12 week ban for Cody?

Replying To Cully:  "Cody's record as a player or manager should have no bearing on this incident. He should be judged on the incident itself and it requires context.

Connolly walked towards a stationary linesman. Cody was blocked by a 4th official. He took a step back almost immediately. You can look at a photo of Connolly push and the Cody 'push' and claim them to be the same thing, but Cody was moving towards the Waterford manager, not the official."
You say he should be judged on other incident but the precedent has been set.

He put his hands on the linesman in an aggressive manner. It doesnt matter whether he was trying to get to the opposition manager (which is not sportmanlike anyway) but he pushed the linesman. He realised straight away and correctly himself but the act was already done.

I wouldn't think it should hold a suspension but based on the other bans this summer I cannot see how it shouldnt be. fair being fair.
Just because he is a legend he isn't above the law. Connolly is the best player in Ireland but isn't above the law. Once they started handing out 12 weeks bans then the same has to apply to everyone.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 11/07/2017 18:37:07    2015148

Diarmuid Connolly - looked in to the eyes of the linesman as he pushed him. His brain then told him that it was not a good idea and he backed off but it was too late. 12 weeks was harsh but to the letter of the law. For value for money Diarmuid could have punched him.
Brian Cody - 4th official put his hands on him to prevent him moving further and Brian told him to get his hands off him. The 4th official was at fault here. Brian did touch the official but in response to same.
Ryan Burns - I was at the match and even in the footage it's clear that he whacked the ball hard back for the kickout and had turned away before it hit the umpire. If he had seen it hit the umpire surely he would have just went over and explained. He didn't even see it himself. Should have challenged the ban too and I'm not wearing my red and white glasses.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 11/07/2017 18:51:38    2015160

Replying To Cully:  "Cody's record as a player or manager should have no bearing on this incident. He should be judged on the incident itself and it requires context.

Connolly walked towards a stationary linesman. Cody was blocked by a 4th official. He took a step back almost immediately. You can look at a photo of Connolly push and the Cody 'push' and claim them to be the same thing, but Cody was moving towards the Waterford manager, not the official."
agree with that too.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 11/07/2017 18:55:30    2015163

Replying To DooReg:  "He wont get a ban because Hurling deal with things differently. They let the game flow with big hits going in and no flashing on black, red, yellow, blue and every other bloody colour of cards. Hurling refuses to let the black card into their game (and rightly so). Just because the football fraternity in central council want to ruin the game by adding new rules and extra cards doesn't mean hurling will follow suit. It was a nothing really let's face it. In fact, the linesman approached Cody and both invited contact. But it was nothing."
Spot on there. Hurling is still a community. Gaelic football doesn't have a community spirit anymore...it's dog eat dog, every county for themselves and take every opportunity possible to knock down your neighbour. It's shown in the attitudes too of the SG panelists. I don't think Cody or Connolly should be suspended but there's no doubt it's his standing within the game that is protecting Cody in this instance.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 11/07/2017 19:25:10    2015189

Replying To arock:  "This is ridiculous because the GAA got it wrong re DC they are now hung on their own petards there will now be a litany of mentors, officials and players all trundling up to receive their 12/24/48 etc etc week bans and all for the good of the game - Give Respect Get Respect!!"
Oh! come on arock, Connolly wasn't showing respect to the linesman (which you might suggest was fair enough since the linesman made a mistake). He broke the rule and has accepted the punishment. I don't think posters or media are doing him any favours by prolonging the discussion, or referencing the incident continually. Cody deserved a ban also, even though some might argue that he was simply pushing the linesman out of the way to attack McGrath. His behaviour was disgraceful and set an awful example to all the young people watching. Some other poster mentioned small handbags being involved but I think he was hallucinating.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/07/2017 20:35:02    2015227

