Armagh v Tyrone

Replying To ochaca:  "I see the divil Micky Harte at the propaganda already in todays Irish New, trying to influence referee decisions - suggesting Armagh (and others)are the instigators of foul play and his poor innocent lads are on the receiving end of poor card issuing decisions by referees ."
Mind games from Harte alright but tbf the number of needless fouls we do give away does concern me, just handing the opposition a succession of needless free points. I might be harsh to single out James Morgan considering his stirling performances but how many frees \points does he give away per game?, maybe that just goes with his robustness?

Tyrone are ahead of us and I fully expect them to win but the future is looking far better. Still in championship come August=unbelievable really

Orchard_exile (Armagh) - Posts: 8 - 01/08/2017 21:58:25    2027633

Ah ya hafta laugh at the cavan mans posts hilllllarious

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 01/08/2017 22:41:15    2027650

Replying To foxes_denn:  "During the battle of breffni when armagh started fighting our lads I was nearly across the fence only for a steward floored me with a slap.

Hope Tyrone wipe the floor with yas."
Jaysus! I wouldn't be boasting/commenting on the fact that i let a fat, immobile steward floor you!!

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 02/08/2017 00:03:09    2027676

foxes-denn is a troll. he does the same on the cavan site. really looking forward to this one. I think it will be tight. Armagh have improved a lot, (how on earth did they not get promoted from Div 3). I love the way they play and some very technically gifted players. however I think Tyrone's bench may swing it in the last 15 mins.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/08/2017 04:56:10    2027694

Replying To DooReg:  "And you expect any of us to take any of your posts seriously when you thought it was the battle of briefne?? My guess is you weren't even there. Likely in the pub watching based on your response.

There is no way you can accuse any Armagh team of diving. I will take any criticism of too tough, borderline tackling etc but diving is not in our makeup. Unfortunately, the Tyrone team of 2003 & 2005 could be accused of that (their 2007 team was much more honest) so I take that comment like your previous one - full of ignorance"
Your propaganda about Tyrone diving is getting very old and boring - if you guys learnt how to tackle properly then they wouldn't have gotten off with it - Armagh were the kings of the third man tackle which made it easy for teams to take advantage. Instead of constantly ridiculing Tyrone why not accept they were a fine outfit in the noughties and that they and yourselves made GAA football in the noughties something that was extremely fascinating and GAA a big ticket item?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 02/08/2017 06:16:56    2027696

Replying To DooReg:  "And you expect any of us to take any of your posts seriously when you thought it was the battle of briefne?? My guess is you weren't even there. Likely in the pub watching based on your response.

There is no way you can accuse any Armagh team of diving. I will take any criticism of too tough, borderline tackling etc but diving is not in our makeup. Unfortunately, the Tyrone team of 2003 & 2005 could be accused of that (their 2007 team was much more honest) so I take that comment like your previous one - full of ignorance"
Your propaganda about Tyrone diving is getting very old and boring - if you guys learnt how to tackle properly then they wouldn't have gotten off with it - Armagh were the kings of the third man tackle which made it easy for teams to take advantage. Instead of constantly ridiculing Tyrone why not accept they were a fine outfit in the noughties and that they and yourselves made GAA football in the noughties something that was extremely fascinating and GAA a big ticket item?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 02/08/2017 09:02:22    2027715

IrishGael3(USA) Your propaganda about Tyrone diving is getting very old and boring

To state that Tyrone dived is fact not propaganda - you have to take criticism of your team as well as the praise. I accept Armagh used cynical tactics and 3rd man tackles I do accept that, but to deny that Tyrone dived is just being daft - man up.

