New Senior Manager

Replying To Chops:  "Is Cooney not working with the same Donegal team that's imploding for the last 2 seasons??"
"Imploding the last two years" - If so and if that's what you would call being one of the top 10 ranked teams in the country who are nearly always competitive (Last weekend being an exception) then fair enough. Its a very single minded approach. I totally agree with the lads above - cant see why we think that we are so much better than Cooney. Or anyone else for that matter, anyone who really thinks we have a chance of beating Dublin by trying to out play them or taking them on 1 on 1 is living in on a different planet. Look at Carlow for instance, played a bit of ball but went fairly defensive - much better result than us and they don't have half the quality we have in my opinion. I think the main plan should be getting the right person on board before the senior championship is over - however that would mean getting someone in the next month or so in order for them to see some club championship

willyagodown (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 24/07/2017 17:39:28    2022734

Replying To willyagodown:  ""Imploding the last two years" - If so and if that's what you would call being one of the top 10 ranked teams in the country who are nearly always competitive (Last weekend being an exception) then fair enough. Its a very single minded approach. I totally agree with the lads above - cant see why we think that we are so much better than Cooney. Or anyone else for that matter, anyone who really thinks we have a chance of beating Dublin by trying to out play them or taking them on 1 on 1 is living in on a different planet. Look at Carlow for instance, played a bit of ball but went fairly defensive - much better result than us and they don't have half the quality we have in my opinion. I think the main plan should be getting the right person on board before the senior championship is over - however that would mean getting someone in the next month or so in order for them to see some club championship"
Donegal had a poor season this year, Tyrone won handy in the Ulster championship and Galway steam rolled over them. As previously said, Cooney had a poor return with Kinnegad when at the helm but Kinnegad have lacked any real quality for a long time so maybe its not so much a reflection on him. But did the county board not pick Cribben over Cooney due to the cost of the plans Cooney wanted to implement last time around?? If our county board is whinging over the price of a few jerseys going missing what hope have we of getting the right management team, equipment, physios, stats people etc etc

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 25/07/2017 19:29:31    2023435

carlow?
beat two division 4 sides - Wexford and Leitrim
lost to Dublin and Monaghan

similar to Westmeath
except Monaghan are Div 1 and Armagh certainly are not

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 25/07/2017 21:52:15    2023502

Replying To valley84:  "carlow?
beat two division 4 sides - Wexford and Leitrim
lost to Dublin and Monaghan

similar to Westmeath
except Monaghan are Div 1 and Armagh certainly are not"
Valley84 thats exactly what im saying, i know carlow are being hyped up as having a great year but when you break it down they flattered to deceive. Who did we beat all year onky div 4 teams and offaly. We got a hiding off Dublin unlike anyone else got. Do i think Carlow are a better team, certainly not and we definately have the better individual players to boot. So whether its under achieving, bad management or a combination of both we definatley need improvement.

If our search for a decent manager is goverened by costs we can forget about having asperations or progression

willyagodown (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 26/07/2017 10:55:56    2023727

Replying To willyagodown:  "Valley84 thats exactly what im saying, i know carlow are being hyped up as having a great year but when you break it down they flattered to deceive. Who did we beat all year onky div 4 teams and offaly. We got a hiding off Dublin unlike anyone else got. Do i think Carlow are a better team, certainly not and we definately have the better individual players to boot. So whether its under achieving, bad management or a combination of both we definatley need improvement.

If our search for a decent manager is goverened by costs we can forget about having asperations or progression"
Ahhhh so it's ok with you if Westmeath Gaa is financially ruined the underage squads are abolished and hurling banned as long as we get to Division 2.What we need is a good manager in every sense Cody and Gavin get sweet fa. Kildare spent big for years to what end?

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1459 - 27/07/2017 08:35:06    2024284

Replying To jobber:  "Ahhhh so it's ok with you if Westmeath Gaa is financially ruined the underage squads are abolished and hurling banned as long as we get to Division 2.What we need is a good manager in every sense Cody and Gavin get sweet fa. Kildare spent big for years to what end?"
there has been huge money spent in the last few years.
look back at convention reports
with a lot of spending very vague and not accounted for.

a huge issue is the lack of training facilities
& a proper high performance gym

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 27/07/2017 10:18:42    2024328

Replying To valley84:  "there has been huge money spent in the last few years.
look back at convention reports
with a lot of spending very vague and not accounted for.

a huge issue is the lack of training facilities
& a proper high performance gym"
Cribben said it himself last week on the way out the door, that Westmeath badly needs an academy system to move forward.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 27/07/2017 12:47:43    2024416

I see not one club nominated anyone for the managers position,this will be a difficult position to fill,we don't have the players and we don't have the money to attract a top manager.I feel we are going to be stuck with an average manager,who the committee pick themselves

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 04/08/2017 12:23:24    2028861

I don't understand why Tommy Carr's name has been mentioned. There is no way he will be appointed. As I said on a previous post I really hope this doesn't drag on. I'd like to see Cunningham nominated. Surely he wouldn't be that expensive as I understand he is based in Athlone. Be great to get someone appointed asap to take in the club games and hopefully pick up a few new players. My preference is leave Keane over the u20's and his time may come in the future.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1008 - 04/08/2017 13:21:52    2028903

