Michael Duignan on Sky coverage and the GAA

Replying To royaldunne:  "48, six children, two adult ones both in colleges, lots of expenses with them, youngest is my little boy, born last year very premature ,who has unfortunately a few health problems, no medical card, (thankfully he has under 6 gp card) one thing I will always be thankful to last government for, but pay 170 per month on medication, modest income , herself can't work due to our son. Mortgage, car and all expenses that go with that.
The saving grace, we don't drink (apart from glass or two of wine at Xmas and special occasion, gave up smoking few years ago, I get sky in for the gaa, then let it go in January after the darts, I have little or no interest in soccer , I still watch a bit of f1 but the days of senna prost, or Schumacher are over, its too sanitized these days. I like national hunt racing, and if possible I will try to get to Cheltenham, however not been for couple years"
Sorry to hear about your little boy RD. Things like that put everything in perspective. I hope he's health problems improve and he livew a happy and healthy life.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/07/2017 21:42:38    2014524

Replying To Laois76:  "Sorry to hear about your little boy RD. Things like that put everything in perspective. I hope he's health problems improve and he livew a happy and healthy life."
*his *lives

P.s. You seem like a very good family man and i'm sure the little boy's health will improve greatly in a happy home.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/07/2017 21:59:30    2014540

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Look it Whammo, I just don't agree that the GAA are responsible for making people sign up to Sky Sports when they don't need to, that's all. People have a choice.

I'm cynical about where their money is going. Super 8 and B All Ireland plans will kill inter-county GAA within 10 years. Sky Sports deal is probably more attractive to sponsorrs like Littlewoods, they'd probably think a Sky audience is more affluent than free-to-air on RTE or TV3.

I suggested this when Sky Sports deal started: they could give older GAA members a type of free Sky Go / Now TV access to GAA games on Sky sports as a goodwill gesture. Could be accessed on most phones through mobile data where broadband is poor or non-existent. Could cast from phone to TV. I'll remain cynical about Duignan because he's years out of date with those remarks and the Sunday game loves some controversy."
People have a choice yes but I don't like that people are getting priced out of it.

The GAA is not a charity but it's also not a business.

I'd much prefer for the association to put inclusiveness over profit.

It's only 14 exclusive games now but I think it's very easy to see a future where there's many more games on Sky. It seems from the response on here that many would have no problem with that. That doesn't sit well with me.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 10/07/2017 22:05:45    2014546

Replying To royaldunne:  "48, six children, two adult ones both in colleges, lots of expenses with them, youngest is my little boy, born last year very premature ,who has unfortunately a few health problems, no medical card, (thankfully he has under 6 gp card) one thing I will always be thankful to last government for, but pay 170 per month on medication, modest income , herself can't work due to our son. Mortgage, car and all expenses that go with that.
The saving grace, we don't drink (apart from glass or two of wine at Xmas and special occasion, gave up smoking few years ago, I get sky in for the gaa, then let it go in January after the darts, I have little or no interest in soccer , I still watch a bit of f1 but the days of senna prost, or Schumacher are over, its too sanitized these days. I like national hunt racing, and if possible I will try to get to Cheltenham, however not been for couple years"
We agree on nothing, football or politics RD but I genuinely wish you and your family all the best. Hopefully your wee lad comes through it healthy. If he's a chip of the old block he will be a stubborn as a mule and will get through it.

Best wishes RD.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/07/2017 22:10:26    2014551

There's such a load of nonsense in this thread. I'm 45 so grew up when the only way to see my county was to go and see them live. Since tv coverage has been more comprehensive, there are still plenty of counties who get little coverage, including my own. Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Galway, Mayo, Kilkenny, Tipp, Donegal and perhaps one or two more will always get it because of population bases and tradition - it's not complicated. Broadcasting games live costs money but nobody seems to want to pay for it! Wouldn't it be great if every county and club had all their games broadcast live with the same amount of media coverage. Grow up people because that ain't going to happen. For "less important" counties such as my own or M.D.'s own Offaly, we'll always play second fiddle on a long term basis. For M.D. to state what he did was shear nonsense. If he wanted to complain about the Sky deal he should have just said so rather than bring his father into it. My uncle is a year older than his father, he lives in rural south Sligo and had no problem getting Sky in. He's not able to travel to games much anymore but enjoys all the coverage from his armchair. If he wad born 20 years earlier he'd have to resort to the wireless!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 10/07/2017 22:34:08    2014571