Replying To neverright:  "Oh! come on arock, Connolly wasn't showing respect to the linesman (which you might suggest was fair enough since the linesman made a mistake). He broke the rule and has accepted the punishment. I don't think posters or media are doing him any favours by prolonging the discussion, or referencing the incident continually. Cody deserved a ban also, even though some might argue that he was simply pushing the linesman out of the way to attack McGrath. His behaviour was disgraceful and set an awful example to all the young people watching. Some other poster mentioned small handbags being involved but I think he was hallucinating."
Cody has been a great Manager probably the greatest in hurling anyway but it's not the first time he's lost the run of himself on the sideline.It's something he needs to look at in the cold light of day.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 11/07/2017 20:45:43    2015241

The exposure of GAA supporters hypocrisy laid bare

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/07/2017 21:02:49    2015246

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of a ban,it's another fine example of consistency and inconsistency in the GAA where one man's ban doesn't equate to another man's ban.
If Cody was banned it would be of little consequence as with the Louth lad whereas Connolly and Comerford miss out on intercounty games.
It's just silly to have that type of rule in place with all the holes in it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/07/2017 21:16:16    2015250

Replying To endgame:  "Cody has been a great Manager probably the greatest in hurling anyway but it's not the first time he's lost the run of himself on the sideline.It's something he needs to look at in the cold light of day."
I think it's fair to say Cody is one of the highest profile managers out there and has probably being involved in the most televised matches of all managers, due to the length and success of his tenure. Despite being involved in so many high profile matches I can think of only two other incidents in which he got into altercations on the line, one with Cunningham and one with Sheedy. That's since 1999!

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 11/07/2017 21:22:54    2015254

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Spot on there. Hurling is still a community. Gaelic football doesn't have a community spirit anymore...it's dog eat dog, every county for themselves and take every opportunity possible to knock down your neighbour. It's shown in the attitudes too of the SG panelists. I don't think Cody or Connolly should be suspended but there's no doubt it's his standing within the game that is protecting Cody in this instance."
I don't buy this "hurling is a community" thing, used to elevate it above football in some sort of moral competition. How do you explain the chap who threw the Cork sliotars into the crowd?? If Connolly deserves a ban, then so does Cody- it is hypocritical to suggest otherwise.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 11/07/2017 21:30:06    2015257

Replying To KK1926:  "Liam and Condor Legion et al. Yes he should receive the 12 week ban. He broke the rule just like Connolly. But in Kilkenny we won't moan about it like some in Dublin.

We'll be focusing on getting back into the hurling elite, working on our underage and checking out the club scene. We won't be bawling and feeling victimised and put upon like the whingefest from the capital.

Many congrats to Waterford. Hugely deserved and all true hurling fans will wissh them well. Great to see Cork back too."
you would be worried about it if you were still in the championship.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/07/2017 22:13:16    2015287

Replying To catch22:  "Whatever about the rights and wrongs of a ban,it's another fine example of consistency and inconsistency in the GAA where one man's ban doesn't equate to another man's ban.
If Cody was banned it would be of little consequence as with the Louth lad whereas Connolly and Comerford miss out on intercounty games.
It's just silly to have that type of rule in place with all the holes in it."
The Louth lad Ryan Burns is banned from club football for 12 weeks. His ban is most certainly of consequence. In relation to Brian Cody my money is on the referee not mentioning the incident in his report. The contrast between Pat Spillane's reaction to the Diarmuid Connolly incident and Michael Duignan's reaction to the Brian Cody incident is very pointed. If Brian Cody is not suspended it shows once again that there is one rule for footballers and another rule for hurlers. Look at what footballers are being sent off on black cards for and then look at what Pat Horgan got away with last Sunday.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/07/2017 03:41:30    2015359

