Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary

The bottom line is both qualifiers should be at a neutral venue.
Would Kilkenny agree to play Tipp in thurles if they had they been drawn together?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 04/07/2017 11:33:23    2010274

Replying To bloodyban:  "It's a total stitch up. Thurles is being given way more games than it ought to. It's had all the Munster championship games this year. It's being pushed as some 'mythical' shrine to hurling. The pitch is good...facilities are poor and the town is ...well...a small Midlands town. There's stadiums up and down the country crying out for a share of games."
Nail on the head.
Big opportunity has been missed here.
Tipp v Dublin should have been in Tullamore or Portlaoise.
KK V Waterford in Wexford.
The GAA arrogantly assume everyone loves Thurles.
We don't !
The fact that the Dubs play mostly in Croker when it comes to football is (a) not their fault and (b) irrelevant.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 04/07/2017 11:38:17    2010283

Replying To bloodyban:  "It's a total stitch up. Thurles is being given way more games than it ought to. It's had all the Munster championship games this year. It's being pushed as some 'mythical' shrine to hurling. The pitch is good...facilities are poor and the town is ...well...a small Midlands town. There's stadiums up and down the country crying out for a share of games."
No need to slag off Thurles town. We do our best like all other towns around the country.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/07/2017 11:57:06    2010300

Replying To tearintom:  "The funny thing is apparently pairc ui chaoimh is now at risk of not being finished in time for the quarter finals.

Therefore if Tipp win against Dublin they will probably play the quarter finals in thurles giving Tipperary 3 home matches in a row!"
No it would be 4. This is our 3rd home game in a row.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/07/2017 11:58:33    2010301

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Nail on the head.
Big opportunity has been missed here.
Tipp v Dublin should have been in Tullamore or Portlaoise.
KK V Waterford in Wexford.
The GAA arrogantly assume everyone loves Thurles.
We don't !
The fact that the Dubs play mostly in Croker when it comes to football is (a) not their fault and (b) irrelevant."
What about having it in Cavan with Tipp footballers as a double header? Ulster doesn't get any high profile Hurling matches.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/07/2017 12:02:05    2010305

I think access into Thurles is bad. Was down there for a double header a couple of years ago. Dubs playing Tipp in 2nd game, Wexford were on first. Some Wexford fans didnt get in until 10 mins to go. Traffic was carnage and they oversold the terrace. Disgraceful stuff.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/07/2017 12:05:54    2010312

Replying To keithlemon:  "I don't know why people keep bringing the Dublin footballers home advantage into this debate.
The fact of the matter is the game was supposed to be at a neutral venue and it's not. Dublin have every right to feel annoyed at this. If Tipp were to play either of the other 2 teams in the qualifiers, they would feel just as aggrieved.
Another game that could be played down in Limerick or Breffni Park as a double header with the footballers"
I know this is off topic a bit but I was just wondering Keith why don't the Dublin county board spend some of the millions the GAA give ye on Parnell park and do it up?

The rest of the country have to maintain our stadiums why not yer selves?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2017 12:07:52    2010315

When it comes down to it, the GAA can do what they like. They know that fans will moan a bit but still go along in most cases no matter what.
Of course it should be in Tullamore or wherever but they'll fill Thurles and care not after that.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/07/2017 12:09:21    2010317

For me it silly stuff here.
ok they may have stated neutral venues and it's not now but what's the point in dragging the game elsewhere when Kilkenny v Waterford was always going to be in thurles. People saying tipp have to choose between football and hurling sure there's only about 200 maximum would go to Cavan regardless and they are more than likely more football supporters regardless. The same number of Dublin supporters would go to tullamore as thurles it's near enough same travel time anyway with the motorways to both.
Waterford last year wasted people's time and money dragging them all the way to limerick because of this ridiculous notion of home advantage when they got annihilated on the day. It's all on the day if we are good enough we will beat tipp regardless of venue.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2017 12:17:36    2010326

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know this is off topic a bit but I was just wondering Keith why don't the Dublin county board spend some of the millions the GAA give ye on Parnell park and do it up?

