Giant Flags on Hill16

Replying To Farney1977:  "Considering croke park belongs to all 32 counties and Dublin don't own it , albeit they like to think they do, maybe this should be voted on by all county boards. Why do the dub fans continually believe they are above everyone else when it comes to Croke park. Has made a ruling now deal with it."
Spot on. The ruling doesn't apply to Parnell Park, maybe Dublin should try playing the odd game there, even in the league, and unfurl the flag there. You remember Parnell Park??

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 01:04:52    2024726

Its all Diarmuid Connollys fault!

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 28/07/2017 01:35:20    2024729

If any of you were at the U2 concert, you may have seen large 'flag' with an image of a young girl, Omaima a Syrian refugee being passed over the heads of the fans
Now this flag was bigger than the Dubs
Is there a different rule for concerts ????

Kirkintilloch (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 28/07/2017 01:50:20    2024730

Ah lads - the tweet by the Fire Brigade doesn't answer the question that they are responding to. The question asked was "Did you really advise that the big flag was a fire hazard". The answer give "Croke Park make their own decisions on Health and Safety". That doesn't answer the question asked but stating the obvious - of course Croke Park make their own Health and Safety decisions - but did Dublin Fire brigade advise them that it could be a fire hazard? If they didn't then why not come out and answer No we didn't. The custodian of DFB Twitter could have a promising career in politics should they ever decide they need a change.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/07/2017 08:42:19    2024748

Replying To kildare73:  "Spot on. The ruling doesn't apply to Parnell Park, maybe Dublin should try playing the odd game there, even in the league, and unfurl the flag there. You remember Parnell Park??"
Stupid post , Dublin play were they are told too.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/07/2017 10:04:13    2024782

Replying To maroondiesel:  "GAA are right about this. Safety issue. Croke Park does not belong to Dublin, this is not a soccer stadium in UK. Do the patrons under the giant flag even see the field?"
Your prejudice is as obvious as a Keegan black card.... :-)

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 28/07/2017 10:16:44    2024789

Replying To kildare73:  "Spot on. The ruling doesn't apply to Parnell Park, maybe Dublin should try playing the odd game there, even in the league, and unfurl the flag there. You remember Parnell Park??"
We'll play Kildare anywhere you'd like us to... :-)

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 28/07/2017 10:21:32    2024790

Are any of the other flags (tricolour etc.) flown in Croke park flammable? Or are they too far away from supporters as to not warrant a H&S concern?

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 28/07/2017 10:23:18    2024791

I thought it was only up here that 'Flegs' caused trouble.

Anyway i think it's a complete overreaction by Croker. The flag is doing zero harm, considering bags are now being searched on entry into croker how is anyone going to get a flare in?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/07/2017 10:29:21    2024792

Replying To superbluedub:  "Stupid post , Dublin play were they are told too."
Really? You bang the drum for Connolly and a big flag but you roll over every time when you are taken out of your home? Does Parnell Park mean that little to Dublin nowadays? Well now you have been told you can't wave a flag and THAT gets your gander up!! Weird and definitely stupid!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 11:55:41    2024828

Replying To gotmilk:  "I thought it was only up here that 'Flegs' caused trouble.

Anyway i think it's a complete overreaction by Croker. The flag is doing zero harm, considering bags are now being searched on entry into croker how is anyone going to get a flare in?"
No bags, no cigs, no beer, no flags, no flares.

With all this political correctness it's only a matter of time before the Dubs will be singing 'Come on ye persons in Blue'.......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 28/07/2017 12:15:13    2024837

Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Look past your pettiness for a minute lads of yous can.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/07/2017 12:36:49    2024847

Replying To kildare73:  "Really? You bang the drum for Connolly and a big flag but you roll over every time when you are taken out of your home? Does Parnell Park mean that little to Dublin nowadays? Well now you have been told you can't wave a flag and THAT gets your gander up!! Weird and definitely stupid!!"
You make a very interesting point there Kildare73.

They go mad and threaten to boycott if the caps are taken off their coke bottles but when they're asked to leave their home to play in corporate park they're as quiet as mice .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/07/2017 13:09:43    2024853

Replying To MesAmis:  "Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Look past your pettiness for a minute lads of yous can."
I would agree with you on that, some posters are petty. But on the flipside, the reaction to this has been cringe at best. The obsession with the Hill at times is also cringe.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/07/2017 13:19:57    2024860

Replying To MesAmis:  "Idiotic that some country posters think this is a Dublin issue.

Well it's nobody else's flag, nobody else is complaining, nobody else is looking to launch boycotts. So yeah, it's a Dublin issue. Maybe look for the pettiness within.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/07/2017 13:48:54    2024877

If there is genuine H&S concerns surrounding large flags then I can understand banning them. I don't honestly know how big a risk they are but could see that if one caught fire or if it restricted an emergency evacuation then there maybe some cause of concern (although it is a bit nanny state-ism)
But if there is a ban the it should apply to all ends, all teams in all grounds (incl for example cork hurling supporters).

As regards the "bottle cap" issue - I'm not what they are trying to prevent - I've seen this applied in soccer grounds( e.g. Camp Nou) clearly to prevent the bottle being used as a missle for throwing at players or fans but I'm not aware this has happened at GAA games ? Also the risk of serious or mass injury is much different than a flag going up in flames with 1000 people under it.

Also there is no logic for the practice to only apply on H16 - I would have thought firing a bottle from the top of the Hogan (or dropping one over the front row of premium level is a much higher risk that firing something from H16

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/07/2017 14:57:42    2024919

All the majority of supporters give a sh*#e about is what happens on the field, who cares about flags really?

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 28/07/2017 14:58:48    2024921

Well it's nobody else's flag, nobody else is complaining, nobody else is looking to launch boycotts. So yeah, it's a Dublin issue. Maybe look for the pettiness within.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:239 - 28/07/2017 13:48:54   2024877 

So essentially you've proved my point and are unable to look beyond your own pettiness.

You tell me to look within for pettiness? I'm just me bud, it's amusing how you take us all as some big block.

This is a ban on all county supporters having big flags at games in Croke Pk.

It has been highlighted by Dublin supporters but affects all supporters. They want us all to only display branded sponsored flags from now on. You obviously love that idea.

But yeah "stupid Dubs think they own the place"

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/07/2017 15:40:07    2024958

Replying To TheFlaker:  "

I would agree with you on that, some posters are petty. But on the flipside, the reaction to this has been cringe at best. The obsession with the Hill at times is also cringe."
Don't disagree with you man.

But the reaction of a few posters has been embarrassing. Unable to view the issue in general and just straight in with their "stupid Dubs think they own the place" schtick.

The idea of the boycott isn't great but the banning of flags etc is more dilution of genuine atmosphere in favour of a manufactured corporate boring atmosphere.

That should be resisted by everyone in my opinion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/07/2017 15:43:37    2024960

The Dubs can ask my backside about their flags.

At least the hill opens for them even if there are only 40,000 going to be there.

it's a disgrace it doesn't open for the rest of us.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2017 15:51:16    2024969