New Senior Manager

Is this your opinion or have you the inside track regarding Luke's appointment ?
I agree he is the best local candidate but does he want the gig again ? Was he overlooked previously ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 30/08/2017 13:22:52    2040720

I personally would give it to Luke myself but he would need some good people in with him as I believe his tactics and training work are very old school,we in westmeath are always going for people because they were good footballers ,personally this worries me ,it shows a complete lack of intelligenece it should be the right people for the job not whether how good they were at playing the game,mangan ,john keane have been mentiioned and whilst both have been good players I don' believe they have the experience or abilities,if you put alan mangan with a middle of the table club ,how well would he do?

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 30/08/2017 15:00:41    2040773

Replying To footiemad:  "I personally would give it to Luke myself but he would need some good people in with him as I believe his tactics and training work are very old school,we in westmeath are always going for people because they were good footballers ,personally this worries me ,it shows a complete lack of intelligenece it should be the right people for the job not whether how good they were at playing the game,mangan ,john keane have been mentiioned and whilst both have been good players I don' believe they have the experience or abilities,if you put alan mangan with a middle of the table club ,how well would he do?"
Has Luke ever managed a middle of the table club team?

Paddyfla19 (Westmeath) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2017 15:33:45    2040788

Replying To Paddyfla19:  "Has Luke ever managed a middle of the table club team?"
Leixlip, about 10 years ago. Moorefield were top tier within their county. As are Lomans of course. He took The Downs for half a year in 2006. Not aware of any other club jobs he's taken.

Andy_Capp (Westmeath) - Posts: 282 - 30/08/2017 15:55:41    2040795

Replying To footiemad:  "I personally would give it to Luke myself but he would need some good people in with him as I believe his tactics and training work are very old school,we in westmeath are always going for people because they were good footballers ,personally this worries me ,it shows a complete lack of intelligenece it should be the right people for the job not whether how good they were at playing the game,mangan ,john keane have been mentiioned and whilst both have been good players I don' believe they have the experience or abilities,if you put alan mangan with a middle of the table club ,how well would he do?"
Some very good points there. I think it is lunacy that Keane or Mangan are in any way linked with the top job. I would rather have some unknown that has at least taken a group of players and won a title over someone who played County Football but has won nothing. Your name will only take you so far.

Whoever we get, it must be someone who isnt going to cost us an arm and a leg, as, in my opinion (and i wont be convinced otherwise) the current group of players are not good enough, so why spend like we are at the top table.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 30/08/2017 16:02:32    2040801

Replying To Andy_Capp:  "Leixlip, about 10 years ago. Moorefield were top tier within their county. As are Lomans of course. He took The Downs for half a year in 2006. Not aware of any other club jobs he's taken."
So really didn't do anything with the lesser teams. Manager are only as good as their teams.

Paddyfla19 (Westmeath) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2017 16:08:28    2040804

Replying To Paddyfla19:  "So really didn't do anything with the lesser teams. Manager are only as good as their teams."
Exactly, he had a mediocre spell with Longford and a poor spell with Carlow. We had a good year in 2001 winning Div2 and after a narrow defeat to Meath in the Leinster opener had the great run in the inaugural qualifiers, until we met Meath again and discipline and poor finishing let us down in the drawn quarter final, before a poor replay. 2002 we were poor but there were a few injuries and 2003 we were unlucky against Meath then fell very flat in the replay and exited tamely in the qualifiers to Monaghan.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 30/08/2017 21:09:04    2040888

Replying To Chops:  "Exactly, he had a mediocre spell with Longford and a poor spell with Carlow. We had a good year in 2001 winning Div2 and after a narrow defeat to Meath in the Leinster opener had the great run in the inaugural qualifiers, until we met Meath again and discipline and poor finishing let us down in the drawn quarter final, before a poor replay. 2002 we were poor but there were a few injuries and 2003 we were unlucky against Meath then fell very flat in the replay and exited tamely in the qualifiers to Monaghan."
He has won two All Ireland's with Westmeath ffs, just think about that for a second. We beat Kerry in the final of the under 21 !!!!. Westmeath would be considered a lesser team at inter county level and he has won two All Ireland's with them. No one will ever match that achievement.

cantona7 (Westmeath) - Posts: 133 - 31/08/2017 08:51:50    2040993

Replying To cantona7:  "He has won two All Ireland's with Westmeath ffs, just think about that for a second. We beat Kerry in the final of the under 21 !!!!. Westmeath would be considered a lesser team at inter county level and he has won two All Ireland's with them. No one will ever match that achievement."
Think about this Cantona, how many of that Kerry team went on to win senior All Irelands? Paul Galvin, Tomas O'Se, Tadgh Kenneally, O' Sullivan. What did we do? Scraped 1 Leinster title in 2004. And Cantona, we are considered a lesser team regardless of those achievements, even when we did win Leinster in 2004 we were still looked down on by the traditional counties. Lukes achievements were great for the county, but county football has moved on a lot since he was in charge all of 15 years ago.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 31/08/2017 09:48:39    2041018

Surprised nobody has mentioned Tom Coffey. He guided Tyrellspass to a county final a couple of years ago, won at least one championship with Rhode that I know of, brought Athlone from Intermediate to Senior semi final last year (which they should have won) & now this Athlone team are considered 2nd favourites to win the championship this year & should make the county final this year the way the draw looks. He knows Westmeath club football inside out. He should at least be considered for the job.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 239 - 31/08/2017 10:00:28    2041024

