Hill 16, no,no,no....

Replying To OLLIE:  "Haha well you did ask how much the tickets would be for the hill?"
For a qualifier it would be cheaper than a Leinster final though.
also for league matches it's the same price for the hill as it Is into the stand so for a qualifier they may have done same thing if open

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2017 17:18:34    2018811

Replying To hill16no1man:  "For a qualifier it would be cheaper than a Leinster final though.
also for league matches it's the same price for the hill as it Is into the stand so for a qualifier they may have done same thing if open"
But it's a last qualifier before than the quarter-finals and I presume that the further on you go on in the qualifiers the dear the tickets are. Me been from Louth would not have the luxury of going through the qualifiers.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/07/2017 18:57:04    2018863

Replying To OLLIE:  "But it's a last qualifier before than the quarter-finals and I presume that the further on you go on in the qualifiers the dear the tickets are. Me been from Louth would not have the luxury of going through the qualifiers."
Don't think so as it's a general admission of 20euro into Donegal v Galway
and in cork v mayo there's no terrace tickets on sale just stand only open, so I would imagine seen as they are all the same round if the hill was open it would be the same thing same price as the stand.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2017 19:36:34    2018886

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I don't understand how it will cost you more as if its a family ticket surely kids are 5euro on that where as if you were going the hill the kids would have to buy a full price ticket which would cost probably 20euro for a qualifier double header.
wrong that the option isn't available as like me I only like to go to terrace as I hate sitting. But don't see why this is relating to Dublin as in thurles the last day they did same only had one end of the ground open and closed the other. In limerick they generally only have the stands open and terraces closed too for qualifier games."
In Limerick the terraces are open but nobody uses them unless the hurlers are playing. In fact generally only the Mackey stand stiles are open so you go from the covered stand to the uncovered stand through either terrace. The option is there to use the terrace for anyone that wants to.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 18/07/2017 23:12:09    2018998

Replying To mike03:  "In Limerick the terraces are open but nobody uses them unless the hurlers are playing. In fact generally only the Mackey stand stiles are open so you go from the covered stand to the uncovered stand through either terrace. The option is there to use the terrace for anyone that wants to."
thats fine but on the tickets website it doesnt give you an option to buy a terrace ticket
it only has two options mackey stand and north open stand, so therefore your paying same price into stand as terrace if its open.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 09:02:36    2019070

I'm sure the main reasons the hill isn't open is to save on the cost of cleaning it up after the game & fill the stands to improve the look of the place for cameras.

This is always going to be an issue with Croke Park, when it's full its brilliant, when it isn't it, can be a bit of a cave,

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/07/2017 09:27:23    2019090

Replying To poguemahone:  "Don't think so but the Nally was? Sure there was folk standing at it but not behind the goals."
No the Nally wasn't open either, none of that end was. The thing here is the Hill is sectional there would be little problem opening the middle section for these games or alternatively alter the price of Davin Stand tickets to reflect the unavailability of Hill tickets, cheaper options should always be available for any match in Croker not just for full houses or Dublin matches

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/07/2017 10:24:53    2019115

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Indeed there is Sean Og

Rule 56.1.7 states "Hill16 shall remain closed for all games not involving Dublin until such a time as the GAA see fit. Dublin Fans are superior and more deserving of cheaper terrace tickets and shall be placated in so far as is possible. Non Dublin fans will be asked to purchase more expensive stand tickets thus robbing them and annoying their brains, all the while keeping the Dubs happy in their Ivory Tower"

If i was you sean Og I would start a petition and go on social media and express my outrage"
Come the 6 people who disliked that post. Have a sense of humour. I'll be the first to "like" it

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 19/07/2017 10:40:00    2019125

It's simple economics people. Open the Hill and you have to pay for stewards and cleaning. Can't blame them for trying to keep the costs down unless you want to see increased ticket prices

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 19/07/2017 10:42:52    2019128

