Giant Flags on Hill16

This sort of crap really brings out the TRUMP voter side of me!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/07/2017 12:58:55    2023823

Replying To jimbodub:  "This sort of crap really brings out the TRUMP voter side of me!"
You mean Hillary's behind the no flag rule? In which case.........LOCK HER UP!!! Some fella called Sergei from the embassy did mention something to me in passing but I thought he was a WUM.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/07/2017 13:25:03    2023841

Replying To 890202:  "Only an absolute a**hole would bring a flag that size to a match. Have some consideration for people who want to watch the match"
Id say your great craic on a night out

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2017 13:26:07    2023842

Replying To 890202:  "Only an absolute a**hole would bring a flag that size to a match. Have some consideration for people who want to watch the match"
The flag is always unfurled during the parade if there is one or during the warm up. I suppose not having the opportunity to part take in such an atmosphere any more is taking its toll.

Hill147 (Dublin) - Posts: 16 - 26/07/2017 13:35:34    2023851

A Statement On Behalf Of Dublin GAA Supporters Pages:. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"Yesterday's announcement that the large Dublin flag regularly seen at games would not be allowed on Hill 16 any longer was the latest in a long line of ridiculous rules and regulations for supporters who attend Hill 16 on match day. Unnecessary searches even before the new safety rules came in, caps taken off bottles of minerals, flags banned and a huge perspex screen are just some of the unnecessary 'safety measures' we have had to contend with.

"Yet the GAA and Croke Park have no issue leaving stairwells and fire exits blocked during games along with keeping us penned in behind the perspex screen. Where are the perspex screens for the other stands? Yesterday's banning of the large flag has led us to finally say enough is enough.

"We as social media pages that represent Dublin GAA supporters are therefore calling on all Dublin GAA supporters to boycott every retail facility inside Croke Park on August 5th. We would urge you all to bring your own food and drinks and not contribute one cent to the bars, shops and every other outlet inside Croke Park. We regret any loss to the franchises involved but the continued disregard for supporters has forced us to call for this action. This is the only action possible that allows us to protest while also allowing us to support our team.

"We will continue the call for this boycott until the GAA addresses supporters concerns and may take further action in the form of boycotting games at Croke Park in the future if our pleas fall on deaf ears."

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2017 13:42:29    2023855

This health and safety is a great excuse for getting something done that you want these days. It's amazing how it works as for the life of me a flag being unfurled across and back for five minutes is too much a risk yet due to more than likely overselling tickets for the hill supporters are having to stand on the aisle ways for championship games for the entire 70 minutes now surely that's a far bigger health and safety risk. This bottle cap taken off people is another load of rubbish as I don't ever buy a bottle in their I bring my own and have never had it taken off the bottle cap haha so how on earth does it make any sense

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2017 13:49:41    2023859

There's only one person to blame for this whole fiasco....Diarmuid Connolly!!!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 26/07/2017 14:03:00    2023871

Replying To Damothedub:  "A Statement On Behalf Of Dublin GAA Supporters Pages:. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"Yesterday's announcement that the large Dublin flag regularly seen at games would not be allowed on Hill 16 any longer was the latest in a long line of ridiculous rules and regulations for supporters who attend Hill 16 on match day. Unnecessary searches even before the new safety rules came in, caps taken off bottles of minerals, flags banned and a huge perspex screen are just some of the unnecessary 'safety measures' we have had to contend with.

"Yet the GAA and Croke Park have no issue leaving stairwells and fire exits blocked during games along with keeping us penned in behind the perspex screen. Where are the perspex screens for the other stands? Yesterday's banning of the large flag has led us to finally say enough is enough.

"We as social media pages that represent Dublin GAA supporters are therefore calling on all Dublin GAA supporters to boycott every retail facility inside Croke Park on August 5th. We would urge you all to bring your own food and drinks and not contribute one cent to the bars, shops and every other outlet inside Croke Park. We regret any loss to the franchises involved but the continued disregard for supporters has forced us to call for this action. This is the only action possible that allows us to protest while also allowing us to support our team.

