Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Blackspot
Would have to agree, Hegarty was immense. Some of our players have received little credit all year but I could not care less and I doubt either could the players. We will not receive any credit unless we win on the 19th and winning then is the only thing that matters..
It also helps keep a lower profile

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 249 - 02/08/2018 10:35:12    2128419

Replying To blackspot91:  "I'm suprised at how little has been mentioned about hegarties performance. Immense. When was the last time a Limerick half forward did that much damage. 3 spectacular scores. If a tipp or galway forward played like that people would be on their knees. Won frees, won an amount of ball, set up a goal chance. It's crazy that 2 other limerick players were higher in the pecking order for man of the match. And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field."
Hegarty was fantastic ,they were all fantastic it is hard to believe that the majority of those young players were playing in Croagh pairc for the first time as senior players , many of the pundits felt it might have an effect on them being there in front of over 70,000 people and they were right they relished it .
To see Kyle has solo up the field and score his point at a crucial time the look of sheer determination on his face , once Gillane gets a tiny bit more composed in front of goal he will be lethal make no mistake.great mixture of experience and youth in this squad ,the battles between possible and probables in training is what every hurling fan wants to hear about ,no need for inter county challenge matches .
Great times to be a Limerick supporter.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 02/08/2018 10:39:15    2128420

The current team under John Kiely have put a smile back on Limerick people's faces. We now know that no matter what happens in the final, these lads will be back next year, the year after etc and we finally can see a team to be proud of over the next 5 years. The work rate, heart, skill and guts is there in abundance.

I'm following Limerick 37 years. Sunday was right up there in terms of belief and hunger. It is also the best set of forwards I've seen play for us. All can win their own ball in the air, all carry a scoring threat.

Many thanks to the players, management and officials for their year's work to date.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/08/2018 11:51:48    2128445

Replying To GerO.Racle:  "Hoping that it's Galway we play in the final. Playing Clare would mean that the pre-match hype, which is going to be ridiculous anyway, will go up above the level of insanity. Facing Galway, with whom we have very little history, would allow us to think of the final as a hurling match, albeit a fairly unique one. If we have to play Clare it becomes something far more than a game of hurling. It becomes an event with repercussions for the losing players and supporters that will last for decades. Losing to Galway would at least allow us to use the experience of being in the final to build for 2019 and the early years of the next decade . Losing an All-Ireland final to Clare would leave traumatic scars that might never heal, especially when we are likely to be reminded of it every single day for the next year and much further beyond. Also, the thought of a victorious cavalcade of Clare supporters' cars coming off the motorway to weave their way down Limerick's O'Connell Street on the night of August 19th would be too much provocation for many to withstand passively.
Beating Clare in the final, though? Now that would be very heaven! Luimneach abu. Beir bua!"
Will you stop being so negative talking of defeats and what if s. This team can beat Galway or Clare if they play to their abilities . Some people were worried would limk freeze when they went to croke park but as soon as dod scored his point it was clear to see this team had no fear of headquarters . They are a different animal to Limerick teams in the past ( and no disrespect to Limerick teams of the past ) as they have a never say die attitude and great guts and determination and don't panic when things are going against them as we saw on sun when 6 points down . Years ago we would have gone the long ball route at that stage but not this bunch they believed in their system and worked the ball through the lines up the field and picked off the points to reel cork in . Kiely has to be given great credit for this but Paul kinnerk and Caroline Currin are also behind this self belief and sticking to the system and should be given great credit . The management team ,selectors ,Hurley men,water carriers etc etc should also be left alone now with the hunt for tickets and left concentrate and prepare for the final which I think we have a brilliant chance of winning so less negativity please and lets be positive , we have every reason to be .. Luimneach Abu

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 02/08/2018 13:45:16    2128479

Replying To blackspot91:  "I'm suprised at how little has been mentioned about hegarties performance. Immense. When was the last time a Limerick half forward did that much damage. 3 spectacular scores. If a tipp or galway forward played like that people would be on their knees. Won frees, won an amount of ball, set up a goal chance. It's crazy that 2 other limerick players were higher in the pecking order for man of the match. And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field."
Blackspot comment re Hegarty, so very true:
"And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field."

