Giant Flags on Hill16

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Look past your pettiness for a minute lads of yous can."
I would agree with you on that, some posters are petty. But on the flipside, the reaction to this has been cringe at best. The obsession with the Hill at times is also cringe."
Don't disagree with you man.

But the reaction of a few posters has been embarrassing. Unable to view the issue in general and just straight in with their "stupid Dubs think they own the place" schtick.

The idea of the boycott isn't great but the banning of flags etc is more dilution of genuine atmosphere in favour of a manufactured corporate boring atmosphere.

That should be resisted by everyone in my opinion."]You are talking some nonsense about this to be perfectly honest.

The flag wasn't banned to create a corporate atmosphere but more so because health and safety protocols have gone bananas in recent times.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2017 16:02:49    2024978

You are talking some nonsense about this to be perfectly honest. 

The flag wasn't banned to create a corporate atmosphere but more so because health and safety protocols have gone bananas in recent times.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts:3490 - 28/07/2017 16:02:49   2024978 

If that's what you think then fair enough.

If Health and safety is such a concern then why in other EU countries are supporters allowed have massive tifo fan displays regularly.

Is there something in the Irish atmosphere that makes it more flammable maybe?

AIG were allowed a large flag recently I think. I'm sure they'll be allowed one again. As will any big sponsors.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/07/2017 16:14:58    2024984

Replying To kildare73:  "Spot on. The ruling doesn't apply to Parnell Park, maybe Dublin should try playing the odd game there, even in the league, and unfurl the flag there. You remember Parnell Park??"
Apart from obvious bitterness does your post actually have a point ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/07/2017 16:18:29    2024988

Replying To kildare73:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Well it's nobody else's flag, nobody else is complaining, nobody else is looking to launch boycotts. So yeah, it's a Dublin issue. Maybe look for the pettiness within."
Maybe the Dubs are doing it for the greater good and one day your kids will appreciate it when your competitive,I understand you being flippant that it's irrelevant as you may never see Kildare as competitive , but FairPlay you guys more than punch above your weight on social media if only there was a prize

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/07/2017 16:25:03    2024994

Replying To Damothedub:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Well it's nobody else's flag, nobody else is complaining, nobody else is looking to launch boycotts. So yeah, it's a Dublin issue. Maybe look for the pettiness within."
Maybe the Dubs are doing it for the greater good and one day your kids will appreciate it when your competitive,I understand you being flippant that it's irrelevant as you may never see Kildare as competitive , but FairPlay you guys more than punch above your weight on social media if only there was a prize"]

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 28/07/2017 16:42:17    2025006

Replying To Damothedub:  "Apart from obvious bitterness does your post actually have a point ?"
Read it slowly if you have to, the point is in there!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 18:30:59    2025071

Replying To Damothedub:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Maybe the Dubs are doing it for the greater good and one day your kids will appreciate it when your competitive,I understand you being flippant that it's irrelevant as you may never see Kildare as competitive , but FairPlay you guys more than punch above your weight on social media if only there was a prize"]Who's greater good? I don't know any other county that brings a flag that size to Croker so it's not affecting anyone else. The rest of us cope just fine any day we go support our county without rolling out a big bed sheet.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 18:36:31    2025073

Replying To daytona11:  "The Dubs can ask my backside about their flags.

At least the hill opens for them even if there are only 40,000 going to be there.

it's a disgrace it doesn't open for the rest of us."
So do something about it !! whinging here is not going to change anything.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/07/2017 18:44:29    2025074

Replying To MesAmis:  "Well it's nobody else's flag, nobody else is complaining, nobody else is looking to launch boycotts. So yeah, it's a Dublin issue. Maybe look for the pettiness within.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:239 - 28/07/2017 13:48:54   2024877 

So essentially you've proved my point and are unable to look beyond your own pettiness.

You tell me to look within for pettiness? I'm just me bud, it's amusing how you take us all as some big block.

This is a ban on all county supporters having big flags at games in Croke Pk.

It has been highlighted by Dublin supporters but affects all supporters. They want us all to only display branded sponsored flags from now on. You obviously love that idea.

But yeah "stupid Dubs think they own the place""
So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 18:47:27    2025077

So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:242 - 28/07/2017 18:47:27   2025077 

My argument is that supporters should be allowed to bring flags to Croke Park and your argument is that Dublin fans should not be allowed flags and that the rest of the country fans don't care about flags in Croke Park.