Replying To Laois76:  "Sorry to hear about your little boy RD. Things like that put everything in perspective. I hope he's health problems improve and he livew a happy and healthy life."
Ahh he is a little fighter, only given 20% chance night he was born, but after 3 months in hospital we got to bring him home, a nd every day he getting stronger. A typically Meath man, he never gave up :). Thanks for your wishes, we actually consider ourselves to be the lucky ones.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2017 22:49:06    2014584

I couldn't agree with you on much RD but I'm sorry to hear about your little lad. I hope his health continues to improve, football really is only a game when you hear something like your story. You are a proper and ardent fan of your beloved Meath, fair play to you. I hope you, your wife and kids have a good summer ahead. Good health to you all. #nemesis:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 11/07/2017 00:40:22    2014647

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh he is a little fighter, only given 20% chance night he was born, but after 3 months in hospital we got to bring him home, a nd every day he getting stronger. A typically Meath man, he never gave up :). Thanks for your wishes, we actually consider ourselves to be the lucky ones."
No all the opinions on Sky coverage, Diarmuid Connolly's suspension, whether Meath's footballers are improving, TG4 and the Irish language and other things we may have differed on are very trivial when compared with a child's health. It's very difficult watching a child suffer.

We post our opinions here with great self importance and know little of what the man or lady we're debating with is going through.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 11/07/2017 01:49:46    2014655

Sky's coverage is far superior to RTE if you are that keen to watch it go to the pub or subscribe, you would think he was living in the bloody outback the way he is going on.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 143 - 11/07/2017 03:47:33    2014665

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Look it Whammo, I just don't agree that the GAA are responsible for making people sign up to Sky Sports when they don't need to, that's all. People have a choice.

I'm cynical about where their money is going. Super 8 and B All Ireland plans will kill inter-county GAA within 10 years. Sky Sports deal is probably more attractive to sponsorrs like Littlewoods, they'd probably think a Sky audience is more affluent than free-to-air on RTE or TV3.

I suggested this when Sky Sports deal started: they could give older GAA members a type of free Sky Go / Now TV access to GAA games on Sky sports as a goodwill gesture. Could be accessed on most phones through mobile data where broadband is poor or non-existent. Could cast from phone to TV. I'll remain cynical about Duignan because he's years out of date with those remarks and the Sunday game loves some controversy."
Sky sports don't make their money from advertising.

The viewing figures on the GAA matches are way way down on what they were on TV3. A large GAA audience on Sky is about 50k and can be as little as 15k. On TV3 they were rountinely getting viewing figures of over 300k, could get over 500k for some games. People have been priced out of watching our games and I don't think it's good for the game.

I agree that Michael Duignan's argument is weak. That doesn't mean the Sky tv deal is a good thing.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/paul-rouse/dark-clouds-still-surround-skys-deal-with-the-gaa-435490.html

Good article that properly discusses the issue.

Before the Sky deal 40 matches were available free to air between RTÉ and TV3 now only 31 are available. I can understand people's annoyance at that. That's what's relevant, not what could be watched 20-25 years ago.

Where do that argument come from?

"We used to have many more live games. Originally, as you know, better than I do, nothing was on live television except an All-Ireland semi-final and a final. That's not that many years ago."

Aogán Ó Fearghail

He's sold you all very nicely on that one.

It's interesting how that compares to his predecessor Jack Bothman who was around in the era of limited access.

'The GAA can never in conscience decide to sell television rights to any media provider who will not be widely available throughout the country and which will not be national in character. We are not going to sell our people down the river for money.'

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 11/07/2017 04:19:32    2014666

Replying To zinny:  "I spent my younger years either going to Wexford games or listening to them ón the radio. The only live games sé got in black and white were the semi finals and finals very few of which Wexford were in. Funny how everyone has now become entitled to watch the games on TV."
Exactly, we all grew up with either having to go to the match or listening on the radio.
We have developed an entitlement to everything for free in Ireland which needs to change.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 11/07/2017 08:29:33    2014681

Is the slightly more money that Sky offered versus TV3 really worth the fact that no one is watching the games on Sky?

Also the argument that Sky will make RTÉ up their game doesn't hold. Sky is no threat to RTÉ as no one watches Sky in comparison to RTÉ. No matter how amazing the Sky production is (it's okay) it doesn't matter because no one sees it.

RTÉ's only threat is if TV3 try and outbid them for the main group of games.

