Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To updwell:  "Couldn't agree more as Flanagan looks and play's like a young Callanan and remember he took him 5/6 years to become the great forward he is today. If he learns to put away his goal chances especially he will be a superstar- he should have scored 2 against Kilkenny and 1 in the final. I think if he stays grounded and keeps up the work rate he will be doing a great job for us making space for the other forwards.
How about Ronan Connolly from Adare as another back for Limerick in the near future, played centre back for Ard Scoil last year and has a similar building to Finn and Casey and the young Doon centre back Mickey O'Brien has a bit of a bite in him as well as the hurling. These 2 maybe a year away yet but they look promising"
Best of luck to the lion-hearted Richie McCarthy on his recovery from his cruciate injury. Really hoping that we'll see him wear the green jersey of Limerick again. A terrific warrior for Limerick hurling, boldly undaunted, though his name has been much maligned by certain mouth-pieces on this forum!

Rise again Richie, rise again!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 07/09/2018 11:21:08    2140077

Replying To shoulderghost:  "Best of luck to the lion-hearted Richie McCarthy on his recovery from his cruciate injury. Really hoping that we'll see him wear the green jersey of Limerick again. A terrific warrior for Limerick hurling, boldly undaunted, though his name has been much maligned by certain mouth-pieces on this forum!

Rise again Richie, rise again!"
Only maligned by 2 so no need to mention that. Those who understand the game know his true value. Was outstanding in Salthill and in Croke Park this year. Really hope he makes it back . Wish him all the best in his recovery

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 07/09/2018 12:05:42    2140093

Replying To welpastit:  "Only maligned by 2 so no need to mention that. Those who understand the game know his true value. Was outstanding in Salthill and in Croke Park this year. Really hope he makes it back . Wish him all the best in his recovery"
Agreed -always though the criticism of him was way over the top. It'll be a hard road for him to get back for I hope he does it and he deserves all the support he gets.

ImokillyMan (Cork) - Posts: 221 - 07/09/2018 12:40:19    2140105

I must say it is great to see the numbers swelled at club games in recent weeks after the return of the liam McCarthy cup to shannonside. I was fortunate enough to be home recently and I attended a few games including Adare and doon and last evening the meeting of Killmallock and Patrickswell followed by Adare and Nap. Killmallock were full value for their victory and played in a splendid manner that actually reminded me of the limerick senior team. Graeme mulcaly was again outstanding and showing for most balls with a new found hunger. Nap got down to work early as was evident from early on that adare were going to suffer a defeat to the city boys. Some great individual showings from downes, o Donoghue, Declan hannon and willie griffin. Adare will face ballybrown next in what promises to be an epic winner take all match.

doubleginplease (Limerick) - Posts: 19 - 09/09/2018 11:00:36    2140448

Replying To ImokillyMan:  "Agreed -always though the criticism of him was way over the top. It'll be a hard road for him to get back for I hope he does it and he deserves all the support he gets."
Richie and Paul Browne are in the same boat now and a speedy recovery to both of them . I think Richie is only 30 years old so he still has a bit to offer the intercounty scene if only as backup , in a strange way it was nice that himself and Tom Condon were used in the All Ire Final to contribute to the win as they have been great servants down through the years . it was great to see Tom condon come out with the sliotar at the end of the match and relieve the unbearing pressure felt by the players and fans at that stage , otherwise the small minded supporters would only remember tom for his sending off against Clare and that was not a true reflection of the warrior that Tom is and his dedicated service to limerick hurling down through the years .
Toms hardest job on the 19th of AUG was marking his son Nicky who appeared to be giving him all sorts of problems after the match . i could hear Limerick supporters shouting into Tom to " TIGHTEN UP TOM HE IS GETTING AWAY FROM YOU " so the crack was mighty as well as very emotional
Another nice touch that day was Paul Browne being included in the Team Photo so well done to all concerned who thought of all these little things to make the day the unforgettable memorable occasion it was....its fantastic to see all the Limerick Colours still flying and dont be in any rush to take them down , it was long enough we would have all the flags put away at this stage waiting for next year so let the Green and White flutter proudly in the wind...We are All Ireland Senior Hurling Champions after all.