Several comments on here saying he is not a forward, "what's wrong with Kiely trying to make him a forward., some even said he's not a hurler, and should not be on the panel.
Some of same people said
Quaid is not good enough for goals and only there because he's a Kiely favorite....look at that flick again, I'm still replaying it... and his accuracy with puckouts going to Limerick forwards or backs ......( (Eoin Murphy move over)

Casey not good enough for fullback.. ask Galway , Tipp , Clare, Clare,(Conlon did fare well but would have done as well against Finn McCool) , Kilkenny, and Cork..
Dan Morrissey not fit for the team (after slipping on wet surface in inintial game ve Tipp and beaten by none other than Seamus Callanan.. but Kiely persevered with Dan and.....who was man of the match v Kilkenny and also a powerhouse v. Cork

Declan Hannon ... "not a center back and never will be...what's wrong with Kiely??" , or "cleaned out against Cork" according to one poster in past few days on here-
WHILE IN FACT HE cleared a mountain of ball , placing forward beautifully in the process, while at the same time sitting deep to cut off supply to Horgan at full ...TL forward.. did not just happen...this was planned.

The other Morrissey.. "does not have it, should not be on there." How now?

Gillane... "does not have the intensity to be on the team" How now?
(Michael Duignan .. )look closer when you talk of him "dropping the hurley " and observe Kilkenny or Cork actually holding his hurley... but then Micheal is probably till taling about Kilkenny and Cork , "mistakes" rather than Limerick's ability. Brave Michael, it seems can now do 180 degree piviot in his commentary, faster than Nadia Comaneci or Olga Korbut in their hayday)

Graham Mulcahy.... "too small ...too light , can't believe he is even on the panel". How now ? 80% improvement in his scoring given change in supply of ball he gets.... turn , twist shimmy, duck, feint as good or better than Joe Deane. in his hey day... ( also now, reminiscent of his clubmate Shaughs)

Shane Dowliing : 1-4 tally after coming on in 58th minute.. I recall one highly revered poster informing us a few years ago at end of league that " Dowling won't even be on the the championship panel when it is announced" .. So much for thos who would have us believe they have "God's ear" .

Anonymity allows for boundless courage!!

Pat Ryan, Mike Casey ... cool efficiency under pressure when coming on in last few games..
Sorry if I omit someone from winners circle.
Single greatest attribute of this team that I see is , coolness under pressure and refusing to blink. Long
may it continue.

Great team performance.. has to be result of talent combined with vision and foresight to pick a panel who can perform at high intensity and then introduce subs who can deliver 2-6 when introduced.

Well done to team and to John Kiely for not only his own management style but also his insight to surround himself with backroom capable of complementing him.
Am still trying to digest that we are in an All Ireland final in less than 3 weeks and waiting to to see who our opponent is . This did not come about by accident.
Great to hear our young men speak with such coolness and maturity which even some some of the most cynical pundits have noted, as in, "We are not coming up to march behind the band."
Well said by Dan and Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Gearoid Hegarty, Aaron Gillane, Declan Hannon.

Come On Ye Boys In Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 02/08/2018 14:01:22    2128487

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Blackspot comment re Hegarty, so very true:
"And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field."

Several comments on here saying he is not a forward, "what's wrong with Kiely trying to make him a forward., some even said he's not a hurler, and should not be on the panel.
Some of same people said
Quaid is not good enough for goals and only there because he's a Kiely favorite....look at that flick again, I'm still replaying it... and his accuracy with puckouts going to Limerick forwards or backs ......( (Eoin Murphy move over)

Casey not good enough for fullback.. ask Galway , Tipp , Clare, Clare,(Conlon did fare well but would have done as well against Finn McCool) , Kilkenny, and Cork..
Dan Morrissey not fit for the team (after slipping on wet surface in inintial game ve Tipp and beaten by none other than Seamus Callanan.. but Kiely persevered with Dan and.....who was man of the match v Kilkenny and also a powerhouse v. Cork

Declan Hannon ... "not a center back and never will be...what's wrong with Kiely??" , or "cleaned out against Cork" according to one poster in past few days on here-
WHILE IN FACT HE cleared a mountain of ball , placing forward beautifully in the process, while at the same time sitting deep to cut off supply to Horgan at full ...TL forward.. did not just happen...this was planned.