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 02/08/2017 10:32:00    2027749

Tyrone were and are a fine team and don't think they ever really needed to deploy some of their questionable tactics. The reason there are jibes against Tyrone are for the dive to get Marsden sent off 03, the 'hair-gate' dive to get Hughes sent off for us and of course the famous black-card initiator against McManus in Croker which we could call a dive-and-drag!! Major moments on the big scene.
That said, Tyrone are a serious outfit and I feel it will be a step too far for Armagh who have probably reached their Championship target. Tyrone's target is an AI.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 02/08/2017 11:07:35    2027763

Replying To Brolly:  "Tyrone were and are a fine team and don't think they ever really needed to deploy some of their questionable tactics. The reason there are jibes against Tyrone are for the dive to get Marsden sent off 03, the 'hair-gate' dive to get Hughes sent off for us and of course the famous black-card initiator against McManus in Croker which we could call a dive-and-drag!! Major moments on the big scene.
That said, Tyrone are a serious outfit and I feel it will be a step too far for Armagh who have probably reached their Championship target. Tyrone's target is an AI."
So are we divers or too rough? You brought up two examples, Why Jordan ran at Marsden we'll never know and the hair-gate I don't think anyone will ever understand are condone being from Tyrone or otherwise. Any other examples of questionable tactics cause I think that is a poor assessment. I doubt Mickey Harte says go out and dive first opportunity you get and saying that you gave 3 examples of "questionable tactics" in 12 years is quite ridiculous and i'm near sure McManus said he would have done the same if he was in Cavanagh's shoes.

We'll not mention the attack Canavan received in the 05 Ulster final after coming off the bench and then he got sent off for that red card to be scrapped. If I remember correctly O'Neill also got sent off for a second yellow without receiving a first. We were apparently the inventors of "Puke Football" Spillane, P. Sunday Game (2003) the day we beat Kerry with outstanding work-rate, discipline and tackling.

Regardless, This will all be sorted on Saturday and if the GAA have their way the following week with a full house in HQ. Honestly if it as tight as everyone thinks the GAA would rubbing their hands with delight as its probably the only fixture they would get a full crowd for at this stage. Its okay to say Dublin would bring the support but would Monaghan?

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 02/08/2017 12:02:14    2027802

Replying To Brolly:  "Tyrone were and are a fine team and don't think they ever really needed to deploy some of their questionable tactics. The reason there are jibes against Tyrone are for the dive to get Marsden sent off 03, the 'hair-gate' dive to get Hughes sent off for us and of course the famous black-card initiator against McManus in Croker which we could call a dive-and-drag!! Major moments on the big scene.
That said, Tyrone are a serious outfit and I feel it will be a step too far for Armagh who have probably reached their Championship target. Tyrone's target is an AI."
Ridiculous comment 3 examples over 15 years and with all that's gone on with the Dubs, Kerry et al and all the rugby tackling going on out there and it goes on with every team, to single out Tyrone all the time is getting boring - wise up man!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 02/08/2017 12:24:57    2027817

Replying To FairShoulder:  "IrishGael3(USA) Your propaganda about Tyrone diving is getting very old and boring

To state that Tyrone dived is fact not propaganda - you have to take criticism of your team as well as the praise. I accept Armagh used cynical tactics and 3rd man tackles I do accept that, but to deny that Tyrone dived is just being daft - man up."
I'm not from Tyrone but I admire them as I do Armagh in noughties and Donegal, Monaghan and Down more recently - and I still believe this is total propaganda based on your own bias towards the red hands - only for red hands you may have won more than 1 AI - who knows - but that particular team where the standout best team in Ireland on their day and what I remember from them is their lack of fear of the Kerrys and Dubs in croker, their skill levels, their defensive abilities and their awesome counterattacking style a model still been used today - not diving!!!! So please change the record and focus on your own team.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 02/08/2017 12:30:27    2027819

I just gave a few high-profile examples lads - merely pointing out where the diving thing came from. Obviously every county has their moments and unsavory incidents.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 02/08/2017 12:46:57    2027832

Replying To IrishGael3:  "
Replying To FairShoulder:  "IrishGael3(USA) Your propaganda about Tyrone diving is getting very old and boring

To state that Tyrone dived is fact not propaganda - you have to take criticism of your team as well as the praise. I accept Armagh used cynical tactics and 3rd man tackles I do accept that, but to deny that Tyrone dived is just being daft - man up."
I'm not from Tyrone but I admire them as I do Armagh in noughties and Donegal, Monaghan and Down more recently - and I still believe this is total propaganda based on your own bias towards the red hands - only for red hands you may have won more than 1 AI - who knows - but that particular team where the standout best team in Ireland on their day and what I remember from them is their lack of fear of the Kerrys and Dubs in croker, their skill levels, their defensive abilities and their awesome counterattacking style a model still been used today - not diving!!!! So please change the record and focus on your own team."
You're not from Tyrone!!??

