Top 6 forwards.

I take it Mayo are no hopers for the AI then since the closest forward they have to being top class is getting all sorts on here

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 20/07/2017 15:02:44    2020018

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "You failed to tell me about his tally from play in the 2012 & 13 finals where he failed to score from play.

So he has the grand total of 0-2 from the 4 finals he's played in including replays, that average and most would agree with me.

He did have great games against Kerry in 14 and kicked a great equaliser against Dublin last September but between replays I make it he's played in 12 semi finals and finals and his record has been far from spectacular from play.

COC is a very good player and is easily Mayo's best forward but just don't think he's blessed with the ability that Geaney, JOD & McManus have."
You failed to tell me about his tally from play in the 2012 & 13 finals where he failed to score from play.

in 2012 he was 19 and was outstanding right throughout the cship winning young player of the year. in 2013 he played with one arm....and still won young player again. cillian is a right good footballer and all inter county corner backs know it even if you don't.

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 20/07/2017 15:13:53    2020024

Replying To Greengrass:  "10. Mattie Donnelly.
11. Michael Murphy.
12. Diarmuid Connolly.
13. Bernard Brogan.
14. Paul Geaney.
15. Conor McManus.
All of them are two footed and interchangeable."
Problem with Michael Murphy is he interchanges between full-back line, half-back line and mid-field, probably not his fault but hasn't played as a forward for quite a while now, just check his scoring rate from play, seldom above one point per game and often zero.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 20/07/2017 15:21:24    2020031

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Here goes...

10. Connolly
11. Kilkenny
12. Harte
13. O'Donoghue
14. Murphy
15. McManus"
Again lads Murphy might wear no. 14, but there is no way he plays as a forward, we all know he can but he doesn't, a pity

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 20/07/2017 15:24:44    2020036

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So we ignore the recent years and go right back to make his average worse? LOL. I would have McManus or JOD over him on my team, that isn't the point I am making. He is still a very young man. Was just on the scene and was injured in 2012, I would like to judge a guy on what he has done lately. He gets a raw deal."
We'll look at the semi and finals last summer, he scored 0-2 from play in 3 games against Tipp & Dublin. His great performances against Kerry were 3 years ago and were more like a one off as opposed to being the norm.

Once agains he's a very good player, just not in the class of McManus, Geaney or O'Donoghue.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 20/07/2017 15:39:35    2020048

Replying To mayomanic:  "You failed to tell me about his tally from play in the 2012 & 13 finals where he failed to score from play.

in 2012 he was 19 and was outstanding right throughout the cship winning young player of the year. in 2013 he played with one arm....and still won young player again. cillian is a right good footballer and all inter county corner backs know it even if you don't."
Oh dear, read my posts on COC again; =They've all stated he's a very good player.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 20/07/2017 15:41:17    2020052

Replying To sligo joe:  "Problem with Michael Murphy is he interchanges between full-back line, half-back line and mid-field, probably not his fault but hasn't played as a forward for quite a while now, just check his scoring rate from play, seldom above one point per game and often zero."
That's a fair point but since he's actually gone as an out an out midfielder from the start of 2017 his scoring rate has improved a bit from play in the league and championship from when he used to spend 10 mins in varied positions. He actually has a very impressive scoring rate as a midfielder in 2017.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 20/07/2017 15:49:09    2020055

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "We'll look at the semi and finals last summer, he scored 0-2 from play in 3 games against Tipp & Dublin. His great performances against Kerry were 3 years ago and were more like a one off as opposed to being the norm.

Once agains he's a very good player, just not in the class of McManus, Geaney or O'Donoghue."
And was brilliant last year in quarter final against Tyrone, sorry if that doesn't count on your big games meter!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 15:53:30    2020061

I'm a big critic of CO'C but fairness you could definitely make a case for him here. Scores and creates plenty from play.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 20/07/2017 15:56:31    2020065

Replying To Breffni39:  "I'm a big critic of CO'C but fairness you could definitely make a case for him here. Scores and creates plenty from play."
Breff I never thought i'd see the day!! You do call a spade a spade!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 16:20:06    2020085

I'd like to think young Con will be considered in that bracket in the near future, but I am surprised at the lack of people picking Brogan, he's still got it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 20/07/2017 16:43:31    2020113

Connolly
Sludden
Kilkenny
Mcbrearty
Brogan
Geaney

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 20/07/2017 16:59:59    2020124

Replying To realdub:  "I'd like to think young Con will be considered in that bracket in the near future, but I am surprised at the lack of people picking Brogan, he's still got it."
Biggest issue would be he's not making the dublin starting 15 and given the impact he's making from the bench I don't see that changing. What a player he has been the last 8 seasons although I still think his best season was 2010.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 20/07/2017 17:00:55    2020126

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Biggest issue would be he's not making the dublin starting 15 and given the impact he's making from the bench I don't see that changing. What a player he has been the last 8 seasons although I still think his best season was 2010."
id put money on it that he starts the next day, Hopefully joy to watch

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 20/07/2017 17:08:05    2020133

Brogan is the best inside forward in Ireland
He may not be 21 anymore and he may not be guaranteed a start, but when he is on song and at the top of his game, he is the best
The man is just a football genius
I would start him every day

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2017 17:17:50    2020140

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Biggest issue would be he's not making the dublin starting 15 and given the impact he's making from the bench I don't see that changing. What a player he has been the last 8 seasons although I still think his best season was 2010."
Absolutely

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 20/07/2017 17:18:18    2020141

Replying To Breffni39:  "I'm a big critic of CO'C but fairness you could definitely make a case for him here. Scores and creates plenty from play."
Cillian is not having the best season but I believe he is leading the scoring again this year. He also sets up an awful lot of Mayo scores as you say. I think people except him to o everything when physically/biologically he can't.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 20/07/2017 17:21:02    2020145

Maybe a lot of us dont rate him because we dont want to rate him as we see his carry on and its irks us, a lot.....

There may be something in that if I am honest

I really dont like the way he conducts himself and as ye know Mayo lads, i am far from in a minority on that one.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2017 17:50:58    2020163

Who's this Murphy lad that people have in their team? Is it the lad that used to be good 3-4 years ago for Donegal?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2017 17:57:05    2020166

Replying To Mobot:  "That's a fair point but since he's actually gone as an out an out midfielder from the start of 2017 his scoring rate has improved a bit from play in the league and championship from when he used to spend 10 mins in varied positions. He actually has a very impressive scoring rate as a midfielder in 2017."
Four championship games to date, scores from play, Antrim 1pt, Tyrone 1pt, Longford 0pt, Meath 3pts, not very impressive, don't get me wrong, Murphy would be well in there in my opinion as one of the best six forwards if he was used as an attacker, but I for one can't support the way he is used as a sweeper/defensive midfielder by his county, a waste of talent.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 20/07/2017 18:32:15    2020178