The other Morrissey.. "does not have it, should not be on there." How now?

Gillane... "does not have the intensity to be on the team" How now?
(Michael Duignan .. )look closer when you talk of him "dropping the hurley " and observe Kilkenny or Cork actually holding his hurley... but then Micheal is probably till taling about Kilkenny and Cork , "mistakes" rather than Limerick's ability. Brave Michael, it seems can now do 180 degree piviot in his commentary, faster than Nadia Comaneci or Olga Korbut in their hayday)

Graham Mulcahy.... "too small ...too light , can't believe he is even on the panel". How now ? 80% improvement in his scoring given change in supply of ball he gets.... turn , twist shimmy, duck, feint as good or better than Joe Deane. in his hey day... ( also now, reminiscent of his clubmate Shaughs)

Shane Dowliing : 1-4 tally after coming on in 58th minute.. I recall one highly revered poster informing us a few years ago at end of league that " Dowling won't even be on the the championship panel when it is announced" .. So much for thos who would have us believe they have "God's ear" .

Anonymity allows for boundless courage!!

Pat Ryan, Mike Casey ... cool efficiency under pressure when coming on in last few games..
Sorry if I omit someone from winners circle.
Single greatest attribute of this team that I see is , coolness under pressure and refusing to blink. Long
may it continue.

Great team performance.. has to be result of talent combined with vision and foresight to pick a panel who can perform at high intensity and then introduce subs who can deliver 2-6 when introduced.

Well done to team and to John Kiely for not only his own management style but also his insight to surround himself with backroom capable of complementing him.
Am still trying to digest that we are in an All Ireland final in less than 3 weeks and waiting to to see who our opponent is . This did not come about by accident.
Great to hear our young men speak with such coolness and maturity which even some some of the most cynical pundits have noted, as in, "We are not coming up to march behind the band."
Well said by Dan and Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Gearoid Hegarty, Aaron Gillane, Declan Hannon.

Come On Ye Boys In Green"
Casey didn't play full back against Galway Pat or against Tipp in either game. Don't ever remember anyone saying that Dowling wouldn't make panel. Perhaps you should name and shame. Quite a few said he wouldn't start and few of us even said he doesn't suit game plan in full forward line as was evidenced in Clare game. Think those who criticised Hegarty don't understand the modern game. As for Gillane from game one of the league he has been a star. If and it's a big if we win he is my hurler of the year. As for Pat Ryan he should be introduced in every game simple as. He is fastest player in squad I'd say and has a real eye for goal. The one player I thought in fact was sure wouldn't make it was Dan Morrissey. It's his fourth or even fifth year on panel and nothing previously indicated that he could improve to a level I didn't think he had.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 02/08/2018 16:07:53    2128534

Replying To welpastit:  "Casey didn't play full back against Galway Pat or against Tipp in either game. Don't ever remember anyone saying that Dowling wouldn't make panel. Perhaps you should name and shame. Quite a few said he wouldn't start and few of us even said he doesn't suit game plan in full forward line as was evidenced in Clare game. Think those who criticised Hegarty don't understand the modern game. As for Gillane from game one of the league he has been a star. If and it's a big if we win he is my hurler of the year. As for Pat Ryan he should be introduced in every game simple as. He is fastest player in squad I'd say and has a real eye for goal. The one player I thought in fact was sure wouldn't make it was Dan Morrissey. It's his fourth or even fifth year on panel and nothing previously indicated that he could improve to a level I didn't think he had."
Aha! Noted. I will now choose to abide under the "quite a few" banner of anonymity that your leaned on above.
re: the modern game.. sounds like words of the wise until we realize its still a game with a stick and a ball, the variables being the (quality) and depth of the players , the quality of management, the tactics used on the day, and the lack of interference from "the office" .
In the meantime I can't say with any degree of certainty that "quite a few" said as I have no way of knowing who "quite a few" was is is, and wonder how you can since we all have luxury of being incognito. Ah sure ,its great auld chat.