Replying To Left Full:  "Surprised nobody has mentioned Tom Coffey. He guided Tyrellspass to a county final a couple of years ago, won at least one championship with Rhode that I know of, brought Athlone from Intermediate to Senior semi final last year (which they should have won) & now this Athlone team are considered 2nd favourites to win the championship this year & should make the county final this year the way the draw looks. He knows Westmeath club football inside out. He should at least be considered for the job."
I actually did mention Tom Coffey earlier in a post and I agree very well liked and very respected. He also took the interim reins one year in Offaly when they let Tom Cribbin go as far as I know. He knows his football and is a good football man and he works locally as a car sales man for Renault so sponsors would be happy too ha ha.
Still think Luke as my number one choice then Leahy then Cooney then Coffey but I would not look outside them for the job as they all know Westmeath and would know what's best for Westmeath. It all comes down to a risk no matter what because we are not attracting a big name candidate whatever happens because one we don't have the money and two we are not a profile name for the big names. You see Paul Curran was asked to do Offaly and he refused because he knows if he took a Westmeath or a Offaly he would never have a chance of been a Dublin manager so why not stay at a club where the money is better with less profile or hassle. Being a inter county manger now is not appealing only for people who want to feel important because the actual good manages clubs want to keep hold of so they pay them well because they know they are good. Actually don't think Dempsey. Cooney, Leahy or Coffey would take the job been honest because they are all in good numbers with clubs been well paid in top clubs with good profile and No hassle at all. Why would anyone go from a good club to the mess that is dealing with a CB with no money and no interest in developing underage talent.
Ps on previous comments made I want to say Alan Mangan is a bloody good manager who has a big future in management and if he can join up with a big name or someone he can learn a little more from he will be a future Westmeath manager if he wants it

Djkray (Dublin) - Posts: 152 - 31/08/2017 11:00:51    2041054

Key is doing well in division 3. Leinster a dead duck. Qualifiers a mine field. Championship is stale for all but 3 to 4 counties at this point. What can be done though without impacting club football is beyond me. Ideally the champions league format but we would still end up with the big teams in the latter stages. In the real world the league and championship should be combined 4 groups of 8 seeded draws and let them at it. Top 2 out of every group into quarters.

Trousers (Westmeath) - Posts: 5 - 31/08/2017 13:12:02    2041137

Just heard a announcement is imminentl with regards to senior management candidate. Anyone any ideas who it is or who even has been interested . Haven't heard any name only Tom Carr. Come on someone got to know something. Have we got a 20s manager yet I see Offaly have appointed there 20s manager already he in place. Is Keane going to continue as our present 20s. This is Peter Leahy's minors of 2 years ago who were very very good and only got beaten by Kildare who were Leinster champions. I think we would have a very good chance of Leinster glory at 20s level and maybe this is where we should be investing to blood our home grown managers and develop new senior players

Paulknows (Westmeath) - Posts: 114 - 04/09/2017 10:52:28    2042470

Replying To Paulknows:  "Just heard a announcement is imminentl with regards to senior management candidate. Anyone any ideas who it is or who even has been interested . Haven't heard any name only Tom Carr. Come on someone got to know something. Have we got a 20s manager yet I see Offaly have appointed there 20s manager already he in place. Is Keane going to continue as our present 20s. This is Peter Leahy's minors of 2 years ago who were very very good and only got beaten by Kildare who were Leinster champions. I think we would have a very good chance of Leinster glory at 20s level and maybe this is where we should be investing to blood our home grown managers and develop new senior players"
I think Keane is going to be the u20 manager again this year, and in reply to your comment about this being leahys good minor team I would say it was a good minor team before he got them

Moorehead (Westmeath) - Posts: 143 - 11/09/2017 18:55:43    2045039

Not that it matters but I suggested Tom Coffey way back and he'll be in a very strong position when Athlone turn Lomans over in the Final with Ray Connellan home on holiers !
But regardless of all that, Colin Kelly is the man !

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 11/09/2017 21:23:37    2045071

Lads has Fergal O Donnell been mentioned??? Seemed to do reasonably well with Roscommon especially their monors, doubt he'd cost huge money. He was with Killoe this year and lost out to a heavily fancied Mullinaghta side in a replay. Would be no less qualified than anyone else mentioned?!!

OnTheTerrace (Westmeath) - Posts: 32 - 12/09/2017 12:09:24    2045211

Replying To OnTheTerrace:  "Lads has Fergal O Donnell been mentioned??? Seemed to do reasonably well with Roscommon especially their monors, doubt he'd cost huge money. He was with Killoe this year and lost out to a heavily fancied Mullinaghta side in a replay. Would be no less qualified than anyone else mentioned?!!"
Would be very expensive. Does not come cheap and collected a figure closer to 100 grand than 50 grand of his own county board last year on expenses so god only knows what his expenses would be from Boyle to Mullingar. Was got rid of by the players in Roscommon last year that tells its own story to me anyway

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 14/09/2017 11:18:56    2045923

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Would be very expensive. Does not come cheap and collected a figure closer to 100 grand than 50 grand of his own county board last year on expenses so god only knows what his expenses would be from Boyle to Mullingar. Was got rid of by the players in Roscommon last year that tells its own story to me anyway"
Roscommon is years behind us when it comes to strength and conditioning and defensive set up. O' Donnell may be experienced but he doesn't know much about what goes on in the county so I reckon he'll be a bad choice.

maroonkingdom (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 14/09/2017 13:40:05    2045968

i see luke has ruled himself out so my theory goes out the window . no one springs to mind

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 14/09/2017 15:23:32    2046000

Replying To mickcunningham:  "i see luke has ruled himself out so my theory goes out the window . no one springs to mind"
ok lads i will repeat it for the last time . lomans will win the county championship . and when they are knocked out of leinster luke will be appointed county manager . done deal

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts:910 - 17/08/2017 08:59:16

Wow you really got that one wrong then Mick. Everyone else was wrong and you were right a month ago.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 14/09/2017 17:48:48    2046052