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 11/09/2018 11:25:54    2140965

Replying To WhipOnTheBall:  "Richie and Paul Browne are in the same boat now and a speedy recovery to both of them . I think Richie is only 30 years old so he still has a bit to offer the intercounty scene if only as backup , in a strange way it was nice that himself and Tom Condon were used in the All Ire Final to contribute to the win as they have been great servants down through the years . it was great to see Tom condon come out with the sliotar at the end of the match and relieve the unbearing pressure felt by the players and fans at that stage , otherwise the small minded supporters would only remember tom for his sending off against Clare and that was not a true reflection of the warrior that Tom is and his dedicated service to limerick hurling down through the years .
Toms hardest job on the 19th of AUG was marking his son Nicky who appeared to be giving him all sorts of problems after the match . i could hear Limerick supporters shouting into Tom to " TIGHTEN UP TOM HE IS GETTING AWAY FROM YOU " so the crack was mighty as well as very emotional
Another nice touch that day was Paul Browne being included in the Team Photo so well done to all concerned who thought of all these little things to make the day the unforgettable memorable occasion it was....its fantastic to see all the Limerick Colours still flying and dont be in any rush to take them down , it was long enough we would have all the flags put away at this stage waiting for next year so let the Green and White flutter proudly in the wind...We are All Ireland Senior Hurling Champions after all."
Very well said. We are worthy championship, after the greatest championship ever, although a minutes spent perusing the Galway Forum would have one convinced the Tribesmen were still the uncrowned champions of Ireland

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 11/09/2018 20:34:06    2141092

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Very well said. We are worthy championship, after the greatest championship ever, although a minutes spent perusing the Galway Forum would have one convinced the Tribesmen were still the uncrowned champions of Ireland"
Whatever about their forum, all Limerick supporters I talked to were very complimentary of the soundness and magnanimity of the Galway support, including after the match.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 12/09/2018 02:10:11    2141142

Replying To blackspot91:  "Whatever about their forum, all Limerick supporters I talked to were very complimentary of the soundness and magnanimity of the Galway support, including after the match."
You dead right blackspotGalway fans were brilliant. There are just a few stragglers on their forum. Not representative in any way of Galway fans that I met on the day. Good fun to wind them up though .

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 12/09/2018 11:57:20    2141198

Replying To welpastit:  "You dead right blackspotGalway fans were brilliant. There are just a few stragglers on their forum. Not representative in any way of Galway fans that I met on the day. Good fun to wind them up though ."
It is indeed a fact that the very vast majority of Galway supporters were very magnanimous in defeat, as were Galway friends I worked with years ago. It is just Hoganstand sometimes to attract the kind of supporter any county would be better off without

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 12/09/2018 12:43:22    2141211

It is best not to be looking into Galways own forum for praise. The public have given
Limerick great praise for their success, as indeed have many Galway people including
Cyril Farrell, who always looks at the positives in Limerick Hurling. We will not always get
such great praise, hopefully Limerick will shortly refocus and will add to this incredible
success. This very young Limerick team should win another couple of All-Irelands.
Luimneach abhú.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 12/09/2018 15:02:08    2141249

I just still cannot believe we won it!!

Unlimited_LK (Limerick) - Posts: 128 - 12/09/2018 16:35:07    2141273

Graham Mulcahy not even nominated for HOTY. Definitely going to be a Galway man.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 13/09/2018 07:45:07    2141336

Replying To blackspot91:  "Graham Mulcahy not even nominated for HOTY. Definitely going to be a Galway man."
I saw that aswell and wondered what does a man have to do to even get a nomination never mind win it . Cian lynch got nominated for limerick and although cian had a good steady year and played some great intelligent hurling i think Mulcahy was our best player all year but that is only my opinion , from his defensive work below in puc against cork when the cork backs were trying to clear their lines and he was on them like a wasp to his sharp movement and point taking ability at critical parts of most games including his last point against Galway in the All ire final . We had terrific players all over the place especially kyle Hayes , gillane , mike casey , hannon to name just a few . No problem with Joe Canning getting nominated as he kept Galway in most games on his own all year including the Final and if he won it i wouldnt have a problem with that an fair play to him he is a terrific hurler but Hannon his direct marker for the final also had a great game .
what is so special about about pauric Mannion that he got a nomination ? he was burned by seamus flanagan at the end of the first half for flanagans point and dont forget he also threw a hurley at Dowling and almost hooked him with the loose hurley and that was part of the reason Dowling shot scuttered into the corner. it was hard to spot at the time but i have watched it in slow motion a few times and thats what actually happened , Mannions thrown hurley clipped the boss of Dowlings hurley so i suppose it was a great effort if indeed illegal from Mannion to stop the shot but luckily Dowling still managed to connect with the sliotar and score .
To me Mannion never done anything out of the ordinary all year but yet the pundits seem to think the sun shines out of his A##e but then again the pundits never gave us much credit all year and even after winning the All ire i still hear about how bad Galway were on the day , nothing about how good we were . i watched the sunday game night time version from city west last night for the first time since aug 19th and low and behold MR GRECIAN 2000 Des Cahill had his usual snidey comments about Limerick . Anthony Daly and Brendan cummins had nothing but praise for limerick and eddie brennan was just boring eddie brennan with nothing much to add to the conversation apart from trying to say peter casey was never fouled by daithi Burke in the lead up to the conor whelan goal when it was plain to see that burke pulled him to the ground when casey caught the ball and turned burke and was on his way to goal so by right that should have been a free in to limerick but lets not get started on james owens . of course des Cahill had to question tom morrisseys steps for his goal but you know what we won the game and we are All ireland champions and feck the begrudgers is what i say ,
can they just not be happy for us after a 45 year wait , i sincerely hope waterford can win the hurling sometime and Mayo the football as they are like ourselves knocking on the door along time , every county deserves the feeling of pure joy and happiness that we have at the moment and it would be great to see all ireland victories spread around to counties that are craving one for years , i for one am still buzzing after our win ..... luimneach Abu