Replying To Richieq:  "No the Nally wasn't open either, none of that end was. The thing here is the Hill is sectional there would be little problem opening the middle section for these games or alternatively alter the price of Davin Stand tickets to reflect the unavailability of Hill tickets, cheaper options should always be available for any match in Croker not just for full houses or Dublin matches"
the davin stand isnt open either
only cusack and hogan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 10:47:07    2019134

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Indeed there is Sean Og

Rule 56.1.7 states "Hill16 shall remain closed for all games not involving Dublin until such a time as the GAA see fit. Dublin Fans are superior and more deserving of cheaper terrace tickets and shall be placated in so far as is possible. Non Dublin fans will be asked to purchase more expensive stand tickets thus robbing them and annoying their brains, all the while keeping the Dubs happy in their Ivory Tower"

If i was you sean Og I would start a petition and go on social media and express my outrage"
6 dislikes............our country friends have a serious sense of humour failure today!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 19/07/2017 10:53:14    2019139

so sindar from Roscommon

the reason why the Hill isn't opened is that we have to pay a few cleaners - the stewards are voluntary

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 19/07/2017 11:04:01    2019145

Replying To witnof:  "6 dislikes............our country friends have a serious sense of humour failure today!!"
Never ceases to amaze me how people get wound up by so little! Not sure I can claim the country tag - a fella from Galway was busy telling me that in Wexford we're basically Dubs anyway!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/07/2017 11:11:31    2019151

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "so sindar from Roscommon

the reason why the Hill isn't opened is that we have to pay a few cleaners - the stewards are voluntary"
So you think it's purely a pro Dublin thing then to keep us culchies out of the Hill? Upper Tiers are regularly closed as well because it just makes sense on those occassions. This has nothing to do with Dublin

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 19/07/2017 11:19:49    2019159

Replying To Sindar:  "It's simple economics people. Open the Hill and you have to pay for stewards and cleaning. Can't blame them for trying to keep the costs down unless you want to see increased ticket prices"
I'd say those meagre overheads could easily come out of the Sky TV biscuit tin, wouldn't you?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/07/2017 11:48:42    2019180

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "so sindar from Roscommon

the reason why the Hill isn't opened is that we have to pay a few cleaners - the stewards are voluntary"
the people who clean the ground arent they are hire from an agency
there was about 50 of them waiting outside the hill entrance on sunday for the crowd to leave
all non nationals too i must say.
the gardai have to be paid,the hill stewards are hired security firm staff not voluntary and the staff that work in the bars and shops have to be paid too

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 12:40:31    2019224

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Never ceases to amaze me how people get wound up by so little! Not sure I can claim the country tag - a fella from Galway was busy telling me that in Wexford we're basically Dubs anyway!"
in that case i havent seen all of dublin yet haha
a full two hours away nearly from my house wexford
its nearer to belfast lol

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 12:41:49    2019226

Replying To sean og:  "Not having a go at the Dub's here, there is no better sight/sound in GAA when the Hill is full of Dub's! !

My 2 boys are 18 & 19 so too old for a family ticket. It's not just the expense, they would prefer to stand in the Hill with their friends and have a bit of craic and make a better atmosphere, it just seems odd that other counties can't get the opportunity to do this and the Dub's can."
18 and 19? Why are you buying their tickets for them? Think it's time your boys paid for their own tickets. Would leave you without this dilemma for starters.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 20/07/2017 09:17:32    2019757

ah here just because there 18/19 doesnt mean you disown them haha
there still his sons and maybe they arent working or havent got the money
or maybe he just likes buying them a ticket to a match to be nice, cant see why that is relevant to his original point.
its like going on a date with a woman and saying your old enough to pay for your own food, dont be looking for me to foot your half haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 10:46:59    2019821

Replying To hill16no1man:  "ah here just because there 18/19 doesnt mean you disown them haha
there still his sons and maybe they arent working or havent got the money
or maybe he just likes buying them a ticket to a match to be nice, cant see why that is relevant to his original point.
its like going on a date with a woman and saying your old enough to pay for your own food, dont be looking for me to foot your half haha"
Can you point out where I said he should disown them? They're not kids, they're adults. Most kids their age would have a job, especially during the summer months when they've no college to attend.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 20/07/2017 12:29:22    2019890