Not sure which argument is the weak one to be honest bud.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/07/2017 19:51:32    2025095

Replying To MesAmis:  "So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

My argument is that supporters should be allowed to bring flags to Croke Park and your argument is that Dublin fans should not be allowed flags and that the rest of the country fans don't care about flags in Croke Park.

Not sure which argument is the weak one to be honest bud."
Again you are trying to put words in my mouth. I didn't say nobody should be allowed to bring flags, my point is it doesn't have to be the huge flag that has now been banned. Plenty of counties go Croke Park, as do plenty of Dubs fans, and don't feel the need to get out a 40 ft flag to make their presence felt. So Dublin fans on Hill 16 aren't being treated any differently.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 21:08:06    2025123

Replying To MesAmis:  "So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

Again you are trying to put words in my mouth. I didn't say nobody should be allowed to bring flags, my point is it doesn't have to be the huge flag that has now been banned. Plenty of counties go Croke Park, as do plenty of Dubs fans, and don't feel the need to get out a 40 ft flag to make their presence felt. So Dublin fans on Hill 16 aren't being treated any differently."
The point being out isn't about the Dubs it's about all fans being banned from bringing in large flags.

Do you really expect us to believe that Dublin fans are the only ones to ever bring large flags to a GAA match?

This ban isn't about Dublin. It's just that the first set of fans to complain about it happen to be Dubs that has you all hot and bothered and ready to start your flag bonfires on Clonliffe Rd lest any get in.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/07/2017 22:20:50    2025151

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

Again you are trying to put words in my mouth. I didn't say nobody should be allowed to bring flags, my point is it doesn't have to be the huge flag that has now been banned. Plenty of counties go Croke Park, as do plenty of Dubs fans, and don't feel the need to get out a 40 ft flag to make their presence felt. So Dublin fans on Hill 16 aren't being treated any differently."
The point being out isn't about the Dubs it's about all fans being banned from bringing in large flags.

Do you really expect us to believe that Dublin fans are the only ones to ever bring large flags to a GAA match?

This ban isn't about Dublin. It's just that the first set of fans to complain about it happen to be Dubs that has you all hot and bothered and ready to start your flag bonfires on Clonliffe Rd lest any get in."]Dublin's fans aren't just the first ones to complain about the ban, they are the ONLY ones to complain about the flag ban. And since you guys are the ones throwing your toys out of the pram about it, it's hilarious that you tell me I'm the one getting "hot and bothered" about it all. But we'll done for getting through a post without telling me I said something I never said. Anyway I'm off to pack my 39.9ft flag for tomorrow evening;)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/07/2017 00:43:19    2025201

Dublin's fans aren't just the first ones to complain about the ban, they are the ONLY ones to complain about the flag ban. And since you guys are the ones throwing your toys out of the pram about it, it's hilarious that you tell me I'm the one getting "hot and bothered" about it all. But we'll done for getting through a post without telling me I said something I never said. Anyway I'm off to pack my 39.9ft flag for tomorrow evening;)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:244 - 29/07/2017 00:43:19   2025201 

Again you seem to labour under the pretense that I am all Dublin fans. You do realise that I'm one person don't you? I don't judge all Kildare people based on one!

I'm not throwing anything out of anything.

I just think that supporters should be allowed flags! You disagree for some reason!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/07/2017 09:33:43    2025241

Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

This ban isn't about Dublin. It's just that the first set of fans to complain about it happen to be Dubs that has you all hot and bothered and ready to start your flag bonfires on Clonliffe Rd lest any get in."]Dublin's fans aren't just the first ones to complain about the ban, they are the ONLY ones to complain about the flag ban. And since you guys are the ones throwing your toys out of the pram about it, it's hilarious that you tell me I'm the one getting "hot and bothered" about it all. But we'll done for getting through a post without telling me I said something I never said. Anyway I'm off to pack my 39.9ft flag for tomorrow evening;)"]Ah yes the old "throwing your toys out of the pram" line wheeled out when someone dares question anything in this life. Tell me....did Kildare "throw their toys out of the pram" when looking to get Feelys black overturned?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 29/07/2017 10:19:45    2025255

