Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To Greenmen73:  "R u serious. Hickey is a liability. He didn't make a mistake when he came on. Big deal"
You're not much of a Greenman with that negativity. If you know something more than the limerick management you better tell them quickly - you have less than two weeks. Maybe you could share your facts with us here first and it might filter through to management quicker.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 05/08/2018 18:37:20    2129547

nasty comment bout hickey.im not his biggest fan but he has been a great servant to limerick,has played everywhere he was picked including as a forward.watching todays game gives me great hope,when clare ran at galway defence they caused huge problems,only for the width of a post it was clare in final.also i think its right up limericks alley now as galway will be favorites for the final.i might have a slight worry with glynn,the man is a mountain but im sure kiely and co will look at all that.trying to secure tickets now thats my worry.we must remember also there will be a bit of bite after limerick stood up to them in salthill and ref will certainly want to keep an eye on things.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 05/08/2018 19:28:56    2129595

Replying To Greenmen73:  "R u serious. Hickey is a liability. He didn't make a mistake when he came on. Big deal"
Greenmen 73 I hope you dont get a ticket for the final. How dare you insult one if our hurlers like that.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 05/08/2018 20:20:05    2129628

Thank god clare are beating.

I agree the post on Seamus Hickey is disgraceful. Should not have been aloud put up.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 05/08/2018 20:29:36    2129633

The Clare tactics in the first half were a disaster. High ball down the middle on top of the Galway defence?? Once they started to go a bit shorter and to the corners they caused Galway serious problems. If we can stop them getting a fast start and a substantial lead, we have a great chance. They looked very tired but they are champions and in a final on merit. It will be extremely physical so we have to match that at least and keep calm. If we perform to our best, and I think we will, I would be reasonably confident. Looking forward to the build up and it should be a great game.

lowballs (Limerick) - Posts: 209 - 05/08/2018 21:21:34    2129670

Replying To welpastit:  "Simply cannot understand anyone who thinks O Donoghue has more to offer at half back than Hickey. Na Piarsaigh wouldn't even try him there. For me Hickey has to be first choice sub at either corner or wing back. As far back as February many on here were calling it. Hickey was never going to make it at full back and all he was doing was damaging his prospects of making the team by playing there. So it has transpired. I believe that if Hickey was introduced at half time against Cork to pick up Kearney we would never have been 6 points down and would have won far more comfortably. In the unlikely event that we meet Clare Hickey will be needed to pick up Kelly. He is far more mobile than any of our half back line none of whom are suited to the job of closing down Kelly. Cork showed how to beat Limericks system by playing half forward line at midfield. Hickey will definitely be needed should our next opponents decide to take our half backline out of the game and Clare will certainly attempt to do that."
Hickey is a talented hurlers who as you said was tried out extensively this year in a position that didn't suit. Problem is that his display against tipp this year in relation to giving away I think 3 needless frees in front of the posts and how Forde lost him for the goal sits in the mind. Let's be honest he has had a good few recent poor performances at championship level and might just be a little bit short of championship winning quality. He still has a very important role to play in the squad with his experience and media skills. I'm sure plenty of the players hold him in a high regard

Definitely be bringing back Kyle or Gearóid if we are in trouble in the half back line

4ever (Limerick) - Posts: 29 - 05/08/2018 21:38:01    2129688

It seems people took my Hickey comments as an attack. It was my opinion that Hickey is no longer cut out for this level of hurling. I would rather they introduce players who r much better. Not just because he is experienced and is good at talking.

Greenmen73 (Limerick) - Posts: 27 - 05/08/2018 22:44:31    2129738

1.For your information, Hickey came on 6 mins into extra time against Cork last Sunday and put in an excellent shift.

2.The following from Pundit Arena website this evening from an article "Defenders of the Decade"
A great servant to Limerick hurling, Seamus Hickey remains one of the best defenders to never win an All Ireland medal. The Murroe-Boher man made his inter-county senior debut in 2006 and won the Young Hurler Of The Year award just a year later. His passion, work rate and leadership have been key attributes to his play which were all on display in his heroic performance and subsequent post-match interview in the All Ireland semi-final loss to Kilkenny in 2014. The 30-year-old has one Munster, National League and All-Star medal to his name.

