New Senior Manager

Replying To nearlymadeit:  "County Board not terrified at all with a local manager , All the clubs in westmeath were asked to nominate a candidate for the position but how many responded , the answer is Zero . Maybe some of them club managers will come on board with the new man and get experience and take over in a couple of years"
I thought it was a committee that selects the candidates, then when they get their man propose it to the clubs?

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 25/09/2017 17:36:24    2050425

Replying To nearlymadeit:  "County Board not terrified at all with a local manager , All the clubs in westmeath were asked to nominate a candidate for the position but how many responded , the answer is Zero . Maybe some of them club managers will come on board with the new man and get experience and take over in a couple of years"
when the last manager was appointed only the top table's candidate was allowed to go forward for a vote - yes/no
'clubs voted to allow the selection committee make a recommendation'
that's democracy Westmeath style

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 25/09/2017 23:06:06    2050515

Again, we have the Sinn Fein-esque approach to everything. Plenty of giving out, no credible solution to any problems. Hurler on the ditch syndrome.

The problem with nominating someone from the floor is how does anyone know they are interested? Are they fit for purpose? There has to be some sort of process. The current system is the only way to approach things. Did all of you here write to the selection committee to give your opinions? Did you nominate somebody through your club? It is a two way street. The selection committee can only work with the names they are given.

Can I just point out, there wouldn't be a long list of managers interested in taking on the Westmeath portfolio. Beggars can't be choosers and all that.

Ferrett (Westmeath) - Posts: 51 - 27/09/2017 11:16:04    2050955

Best of luck to Colin Kelly, any info on the backroom team ?
It will be all about the buy-in from the players and I hope he has some local lads on board as selectors - perhaps Martin Flanagan, John Keane plus some other out of county 'name' to create a bit of interest e.g. Derry man Paddy Crozier perhaps.
Remember for Kelly it's a step down from div 2 to div 3 in terms of league status.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 27/09/2017 13:45:23    2051013

good luck to colin kelly if he is to be our new manager . hopefully some of our former players will join the backroom team
our aim should be to get back up to division 2 .

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 27/09/2017 14:40:09    2051035

Best of luck to Colin and the Westmeath team next year. I can see us playing each other at some stage in the championship maybe the quarter-final of the Leinster Championship.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 27/09/2017 23:13:59    2051204

Whole new backroom team appointed by kelly and 1 selector from within the county is what I was told so if this is true he is bringing his own crew with him , nobody in the whole county knows who he is because he sat in cusak park last weekend and observed the games among the supporters, I know him since 1990 and he was as good a forward and free taker as was around at the time I can't speak for his coaching abilities but I wish him well and believe me he won't be entertaining any of the haircut 100 brigade either, that day is finally over time for a new breed of footballer in Westmeath to many times I've watched us parade around the fields of Leinster like models on catwalks wishing a Rory o connell or a Paul Conway would sally out knocking a few of the opposition on the way for another great score , we can only wish

rogerdodger (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 28/09/2017 00:58:52    2051216

Good luck to the new.man. The timing is good. Hopefully he can take us back to division 2.

wonit1time (Westmeath) - Posts: 450 - 28/09/2017 07:41:26    2051224

Replying To rogerdodger:  "Whole new backroom team appointed by kelly and 1 selector from within the county is what I was told so if this is true he is bringing his own crew with him , nobody in the whole county knows who he is because he sat in cusak park last weekend and observed the games among the supporters, I know him since 1990 and he was as good a forward and free taker as was around at the time I can't speak for his coaching abilities but I wish him well and believe me he won't be entertaining any of the haircut 100 brigade either, that day is finally over time for a new breed of footballer in Westmeath to many times I've watched us parade around the fields of Leinster like models on catwalks wishing a Rory o connell or a Paul Conway would sally out knocking a few of the opposition on the way for another great score , we can only wish"
He doesn't have a Rory or Paul though so he will have to make do , the same as Cribben had to.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 28/09/2017 10:07:00    2051253

