Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Delighted to eat humble pie on Richie McCarthy as he did everyhing that was asked of him when he came on and looked cool under pressure in the process, in character with the manner of play of the new Limerick team .

Glad to see Hickey perform well against Cork (I missed if came on in the madness that was the last 10 minutes of the 8 minute added time. Thanks ref!!

Delighted with Condon's "huge" and involvement in the cauldron that was the last 10 minutes. That living hell hell was tailor made for him and I'll bet he loved it. Couldn't write a better ending for Tom .
Thanks to all 3.

Come On ye Boys in Green!"
Forget the humble pie. The ignorance of your comments regarding a great Limerick player was constantly pointed out by me and by more knowledgeable posters on here. Yet you continued to attack a player who has given years of selfless sacrifice to get Limerick hurling to where it is today. Instead of coming on here posing as a supporter you should be ashamed of your disgraceful behaviour. The only thing worse is that your comments were allowed to see the light of day. If you had the slightest bit of integrity you would stop posting.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 20/08/2018 22:02:10    2135041

Also I have not heard of any retirements.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 20/08/2018 22:04:34    2135042

Replying To Westfester:  "Forget the humble pie. The ignorance of your comments regarding a great Limerick player was constantly pointed out by me and by more knowledgeable posters on here. Yet you continued to attack a player who has given years of selfless sacrifice to get Limerick hurling to where it is today. Instead of coming on here posing as a supporter you should be ashamed of your disgraceful behaviour. The only thing worse is that your comments were allowed to see the light of day. If you had the slightest bit of integrity you would stop posting."
Thanks for your comments. Now....

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 21/08/2018 00:01:27    2135103

Replying To Westfester:  "Also I have not heard of any retirements."
I wasn't saying they were going to retire soon, I just mean its good the lads won one now when they were so young as apposed to if say, the won it when the likes of Lynch etc are at peak age of 26 or 27 when those lads would be gone. But, yeah I definitely think and hope theres a few years left in them yet.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 21/08/2018 01:38:53    2135111

I'm still in shock. Thanks so much to everyone who contributed in anyway to this victory. I welcome all our new fans but I know most on here will understand what I mean when I say it is particularly special for the 12 or 1500 or so of us who go to league/challenge and even club games and who have always put Limerick hurling first. Special days and if we are honest days we feared we might never see. Since he has been mentioned I'm delighted for Mccarthy and really hope he stays on. Most if not all of the 1500 knew when he came on that we could trust him to do a job. Our two biggest victories were in Salthill and last Sunday and he was instrumental in both. Thanks also to the subs and extended panel. By making the training games as tough as they were they helped win this All Ireland and earned their medals. Truly special days. Hope we all drink them in and enjoy them to the full.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 21/08/2018 08:02:25    2135124

Replying To welpastit:  "I'm still in shock. Thanks so much to everyone who contributed in anyway to this victory. I welcome all our new fans but I know most on here will understand what I mean when I say it is particularly special for the 12 or 1500 or so of us who go to league/challenge and even club games and who have always put Limerick hurling first. Special days and if we are honest days we feared we might never see. Since he has been mentioned I'm delighted for Mccarthy and really hope he stays on. Most if not all of the 1500 knew when he came on that we could trust him to do a job. Our two biggest victories were in Salthill and last Sunday and he was instrumental in both. Thanks also to the subs and extended panel. By making the training games as tough as they were they helped win this All Ireland and earned their medals. Truly special days. Hope we all drink them in and enjoy them to the full."
Well said Welpastit. I am delighted for the likes of you and the other diehard supporters who followed this and previous Limerick teams for years with few rewards. These people know what players give and always respect their commitment.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 21/08/2018 11:06:07    2135178

Firstly - thanks to everyone who sought tickets for me. I forgive those of you that didn't come through because you will next year!!!!!!!!

It was a magical occasion shared with family and neighbors mad slightly sad by thinking of all the wonderful people who have passed away and didn't get to see this wonderful day. It's a explosion of emotion amplified by the way that we won it. It couldn't come easy for us as the weight of history was definitely bearing down in us in the last horrific 10 minutes. I dread the consequences for Limerick hurling if we had lost but by winning - we create a new history whereby Limerick are not losers and not serial losers at the final steps.

