Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To Miami305:  "Oh lads... what can I say! Well firstly huge congratulations. Its been arguably one of the best championships ever and we certainly have a fitting champion at the end of it.

It was a funny old game thinking back on it (I haven't had the stomach to sit down and watch it yet!)
Evidently Limerick were the better side, in terms of work rate, touch, decision making, use of the ball, yet it didn't transpire to show on the score board as much as it should have at half time. Being 4 down at half time I was hoping for a KK 2015 response where we would finally start to hurl and impose ourselves on the game. It didn't happen.

From a Galway perspective, the most frustrating part is we didn't hurl at all. Only Joe, Joseph Cooney, David Burke really performed to a good level. Everyone else was either average to well below par. As one of the players said to me at the banquet " if we had hurled out of our skins and lost by a point it wouldn't feel as bad as not performing at all and losing by a point"

I think a lot of the Galway resurgence had to do with the boost of the 8 mins injury time (rightly awarded) and the loss of Casey and English, 2 of the full back line.

And for as good value as Limerick were for the win, all 3 goals were completely avoidable from a Galway point of view, you went 25 mins in the second half without scoring a point and hit a bucket load of bad wides of the game. Yet still should have been comprehensive winners.

You definitely dominated on the puck outs and think I read somewhere you had won 29 of 35/36 or so? Which is a great platform to win any game.

Im sure ill sit down over the next few weeks and watch it all back, somehow hoping for a different outcome haha!

Here's to a quick a winter and roll on the league and next years hurling.

Luimneach agus Gaillimh abu!"
Fair play Miami as you say it was a funny game. There is a lot more in Galway but you know what there is a hell of a lot more in that Limerick side too. Ye might have nearly stolen it at the end but ye could also have been on the end of a bit of a hiding too.

We'll enjoy this one for now and look forward to the battle again next year.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 22/08/2018 19:48:34    2135702

Any idea where the cup is going to be over the next few days. I heard they are doing the rounds of the clubs

southlad (Limerick) - Posts: 82 - 22/08/2018 20:19:17    2135712

i have just one observation to make on sundays game and talk of all stars. can cathal mannion still be considered as hurler of the year after throwing his orange handled hurley at shane dowlings back when he was through on goal?
is it not a red card offence?

hillman (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 22/08/2018 22:39:47    2135771

Replying To hillman:  "i have just one observation to make on sundays game and talk of all stars. can cathal mannion still be considered as hurler of the year after throwing his orange handled hurley at shane dowlings back when he was through on goal?
is it not a red card offence?"
Firstly I don't think Cathal Mannion was ever in the running for POTY. Secondly the colour of the grip shouldn't make a difference. Thirdly even if he had got a red card it would not disqualify Padraig Mannion from POTY consideration.
Fourthly after Sunday I would give it to Graeme Mulcahy.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 22/08/2018 23:19:13    2135780

Few days have passed and I've calmed down a bit. Thank you so much to this Limerick set up. They have delivered us the holy grail and although a lot of us knew this team had big things ahead, I don't think many of us expected to reach the promised Land this soon. Tears of joy and relief last Sunday and memories we will never forget. Not been able to attend the homecoming in the gaelic grounds, adare or galbally. The players deserve a rest but does anyone know where they plan to visit next?

TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 108 - 23/08/2018 02:26:15    2135800

Replying To hillman:  "i have just one observation to make on sundays game and talk of all stars. can cathal mannion still be considered as hurler of the year after throwing his orange handled hurley at shane dowlings back when he was through on goal?
is it not a red card offence?"
I thought I was the only one who saw that. It's why Dowling miss hit it. It's a yellow. Was he on a yellow already? Think the ref left it off because he thought the game was over anyway.

I think Mannions Performances are overrated anyway. I feel like he's been talked about for HOTY since the first round of Leinster. He was poor enough in final. Flannagan burnt him badly for his point at end of first half. He let Tom in 30 yards of space for a tap over from a puck out but he seems immune to criticism from the likes of Duignan. Maybe its because the media wanted him to get it last year so pushed for him this year. Harte was actually better than him.

For me, Mulcahy all day long.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 23/08/2018 06:29:56    2135809

I remember how lonely it can be when you are injured. In this regard I'd like to mention Paul Browne. In a program for a league game this year he was asked what he would like to be in 10 years time. He answered " An All Ireland medal winner". Today he is and it is richly deserved his contribution against Cork in PUC was telling in getting a result that was a milestone in our season and I have no doubt he would have seen action last Sunday were he fit. Congratulations Paul and get well soon there's a title to defend.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 23/08/2018 07:39:00    2135811

Mile buoichas! A great big thank you to panel and management for winning the All-Ireland and bringing Liam McCarthy back to Limerick way ahead of of everyone's expectation.