Replying To DannyMcA:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "[quote=kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

This ban isn't about Dublin. It's just that the first set of fans to complain about it happen to be Dubs that has you all hot and bothered and ready to start your flag bonfires on Clonliffe Rd lest any get in."]Dublin's fans aren't just the first ones to complain about the ban, they are the ONLY ones to complain about the flag ban. And since you guys are the ones throwing your toys out of the pram about it, it's hilarious that you tell me I'm the one getting "hot and bothered" about it all. But we'll done for getting through a post without telling me I said something I never said. Anyway I'm off to pack my 39.9ft flag for tomorrow evening;)"]Ah yes the old "throwing your toys out of the pram" line wheeled out when someone dares question anything in this life. Tell me....did Kildare "throw their toys out of the pram" when looking to get Feelys black overturned?"]Actually no, we kept our counsel, went through the processes quietly and one of the cards was overturned. Down did the same. No multiple threads giving out yards about it, no claiming victimisation. Just submit the appeal and let nature take its course. Alien concept I know but there you go!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/07/2017 14:02:50    2025324

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dublin's fans aren't just the first ones to complain about the ban, they are the ONLY ones to complain about the flag ban. And since you guys are the ones throwing your toys out of the pram about it, it's hilarious that you tell me I'm the one getting "hot and bothered" about it all. But we'll done for getting through a post without telling me I said something I never said. Anyway I'm off to pack my 39.9ft flag for tomorrow evening;)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:244 - 29/07/2017 00:43:19   2025201 

Again you seem to labour under the pretense that I am all Dublin fans. You do realise that I'm one person don't you? I don't judge all Kildare people based on one!

I'm not throwing anything out of anything.

I just think that supporters should be allowed flags! You disagree for some reason!"
Where does it say ALL flags are banned?

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/07/2017 14:06:38    2025325

Where does it say ALL flags are banned?

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:246 - 29/07/2017 14:06:38   2025325 

Ah c'mon man have not been reading anything that we've been talking about?

It's large flags that have been banned. I didn't think I'd have to keep specifying as to what exactly we are talking about every time!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/07/2017 14:42:47    2025342

Replying To DannyMcA:  "[quote=kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "[quote=kildare73:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "So basically if some doesn't agree with you they are bitter and petty? Maybe go look up irony in the dictionary! Who began all this 'outrage' in the first place?? Yes it affects all other counties but who else is complaining about it? Nobody! So thanks, but don't worry about the rest of us. Plus, I never once said on here that I thought "stupid Dubs think they own the place". So please don't put words in my mouth just to try strengthen your already weak argument.

This ban isn't about Dublin. It's just that the first set of fans to complain about it happen to be Dubs that has you all hot and bothered and ready to start your flag bonfires on Clonliffe Rd lest any get in."]Dublin's fans aren't just the first ones to complain about the ban, they are the ONLY ones to complain about the flag ban. And since you guys are the ones throwing your toys out of the pram about it, it's hilarious that you tell me I'm the one getting "hot and bothered" about it all. But we'll done for getting through a post without telling me I said something I never said. Anyway I'm off to pack my 39.9ft flag for tomorrow evening;)"]Ah yes the old "throwing your toys out of the pram" line wheeled out when someone dares question anything in this life. Tell me....did Kildare "throw their toys out of the pram" when looking to get Feelys black overturned?"]Actually no, we kept our counsel, went through the processes quietly and one of the cards was overturned. Down did the same. No multiple threads giving out yards about it, no claiming victimisation. Just submit the appeal and let nature take its course. Alien concept I know but there you go!!"]See so one CAN question the GAA without being accused of throwing the toys out of the pram. Luckily there is an appeals process for teams to go about their business quietly as you put it. As supporters we have no such luxury. A county like Kildare are an up and coming team but not quite dibing ar the top table yet and therefore not subject to the online abuse that a team like Dublin or Kerry or Mayo would have hence the thread after thread of posters having their say....biased or unbiased. I've seen your many posts over the past few months and it's quite obvious to me what kind of poster you are when it pertains to Dublin. Ewan would be so proud!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 29/07/2017 15:12:36    2025356

A4 size flags only allowed? Is that true? Health and Safety gone too far...what a joke

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/07/2017 22:03:20    2025564