Cork should lodge complaint

Replying To waynoI:  "fair play to Cork management.

taking it on the chin and not making a huge big deal out of it.

Look, one way or the other you can understand why some would look for a replay, it was an incredibly tight game, corks attitude and mentality was absolutely terrific and mayo in typical mayo fashion had to do things the hard way instead of just cruising through when 7 up, and with it being so close and for the end to be questioned is, well, its unfortunate

A few making the point that the referee added 2 minutes and the sky graphic was wrong, others saying ger cafferky's number being held up when he was subbed toward the end and that may be adding to the confusion, but look all in all, I think Cork should be commended for just taking it.

Other teams in the past have done similar. I remember Dublin in 2012, a lot of dubs on here proposing a replay after it emerged Mayo "could" have used an extra sub, but Gilroy and the DCB to their eternal credit just got on with it, wished mayo well in the final and parked it. Cork doing the same here.

What this shows is the need for a hooter system, Where the clock is stopped for injuries/subs,. It would help out the referee and take all issues of time keeping out of their hands. Referees already have a tough workload and youre just giving them even more unnecessary work and whether branagan made the mistake or not yesterday, it is something that can happen but can easily be avoided.

The scenes yesterday or Branagan being escorted off the pitch was sad to see and overshadows what was an amazing game and an incredible effort by both teams. You can already see that one of the best gmes of the year has more posts on the cork appeal thread than the thread on the game itself."
Cork management knew it was 2 minutes, so did everyone in the stand, this thread is rubbish.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7903 - 23/07/2017 10:51:44    2021535

Replying To tullyframerover:  " Its going to make national press that Branigan is in the eye of the storm again. Obviously its been brought up as an issue and put him in the spotlight again."
I watched the match and in fairness he did very well in the game he let of flow and wasn't whistle happy , cork had 2 chances towards the end to level it up and didn't take them , therefore who is to say the 20 odd seconds would of made the difference! As I said in previous post it's up to gaa to come forward ASAP and say if it was 2/3 minutes added time , everyone just jumps on quickly to slabber but let's see how many come on if it was 2 mins injury and not 3 ,,,,

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 23/07/2017 11:02:11    2021545

Its all Dermo Connollys fault!!

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 23/07/2017 11:06:41    2021550

Replying To Barnowl94:  "So the number of supporters a team has at a game determines how the game should be officiated?
Don't think so."
Where did I say that exactly?

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2017 11:09:36    2021555

Replying To totalrecall:  "I don't think cork will make anything of it, they died with their boots on and will take their beating. Had the shoe been on the other foot and the ref had blew early with mayo trailing.....it would run from now until new year's!"
He didn't blow early !! 2 minutes was announced and 2 minutes was played.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 23/07/2017 11:14:44    2021561

Cork wasted a power of time in their kickouts.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/07/2017 11:17:03    2021564

Replying To topdownfan:  "I watched the match and in fairness he did very well in the game he let of flow and wasn't whistle happy , cork had 2 chances towards the end to level it up and didn't take them , therefore who is to say the 20 odd seconds would of made the difference! As I said in previous post it's up to gaa to come forward ASAP and say if it was 2/3 minutes added time , everyone just jumps on quickly to slabber but let's see how many come on if it was 2 mins injury and not 3 ,,,,"
Listen, this problem with the time keeping is bull and as somebody said it's down to the ref. Just as it was in the first half when he played a min and a half over the 2 min allocated allowing an extra Mayo point.

My problem is not with timekeeping but his actual poor refereeing. If you think he had a good game you are either his brother or a Mayo stalwart. He was poor at best. However that is life and you have to suck it up. We need refs whether they are poor or not. I'm sure we Cork have been or will be on the positive end of such ref performances in the future. That's the luck of the draw.

Next year for me. Good luck Mayo.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 23/07/2017 11:17:11    2021565

I was at the game and have not seen any of it back yet but I was shouting for over carrying way before the shot for the first goal. What did that look like on TV?