The rest of the country have to maintain our stadiums why not yer selves?"
Parnell Park is maintained

It hosted a championship game only a few days ago and Meath v Louth before that

Do you not think The DCB are spending money maintaining it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2017 12:28:06    2010332

Replying To hill16no1man:  "For me it silly stuff here.
ok they may have stated neutral venues and it's not now but what's the point in dragging the game elsewhere when Kilkenny v Waterford was always going to be in thurles. People saying tipp have to choose between football and hurling sure there's only about 200 maximum would go to Cavan regardless and they are more than likely more football supporters regardless. The same number of Dublin supporters would go to tullamore as thurles it's near enough same travel time anyway with the motorways to both.
Waterford last year wasted people's time and money dragging them all the way to limerick because of this ridiculous notion of home advantage when they got annihilated on the day. It's all on the day if we are good enough we will beat tipp regardless of venue."
Sorry but it's not a 'ridiculous notion' when a team gets home advantage. Statistically it's a huge advantage to the home team. There isn't a county out there in hurling except Antrim and Dublin that would be treated like this.
Home and away arrangements work fine and are a great idea but this is qualifiers and Tipp won't be able to play Dublin in Parnell anytime soon. That Waterford are happy to go to Thurles most of the time is irrelevant really as Cork isn't available and limerick is over 2 hours away. They don't have a stadium capable of holding a game.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2017 12:35:15    2010341

Replying To DannyMcA:  "This thread is about the hurkers. Nothing to do with the footballers no matter how much it suits your agenda. They travel up and down the country like all other teams in league and championship."
All other teams except New York and Dublin footballers. There fixed it for you

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 04/07/2017 12:42:50    2010348

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "All other teams except New York and Dublin footballers. There fixed it for you"
As childish as your post is I'll bite. Have the Dublin hurlers travelled up and down the country yes or no?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 04/07/2017 13:14:50    2010370

Replying To bloodyban:  "Sorry but it's not a 'ridiculous notion' when a team gets home advantage. Statistically it's a huge advantage to the home team. There isn't a county out there in hurling except Antrim and Dublin that would be treated like this.
Home and away arrangements work fine and are a great idea but this is qualifiers and Tipp won't be able to play Dublin in Parnell anytime soon. That Waterford are happy to go to Thurles most of the time is irrelevant really as Cork isn't available and limerick is over 2 hours away. They don't have a stadium capable of holding a game."
Dublin should have a big crowd of supports on Saturday.......................a lot of them wearing strange looking blue/white and black/amber jersies and hats !!!

DubsExileInNaas (Dublin) - Posts: 171 - 04/07/2017 13:23:41    2010380

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "All other teams except New York and Dublin footballers. There fixed it for you"
Only for New York there would be no weekend on the lash for the Connacht teams.
There not complaining when they get to go on the lash in New York and London!

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 04/07/2017 13:24:52    2010383

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know this is off topic a bit but I was just wondering Keith why don't the Dublin county board spend some of the millions the GAA give ye on Parnell park and do it up?

The rest of the country have to maintain our stadiums why not yer selves?"
You're right it is off topic.
Would it not be better to put your comment in one of your numerous 'Dublin get all the advantages' threads instead.

Ps I'm not a Dub

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 04/07/2017 13:26:56    2010384

This post is about Dublin Hurling ,
its about a decision made and overturned at a whim , its jumped on by a large majority of country lads (not all) who have decided because they despise everything to do with the footballers well the hurlers and their fans are guilty by association.
When you see a thread and the best lads can come up with is to do with another code then you know they are clutching.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/07/2017 13:37:11    2010392

Replying To kildare73:  "When the Dublin footballers start playing in Parnell Park you can call it your home. Dublin footballers play everything in Croke Park, that is your home. It's quite simple really. If the Dublin county board were so keen on neutral venues, why didn't they insist on the Westmeath match being in Tullamore or Portlaoise? To day Croke Park isn't Dublin's home these days is plainly disingenuous and nobody believes otherwise. The whining about Thurles is a bit pathetic."
It only seems pathetic to someone who doesn't care about the game of hurling

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 04/07/2017 13:42:27    2010399

Replying To waynoI:  "our footballers play most our games in croker so no dublin fan can complain about the unfairness of playing in semple stadium"
My god those are some mighty sized balls on you Wayno1 , no Dub fan can complain ??? Maybe a Dublin hurling fan can complain of which you are not , and it says a lot about you that your happy to see an injustice taken out on the hurlers and their fans , but you know living where you live that I'm all right Jack has rubbed off on you.
Am I surprised hell no as I remember pretty much most of your digs at Dublin hurling over the last four years , at least your consistent , friends like you who needs enemies.
If I didn't know better your delighted with the decision but those mighty sized balls of yours aren't big enough to actually come outright and say it.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/07/2017 13:42:36    2010400

Replying To DubsExileInNaas:  "Dublin should have a big crowd of supports on Saturday.......................a lot of them wearing strange looking blue/white and black/amber jersies and hats !!!"
Dublin Co. Board looking to have game moved. I dont think it really matters as long as there's a good atmosphere.
Dublin crowd will be lost in any other neutral venue.

DubsExileInNaas (Dublin) - Posts: 171 - 04/07/2017 13:45:16    2010405