We were a long way the best team in that game as in all of our games this year with the exception of Ennis which in refection was a good result for us as it grounded the supporters and mitigated the risk of losing a Munster final.

This win will allow Limerick to build into the future because this group of players are at the start of the cycle and should improve further from here. I still don't think a lot of pundits don't get the capabilities of this team but they now have the opportunity to dominate for a period because of the quality and depth of this generation of players. We have fantastic athletes who are all technically excellent hurlers. Also we have genuine scoring forwards which we never had in the past. If you couple that with a backroom team that are exceptional - we have all the ingredients to win multiple times over the time scale of the next 6 to 8 years. The only guy who identified Limerick as a threat to win big this year was Nicholas English. The vast majority got it all wrong and that was also to our advantage so my thanks to them.

My Dad met JP standing outside the hotel before the match and said to him that he hoped that they would win for me. JP's response was that he hoped that they would win for my Dad as well. There is no doubt about the contribution that JP has made to Limerick GAA. He deserves to be part of this celebrations because he comes from the fabric that is the hurling community of Limerick and has done all that he could to support this team.

A wonderful day. We have scaled our Everest and recovered our tradition and respect as a hurling county.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 21/08/2018 11:55:50    2135201

COMHAIRDEGHEAS LUIMNEACH!!

I live on the Limerick border with numerous Limerick cousins so this is going to be a rough year slagging wise!!
However it was a thoroughly deserved victory over the course of the year with some great high-energy hurling played by the Treaty men.
Of course Declan Hannon,Cian Lynch,Pat Ryan and the Morriseys have strong Tipp links so our missionary work has been a great success!!
Anyways enjoy the celebrations which hopefully will go on for supporters and players for about 10 months!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 21/08/2018 12:13:29    2135213

Replying To PremierGold:  "COMHAIRDEGHEAS LUIMNEACH!!

I live on the Limerick border with numerous Limerick cousins so this is going to be a rough year slagging wise!!
However it was a thoroughly deserved victory over the course of the year with some great high-energy hurling played by the Treaty men.
Of course Declan Hannon,Cian Lynch,Pat Ryan and the Morriseys have strong Tipp links so our missionary work has been a great success!!
Anyways enjoy the celebrations which hopefully will go on for supporters and players for about 10 months!!"
Your welcome for Eoin Kelly ;)

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 21/08/2018 12:38:02    2135225

Still in shock that it came down to the last puck of the game. No doubting the talent in the group but hard to overstate the importance of getting over the line this year. If Limerick hadn't, even allowing for the undoubted confidence of these young players it would have been a very tough loss to take and there are no guarantees of getting back to Croke Park any time soon in what is a very competitive era for hurling. Limerick Abu

dingo1 (Limerick) - Posts: 281 - 21/08/2018 13:15:06    2135240

ADARE bannans already today circa 2PM, Chawkes pubs serving pints at 1973 prices !!

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 683 - 21/08/2018 14:15:51    2135278

Just want to thank John Kiely his backroom team & this wonderful bunch of players for one of the best days of my life. I was not even 2 the last time we won in '73, have very rarely missed a game since late seventies, was on my fathers lap in the Hogan in '80, in the Canal end for the heartbreak of '94 & '96, we were beat before a ball was pucked in '07 & shed many tears of joy Sunday. Thanks again for a great year of hurling, Luimneach Abu

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 249 - 21/08/2018 14:26:15    2135286

Well done, Limerick. What a brilliant day it was in Croke Park on Sunday. The pre match atmosphere, the team parading, the drama of the last 10 mins (horrendous at it was at the time but alls well that ends well), the out pouring of emotion at the final whistle - it had it all. What a brilliant job John Kiely has done with this group of players. The unity, honesty of effort, heart, workrate are a joy to behold. What great composure from Graeme Mulcahy to score that vital point to put us 2 up on 77 mins. This was the winning of the game and killed Galway's momentum. We had gone 10mins without scoring and this settled the team. The ghosts of 94 flew low over Croke Park for a few mins but have been well and truely banished now. Luimneach Abu.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 117 - 21/08/2018 16:12:01    2135332