A great big thank you also to Michael Duignan in particular, and other pundits who explained away many Limerick scores and win, all season long as " a mistake of poor marking by the opposition, rather than "lovely hurling, well done by our heroes", "Ar Ghille Mear" .

BTW....Galway have already been installed as favorites by bookies to win the AI in 2019 . (. Don't you just love it!

Come On ye Boys In Green in 2019!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/08/2018 13:23:02    2135925

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Mile buoichas! A great big thank you to panel and management for winning the All-Ireland and bringing Liam McCarthy back to Limerick way ahead of of everyone's expectation.

A great big thank you also to Michael Duignan in particular, and other pundits who explained away many Limerick scores and win, all season long as " a mistake of poor marking by the opposition, rather than "lovely hurling, well done by our heroes", "Ar Ghille Mear" .

BTW....Galway have already been installed as favorites by bookies to win the AI in 2019 . (. Don't you just love it!

Come On ye Boys In Green in 2019!"
Pundits might have underestimated Limerick which was understandable on all previous forms. But at least they didn't spew out PatheticIllogical disgraceful personal insults at individual players and they put their names to any opinions they gave.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 23/08/2018 13:46:15    2135932

Replying To Westfester:  "Pundits might have underestimated Limerick which was understandable on all previous forms. But at least they didn't spew out PatheticIllogical disgraceful personal insults at individual players and they put their names to any opinions they gave."
Come out of your den of vitriol....not taking the bait.. ...its lost on me!. Join the ranks of the joyful celebration of Limerick's All Ireland victory!! ....

Come Ye Boys In Green!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/08/2018 15:56:20    2136002

Maybe if you offered an apology for your pathetic illogical behaviour it would be a start.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 23/08/2018 16:22:35    2136022

It's great to see the outpouring of pure joy all week at Colbert Station Gaelic Grounds kKilmallock Adare Galbally etc etc.
Everyone on the panel and backroom team are fantastic ambassadors and deserve all the praise they get

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 23/08/2018 16:57:10    2136040

Replying To Westfester:  "It's great to see the outpouring of pure joy all week at Colbert Station Gaelic Grounds kKilmallock Adare Galbally etc etc.
Everyone on the panel and backroom team are fantastic ambassadors and deserve all the praise they get"
Welll said. Now you're talkin..

Continuing the positive vibe on here, ?Anyone have the words of "Piano Man or "Dreams"?

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/08/2018 17:40:26    2136058

At long last our dreams have come true , huge congratulations to John Kiely , his panel of players ,backroom team ,Co Board ,and the Mc Manus family for leading us to the promised land . Little did we think at the start of the year we would achieve so much . As others have said this was a long time in the making .an article this week in the Irish Examiner in which Brian Ryan outlined the Lifting the Treaty followed by The Acadamy structure ,the Harty Cup success of Ard Scoil The Fiitzgibbon success of Limericks 3rd level colleges all have combined to make up the finished Jigsaw . Brian Ryan himself played a huge part with Gerry Wallace , Steve Mc Donagh , Eamonn Cregan , and Joe Mc Kenna ,in guiding the minor teams of 2013 and 2014 to two Munsters even dough failing to reach the summit on both occasions ,the belief they instilled in those young men played a huge part in Sundays success . 16 of those minor teams were part of the panel of 36 last Sunday which by any standard is remarkable . The lesson learned is keep investing in our acadamy and the future will remain bright Limerick Abu

Getup80 (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 23/08/2018 17:59:34    2136063