Total lack of consistency again from the GAA and their officials. Not condoning any official being interfered with in anyway but yet again this sends out the total wrong signals. What is the difference between the Burns from Louth, Connolly from Dublin, the Tipp football goalkeeper and Brian Cody. On one hand we have connolly totally ripped apart on the Sunday Game by the analysts and then on the other we have Cody being painted as whiter than white and how he has been with Kilkenny since the early 70s. That has absolutely no relevance to the incident on saturday night. How many years have connolly and burns etc given to their county and clubs. There is a serious issue as well with what is allowed to go on in the hurling compared to football. No black cards in hurling, why? Last weekend we had a number of incidents that are red cards in hurling but weren't dealt with correctly. For some reason the so called experts in hurling fraternity seem to protect their own irrespective of county allegiance where as their football counterparts seem to be the opposite.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 12/07/2017 11:55:46    2015483

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I think it's fair to say Cody is one of the highest profile managers out there and has probably being involved in the most televised matches of all managers, due to the length and success of his tenure. Despite being involved in so many high profile matches I can think of only two other incidents in which he got into altercations on the line, one with Cunningham and one with Sheedy. That's since 1999!"
It's not the first time as I said and as you've just confirmed.Consistent application of rules and sanctions is required in the gaa as in all organisations.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 12/07/2017 12:09:46    2015498

Replying To Adamski:  "Total lack of consistency again from the GAA and their officials. Not condoning any official being interfered with in anyway but yet again this sends out the total wrong signals. What is the difference between the Burns from Louth, Connolly from Dublin, the Tipp football goalkeeper and Brian Cody. On one hand we have connolly totally ripped apart on the Sunday Game by the analysts and then on the other we have Cody being painted as whiter than white and how he has been with Kilkenny since the early 70s. That has absolutely no relevance to the incident on saturday night. How many years have connolly and burns etc given to their county and clubs. There is a serious issue as well with what is allowed to go on in the hurling compared to football. No black cards in hurling, why? Last weekend we had a number of incidents that are red cards in hurling but weren't dealt with correctly. For some reason the so called experts in hurling fraternity seem to protect their own irrespective of county allegiance where as their football counterparts seem to be the opposite."
Very well said Adamski. I'm awaiting the referees report with great interest to see if there is any reference to the incident involving Brian Cody and the fourth official . Will it be a case of one rule for footballers and another rule for hurlers ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/07/2017 12:13:13    2015501

Replying To Adamski:  "Total lack of consistency again from the GAA and their officials. Not condoning any official being interfered with in anyway but yet again this sends out the total wrong signals. What is the difference between the Burns from Louth, Connolly from Dublin, the Tipp football goalkeeper and Brian Cody. On one hand we have connolly totally ripped apart on the Sunday Game by the analysts and then on the other we have Cody being painted as whiter than white and how he has been with Kilkenny since the early 70s. That has absolutely no relevance to the incident on saturday night. How many years have connolly and burns etc given to their county and clubs. There is a serious issue as well with what is allowed to go on in the hurling compared to football. No black cards in hurling, why? Last weekend we had a number of incidents that are red cards in hurling but weren't dealt with correctly. For some reason the so called experts in hurling fraternity seem to protect their own irrespective of county allegiance where as their football counterparts seem to be the opposite."
Very well said Adamski. I'm awaiting the referees report with great interest to see if there is any reference to the incident involving Brian Cody and the fourth official . Will it be a case of one rule for footballers and another rule for hurlers ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/07/2017 12:17:40    2015504

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I think it's fair to say Cody is one of the highest profile managers out there and has probably being involved in the most televised matches of all managers, due to the length and success of his tenure. Despite being involved in so many high profile matches I can think of only two other incidents in which he got into altercations on the line, one with Cunningham and one with Sheedy. That's since 1999!"
Theres been more than that!
Taken from the Independent.

Cody has avoided charges for incidents involving referees; in 2014 after his comments about Barry Kelly's decision to award a free in the drawn game against Tipperary led to a disrepute charge, and in 2004 for his confrontation with Diarmuid Kirwan at half-time in a qualifier against Galway when he was summoned to a Games Administration Committee meeting and issued with a warning.

So he's not beyond reproach it would seem. I'd say it wasn't in the refs report that's why he won't be banned plus it wouldn't make a difference if he was anyway.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 12/07/2017 12:31:18    2015509

How can a punishment be applied consistently when the "offence" was completely different? Individual incidents should be judged on their own merits, not a "one size fits all" approach to handing out punishments.

