Cork should lodge complaint

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Cork folk are too decent and sporting to lodge any appeals , Mayo could win the Al ireland from here, stranger things have happened."
Yeah it wouldn't be like Cork GAA to kick up a fuss

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2017 00:10:04    2021365

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play for working late admin

Appreciate the opportunity to be able to rightly stand up for myself before you head off"
I'd like to thank admin for staying up late reading my fierce important posts, i'd like to thank me granny for being my mammy's mammy...otherwise i wouldn't be here tonight, i'd like to thank fluffy the cat for years of lying on me lap when watching the dubs or the premiership, i'd like to thank the missus for.... for marrying me. I'm a great lad Wayhea!!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/07/2017 00:13:31    2021366

Replying To riverboys:  "The biggest issue around extra time is where are refs and time keepers getting 2 or 3 or 4 mins in a 10 min period, look unless there are countless subs or an injury 1 min is long enough, after Cork's great performance it's sad to see Peadar Healy resigning, Cork have to sort out whatever problems are going on within the county whether it's the players, the co board or the candidates that are looking for the manager job, too many great players are retiring for Cork without ever winning anything, with such a proud county it's a shame to see Cork at a low ebb"
Agree with you but to an extent. O Connor came on for extra time and ended up giving away 2 or 3 soft frees he might have gotten away with 10 years ago. Agree that Cork have got to sort themselves out. One wonders whether or not players knew it was going to be end of the road today for Peadar Healy?

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 23/07/2017 00:28:01    2021373

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol classic. Maybe we should take the first goal off them for the 10 or 11 steps he took. Another WUM."
Haha, paper never refused ink as the saying goes. You can write any ould guff. When it comes to steps, Mayo are a law unto themselves. I wonder every time I see Andy Moran play are extra steps allowed for elderly players. A 'free travel' equivalent, if you will...

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 23/07/2017 00:34:15    2021375

jayus dont mention 30 seconds cost cork an all ireland in 2013

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 23/07/2017 01:06:22    2021381

Replying To Sindar:  "Time indicated is not provided for any rule. Referees discretion. He played far too much injury time in both extra time halves anyway. Ref had a great game I thought so leave him alone. Besides, Cork supporters have no right to complain. Venue was mich closer to them than Mayo but it looks like only about 2000 bothered to travel so they've lost the right to complain imo."
So the number of supporters a team has at a game determines how the game should be officiated?
Don't think so.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 23/07/2017 02:00:55    2021397

Replying To endgame:  "Same game.Different opinion.Everybody can judge it themselves but I thought the ref was harsh on Cork towards the end of the game and in extra time."
So yoo see fit to.comment on the ref being harsh at one moment in the game and judge him on that rather than the previous 90 minutes where he was as flawless as any human can ve in such circumstances. Get your whistle and give it a go yourself

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2017 02:44:33    2021409

Replying To cluichethar:  "What's up Seanie I thought you went to bed"
The craic was too good on here to sleep:)

I'd say in the morning though it will be less frantic....more mellow .....and that'll be fine with most I'd say.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/07/2017 03:15:55    2021414

I don't think cork will make anything of it, they died with their boots on and will take their beating. Had the shoe been on the other foot and the ref had blew early with mayo trailing.....it would run from now until new year's!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 918 - 23/07/2017 03:57:28    2021419

Corks fans, all 200 of them should have staged a sit down protest like the offaly fans in 1998. Technically, they should get a replay as the rulebook says it. When I went into markievicz park, mayo were seven up. How do you keep doing this mayo, ye sure love the cliffhangers.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 23/07/2017 07:21:52    2021424

Replying To topdownfan:  "Maybe you should read the previous posts , there was 2 minutes given out at match and sky got it wrong !! Obviously you have problem with him you would think being a Fellow Down Gael you keep it shut !!!!"
Its going to make national press that Branigan is in the eye of the storm again. Obviously its been brought up as an issue and put him in the spotlight again.

tullyframerover (Down) - Posts: 276 - 23/07/2017 08:32:52    2021436

Lads regardless of whether it was two minutes or three minutes injury time he simply didn't blow up early. He could only be accused of blowing up early if he didn't allow the regulation extra 20 minutes to elapse. This is not a Jimmy Cooney scenario where the regulation time had not elapsed. In this case once 20 minutes elapsed he could blow at any time as it is entirely at his discretion.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 23/07/2017 08:50:58    2021444

Replying To jimbodub:  "Such a great pity that today's fantastic game ended on such a sour note

It looks like the ref blew up early

At least 30 seconds... in a 1 point game

Cork GAA should lodge a complaint

Considering Cork's huge effort. They deserve a lot more than that

Do people feel the game should by replayed?