3. If you really want to snipe at elite athletes, why don't you decamp and have a go at some lazy soccer players pulling 50K a week rather than lads who bust their gut for their place of birth for no material reward?

beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 05/08/2018 23:16:48    2129755

Replying To 4ever:  "Hickey is a talented hurlers who as you said was tried out extensively this year in a position that didn't suit. Problem is that his display against tipp this year in relation to giving away I think 3 needless frees in front of the posts and how Forde lost him for the goal sits in the mind. Let's be honest he has had a good few recent poor performances at championship level and might just be a little bit short of championship winning quality. He still has a very important role to play in the squad with his experience and media skills. I'm sure plenty of the players hold him in a high regard

Definitely be bringing back Kyle or Gearóid if we are in trouble in the half back line"
He wa outstanding at 7 last year apart from Kolkenny game. He struggled against Forde this year simply because he is not a full back and never was. Now that we are playing Galway I see less of a role for him in final. For me he is still our first choice sub at corner or wing back. Hos performances at full back have tarnished his image but we all should be able to remember what he has done in the corner or on the wing

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 05/08/2018 23:30:09    2129761

Replying To Greenmen73:  "It seems people took my Hickey comments as an attack. It was my opinion that Hickey is no longer cut out for this level of hurling. I would rather they introduce players who r much better. Not just because he is experienced and is good at talking."
A feeble attempt backpedal and sugarcoat yourself out of a corner but you don't have the finesse, experience or talking /writing ability to pull it off. You'r not fooling yourself and you're not fooling anyone else.
Apart from being a human, capable of making mistakes,Hickey still has tremendous value to offer to Limerick.
Thank you Seamus Hickey, for all you do!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 06/08/2018 00:26:00    2129787

Replying To 4ever:  "Hickey is a talented hurlers who as you said was tried out extensively this year in a position that didn't suit. Problem is that his display against tipp this year in relation to giving away I think 3 needless frees in front of the posts and how Forde lost him for the goal sits in the mind. Let's be honest he has had a good few recent poor performances at championship level and might just be a little bit short of championship winning quality. He still has a very important role to play in the squad with his experience and media skills. I'm sure plenty of the players hold him in a high regard

Definitely be bringing back Kyle or Gearóid if we are in trouble in the half back line"
Is that a yes, no or "I'm giving myself the option to go either way depending on the majr concensus on here.

"On the white beaches of mediocrity lie the bleached bones, of millions."..

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 06/08/2018 00:57:52    2129800

Replying To Greenmen73:  "It seems people took my Hickey comments as an attack. It was my opinion that Hickey is no longer cut out for this level of hurling. I would rather they introduce players who r much better. Not just because he is experienced and is good at talking."
Who are these 'much better players' we have to come on in defense?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 06/08/2018 04:00:58    2129827

My final prediction of 2018 is Limerick to win the all-ireland final.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 06/08/2018 11:26:29    2129913

My ranking on each team for the year is as follows

No. 1 Limerick
No. 2 Galway
No. 3 Cork
No. 4 Kilkenny
No. 5 Wexford
No. 6 Tipperary
No. 7 Waterford
No. 8 Dublin
No. 9 Clare
No. 10 Offaly
No. 11 Carlow
No. 12 Westmeath

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 06/08/2018 12:03:49    2129930

First of all hard luck on the Banner I felt they left it behind them yesterday I was hoping to meet them in the final , was hoping to make up for Cusack park . Beaten by the width of a post .
Such are the margins of senior championship hurling , but for Nicky quaids flick we might not have made it either. I still feel that Clare 2013 team have under achieved despite winning one all Ireland ,that shows the quality I think they have.

Sad to see people having a go at hickey , I believe there is no player on John Kielys panel that doesn't deserve to be there , there are no passengers there , no room for them.
So any of the 36 + are capable of playing and making a worthwhile contribution we are fortunate enough to have a great mix of youth and experience so for once let's enjoy them and get behind them .

So it's Galway ,they seem to start very strong for the first 20 mins so I believe if we can weather the storm and not go too far behind in that time we have a great chance of beating them.
After that we will even out and later on I think our bench have enough impact to see it out.
Like KK and Clare , our management may have to make timely changes.
Glynn is huge and Casey will have his work cut out back there , we could swap Kyle Hayes back for Hannon to give Casey some height cover , Hannon could play centre forward if needs be .
Point is this Limerick team has options.
Great to be still in it at this time of year, in salt hill earlier this year v Galway , two Galway lads beside me at half time informed me of how they don't like these one sided games, I told them it's not over yet .
At the final whistle I turned and smiled at them didn't need to say anything.
Hoping for a repeat of that.
Luimneach Abu .

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 06/08/2018 12:13:35    2129935

Personally I think Hickey came on against Cork and was solid in the way he helped the team see out the game. What more could we ask for ? Yes he is not a full back but he has been brilliant in other defensive roles now for a number of seasons. I am delighted that himself and McCarthy are there incase we need them.

Anyway onto the final, Galway can be breathtaking, they seem to use their physicality from the off to suffocate teams and build up big leads (Kilkenny and Clare twice). If they did that for 75 mins they'd beat every team.
Thankfully and I hope to God this pans out for the final they don't seem to be able to sustain it. The cats and the banner did a brilliant job coming back and Clare in particular would be disappointed they didn't take advantage. If we can manage to keep the heads and get a few scores during the onslaught that would go along way to beating them. Keep within 3 points at half time anyway.