Well done to all the Limerick hurling team and John Kiely and all the backroom people involved its great to have 1994 and 1996 put to bed, at last, I think this team can drive on now and win more well-done lads so proud

treaty1973 (Limerick) - Posts: 94 - 21/08/2018 17:16:24    2135361

i was in nally terrace on sunday when the final whistle, when blown, filled me with so many emotions that words escape me. one thing that came into my mind straight away was the thought of two men, who have passed to their final reward , my uncle jack kelly and my great friend paul dalton . how proud they would have been. that is my take on last sunday.
Limerick abu

hillman (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 21/08/2018 21:16:59    2135447

Not many words just thanks. Thanks to all involved in putting the trauma of the last 25 years behind us. We will get our respect back now as a hurling county and not looked upon as second class citizens. Croke park was a special place to be Sunday. It was all I thought it might be. JJ Delaney won 8 all Irelands and countless all stars. He said last Sunday after the final whistle he was incredibly emotional himself looking around him at the players management and fans. That says it all for me. Lads we'd a year of years. Days in tullamore Pearse park thurles cork Ennis Carlos croke park I'll never forget this year. The greatest championship in history without a doubt and to have seen it all was beautiful. Thanks again john kiely. When he threw the microphone down on the ground after his song on stage last night and roared "That's it It's OVER" it hit me hard. The pain was OVER.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 21/08/2018 21:43:26    2135456

A dream finally became reality.

Can't stop smiling since :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/08/2018 11:57:00    2135562

Unbelievable. Congrats to all the players and management for giving the people of Limerick something to remember for the rest of our lives. Inspirational stuff, truly inspirational what they have achieved. Thaks to all for what you have done for us.

Just to add in relation to the match Kyle Hayes was outstanding but for me having watched the whole thing back again on tv, Seamus Flanagan was also an absolute revelation on the field from the very start until he was called ashore. He was a wrecking ball, the go to guy who always showed and never once stopped going and the Galway defense had no chance of settling with him around.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 22/08/2018 15:50:23    2135640

Oh lads... what can I say! Well firstly huge congratulations. Its been arguably one of the best championships ever and we certainly have a fitting champion at the end of it.

It was a funny old game thinking back on it (I haven't had the stomach to sit down and watch it yet!)
Evidently Limerick were the better side, in terms of work rate, touch, decision making, use of the ball, yet it didn't transpire to show on the score board as much as it should have at half time. Being 4 down at half time I was hoping for a KK 2015 response where we would finally start to hurl and impose ourselves on the game. It didn't happen.

From a Galway perspective, the most frustrating part is we didn't hurl at all. Only Joe, Joseph Cooney, David Burke really performed to a good level. Everyone else was either average to well below par. As one of the players said to me at the banquet " if we had hurled out of our skins and lost by a point it wouldn't feel as bad as not performing at all and losing by a point"

I think a lot of the Galway resurgence had to do with the boost of the 8 mins injury time (rightly awarded) and the loss of Casey and English, 2 of the full back line.

And for as good value as Limerick were for the win, all 3 goals were completely avoidable from a Galway point of view, you went 25 mins in the second half without scoring a point and hit a bucket load of bad wides of the game. Yet still should have been comprehensive winners.

You definitely dominated on the puck outs and think I read somewhere you had won 29 of 35/36 or so? Which is a great platform to win any game.

Im sure ill sit down over the next few weeks and watch it all back, somehow hoping for a different outcome haha!

Here's to a quick a winter and roll on the league and next years hurling.

Luimneach agus Gaillimh abu!

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 22/08/2018 16:27:26    2135651

i wanted to wait until i came back down from the high of last sunday before i commented.i went through every emotion possible and at the end i shed tears of complete joy.i would usually hide this but on sunday i really didnt care and i saw many thousands in the same position.thank to every member of that panel and all management and backroom team for giving me the greatest gaa moment of my life,i will never forget the 19th of august 2018.to john kiely and the coaching staff huge kudos for sticking to the game plan and selecting of players in positions where a lot of people thought they just wouldnt make it.boys enjoy the next few weeks because each and every one of you deserve every minute of it.thanks again for making me a very happy man for the rest of my life and for making the winter very short.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 22/08/2018 17:18:00    2135667