Michael Duignan on Sky coverage and the GAA

Replying To Whammo86:  "I hardly think it's a good example of false entitlement.

GAA matches have been widely available for over 20 years now and we live in a completely different world now to the 90s."
And RTE are showing more now than when Sky got involved but don't let the facts get in the way of a good story. Here is the kicker in the whole thing, if Waterford had won by 20 points who he have said anything. But hey nobody minds having games on SKY if they are Wexford v Monaghan in Football.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 10/07/2017 17:13:58    2014301

Replying To Whammo86:  "I hardly think it's a good example of false entitlement.

GAA matches have been widely available for over 20 years now and we live in a completely different world now to the 90s."
Also were not all the Irish Rugby games available on RTE at that time as well - ah but who cares about old people who follow Rugby, they are not entitled to anything.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 10/07/2017 17:16:04    2014303

Replying To zinny:  "And RTE are showing more now than when Sky got involved but don't let the facts get in the way of a good story. Here is the kicker in the whole thing, if Waterford had won by 20 points who he have said anything. But hey nobody minds having games on SKY if they are Wexford v Monaghan in Football."
There are fewer free to air games.

TV3 had the non-RTÉ games in the past.

It's incredibly disingenuous to call people complaining about this entitled.

There are people who literally cannot afford to pay for Sky TV.

I can completely understand why they may feel betrayed by a Sky to deal, particularly when you take into account quotes from Padraic Duffy on the matter.
Then, in a book published in 2013, Páraic Duffy told the Irish Examiner journalist Michael Moynihan in a lengthy series of quotes that the GAA would not sell TV rights to Sky and that the reason for this was that it could not do so even if only 10% of the population didn't have Sky. The logic was straightforward: 'There's a sense that the GAA belongs to everybody in Ireland, that it's in every parish and village, and that there'd be enormous resistance if we were to take the games off free-to-air, even though the majority of the population probably has access to Sky.'16

Numerous countries have legislation around what sport should be shown only on free to air tv. It's a subject that is worthy of debate. To describe any criticism of paid tv deals as simply a false entitlement is unfair in the extreme.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 10/07/2017 18:03:57    2014342

Replying To zinny:  "Also were not all the Irish Rugby games available on RTE at that time as well - ah but who cares about old people who follow Rugby, they are not entitled to anything."
I never once stated my opinion on rugby.

I'm actually against Irish rugby games not being available on free to air tv also.

I didn't mention it because it wasn't part of any discussion we were having.

I'm actually quite against a lot of the recent trends in the television market and how fragmented it is becoming and how exclusive rights are being used by the whole industry to milk people for every penny they have got.

I am lucky that I can more than afford Sky tv but I have an appreciation that is not the case for everyone. Even though I can afford it I cancelled my subscription as I don't feel it is value for money. As I've said in an earlier post pay tv is charging you for all sorts of other stuff on top of what it is you actually want to view.

It really irritates me that the GAA is happy to be complicit with this.

It's allowing its membership to be taken advantage of. It annoys me that it's further taking advantage of people of lower incomes. They are less able to afford other forms of entertainment and that is why television is able to squeeze them to such an extent.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 10/07/2017 18:14:01    2014347

Replying To Htaem:  "As a matter of interest did Michael mention that until 2022 at least, RTE will broadcast 31 games games including all provincial hurling and football finals, both All-Ireland hurling and two All-Ireland football quarter-finals, and the All-Ireland semi-finals and finals in both football and hurling.

Whereas Sky will broadcast 14 exclusive games = less than half the games that RTE will broadcast. First world problems lads/lassies."
We ate a country of entitlements, people think everything should come free, i personally love skys coverage

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 10/07/2017 18:19:28    2014352

It's remarkable the number of OAP GAA live TV viewers there seems to be since the GAA sold some TV rights to Sky. No doubt they'll all be glued to all the RTE live coverage. In no way is it being sensationalist claiming that elderly people were betrayed by the GAA when they sold some coverage to Sky even though RTE coverage has increased. Not at all.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 10/07/2017 18:28:12    2014359

Replying To KK1926:  "Ha! Sometimes sarcasm doesn't travel well on the internet!"
Thanks KK.

13 people obviously need those winking faces at the end to understand tongue-in-cheek posts.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 10/07/2017 18:37:00    2014366

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's remarkable the number of OAP GAA live TV viewers there seems to be since the GAA sold some TV rights to Sky. No doubt they'll all be glued to all the RTE live coverage. In no way is it being sensationalist claiming that elderly people were betrayed by the GAA when they sold some coverage to Sky even though RTE coverage has increased. Not at all."
People have a right to complain when they are being ripped off.

They are being ripped off.

As another poster has mentioned Sky only have 14 exclusive games a year. How much would it cost to have access to those games? Somewhere in the region of €40 a month. They wouldn't care about a lot of those games.

Their ability to watch games is being restricted and I can understand their frustration.

If Sky didn't have the rights TV3 would be showing games so it's not a case that people are complaining for no reason.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 10/07/2017 18:46:52    2014375

Replying To Whammo86:  "I never once stated my opinion on rugby.

I'm actually against Irish rugby games not being available on free to air tv also.

I didn't mention it because it wasn't part of any discussion we were having.

I'm actually quite against a lot of the recent trends in the television market and how fragmented it is becoming and how exclusive rights are being used by the whole industry to milk people for every penny they have got.

I am lucky that I can more than afford Sky tv but I have an appreciation that is not the case for everyone. Even though I can afford it I cancelled my subscription as I don't feel it is value for money. As I've said in an earlier post pay tv is charging you for all sorts of other stuff on top of what it is you actually want to view.

It really irritates me that the GAA is happy to be complicit with this.