Surely this has to be the only fair thing.

A lot can happen in 30 seconds"
On a complete sidenote jimbo you have over 17000 posts on this site.......are you ok jimbo? Are you getting outside for air jimbo? there are other things in life than posting about mayo on hogan stand jimbo. 17000 that really is amazing. Maybe cork people are more concerned with the amount of comments your leaving on hogan stand than the ref blowing it up early yesterday, which he did do in fairness.

Equineburger (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 23/07/2017 09:20:43    2021451

I'd love it if Cork appealed the result, just for the cringe factor alone.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/07/2017 09:44:20    2021466

Replying To marooney:  "Haha, paper never refused ink as the saying goes. You can write any ould guff. When it comes to steps, Mayo are a law unto themselves. I wonder every time I see Andy Moran play are extra steps allowed for elderly players. A 'free travel' equivalent, if you will..."
Maybe sometimes but to be honest I think the steps rule is crazy in GAA, never enforced.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7904 - 23/07/2017 09:51:08    2021473

was there not 32 seconds too much played in this game, official time added on was 2 minutes but Sky sport said 3 minutes. How could you get 3 extra minutes in ten minutes ?

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 23/07/2017 09:56:54    2021481

In 2008 we played the great Tyrone team in a round 3 qualifier in Croker. The game went into 3 mins injury time with Mayo 1 point down. With half that additional time left to play and Mayo on the attack the ref blew his whistle and everyone including the players thought it was for a scoreable Mayo free about 40m out, but instead he asked for the ball. Game over, we lost by a point... it took a few seconds to sink in with the crowd. Mayo just had to suck it up, the ref was within his rights to end the game after normal time had elapsed. Only time we ever lost to Tyrone in championship, sfaik.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/07/2017 09:59:03    2021484

Replying To Laois76:  "And he admits in the end he was Wumming, really wanting Mayo to lose!

As if the little threads he starts will have any bearing on the Championship."
I never said that at all :)

Where did I say that?

Perhaps you should read a wee bit more carefully before ignorantly spitting bile

But here not to worry, just try a bit harder in future.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2017 10:42:01    2021524

fair play to Cork management.

taking it on the chin and not making a huge big deal out of it.

Look, one way or the other you can understand why some would look for a replay, it was an incredibly tight game, corks attitude and mentality was absolutely terrific and mayo in typical mayo fashion had to do things the hard way instead of just cruising through when 7 up, and with it being so close and for the end to be questioned is, well, its unfortunate

A few making the point that the referee added 2 minutes and the sky graphic was wrong, others saying ger cafferky's number being held up when he was subbed toward the end and that may be adding to the confusion, but look all in all, I think Cork should be commended for just taking it.

Other teams in the past have done similar. I remember Dublin in 2012, a lot of dubs on here proposing a replay after it emerged Mayo "could" have used an extra sub, but Gilroy and the DCB to their eternal credit just got on with it, wished mayo well in the final and parked it. Cork doing the same here.

What this shows is the need for a hooter system, Where the clock is stopped for injuries/subs,. It would help out the referee and take all issues of time keeping out of their hands. Referees already have a tough workload and youre just giving them even more unnecessary work and whether branagan made the mistake or not yesterday, it is something that can happen but can easily be avoided.

The scenes yesterday or Branagan being escorted off the pitch was sad to see and overshadows what was an amazing game and an incredible effort by both teams. You can already see that one of the best gmes of the year has more posts on the cork appeal thread than the thread on the game itself.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/07/2017 10:43:37    2021525

Replying To Sindar:  "Time indicated is not provided for any rule. Referees discretion. He played far too much injury time in both extra time halves anyway. Ref had a great game I thought so leave him alone. Besides, Cork supporters have no right to complain. Venue was mich closer to them than Mayo but it looks like only about 2000 bothered to travel so they've lost the right to complain imo."
Not a good point. Last I heard it was 15 v 15 not a popularity contest. If that was the case Roscommon may as well give a walkover in their quarter final as popularity wise they have no hope.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 23/07/2017 10:46:10    2021531