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 23/07/2017 11:46:42    2021588

Replying To nextyear:  "I was at the game and have not seen any of it back yet but I was shouting for over carrying way before the shot for the first goal. What did that look like on TV?"
Yea Powter took a serious amount of steps I felt.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/07/2017 11:56:36    2021600

It was nice that Cork went out on a high, but they still went out and it's the end of their season. Why did they not play like that in Munster? Most Cork people are well aware of the quality of players available. But they are generally too conservative in their play, almost afraid of making mistakes. Now that Healy has gone people are still not expecting much. The new manager might just as well be more of the same. Frank Murphy is due to retire this December, but the signs are that nothing much else will change. No sigh of that a Gorbachev moment might happen.

Good luck to Mayo. I would love to see them finally win the All-Ireland and brilliant players like Lee Keegan get the reward of an All-Ireland medal which they deserve, as happened for several stalwart Cork players in 2010.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 23/07/2017 12:06:08    2021606

Replying To nextyear:  "I was at the game and have not seen any of it back yet but I was shouting for over carrying way before the shot for the first goal. What did that look like on TV?"
I thought that too but then saw the replay. It was fine

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2017 12:13:16    2021612

Certainly your best thread to date Jimbo. Bravo

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 23/07/2017 12:42:43    2021637

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Listen, this problem with the time keeping is bull and as somebody said it's down to the ref. Just as it was in the first half when he played a min and a half over the 2 min allocated allowing an extra Mayo point.

My problem is not with timekeeping but his actual poor refereeing. If you think he had a good game you are either his brother or a Mayo stalwart. He was poor at best. However that is life and you have to suck it up. We need refs whether they are poor or not. I'm sure we Cork have been or will be on the positive end of such ref performances in the future. That's the luck of the draw.

Next year for me. Good luck Mayo."
Well if you read most of these posts it's about the 3 min thing, I have most respect for Cork and the supporters so get off your high horse lol

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 23/07/2017 12:53:24    2021650

Replying To seanie_boy:  "The craic was too good on here to sleep:)

I'd say in the morning though it will be less frantic....more mellow .....and that'll be fine with most I'd say."
True to be sure The beer will be out of the system A lot of lads checking what they posted

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 23/07/2017 13:00:33    2021653

Replying To jimbodub:  "I never said that at all :)

Where did I say that?

Perhaps you should read a wee bit more carefully before ignorantly spitting bile

But here not to worry, just try a bit harder in future."
WUM of the new millenium.... And the winner is.. you've guessed it!! And we're delighted to announce that the prize is a one way trip to inner Mongolia in a location where there is absolutely no internet connection!

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 23/07/2017 13:46:22    2021696

Replying To KK1926:  "WUM of the new millenium.... And the winner is.. you've guessed it!! And we're delighted to announce that the prize is a one way trip to inner Mongolia in a location where there is absolutely no internet connection!"
Jaysus

It must be a hindrance to be that unfunny

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2017 13:51:08    2021697

Replying To jimbodub:  "I never said that at all :)

Where did I say that?

Perhaps you should read a wee bit more carefully before ignorantly spitting bile

But here not to worry, just try a bit harder in future."
In all fairness

Where did I say that ?

If you have to resort to just making up lies or not retracting blatant misinformation and also resorting to childish name calling...

Well you're obviously the WUM

Come on now please point out where I said anything like that ?

Or are you too cowardly to face up to being wrong?

greenflag2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 11 - 23/07/2017 14:02:05    2021705

I've also decided to make up a new user name to attack people!

Jimbo here..

I can see the advantage now!!

greenflag2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 11 - 23/07/2017 14:03:35    2021708

Replying To jimbodub:  "Jaysus

It must be a hindrance to be that unfunny"
Who mentioned you? Must be terrible to be so paranoid :-D

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 23/07/2017 14:11:30    2021713

Replying To greenflag2000:  "I've also decided to make up a new user name to attack people!

Jimbo here..

I can see the advantage now!!"
Welcome to the forum Jimbo from Kidare.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 23/07/2017 14:19:30    2021719