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 02/08/2017 12:54:29    2027841

Replying To Brolly:  "
Replying To IrishGael3:  "[quote=FairShoulder:  "IrishGael3(USA) Your propaganda about Tyrone diving is getting very old and boring

I'm not from Tyrone but I admire them as I do Armagh in noughties and Donegal, Monaghan and Down more recently - and I still believe this is total propaganda based on your own bias towards the red hands - only for red hands you may have won more than 1 AI - who knows - but that particular team where the standout best team in Ireland on their day and what I remember from them is their lack of fear of the Kerrys and Dubs in croker, their skill levels, their defensive abilities and their awesome counterattacking style a model still been used today - not diving!!!! So please change the record and focus on your own team."
You're not from Tyrone!!??"]I know. I am fairly sure IrishGael3 is actually from Tyrone.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 02/08/2017 13:04:50    2027848

Replying To Find_the_space:  "So are we divers or too rough? You brought up two examples, Why Jordan ran at Marsden we'll never know and the hair-gate I don't think anyone will ever understand are condone being from Tyrone or otherwise. Any other examples of questionable tactics cause I think that is a poor assessment. I doubt Mickey Harte says go out and dive first opportunity you get and saying that you gave 3 examples of "questionable tactics" in 12 years is quite ridiculous and i'm near sure McManus said he would have done the same if he was in Cavanagh's shoes.

We'll not mention the attack Canavan received in the 05 Ulster final after coming off the bench and then he got sent off for that red card to be scrapped. If I remember correctly O'Neill also got sent off for a second yellow without receiving a first. We were apparently the inventors of "Puke Football" Spillane, P. Sunday Game (2003) the day we beat Kerry with outstanding work-rate, discipline and tackling.

Regardless, This will all be sorted on Saturday and if the GAA have their way the following week with a full house in HQ. Honestly if it as tight as everyone thinks the GAA would rubbing their hands with delight as its probably the only fixture they would get a full crowd for at this stage. Its okay to say Dublin would bring the support but would Monaghan?"
Not to mention the equally ridiculous dive by Beggan earlier in THAT game, which was that bad that the ref ignored it and he had to pick himself up and go hit the kick out. But as he didn't have a Red Hand on his jersey it was never even discussed in the aftermath, despite all the talk being of diving

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 02/08/2017 14:12:12    2027899

Tyrone by 8

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/08/2017 19:41:15    2028060

Got a feeling Tyrone will pull away and win by 5 or 6. I hope I'm wrong purely as I root for the underdog and I've a lot of respect for the way Armagh have quietly gone about their business this summer. I thought they'd beat Kildare but this is probably too tough an ask. That said, if Tyrone do the business, I'll be backing them all the way in the final.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 02/08/2017 22:02:02    2028134

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Tyrone by 8"
Can't see Tyrone getting bate by 8 now. I recon they'll get beat by 2 with a last minute goal by Jamie.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 03/08/2017 09:41:36    2028265

This is definitely a step too far for Armagh - think their fans are really overestimating their potential due to the run they've been on (which is great to see in terms of support for their team) but this is a Div 2/3 team playing against a top 3 team at the business end of the season. They'll need Tyrone having a stinker to have any chance.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 03/08/2017 11:12:30    2028311

I can't see Armagh being able to keep up the constant pressure on the Tyrone lads. You won't out-Tyrone Tyrone.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/08/2017 19:01:08    2028566