Still , Come On Ye Boys In Green,

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 02/08/2018 17:49:02    2128555

There are a few lads on this panel that have surprised us all. However, irrespective of a players performance they shouldn't be criticised on a public forum. The time and effort they put in is incomprehensible.
The absense of the NaPa lads till April is now surprisingly reaping the rewards. It allowed players like the Tom & Dan, Gillane and Flanagan to really put up their hands. The result being an amazing squad. I think David Dempsy would make any other team in the country. I also think the margins between starters and non starters is minuscule which makes it very tough on the subs.

Personally, I would like to see Peter Casey start. However, JK seems to have got a great balance with the current starters so maybe keep it the same? I certainly think Dowling is making such an impact of the bench I wouldn't change it. The pace has slightly dropped by the 50th minute so a man with his Hurling ability is doing serious damage when introduced. One thing I picked up on from one radio show is that the first three subs in are always NaPa lads. Is it helping their understanding. The way Casey picked out out Dowling for a crucial score!! Anyway what a fantastic bunch we now have. If we don't do it this year (and I think we will) we will be knocking on the door for the next few years and it will eventually be answered.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 03/08/2018 07:23:28    2128657

I thought Seamie Hickey was excellent when introduced on Sunday. He really tightened up the half back line. Deffo an option there. I know other lads were out on their feet by then but to me he made a notable difference. He took one for the team by trying the full back experiment. If Mike Casey had been there all spring Hickey would probably be a starting half back through out.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 03/08/2018 07:30:09    2128658

Replying To welpastit:  "Casey didn't play full back against Galway Pat or against Tipp in either game. Don't ever remember anyone saying that Dowling wouldn't make panel. Perhaps you should name and shame. Quite a few said he wouldn't start and few of us even said he doesn't suit game plan in full forward line as was evidenced in Clare game. Think those who criticised Hegarty don't understand the modern game. As for Gillane from game one of the league he has been a star. If and it's a big if we win he is my hurler of the year. As for Pat Ryan he should be introduced in every game simple as. He is fastest player in squad I'd say and has a real eye for goal. The one player I thought in fact was sure wouldn't make it was Dan Morrissey. It's his fourth or even fifth year on panel and nothing previously indicated that he could improve to a level I didn't think he had."
How could Shane fit into any game plan in a two man forward line. This was and is a failed experiment.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 03/08/2018 10:02:37    2128680

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "There are a few lads on this panel that have surprised us all. However, irrespective of a players performance they shouldn't be criticised on a public forum. The time and effort they put in is incomprehensible.
The absense of the NaPa lads till April is now surprisingly reaping the rewards. It allowed players like the Tom & Dan, Gillane and Flanagan to really put up their hands. The result being an amazing squad. I think David Dempsy would make any other team in the country. I also think the margins between starters and non starters is minuscule which makes it very tough on the subs.

Personally, I would like to see Peter Casey start. However, JK seems to have got a great balance with the current starters so maybe keep it the same? I certainly think Dowling is making such an impact of the bench I wouldn't change it. The pace has slightly dropped by the 50th minute so a man with his Hurling ability is doing serious damage when introduced. One thing I picked up on from one radio show is that the first three subs in are always NaPa lads. Is it helping their understanding. The way Casey picked out out Dowling for a crucial score!! Anyway what a fantastic bunch we now have. If we don't do it this year (and I think we will) we will be knocking on the door for the next few years and it will eventually be answered."
Good post Silver and especially noteworthy on :
"One thing I picked up on from one radio show is that the first three subs in are always NaPa lads. Is it helping their understanding"--- Would not surprise me that this is part of a well thought plan by JK.
And if it is not , Shane and Peter add explosive firepower each time they came on....shaking things up "like a fox among the hens" . Long may it continue.!