Football lads seem intent on importing their tattle-tale culture ("squealers" we used to call them in school) into hurling. TSG football coverage is now about pundits and fans (remember, Des Cahill always introduces the controversial section with "we've received a lot of texts and emails asking us to look at some incidents from the match.....", so ordinary football fans are at this craic too) trying to get players from rival counties suspended - and they want the same thing for hurling. Beyond pathetic.

The thing I would say about hurling fans (note, not football fans who "follow the hurling", but fans for whom hurling is the number 1 sport) is that we know when a line has been crossed when we see it. We can't define it exactly, but we know when a player or manager has gone too far and deserves punishment. You won't get many hurling men looking for Cody's suspension. I note most calling for his suspension on this thread are non-hurling men.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/07/2017 12:53:14    2015529

Replying To ballydalane:  "How can a punishment be applied consistently when the "offence" was completely different? Individual incidents should be judged on their own merits, not a "one size fits all" approach to handing out punishments.

Football lads seem intent on importing their tattle-tale culture ("squealers" we used to call them in school) into hurling. TSG football coverage is now about pundits and fans (remember, Des Cahill always introduces the controversial section with "we've received a lot of texts and emails asking us to look at some incidents from the match.....", so ordinary football fans are at this craic too) trying to get players from rival counties suspended - and they want the same thing for hurling. Beyond pathetic.

The thing I would say about hurling fans (note, not football fans who "follow the hurling", but fans for whom hurling is the number 1 sport) is that we know when a line has been crossed when we see it. We can't define it exactly, but we know when a player or manager has gone too far and deserves punishment. You won't get many hurling men looking for Cody's suspension. I note most calling for his suspension on this thread are non-hurling men."
Here we go again . The old" hurling men know best and sure what would a football man about it anyway " refrain . Note as well the derogatory references to football supporters . The "holier than thou" attitude is alive and well in your post . The charge is "minor interference with a match official ". That is what happened. Brian Cody did in a minor way interfere with a match official. There is no difference between what Connolly and Cody did . Neither official felt it worthy of bringing it to the attention of the referee. Yet Connolly is serving a twelve week suspension . What any fair minded GAA person is interested in is will there be reference made in the referees report to the Cody incident . If there is no reference made then why the disparity beteeen Cody and Connolly? This has nothing to do with the " holier than thou, hurling people know when we have crossed the line " approach you advocate. It has to do with treating people consistently. By the way did Horgan cross the line on Sunday ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/07/2017 13:56:18    2015581

Replying To ballydalane:  "How can a punishment be applied consistently when the "offence" was completely different? Individual incidents should be judged on their own merits, not a "one size fits all" approach to handing out punishments.

The thing I would say about hurling fans (note, not football fans who "follow the hurling", but fans for whom hurling is the number 1 sport) is that we know when a line has been crossed when we see it. We can't define it exactly, but we know when a player or manager has gone too far and deserves punishment. You won't get many hurling men looking for Cody's suspension. I note most calling for his suspension on this thread are non-hurling men."
Here we go again . The old" hurling men know best and sure what would a football man about it anyway " refrain . Note as well the derogatory references to football supporters . The "holier than thou" attitude is alive and well in your post . The charge is "minor interference with a match official ". That is what happened. Brian Cody did in a minor way interfere with a match official. There is no difference between what Connolly and Cody did . Neither official felt it worthy of bringing it to the attention of the referee. Yet Connolly is serving a twelve week suspension . What any fair minded GAA person is interested in is will there be reference made in the referees report to the Cody incident . If there is no reference made then why the disparity beteeen Cody and Connolly? This has nothing to do with the " holier than thou, hurling people know when we have crossed the line " approach you advocate. It has to do with treating people consistently. By the way did Horgan cross the line on Sunday ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/07/2017 14:06:53    2015588