determine and notify the colour to be used by
each Maor Foirne.
The Maor Foirne may not act as a water carrier
or hurley carrier. A Selector is permitted to act
as Maor Foirne. The Maor Foirne shall not be a
listed member of the Team Panel.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/07/2017 16:16:14    2014240

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Brilliant caption to be fair.

His name is Maxi Curran and I agree with you.

He should get off the pitch . I find it embarrassing if I am honest. Same in every match ."
100% embarrassing and as a supporter frustrating. What kind of communication is given to the players beforehand where he needs to be on the pitch every 2 minutes to send on another message. Against Longford he was on the pitch sending a message to Mark McHugh when McHugh had literally come off the bench a minute before that. What had happened in that minute that Maxi had to run on the pitch?

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 10/07/2017 16:30:42    2014257

Replying To JoeSoap:  "100% embarrassing and as a supporter frustrating. What kind of communication is given to the players beforehand where he needs to be on the pitch every 2 minutes to send on another message. Against Longford he was on the pitch sending a message to Mark McHugh when McHugh had literally come off the bench a minute before that. What had happened in that minute that Maxi had to run on the pitch?"
that seems odd alright.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/07/2017 16:44:45    2014271

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "One Team Official (Maor Foirne, who is
an assistant to the Bainisteoir), may move
alongside the sidelines and enter the field of
play, as specified hereunder, to make changes
and/or to give instructions to players.
The Maor Foirne shall enter the field of play
through the Substitution Zone and only when
the ball has gone out of play following a score
or a 'wide' or during a stoppage in play which
is called by the Referee for medical attention to
an injured player.
This named official shall wear a yellow or
tangerine coloured bib/distinctive top which
shall have "MAOR FOIRNE" in clear large
letters. The Committee-in-Charge shall
determine and notify the colour to be used by
each Maor Foirne.
The Maor Foirne may not act as a water carrier
or hurley carrier. A Selector is permitted to act
as Maor Foirne. The Maor Foirne shall not be a
listed member of the Team Panel."
So does that mean the appointed runner can go on to the pitch any time he likes as long as it is during a stop in play? Surely that shouldn't be allowed as kickouts can be so quick these days that they would be on the pitch when it is taken. They should just ban everyone from the pitch except doctors and physios.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 10/07/2017 16:44:57    2014273

Rory Gallagher used to carry out this role when he was a selector under McGuinness. From conversations I had with players who played against Donegal back then I believe the maor foirne is as likely to be doing some winding up of opponents as he is to be delivering instructions to his own team during these incursions. Just using every possible opportunity to get an edge for his own team.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/07/2017 16:47:03    2014275

Replying To Green_Gold:  "That was really annoying alright but I don't think it was anything to do with Maxi Curran. It was happening to the Donegal keeper as well in the second half. Anyway not sure how could he position someone in the crowd to get every single ball that goes wide. I do love a good conspiracy theory though."
I was thinking it was a tactic at the game as well as thinking it is bang out of order. But as G_G said the same thing was happening to McGinley in the 2nd half.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/07/2017 17:27:26    2014311

I have to admire the honesty of Donegal supporters on this thread admitting that the carry on of Maxi Curran is embarrassing for them, fair play lads!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 10/07/2017 18:24:17    2014355

Replying To Green_Gold:  "So does that mean the appointed runner can go on to the pitch any time he likes as long as it is during a stop in play? Surely that shouldn't be allowed as kickouts can be so quick these days that they would be on the pitch when it is taken. They should just ban everyone from the pitch except doctors and physios."
Yes he can that is the rule am afraid so he was quite entitled to do what he did

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/07/2017 19:17:23    2014403

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "I have to admire the honesty of Donegal supporters on this thread admitting that the carry on of Maxi Curran is embarrassing for them, fair play lads!"
It is an absolute joke. You should hear the comments among supporters in the crowd when its happening. The majority just find it totally embarrassing and a long running joke.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/07/2017 19:18:57    2014407

Greatest thing Dick Clerkin ever done in a Monaghan jersey was put Maxi Curran on the flat of his back last year in the drawn semi final between Donegal and Monaghan.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/07/2017 20:16:39    2014447

Replying To Green_Gold:  "That was really annoying alright but I don't think it was anything to do with Maxi Curran. It was happening to the Donegal keeper as well in the second half. Anyway not sure how could he position someone in the crowd to get every single ball that goes wide. I do love a good conspiracy theory though."
Or else it's someone that came with a bag of 20-30 balls so he had one for every kick out

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/07/2017 22:36:16    2014576

I think all the Donegal supporters should make it known to RG and his team that we want this fella stopped from doing this rubbish.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 10/07/2017 23:53:22    2014629

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "I have to admire the honesty of Donegal supporters on this thread admitting that the carry on of Maxi Curran is embarrassing for them, fair play lads!"
It has very little to do with honesty,it is just taking every opportunity to have a go at Rory and his set up but having said that I often wonder what Maxi is at.He seems to be fairly fit though.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1058 - 11/07/2017 00:22:15    2014642

I don't see any tactical advantage gained in what he does as he has lost so many under age finals and 2 Ulster senior finals while doing his running thing.

I hope he is reading this thread and if not, a county player is and passes the message on for him to keep his head down from now on.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/07/2017 01:56:34    2014658

Is he any relation of Dan Shanahan?

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 11/07/2017 02:30:42    2014663

I wouldn't blame Maxi Curran for this. If anyone had the privilege of sitting behind the donegal dug-out during a game, you can see that it is RG pushing Maxi onto the pitch at every opportunity to speak to a player after a mistake.it really is mind blowing stuff. It comes across as the team not being prepared properly or anxiety from the management. If you contrast with Roscommon on Sunday, you could see from minute 1 that all the players were tuned in to what they were doing. I actually think Mc stay likes to watch the game from the stand away from the madness of the line.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 725 - 11/07/2017 08:50:45    2014699

Replying To gunman:  "It has very little to do with honesty,it is just taking every opportunity to have a go at Rory and his set up but having said that I often wonder what Maxi is at.He seems to be fairly fit though."
It's nothing at all to do with that gunman. The only time I've felt seriously worried about the direction we were going in was after the Longford match, it felt like panic on the sidelines. Outside of that I've been quietly supportive of Rory but I'm no fan of what Maxi's role is and I wasn't when Rory would be on the pitch under Jim's reign either.

Obviously there is a significant section of fans who aren't happy with RG but I wouldn't be one of them. However he needs to show us he is learning from the past 2 years in terms of lessons on the line.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 11/07/2017 09:28:14    2014721

Replying To ruanua:  "Or else it's someone that came with a bag of 20-30 balls so he had one for every kick out"
Never thought of that, maybe Maxi is smarter than we thought. By the way, I am not trying to have a cheap pop at RG about this, in general I find these runners irritating and don't think they should be allowed on the field of play. If they want to get a message on to the field then call the player over to the sideline.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 11/07/2017 09:47:26    2014741