Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary

Replying To jimbodub:  "Parnell Park is maintained

It hosted a championship game only a few days ago and Meath v Louth before that

Do you not think The DCB are spending money maintaining it?"
Sorry I should have made my self more clear , I meant do it up build on to it and turn it into a proper stadium that could hold more than 10,000 fans.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2017 14:09:48    2010430

Replying To keithlemon:  "You're right it is off topic.
Would it not be better to put your comment in one of your numerous 'Dublin get all the advantages' threads instead.

Ps I'm not a Dub"
You can put my post where ever you want my Dublin friend but it won't change the fact that ye have every advantage going in the game .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2017 14:13:37    2010432

Replying To DubsExileInNaas:  "Dublin Co. Board looking to have game moved. I dont think it really matters as long as there's a good atmosphere.
Dublin crowd will be lost in any other neutral venue."
Dublin hurling never have an athmosphere to start with..and its good nuff for them!! as Dublin people never come out to support in the first place so they will always get shot down in decisions like this...look at wexford a population of 70000 and 50000 wexford people traveled to croke park last sunday! I have no sympathy for Dublin people they deserve what they get!

fathermurphy (Wexford) - Posts: 315 - 04/07/2017 14:14:12    2010435

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Regularly?? ........ always"
"Always"? Think you're 100% wrong there. Or did you miss the fact we played Carlow away this year?

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 04/07/2017 14:14:16    2010436

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sorry I should have made my self more clear , I meant do it up build on to it and turn it into a proper stadium that could hold more than 10,000 fans."
Why?

It's not needed with the Leinster council continually voting to keep Dublin in Croke Park for greater revenue generating capabilities

Why don't you evenly invest in Hurling?

Dublin invest 50% of all revenue on both codes across the board

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2017 14:20:46    2010441

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You can put my post where ever you want my Dublin friend but it won't change the fact that ye have every advantage going in the game ."
Poor mouth whinger

None of yiz were talking about financial advantages after you beat Dublin in the NFL Di v 1 final??

Strange that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2017 14:21:50    2010442

Replying To Damothedub:  "This post is about Dublin Hurling ,
its about a decision made and overturned at a whim , its jumped on by a large majority of country lads (not all) who have decided because they despise everything to do with the footballers well the hurlers and their fans are guilty by association.
When you see a thread and the best lads can come up with is to do with another code then you know they are clutching."
I don't think that's fair re country lads and Dublin. A third of the population live in Dublin and a large percentage of that population is from the country or first generation Dubs. Those are the people who have done the hard graft supporting and promoting hurling in Dublin. This thing about country v Dublin in hurling does not stand. Those of us who attend hurling games know that there's a huge difference between a Dublin hurling supporter and some of the fair day Dublin football supporters.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1818 - 04/07/2017 14:25:01    2010447

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "It only seems pathetic to someone who doesn't care about the game of hurling"
Do you know me? How do you know what I like? Just because I'm from one of the weaker hurling counties I'm not supposed to have a point of view? Get over yourself for God's sake, it's a public forum.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/07/2017 14:35:54    2010453

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sorry I should have made my self more clear , I meant do it up build on to it and turn it into a proper stadium that could hold more than 10,000 fans."
There's no room to build the ground to a higher capacity.
There's a good course behind two parts and a school behind the stand with houses at the back wall of the donnycarney terrace. Not possible to increase capacity in any significant way.
croke park lies idle in the league and is a win win for all the gaa Dublin and other counties having out footballers play league games there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2017 14:37:11    2010454

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Of course.On a similar vein is it not absurd that if Antrim qualified for the U21 final against Tipp it would hve to be played in Thurles."
No not really, Thurles is the designated second ground for hurling(even it is the best playing surface) and that is where U/21 finals are played.
No more than if a side got to an AI semi or final versus Dublin you would have to go to Croker.
Rules should not be abandoned just because on occasion they can favour a certain county.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 04/07/2017 14:37:44    2010456

Replying To DannyMcA:  "This thread is about the hurkers. Nothing to do with the footballers no matter how much it suits your agenda. They travel up and down the country like all other teams in league and championship."
Well aren't they great for traveling up and down the country. Very praiseworthy indeed. Oh wait..........so do the rest of us!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/07/2017 14:38:53    2010457