The last time the clubs plucked a load of names out of the sky who weren't even interested. Then the county board went on their own accord and got Tom Cribben who at least was interested. No point nominating random people at a meeting without their consent.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 04/08/2017 13:23:54    2028904

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "The last time the clubs plucked a load of names out of the sky who weren't even interested. Then the county board went on their own accord and got Tom Cribben who at least was interested. No point nominating random people at a meeting without their consent."
The problem is it is a very hit and miss job,you are really up against it,why would anyone want the job is the question I would be asking more so .the person who does get it will more than likely not be up to scratch

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 04/08/2017 14:39:29    2028950

name the best club coaches in club football in Westmeath from the last 5 years?
You should get manager and back room team from that

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 04/08/2017 15:39:53    2028981

Replying To valley84:  "name the best club coaches in club football in Westmeath from the last 5 years?
You should get manager and back room team from that"
Eamonn Gallagher, Luke Dempsey

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 04/08/2017 22:53:01    2029131

Well folks, any whispers about who's in contention ?
Heard former Louth manager Colin Kelly full of praise for Westmeath footballers on the radio over the weekend which makes me suspicious !
Also surprised Tom Coffey not mentioned yet as a contender ? Good club CV with Rhode, Tyrellspass and Athlone plus a stint with Offaly.
Maybe he'll get the senior job in his native county ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 09/08/2017 14:25:58    2031595

Replying To Chops:  "Eamonn Gallagher, Luke Dempsey"
You can add Declan Rowley, des dolan and Peter Leahy to your list.

maroonkingdom (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 09/08/2017 18:16:31    2031724

Just heard that Anthony Cunningham, Tommy Carr and JOhn OMahony and John Evans have been contacted and only Tommy Carr said he would be interested. Jack Cooney, Peter Leahy, Luke Dempsey and John Keane have not been contacted. So the board in charge of this dont want a local man no matter what by the sound of it and not much interest from outsiders except Tom Carr who lives in Westmeath so you could say he is a local. Cant see Tom Carr.taking the job and having to leave his role with RTE radio. Cant see clubs putting Tom Carr through either been honest. What is wrong with a Keane Cooney or a Dempsey Leahy combination or any which way lads can get on and move this forward for the love of the county not just another notch on a managers CV. I can see us not having anything solved and it all will be underhanded again someone forced on us that nobody wants. Lets stay local lets build from within its our county and only a westmeath man can truly want whats best for his county

Paulknows (Westmeath) - Posts: 114 - 11/08/2017 10:23:06    2032258

Id consider approaching Rory Gallagher with Jack Cooney, if budgets did not constrain.

They have worked together already. Rory's reputation took a hit but it was a tough task to take over from Jim McGuiness era in Donegal. I am sure there is a lot of knowledge that could be taken from their camp from the many seasons he had in Donegal as no2 and no1.

Jack Cooney's coaching has evolved in the past few years if Kinegad's system is anything to go by currently, 3 four pint wins in a row seems very solid, keeping teams fairly stifled in attack.

It's also important to have at least some people with knowledge of Westmeath club football with a say.

IARMHI17 (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 14/08/2017 12:13:34    2033175

Replying To IARMHI17:  "Id consider approaching Rory Gallagher with Jack Cooney, if budgets did not constrain.

They have worked together already. Rory's reputation took a hit but it was a tough task to take over from Jim McGuiness era in Donegal. I am sure there is a lot of knowledge that could be taken from their camp from the many seasons he had in Donegal as no2 and no1.

Jack Cooney's coaching has evolved in the past few years if Kinegad's system is anything to go by currently, 3 four pint wins in a row seems very solid, keeping teams fairly stifled in attack.

It's also important to have at least some people with knowledge of Westmeath club football with a say."
I wouldn't put Rory Gallagher in charge of the club U12s

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 14/08/2017 23:20:23    2033475

Replying To IARMHI17:  "Id consider approaching Rory Gallagher with Jack Cooney, if budgets did not constrain.

It's also important to have at least some people with knowledge of Westmeath club football with a say."
I would be very happy with the likes of Gallagher and Cooney but I would say the chances of Rory being interested in a 3 hour drive from Killybegs to manage a div 3 side are very slim. Would the County Board fund such an appointment ? Not a chance.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 15/08/2017 08:58:11    2033495

I See Pete Mc Grath ruled himself out. Also I heard while Jack Cooney has not been asked officially he has said he would not be interested after the way he was treated the last time which I think he is right because they were very unfair to him last time. Lets look at the local scene and local managers. LUKE Dempsey has to be the best of the lot followed by Tom Coffey and maybe Alan Budda Mangan who are all doing well at club level. PASCAL KELLEGHAN and Jack COoney working well together at rhode maybe Cooney would be up for it if Kellgahn got the managers role abd him training. Leahy is doing well in Tullamore as well but him been shafted the last time by the clubs and the fact that he walked away from the minors after 1 year as he felt the structures were not in place at underage would go against him because we all know never criticise the CB ortry and inform them that there is a problem. Dont see too many other options close by but a lot of people giving out about Tommy Carr if he got it but he did manage Dublin Ross and Cavan so surely has a fair idea what he at.
Either way I think they will end up begging someone to come in because its not a high profile job and as Tom Cribbin has said already no centre of excelence and no underage structure in place which means only one thing in my eyes and that is no chance of moving forward.

Paulknows (Westmeath) - Posts: 114 - 15/08/2017 17:30:00    2033745