Come On Ye Boys in Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 03/08/2018 15:36:26    2128769

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I thought Seamie Hickey was excellent when introduced on Sunday. He really tightened up the half back line. Deffo an option there. I know other lads were out on their feet by then but to me he made a notable difference. He took one for the team by trying the full back experiment. If Mike Casey had been there all spring Hickey would probably be a starting half back through out."
Well said again!.. what a positive change astute management is bringing to the table and the the field.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 03/08/2018 15:40:15    2128772

Wouldn't be surprised to see Kevin Downes having a big say on this years championship yet. Downes, Dowling and Casey coming of the bench with 20/25 mins to go would stun any team.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 04/08/2018 11:07:12    2128889

Replying To brud:  "Wouldn't be surprised to see Kevin Downes having a big say on this years championship yet. Downes, Dowling and Casey coming of the bench with 20/25 mins to go would stun any team."
What a threat they would be against a tiring full backline.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1070 - 04/08/2018 14:38:14    2128935

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I thought Seamie Hickey was excellent when introduced on Sunday. He really tightened up the half back line. Deffo an option there. I know other lads were out on their feet by then but to me he made a notable difference. He took one for the team by trying the full back experiment. If Mike Casey had been there all spring Hickey would probably be a starting half back through out."
R u serious. Hickey is a liability. He didn't make a mistake when he came on. Big deal

Greenmen73 (Limerick) - Posts: 27 - 04/08/2018 20:00:17    2129016

Replying To Greenmen73:  "R u serious. Hickey is a liability. He didn't make a mistake when he came on. Big deal"
Man, what a miserable post. Hickey has been an excellent servant to Limerick for over a decade.
He was and is a great hurler who offered plenty when he came on.
If you don't have something constructive to add, why bother...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1070 - 04/08/2018 21:06:29    2129075

Replying To Greenmen73:  "R u serious. Hickey is a liability. He didn't make a mistake when he came on. Big deal"
Nasty, sarcastic attitude towards a brilliant servant of Limerick hurling AND a very important member of the current panel . You must have missed out on a match at Croker last Sunday which was all about the collective - players, management and supporters united together all on the one road trying to win us our only our second All Ireland since World War Two.
Gong of the week to you for spectacularly missing the point!

beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 04/08/2018 22:02:08    2129107

I wonder if management ever consider the situation of a couple of early injuries in a game in the half back line. I know will ó Donoghue would probably be the first man in but would they ever consider bringing Kyle Hayes or Gearóid Hegarty back. To be honest I'd worry if I saw Séamus Hickey coming in early in a game. Great servant and ambassador he is but is he up to a long shift at this pace at this stage of his career.
Also plenty of cover available to come on in half forwards

4ever (Limerick) - Posts: 29 - 04/08/2018 23:59:54    2129169

Replying To 4ever:  "I wonder if management ever consider the situation of a couple of early injuries in a game in the half back line. I know will ó Donoghue would probably be the first man in but would they ever consider bringing Kyle Hayes or Gearóid Hegarty back. To be honest I'd worry if I saw Séamus Hickey coming in early in a game. Great servant and ambassador he is but is he up to a long shift at this pace at this stage of his career.
Also plenty of cover available to come on in half forwards"
Simply cannot understand anyone who thinks O Donoghue has more to offer at half back than Hickey. Na Piarsaigh wouldn't even try him there. For me Hickey has to be first choice sub at either corner or wing back. As far back as February many on here were calling it. Hickey was never going to make it at full back and all he was doing was damaging his prospects of making the team by playing there. So it has transpired. I believe that if Hickey was introduced at half time against Cork to pick up Kearney we would never have been 6 points down and would have won far more comfortably. In the unlikely event that we meet Clare Hickey will be needed to pick up Kelly. He is far more mobile than any of our half back line none of whom are suited to the job of closing down Kelly. Cork showed how to beat Limericks system by playing half forward line at midfield. Hickey will definitely be needed should our next opponents decide to take our half backline out of the game and Clare will certainly attempt to do that.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 05/08/2018 09:51:21    2129243

Galway are the opposition.... Whats everyones views on that? To me they are not as invincible as was tought of them throughout the year. will our Victory over them in Salthill stand to us? another great game today and hoping for one more in 2 weeks time and a Limerick victory.
#Luimneachabu

anotheryear (Limerick) - Posts: 51 - 05/08/2018 15:54:28    2129404