I wish the new manager the best of luck,as talented as he was as a football player I do believe he is a limited manager and is a step down on cribbin,but at this stage beggars can't be choosers and there are very few others would accept this job,lets be frank we as supporters expect westmeath to win the ireland but the truth is we are really akin to bournemouth in the premier league,on any given day we can give a good performance but realistically we only have about 5/6 quality players

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 28/09/2017 10:56:32    2051272

Replying To rogerdodger:  "Whole new backroom team appointed by kelly and 1 selector from within the county is what I was told so if this is true he is bringing his own crew with him , nobody in the whole county knows who he is because he sat in cusak park last weekend and observed the games among the supporters, I know him since 1990 and he was as good a forward and free taker as was around at the time I can't speak for his coaching abilities but I wish him well and believe me he won't be entertaining any of the haircut 100 brigade either, that day is finally over time for a new breed of footballer in Westmeath to many times I've watched us parade around the fields of Leinster like models on catwalks wishing a Rory o connell or a Paul Conway would sally out knocking a few of the opposition on the way for another great score , we can only wish"
He won't be bringing his backroom team from Louth he's falling out with some of them .

Fraizer (Louth) - Posts: 14 - 28/09/2017 13:15:31    2051325

best wishes to colin Kelly on his appointment first job is to stay in division 3 which will be tough with 3 northern teams Armagh derry and
Fermanagh two of them with new managers. I believe he is not bringing any people with him and wants to use all Westmeath people. I hope ex players will take the positions eg trainer coaches s and c and selectors . now is the time to stand up and stop moaning.

Rogers (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 28/09/2017 13:16:43    2051326

best wishes to colin Kelly on his appointment first job is to stay in division 3 which will be tough with 3 northern teams Armagh derry and
Fermanagh two of them with new managers. I believe he is not bringing any people with him and wants to use all Westmeath people. I hope ex players will take the positions eg trainer coaches s and c and selectors . now is the time to stand up and stop moaning.

Rogers (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 28/09/2017 13:17:01    2051328

Wish Colin the best

I hope Westmeath Prioritise the league using the O'Byrne Cup as the foundation.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/09/2017 13:18:20    2051332

I know Cribbon got Westmeath to two Leinster finals but was trashed in both, Beat Meath for 1st time in History but lets be honest it is an atrocious Meath side. His league results as manager were very poor up until this year. Wasnt the worst manager ever but dont built his tenure up to be something it wasnt.
I liked what Kelly done with a limited Louth side in the league last few years and with Westmeath having more talent at their disposal than Louth i think Kelly could well do a good job with ye. First task needs to be pushing to get up to D2 and building a game plan that doesnt involve throwing 15 men behind the ball

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 28/09/2017 14:29:34    2051360

Does anybody know what style of football he plays? I at least hope he has a style/gameplan as from looking at Cribben's team, while well physically trained the tactics or lack of was often disappointing.

culmor (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 28/09/2017 16:11:54    2051394

True, we have gone soft that way. More worried about appearance than substance. The pathetic performance against Fermanagh in 2015 after losing to Dublin in the Leinster final summed up the Cribben era for me. Players walking around Breffni park laughing and joking and getting selfies taken with people after an horrendous poor display.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 28/09/2017 21:24:08    2051488

Kelly did well with Louth and probably has more talented players here but they will need a level of honesty and hard work to Make division 2 that will challenge his Management skills.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1459 - 28/09/2017 22:25:00    2051506

Disgusted lads. Love my county so I'll always support them but disgusted, really thought we would stay within the county this time round. If we dont try a Westmeath manager for a Westmeath team we'll never know, beyond a joke at this stage. Kelly is of the same caliber as Pat Flanagan, and although there was nothing hugely wrong with Flano its just the same type of mediocre appointment we're getting once again. Over it now.

Lakers.for.Sam (Westmeath) - Posts: 79 - 29/09/2017 00:16:50    2051547

best of luck to our new manager; he will have his work cut out for him. needs to do a clean out of senior panel; something his predecessors struggled with. great to hear he has started to attend games and hopefully he will widen his search for player talent. the challenge is putting an objective lense in selection rather than go with a repeated same selected panel that quite frankly has been embarrassing in terms of performance

Rossieruan (Westmeath) - Posts: 73 - 01/10/2017 18:12:36    2052147