Replying To Westfester:  "Firstly I don't think Cathal Mannion was ever in the running for POTY. Secondly the colour of the grip shouldn't make a difference. Thirdly even if he had got a red card it would not disqualify Padraig Mannion from POTY consideration.
Fourthly after Sunday I would give it to Graeme Mulcahy."
Congratulations to the team and to all, who in any way who helped us to see this historic day. As regards player of the year it was amazing to see an eight man RTE panel of 'experts' opt unanimously for Padraig Mannion. BTW how come no past Limerick hurling star was on this panel on that night of all nights.
I agree totally with you that Graeme Mulcahy should be HOTY.
From start to finish of this championship he has delivered the goods and one the few mistakes made this year was taking him off in Ennis. Against Tipp he had a fine game, When A Guillane was taken below in Cork he laid down the marker that lifted the then depleted team and their supporters. He suceeded,addmitedly with assistance, in completely disrupting the puck out strategy of a man who is widely regarded as a master of the gambit and generally led the charge that forced the draw. Against Kilkenny he took on Paul Murphy, one the finest corner backs of the past decade, and made him look ordinary. Against in the semi final he banged over three points in as many minutes, when they were badly needed, and in the final his great persistence even though outnumbered resulted in the goal that essentially sent us on our way
But it was in the cauldron that was the final minutes of the game that he displayed nerve skill and characther. Having made a mistake with a pass that led to a possibly crucial point for Galway he won a ball that was not his ball to win, with assistance from the sprightly PC, and with razor accuracy and steely nerve drilled over the point that won the cup and crown.
It must be also remembered that throughout in every he harressed blocked and turned possibly as much if not more that any team in the entire. Thus he combined all the finer points of a throghbred with the hard work of a draught horse.
I rest my poorly made case.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 23/08/2018 21:37:58    2136108

Replying To PremierGold:  "COMHAIRDEGHEAS LUIMNEACH!!

I live on the Limerick border with numerous Limerick cousins so this is going to be a rough year slagging wise!!
However it was a thoroughly deserved victory over the course of the year with some great high-energy hurling played by the Treaty men.
Of course Declan Hannon,Cian Lynch,Pat Ryan and the Morriseys have strong Tipp links so our missionary work has been a great success!!
Anyways enjoy the celebrations which hopefully will go on for supporters and players for about 10 months!!"
Our 'missionary work' was not bad when we gave ye Connor O'Donavan and the two Carrolls and of course Nicky English had strong Limerick connections.
Never mind, thanks for your good wishes, they are noted and appreciated

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 23/08/2018 21:42:01    2136110

Replying To Miami305:  "Oh lads... what can I say! Well firstly huge congratulations. Its been arguably one of the best championships ever and we certainly have a fitting champion at the end of it.

It was a funny old game thinking back on it (I haven't had the stomach to sit down and watch it yet!)
Evidently Limerick were the better side, in terms of work rate, touch, decision making, use of the ball, yet it didn't transpire to show on the score board as much as it should have at half time. Being 4 down at half time I was hoping for a KK 2015 response where we would finally start to hurl and impose ourselves on the game. It didn't happen.

From a Galway perspective, the most frustrating part is we didn't hurl at all. Only Joe, Joseph Cooney, David Burke really performed to a good level. Everyone else was either average to well below par. As one of the players said to me at the banquet " if we had hurled out of our skins and lost by a point it wouldn't feel as bad as not performing at all and losing by a point"

I think a lot of the Galway resurgence had to do with the boost of the 8 mins injury time (rightly awarded) and the loss of Casey and English, 2 of the full back line.

And for as good value as Limerick were for the win, all 3 goals were completely avoidable from a Galway point of view, you went 25 mins in the second half without scoring a point and hit a bucket load of bad wides of the game. Yet still should have been comprehensive winners.

You definitely dominated on the puck outs and think I read somewhere you had won 29 of 35/36 or so? Which is a great platform to win any game.

Im sure ill sit down over the next few weeks and watch it all back, somehow hoping for a different outcome haha!

Here's to a quick a winter and roll on the league and next years hurling.

Luimneach agus Gaillimh abu!"
Thanks Sir, spoken like a true sportsman.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 23/08/2018 21:44:04    2136111

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Our 'missionary work' was not bad when we gave ye Connor O'Donavan and the two Carrolls and of course Nicky English had strong Limerick connections.
Never mind, thanks for your good wishes, they are noted and appreciated"
Great case Oldtourman. Very well documented and highlighted. Thank you.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/08/2018 22:07:36    2136118

Liam McCarthy is resting today But he will be Back on his tour of county in Kilmallock (Friday), Patrickswell (Saturday), Na Piarsaigh (Sunday) and Doon (Monday) - all arrival times will be confirmed

Posted by Limerick Hurling on Facebook earlier today

TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 108 - 23/08/2018 22:24:39    2136126

Massive congratulations still can't believe it was just a special special yr it was as if the gods said right lads we've been hard on these limerick boys how can we make it up to them.......

I can't believe I'm going to say this but g mulcahy for me was our player of the yr

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 24/08/2018 00:09:53    2136146