"We will continue the call for this boycott until the GAA addresses supporters concerns and may take further action in the form of boycotting games at Croke Park in the future if our pleas fall on deaf ears.""
I'm definitely gonna buy someone double what I would have in Croke Park retail outlets now.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 26/07/2017 14:09:37    2023882

Replying To Damothedub:  "A Statement On Behalf Of Dublin GAA Supporters Pages:. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"We will continue the call for this boycott until the GAA addresses supporters concerns and may take further action in the form of boycotting games at Croke Park in the future if our pleas fall on deaf ears.""
Brilliant, some sort of action needs to be taken here. I'm not always a fan of the dubs behavior on the Hill, taunting opposition free-takers etc, but this is just ridiculous. Best of luck with your protest and I hope that whoever is responsible for implementing these stupid health and safety regulations can see some sense.

But lads, be careful on the "bring your own food / drink" idea. My mate had such items confiscated twice recently, at Leinster hurling final and at U2 gig last week.

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 26/07/2017 14:13:23    2023884

Yeah, because it's left unfurled for the full 70 mins with all Dublin fans with their hands in the air holding it! Cop on. It's held up during the parade or warm up and maybe passed over once in the game.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 26/07/2017 14:17:38    2023888

Again. . .the GAA didn't make the call. Dublin City Council did so on the advise of Dublin Fire Brigade.

Your uninformed statement is going to damage independent franchises who work hard to enhance the experience of GAA supporters.

Admin, you may want to reconsider allowing that statement being posted on here.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 26/07/2017 14:28:50    2023900

Seems completely daft to me. Someone mentioned that it was in fact the result of a decision by DCC rather than the GAA. Does anyone have anything that would back that up? It seems ridiculous to claim that there's a fire hazard danger, when you consider the shenanigans that goes on in most European stadia during soccer games (our nearest neighbours excluded), with giant flags, fireworks etc. etc. and no threat to human life week in, week out. I was at a soccer game in France years ago and being in the stands was like being in the middle of a war zone with all flags and pyrotechnics. It was some craic!

Next they'll put a cap on how loudly you can cheer to avoid tinnitus and the GAA having to make pay outs like the Defense Forces did in the early '90s. Daft.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/07/2017 14:34:38    2023904

Replying To cavanman47:  "Again. . .the GAA didn't make the call. Dublin City Council did so on the advise of Dublin Fire Brigade.

Your uninformed statement is going to damage independent franchises who work hard to enhance the experience of GAA supporters.

Admin, you may want to reconsider allowing that statement being posted on here."
He's quoting Dublin's fan's pages.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 26/07/2017 14:40:01    2023910

health and safety

its like something christy cooney would come up with

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 26/07/2017 14:53:08    2023920

firstly....that statement is cringe. Is that the same fella from facebook who goes around saying stupid stuff the whole time
second, are those shops/resturants/bars not franchised to private vendors paying rent to croker, in which case this is a farce of a "protest"

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/07/2017 15:03:33    2023925

I feel a rant coming on lads...... I feel it, and I don't think ill be able to keep it in.....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/07/2017 15:12:04    2023930

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "firstly....that statement is cringe. Is that the same fella from facebook who goes around saying stupid stuff the whole time
second, are those shops/resturants/bars not franchised to private vendors paying rent to croker, in which case this is a farce of a "protest""
well you could bring alcohol to your seats in the stand for coldplay and u2 gigs
but for a leinster championship match they wouldnt even let you have a bottle cap for coca cola to bring up onto the hill, i seen a 4 year old child not be allowed the bottle cap on their coca coal. something is definatly wrong when you can buy the same bottle in the shop outside the hill and walk in with the cap on.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2017 15:14:16    2023933

This is another nail in the coffin for those who have been propagating the notion that Croke Park is a neutral venue

Show is over lads, give it up

PluckyUnderdog (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 26/07/2017 15:14:28    2023935

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He's quoting Dublin's fan's pages."
He runs that page dies he not?

Apologies Damo if it's not you that runs it.

Either way, the post is publicising the call for a boycott of hard working people's businesses, with the ultimate result being job losses (albeit part time jobs), loss of earnings to honourable business people, etc.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 26/07/2017 15:18:59    2023938

Replying To cavanman47:  "Again. . .the GAA didn't make the call. Dublin City Council did so on the advise of Dublin Fire Brigade.

Admin, you may want to reconsider allowing that statement being posted on here."
Read before you post in future. Wasn't his statement. Epic fail.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 26/07/2017 15:19:10    2023939