Replying To fathermurphy:  "Dublin hurling never have an athmosphere to start with..and its good nuff for them!! as Dublin people never come out to support in the first place so they will always get shot down in decisions like this...look at wexford a population of 70000 and 50000 wexford people traveled to croke park last sunday! I have no sympathy for Dublin people they deserve what they get!"
How many people supported the wexford footballers? Your making very silly comments. No county has big support for both games equally. Plus wouldn't that class wexford hurling supporters as bandwagoners as i guarantee you would be first on here if dublin filled croker for hurling game to say look at all the hurling bandwagoners in Dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2017 14:40:10    2010459

Replying To fathermurphy:  "Dublin hurling never have an athmosphere to start with..and its good nuff for them!! as Dublin people never come out to support in the first place so they will always get shot down in decisions like this...look at wexford a population of 70000 and 50000 wexford people traveled to croke park last sunday! I have no sympathy for Dublin people they deserve what they get!"
So Father Murphy by that token and thinking as we do support our footballers you must be a huge fan and feckin hate your own lot .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/07/2017 14:47:25    2010466

Replying To kildare73:  "Well aren't they great for traveling up and down the country. Very praiseworthy indeed. Oh wait..........so do the rest of us!"
He actually said like all other counties.

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 04/07/2017 14:57:35    2010472

Replying To emerald79:  "Dublin Hurling is not Dublin Football,look at Dublin Hurling fixtures both league & championship ,they play almost all games away ,especially championship & shouldn't be compared to the football side of it ,so the only person talking TRIPE here is you ,go check your facts before you run your mouth ,Tipperary are no better than Dublin footballers now 3 home championship games in a row is a bloody joke ,I hope they get a good hammering soon ,"
replying to emerald 79
Tipp wont be getting a hammering anytime soon by Kilkenny anytime soon anyway emerald
and by the way
Tipp train in dr morris park

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 04/07/2017 15:12:03    2010482

Replying To kildare73:  "Well aren't they great for traveling up and down the country. Very praiseworthy indeed. Oh wait..........so do the rest of us!"
Eh that's what I said!! "Like all other counties"!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 04/07/2017 15:21:57    2010488

Replying To baire:  "I don't think that's fair re country lads and Dublin. A third of the population live in Dublin and a large percentage of that population is from the country or first generation Dubs. Those are the people who have done the hard graft supporting and promoting hurling in Dublin. This thing about country v Dublin in hurling does not stand. Those of us who attend hurling games know that there's a huge difference between a Dublin hurling supporter and some of the fair day Dublin football supporters."
Rubbish talk.
so dublin hurling only exists because id country people get out of it.
I support both football and hurling
I go to both football and hurling matches all the time. So who are you to suggest anything of me.
Also it's kind of funny wexford and Galway could pluck a huge interest when the going is good and get plaudits for the bandwagon support last Sunday but you turn around and suggest the most largest hard-core fan base of any sport in Ireland the dublin footballers are all fair weather supporters, what a ridiculous statement to make. We didn't even make an all ireland final between 96-2010 yet still had massive support. Like I said I go to both as much as possible but I prefer football to hurling and your the country hurling type that if u said that face to face in conversation would immediately form a different opinion of me because I'm not a hurling only person, it always annoys me these snobbery hurling only types

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2017 15:28:37    2010490

Galway/ Longford had to travel to Croke Park in 2015 for a double header against the Dubs.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 04/07/2017 15:33:43    2010494

I understand where the Dublin chairman is coming from. If they were promised a neutral location beforehand, having to play Tipp in Thurles is unfair. And just fixing hurling games in Thurles as a default, is a bit lazy.

But just a couple of things. As a double header, it'd be difficult to play it anywhere else that would be more central to all 4 counties, and could also accommodate a crowd of 30k+. It would be great to see the games played in Limerick, Limerick doesn't get enough high profile games. It would be less central that Thurles though, and I do think Waterford and Kilkenny would prefer Thurles. But still, Limerick should be considered, its not a that much further really.

Splitting the games up and playing them in smaller grounds might be an option, but a double header makes it more of an occasion, gives the games a somewhat higher profile.

Playing them in places not traditionally associated with hurling, as a means of promoting hurling in these regions, has some merit. But these games are now in the business end of the championship. They're not exhibition matches, promoting the game should be a by product, not a controlling factor. Its the fans of the competing counties that should be put first in this scenario (and if playing in Thurles does not suit the majority of fans from the competing counties, the location should be changed).

I believe the Dublin county board are pushing to have the location changed (I stand open to correction on that). I understand why. I just hope if it is changed, that its done in the next 24 hours so that teams can plan accordingly. Any change after that would not be good.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 04/07/2017 15:37:33    2010495

Dublin getting a taste of their own medicine now. Now they know how the rest of us feel. Karma and all that. No sympathy.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 04/07/2017 15:40:47    2010497