with stats about GAA fans being attacked on their way to Croke park? In that or any other area?

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 07/08/2017 19:06:04    2030520

Nothing wrong at all with parking in Clonliffe if you have time on your hands at the end of the game and you don't mind waiting for a long time to get out of the college. I have parked there a few times and it was grand as I went and had a few drinks and a few other times we brought the tea and sambos and had a great time chatting with people from the competing counties after the game... We are too often in too big a hurry!!!

I have used the train from Maynooth a few times too and it can be uncomfortable standing in a squeezed aisle!!
I have taken the train from Carlow to Heuston and got the Luas and walked up to Croker - a great walk especially on the very big days and its a great atmosphere. I have walked and parked on Gardiner St and no problem whatsoever.
With a big stadium in the middle of a big city - it causes parking congestion. We have to live with it and I think just enjoy the day out.. plan your route and be prepared to wait a long time if you want to park close to the stadium.
On the road to Croker next Sunday we will have Cork and Waterford travelling up the same motorway!!! Great craic!!! Part of the GAA experience!!!!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 08/08/2017 13:58:55    2031023