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 13/09/2018 11:29:33    2141373

How can the all stars justify not nominating Greame Mulcahy for hurler of the year it is a complete joke and I guarantee the reason is he is not 1 these media men giving interviews to papers. Limerick rarely get the credit or respect they deserve from national Journalists this is like in 2010 when John Galvin was overlooked for an all star.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 13/09/2018 12:23:44    2141390

Replying To WhipOnTheBall:  "I saw that aswell and wondered what does a man have to do to even get a nomination never mind win it . Cian lynch got nominated for limerick and although cian had a good steady year and played some great intelligent hurling i think Mulcahy was our best player all year but that is only my opinion , from his defensive work below in puc against cork when the cork backs were trying to clear their lines and he was on them like a wasp to his sharp movement and point taking ability at critical parts of most games including his last point against Galway in the All ire final . We had terrific players all over the place especially kyle Hayes , gillane , mike casey , hannon to name just a few . No problem with Joe Canning getting nominated as he kept Galway in most games on his own all year including the Final and if he won it i wouldnt have a problem with that an fair play to him he is a terrific hurler but Hannon his direct marker for the final also had a great game .
what is so special about about pauric Mannion that he got a nomination ? he was burned by seamus flanagan at the end of the first half for flanagans point and dont forget he also threw a hurley at Dowling and almost hooked him with the loose hurley and that was part of the reason Dowling shot scuttered into the corner. it was hard to spot at the time but i have watched it in slow motion a few times and thats what actually happened , Mannions thrown hurley clipped the boss of Dowlings hurley so i suppose it was a great effort if indeed illegal from Mannion to stop the shot but luckily Dowling still managed to connect with the sliotar and score .
To me Mannion never done anything out of the ordinary all year but yet the pundits seem to think the sun shines out of his A##e but then again the pundits never gave us much credit all year and even after winning the All ire i still hear about how bad Galway were on the day , nothing about how good we were . i watched the sunday game night time version from city west last night for the first time since aug 19th and low and behold MR GRECIAN 2000 Des Cahill had his usual snidey comments about Limerick . Anthony Daly and Brendan cummins had nothing but praise for limerick and eddie brennan was just boring eddie brennan with nothing much to add to the conversation apart from trying to say peter casey was never fouled by daithi Burke in the lead up to the conor whelan goal when it was plain to see that burke pulled him to the ground when casey caught the ball and turned burke and was on his way to goal so by right that should have been a free in to limerick but lets not get started on james owens . of course des Cahill had to question tom morrisseys steps for his goal but you know what we won the game and we are All ireland champions and feck the begrudgers is what i say ,
can they just not be happy for us after a 45 year wait , i sincerely hope waterford can win the hurling sometime and Mayo the football as they are like ourselves knocking on the door along time , every county deserves the feeling of pure joy and happiness that we have at the moment and it would be great to see all ireland victories spread around to counties that are craving one for years , i for one am still buzzing after our win ..... luimneach Abu"
In fairness Whipontheball Cian was a bit better than 'had a steady year'. If your to go back and compare and rate Graeme and Cians performance against each other they both played well on the same days and both had the 1 poor day in Ennis. This nomination actually shows Limericks strength as they played as a team and had no one 'key man' for the opposition to zone in on. It's also easier for a scorer to make the nominations for these awards rather than a midfielder like Cian who creates a lot or a defender like Sean Finn who held all the great corner forwards this year and the 1 match in which he came off injured we were beaten in
As regards the All Star team Finn and Lynch for me are the only Limerick certainties, English deserves it, we'll probably get 2 in the HB line but which 2 I don't know, Donovan was very good all year but won't win it while in the forwards we'll probably get 2 as Duggan, Conlan, Canning and 1 Cork forward are nailed on. All our forwards had good days with 1 bad day thrown in to the mix so a few will be disappointed. Anyway this is a high level 'problem to have, just read some of the comments from 14 months ago when this Page was first opened- Limerick hurling was a different place back then