The idea of hiding their product away where the majority of people won't watch it for a little extra cash is daft imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 11/07/2017 09:46:42    2014740

The super 8 and sky will b a coming together yet.semi pro is on its way the money generated from this system with sky will b the future.the peers that b are slowly introducing it.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2017 10:50:15    2014782

Replying To Reco:  "The super 8 and sky will b a coming together yet.semi pro is on its way the money generated from this system with sky will b the future.the peers that b are slowly introducing it."
Fosho brother Reco!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 11/07/2017 11:01:53    2014783

I have SKY myself and do enjoy their coverage. However I think we are going down a really bad road as the viewing figures are shocking, do we rally want so little people watching some of our big games? I think it is great that SKY do have GAA coverage and can show it in the UK as so many Irish people live over there. But why do they get exclusive access to show games here e.g. All-Ireland football quarter finals. Why can't RTE show the games as well? Like they do with Ulster Championship games. Surely SKY should only be interested in showing them in the UK, or at least that was the line being spun by the GAA hierarchy. We don't have to get rid of SKY, just sell them a package for the UK and they can show these games in Ireland too, if they are confident their coverage is better than RTE then the viewing figures will reflect this.

If we keep going down the road of selling to the highest bidder then we are heading towards a professional game. It is only a matter of time before the players will want a slice of the cake and who could blame them.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 11/07/2017 11:10:36    2014794

Replying To Whammo86:  "People have a choice yes but I don't like that people are getting priced out of it.

The GAA is not a charity but it's also not a business.

I'd much prefer for the association to put inclusiveness over profit.

It's only 14 exclusive games now but I think it's very easy to see a future where there's many more games on Sky. It seems from the response on here that many would have no problem with that. That doesn't sit well with me."
That's the word right there in your post whammo "inclusive "
The GAA is supposed to be an inclusive organisation not exclusive, they took a big step a few years back when they aloud British soldiers and RUC officers to play our games yet now they ruin it all by giving exclusive rights of 9/10 games to sky .

Some people on here saying we're looking for something for nothing or something for free, I can tell ye that ye are talking rubbish, as I'd say the majority of GAA fans are involved with a club, who gives up their spare time fundraising and training teams cutting pitches making tea and sandwiches going to coaching courses so we can train the next generation of players for the GAA meat grinder.

We're not looking for something for nothing coz we have all well paid for it in advance over many generations.

Ps I do get the sky in for the summer just for the GAA but I must say iiv seen some excellent documentaries on the all blacks . and red star Belgrades 91 European cup glory and also the newyork giants Super Bowl win in 1990.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/07/2017 11:58:53    2014831

Replying To kildare73:  "I couldn't agree with you on much RD but I'm sorry to hear about your little lad. I hope his health continues to improve, football really is only a game when you hear something like your story. You are a proper and ardent fan of your beloved Meath, fair play to you. I hope you, your wife and kids have a good summer ahead. Good health to you all. #nemesis:)"
Much appreciated. And l will let you in on a secret, I actually want Kildare to win Leinster, as I think it would be great for everyone. Shhhhh don't tell anyone as it would ruin my rep :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2017 19:27:05    2015191

Replying To gotmilk:  "We agree on nothing, football or politics RD but I genuinely wish you and your family all the best. Hopefully your wee lad comes through it healthy. If he's a chip of the old block he will be a stubborn as a mule and will get through it.

Best wishes RD."
Lol yep, his mom says he is as stubborn as me already, he just takes all the hassle of different hospital and doc every week and just keeps going.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2017 19:29:01    2015193

RTE coverage is pathetic and only for TG4 our games would very little coverage

Rte only want the select few matches and their so called experts are egotists, and its really tough to sit through

Sky should be commended for letting us, the public have greater access to matches which if they didnt televise , would not be shown !!!!

People love looking through rose tinted glasses at the past , years back only the semis and finals got shown, the wireless was tuned in

Duignan would be better advised to shut his mouth and stop whinging, this nation is laden with moaners
GET UP AND GET ON WITH IT

Final note the SUNDAY GAME is laughable how poor its become, too much shit talked no real analysis and very few minutes of highlights for each match, its a turn off , sick of former players waffling out the usual one liners,

Bualadh Bos to Kevin Mc Stay who was man enough, to talk the talk and walk the walk ,really enjoyed the Roscommon win on sunday

Lovely football with heart and pure class , great supporters, well deserved !!!!!!!!

thereporter (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 11/07/2017 20:15:59    2015219

I haven't looked into in much or anything now but I'm curious how much is the sky deal worth? How much of it is given to the counties involved in the games? (if any)

WW9 (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 11/07/2017 20:33:26    2015226