While I absolutely love the fight that our lads have shown in the last few matches ideally I would love to put Galway under pressure by taking a lead early in the second half. In fairness to the champions they often have other teams chasing them which is tiring in itself.
I hope our half back line as a unit will be more dominant in the final. For me Dan Morrissey wasn't the same dominant self at all. A bit controversial but I feel Galway this year are more reliant on Canning than last year. If the boys in the half backs can play as well as they did against Kilkenny then that would go a long way to keeping their players at bay. It would also help our full back line, Casey in particular will have enough on his plate dealing with Johnny glynn. I'm not knocking Casey at all it's just Glynn is a giraffe.
I feel Kevin Downes could be a real thorn on daithi burke's side if he got a chance to come on because he was super for na piarsaigh I the club final but that's up to the management.

Overall, survive the onslaught and then drive on home. Simple........

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 06/08/2018 12:19:25    2129939

Replying To Mads:  "Personally I think Hickey came on against Cork and was solid in the way he helped the team see out the game. What more could we ask for ? Yes he is not a full back but he has been brilliant in other defensive roles now for a number of seasons. I am delighted that himself and McCarthy are there incase we need them.

Anyway onto the final, Galway can be breathtaking, they seem to use their physicality from the off to suffocate teams and build up big leads (Kilkenny and Clare twice). If they did that for 75 mins they'd beat every team.
Thankfully and I hope to God this pans out for the final they don't seem to be able to sustain it. The cats and the banner did a brilliant job coming back and Clare in particular would be disappointed they didn't take advantage. If we can manage to keep the heads and get a few scores during the onslaught that would go along way to beating them. Keep within 3 points at half time anyway.

While I absolutely love the fight that our lads have shown in the last few matches ideally I would love to put Galway under pressure by taking a lead early in the second half. In fairness to the champions they often have other teams chasing them which is tiring in itself.
I hope our half back line as a unit will be more dominant in the final. For me Dan Morrissey wasn't the same dominant self at all. A bit controversial but I feel Galway this year are more reliant on Canning than last year. If the boys in the half backs can play as well as they did against Kilkenny then that would go a long way to keeping their players at bay. It would also help our full back line, Casey in particular will have enough on his plate dealing with Johnny glynn. I'm not knocking Casey at all it's just Glynn is a giraffe.
I feel Kevin Downes could be a real thorn on daithi burke's side if he got a chance to come on because he was super for na piarsaigh I the club final but that's up to the management.

Overall, survive the onslaught and then drive on home. Simple........"
Great to have a man like Kiely on our side to focus on Glynn as well as dealing with other offensive threats.
Doubtless, we will also be be causing asome butterflies for Galway and Micael as soon as they realize how lucky they are to escape Clare. All of a sudden , Galway are not the "Goliath" they appeared to be a week ago, in the collective minds of the country and the "suits" on TV.

Let the (mind) games end!

Come On Ye Boys in Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 06/08/2018 13:00:15    2129970

Replying To brud:  "My ranking on each team for the year is as follows

No. 1 Limerick
No. 2 Galway
No. 3 Cork
No. 4 Kilkenny
No. 5 Wexford
No. 6 Tipperary
No. 7 Waterford
No. 8 Dublin
No. 9 Clare
No. 10 Offaly
No. 11 Carlow
No. 12 Westmeath"
The sole purpose of your post brud is to annoy the Clare lads. You have them as No 9 but you believe they would beat Limerick in a call Ireland final.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 06/08/2018 13:27:00    2129992

Replying To PatOLogical:  "A feeble attempt backpedal and sugarcoat yourself out of a corner but you don't have the finesse, experience or talking /writing ability to pull it off. You'r not fooling yourself and you're not fooling anyone else.
Apart from being a human, capable of making mistakes,Hickey still has tremendous value to offer to Limerick.
Thank you Seamus Hickey, for all you do!"
I have a question for genuine Limerick supporters on here. Does anyone find the above post to be ironic?

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 945 - 06/08/2018 13:34:13    2129998

Replying To brud:  "My ranking on each team for the year is as follows

No. 1 Limerick
No. 2 Galway
No. 3 Cork
No. 4 Kilkenny
No. 5 Wexford
No. 6 Tipperary
No. 7 Waterford
No. 8 Dublin
No. 9 Clare
No. 10 Offaly
No. 11 Carlow
No. 12 Westmeath"
brud come on the clare lads are sore enough today besides rubbing it in...

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1111 - 06/08/2018 13:41:53    2130004