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 13/09/2018 13:04:03    2141403

Replying To updwell:  "In fairness Whipontheball Cian was a bit better than 'had a steady year'. If your to go back and compare and rate Graeme and Cians performance against each other they both played well on the same days and both had the 1 poor day in Ennis. This nomination actually shows Limericks strength as they played as a team and had no one 'key man' for the opposition to zone in on. It's also easier for a scorer to make the nominations for these awards rather than a midfielder like Cian who creates a lot or a defender like Sean Finn who held all the great corner forwards this year and the 1 match in which he came off injured we were beaten in
As regards the All Star team Finn and Lynch for me are the only Limerick certainties, English deserves it, we'll probably get 2 in the HB line but which 2 I don't know, Donovan was very good all year but won't win it while in the forwards we'll probably get 2 as Duggan, Conlan, Canning and 1 Cork forward are nailed on. All our forwards had good days with 1 bad day thrown in to the mix so a few will be disappointed. Anyway this is a high level 'problem to have, just read some of the comments from 14 months ago when this Page was first opened- Limerick hurling was a different place back then"
yeah it has been one fantastic year . to get out of 1b and maybe get to an all ire semi would have been progress in my eyes before the year started but to get to an All ireland Final was absolutely brilliant and to actually win it is amazing . Sometimes i think i have dreamt it . i suppose to say cian had a good steady year was a bit of an understatement on my part as the improvement in him was immense with his workrate and skill and credit must go to kiely and co for this . He is a fantastic player but sometimes i felt he lacked confidence in his own ability the last few years but this year he has been outstanding along with most of his team mates but Mul is still my stand out player for the year , but as you say isnt it great we are even having these discussions , it makes one realise what a good place limerick hurling is in at the moment and long may it continue.

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 13/09/2018 14:22:50    2141445

People outside of Limerick will read the above posts and think we are being a little sensitive about the lack of credit and i think from someone on the outside i could understand that, especially with the positive reviews from certain experts , but i think i see where people are coming from. You do get the token "Limerick deserved it and they are great...." but you don't hear enough about the sensational and skillful level of hurling they have consistently produced, the new brand of hurling style they have developed, their levels of fitness and physicality, the way they can dominate and hold possession and not waste a ball and how they move the ball through the lines. You get tired of hearing about the inadequacies of the opposing teams and how they lost it without going in to detail about how we out hurled and out fought our opponents to get over the line. Also Limerick didn't play to their potential on All-Ireland day and still won is never mentioned it was just how Galway didn't turn up.
"Don't get me wrong Limerick are deserving champions but....." is tone of the more annoying lines used.

They beat Galway twice this year, Cork, Tipp, Kilkenny, Waterford all left in their wake they are deserving champs no ifs buts or maybes

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 13/09/2018 15:33:25    2141487

Based on my anecdotal evidence from meeting people, there's a genuine happiness that Limerick finally got to the summit and claimed an All-Ireland. The attitude of Galway supporters that I met after the game was similar to our own after 1980. They were disappointed with the way that the team performed but didn't begrudge it to us. Of course, if we had known that we wouldn't win one again until 2018, we wouldn't have been so magnanimous back then. I expect Galway to continue to be strong and that the counties will met again in the latter stages of the championship over the course of the next 5 year.

I'm pleased to see that even my ultra-die hard Clare supporting niece is happy that Limerick won.

The goodwill towards Limerick hurlers is very similar to that shown by most people to Mayo footballers and to a lesser extent to Waterford hurlers (they haven't won in a long time but nor have they conspired to lose finals in the gut wrenching fashion that Mayo and Limerick have managed to do it).

We're both a proud and sensitive hurling county so winning this All Ireland is huge as it restores to us a sense of the self -respect and belief that we have yearned for. After all, this is the county of Mackey, Power, Ryan, Hartigan, Cregan and Carey where hurling is core. It's part of our lore and embedded in our traditions but how can Limerick continue to claim that we're a traditional hurling power without All-Ireland success. This is central to our being and has tortured us over the past three decades. But that pain is over now and we can walk in the world without having to make excuses for our shortcomings and failings.