It's allowing its membership to be taken advantage of. It annoys me that it's further taking advantage of people of lower incomes. They are less able to afford other forms of entertainment and that is why television is able to squeeze them to such an extent."
How are the GAA allowing it's membership to be taken advantage of? If an unemployed person decided to sign up for pay-per-view UFC fight would it be his choice or would the UFC be taking advantage of him?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 10/07/2017 18:51:30    2014380

Replying To Whammo86:  "People have a right to complain when they are being ripped off.

As another poster has mentioned Sky only have 14 exclusive games a year. How much would it cost to have access to those games? Somewhere in the region of €40 a month. They wouldn't care about a lot of those games.

Their ability to watch games is being restricted and I can understand their frustration.

If Sky didn't have the rights TV3 would be showing games so it's not a case that people are complaining for no reason."
Here's a crazy idea: 'Don't sign up to Sky Sports' if you're only gonna watch 14 GAA games. Maybe they will watch other sports and get great value for that money. Or maybe not sign up to Sky Sports at all. They have a choice.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 10/07/2017 18:55:08    2014382

Replying To PyatPree:  "We ate a country of entitlements, people think everything should come free, i personally love skys coverage"
we are*** instead of we ate

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 10/07/2017 18:56:53    2014385

Replying To Whammo86:  "People have a right to complain when they are being ripped off.

If Sky didn't have the rights TV3 would be showing games so it's not a case that people are complaining for no reason."
Sky sports half price for gaa 20 per month for 6 months, imagine duignan wouldn't be so stingy and get it In for his dad. ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2017 19:12:27    2014401

Replying To Laois76:  "That's the point though. There's a big difference between the Lions and our amateur National Games.

In 1995 Louth v Dublin was the first non semi final gaa game broadcast live whereby a number of gaa games were broadcast other than all ireland semi finals. We had once off like Waterford v Tipp in the 100th Munster hurling final in 1989 and the first round of the Munster hurling championship, Tipp v Cork in 1992.

Gaelic games always professed to be the game of the people. The ethos was built on the club, the grass root and voluntary input. Pre 1995 broadcasting matches before all-ireland semi final stage didn't take place. However throughout from about 2000 up until 2014 a game like Kilkenny and Waterford would have more than likely been broadcast by RTE. The GAA broke with it's roots and ethos when it made the Sky deal."
Hate to correct you, but 4th match Meath v dubs 1991 was first non semi final to be broadcast live on rte

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2017 19:19:02    2014408

Replying To zinny:  "Also were not all the Irish Rugby games available on RTE at that time as well - ah but who cares about old people who follow Rugby, they are not entitled to anything."
Stop compairing the IRFU to the GAA. Ridiculous. They later's ethos was built on community and grass roots involvement. Historically a cultural movement.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 19:21:10    2014409

Replying To zinny:  "And RTE are showing more now than when Sky got involved but don't let the facts get in the way of a good story. Here is the kicker in the whole thing, if Waterford had won by 20 points who he have said anything. But hey nobody minds having games on SKY if they are Wexford v Monaghan in Football."
No rte aren't fewer games and not the choice of the bigger ones.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 19:21:53    2014410

Replying To tearintom:  "I couldn't care less what duignan says or said in the last, what your missing is the point of the complete irony of his statement.

A person employed by RTÉ states on RTÉ that it's wrong that one of their rivals i.e. Sky have access to games meanwhile all the time the same person doing the complaining has sky himself.

And after watching duignan in his hey day again it's with a fair sense of irony hearing him talk about dirty play in hurling and condoning it.

I've never said I'm in favour of the deal, I've said it's been done to death on here. Duignan claims his father had no means of watching the game when he obviously did, that's the irony of the whole thing.

And you're saying nothing other than entitlement, actually your saying loads of things but addressing nothing. First off it's not any better in your opinion and ye went down the eye candy route Joe brolly did and ended up making a right tit of himself.

Secondly your saying yes we should all be entitled to see as many live games for free as we want, how is that not entitlement?

I would actually live to see all games free but it ain't, what's the point in whinging about it? Along with a lot of things in the gaa it's not right and it's about money. It's not right for Kilkenny to take football development money from Croke park but they still do for example.

What I do know having an awful lot of family in the uk who had to leave in the past they think the deal is great"
You can't differentiate between entitlement and fair play to your support base and people who helped put the association where it is in the first place. Lazy analysyis.

Agreed the likes of Duignan and Whelan can be hypocritical when speaking on discipline.

But on the issue Duignan spoke of last night i'm with him.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 19:25:32    2014411

Replying To streaker:  "Thanks KK.

13 people obviously need those winking faces at the end to understand tongue-in-cheek posts."
I'm new here but the thumbs up feature is cheap and gimmicky.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 19:26:39    2014412

Replying To Bon:  "Your not comparing like with like , the GAA and teams are not paying their players"
Plenty of counties pay their management in one way or another, been from Kildare I am sure you are well aware of this.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2017 19:27:32    2014413

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Irish ppl in the U.K. Would like to watch the games too .. if that's ok with you like!"
Charity begins at home ;)

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 19:30:00    2014415

Replying To Ben:  "Call me cynical but does anyone think micheals comments was said to deflect the attention away from the Brian cody incident ? We are all talking about the Sky deal instead of a manager putting his hands on an official."
Ha ha! Ridiculous conspiracy theory.

Yes apply the law for interfering with an official, no one in Kilkenny or Cody himself is too worried about a 12 week ban. Connolly got it, he should get it. All we're concerned with down here is getting back into the elite level of hurling at senior level. The future. There's underage inter county competition to focus on and the club scene.

Congrats to Waterford, they more than earned their victory.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 19:35:46    2014422