I think the whole Cranberries thing folded into the emotion of the campaign as well. Even the names of the songs such as Dreams and Linger matched the emotions of the campaign. One of my sisters played camogie in Laurel Hill with Dolores who in many ways personified Limerick. She came from among us and achieved things that the rest of us will never hope to but she even sang in our accent and never lost her sense of Limerick as her home. She gave us a sense of pride in our native place that matches what this hurling team has also given us.

I've talked a lot in this about pride in our home and I think that this is a particular issue for Limerick because of the way that the national media has portrayed the place over a long number of years. The impact of negative events and negative coverage of the city and county has left emotional scars that are only slowly healing and therefore the bards and careless comments of commentators such as Des Cahill sting with us in a way that wouldn't be even noticed in Dublin, Galway or Cork.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 14/09/2018 10:59:50    2141647

My realistic expectation is that Limerick will get 7 All Stars.

I expect that Murphy will be in goals (mainly because of Limerick)
We should get both corner backs with Burke at full back. I think the full back line is nailed on.
Declan will be at 6 along with Mannion. It's then a battle between Byrnes and Morrissey for the remaining spot and that's a very tight call.
Cian is nailed in at midfield. I reckon Fitzgibbon will get the nod ahead of Burke alongside him but that's a tight call.
Obviously Canning will be at center forward. I think Tom Morrissey and Peter Duggan are also nailed in on that line.
The full forward line will include Conlon and I expect to see Harmedy there as well. It's then a battle between the 3 Limerick lads for the last spot and I fancy Mulcahy for it as he was consistent throughout the entire year plus he got the score that won the All Ireland. To be frank, if I was picking a team tomorrow to play for me, Aaron Gillane would be one of the first players on the sheet but I'd agree that Mul deserves the All Star on this occasion. I'm certain Gillane will win a number of them in the future.

POY is probably between the Galway boys unless they split the vote because Cian Lynch did have a marvelous season.
Kyle Hayes has got to get the YPOY award is is unlucky to be up against Canning at No11 for the All Star. There was some talk about Fitzgibbon getting YPOY ahead of Kyle but a poor performance by him in the U21 final should have ended any prospect of that utter injustice transpiring.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 14/09/2018 11:40:42    2141659

Replying To Dealer:  "Based on my anecdotal evidence from meeting people, there's a genuine happiness that Limerick finally got to the summit and claimed an All-Ireland. The attitude of Galway supporters that I met after the game was similar to our own after 1980. They were disappointed with the way that the team performed but didn't begrudge it to us. Of course, if we had known that we wouldn't win one again until 2018, we wouldn't have been so magnanimous back then. I expect Galway to continue to be strong and that the counties will met again in the latter stages of the championship over the course of the next 5 year.

I'm pleased to see that even my ultra-die hard Clare supporting niece is happy that Limerick won.

The goodwill towards Limerick hurlers is very similar to that shown by most people to Mayo footballers and to a lesser extent to Waterford hurlers (they haven't won in a long time but nor have they conspired to lose finals in the gut wrenching fashion that Mayo and Limerick have managed to do it).

We're both a proud and sensitive hurling county so winning this All Ireland is huge as it restores to us a sense of the self -respect and belief that we have yearned for. After all, this is the county of Mackey, Power, Ryan, Hartigan, Cregan and Carey where hurling is core. It's part of our lore and embedded in our traditions but how can Limerick continue to claim that we're a traditional hurling power without All-Ireland success. This is central to our being and has tortured us over the past three decades. But that pain is over now and we can walk in the world without having to make excuses for our shortcomings and failings.

I think the whole Cranberries thing folded into the emotion of the campaign as well. Even the names of the songs such as Dreams and Linger matched the emotions of the campaign. One of my sisters played camogie in Laurel Hill with Dolores who in many ways personified Limerick. She came from among us and achieved things that the rest of us will never hope to but she even sang in our accent and never lost her sense of Limerick as her home. She gave us a sense of pride in our native place that matches what this hurling team has also given us.

I've talked a lot in this about pride in our home and I think that this is a particular issue for Limerick because of the way that the national media has portrayed the place over a long number of years. The impact of negative events and negative coverage of the city and county has left emotional scars that are only slowly healing and therefore the bards and careless comments of commentators such as Des Cahill sting with us in a way that wouldn't be even noticed in Dublin, Galway or Cork."
Great post. Agree with all 100%

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 14/09/2018 16:09:41    2141753