Cork vs Clare (hurling)

Cork by far the better team I thought. Full value for their five point win. Their full forward line had Clare in the horrors from minute one. Clare's tactics were baffling.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 09/07/2017 21:28:02    2013404

I feel today was a continuation of Clare underachieving after their U21 All-Ireland successes and their 2013 senior win.I wonder how many of Clare's team from 2013 played for them today.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 09/07/2017 21:38:23    2013420

Great victory. Well deserved.Cadogan and Hoggy were class

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 09/07/2017 22:27:55    2013479

Replying To endgame:  "I feel today was a continuation of Clare underachieving after their U21 All-Ireland successes and their 2013 senior win.I wonder how many of Clare's team from 2013 played for them today."
7 from today's team started in 2013

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 09/07/2017 22:29:11    2013483

Well I was one of the 46,000 but after a win like that. priority is getting a few pints of Guinness in, rather than posting on Hoganstand.
Home now, relaxed & Happy, still don't expect to win All Ireland but delighted with progress made & thrilled by the performance of our Minors.
The Rebel Óg scheme pays dividends at last.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/07/2017 22:30:13    2013486

Replying To ballydalane:  "Cork by far the better team I thought. Full value for their five point win. Their full forward line had Clare in the horrors from minute one. Clare's tactics were baffling."
What baffles you about clare's tactics? They hit the post in the first half and Cork went down the other end a scored a goal. They missed a penalty and also hit an unbelievable amount of wides. And yet they were only 2 points down in injury time. Fair enough Cork were the better team today and deserved their win but if Tony Kelly was on the form he is capable of and clare had got a small bit of luck it may well have been a different story. On a side note pat horgan should have got the line in first half. Dirty stroke. He has form though - 2013 munster final rings a bell.

jj72 (Kildare) - Posts: 53 - 09/07/2017 22:42:59    2013503

Ah you are wrong about Pat jj, he is far from a dirty player. He went to shoulder the lad but was wrong footed and caught him in the head.
Yes he was lucky not to get a red card but if you heard his interview after the game, you would be convinced that it was an accidental shoulder to the head.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/07/2017 22:53:41    2013510

Thought Clare matched or maybe were better than Cork up until Kelly pointed the penalty. Cork dominated then until half time. but Clare had a huge amount of possession again in the second half. Cork were simply more efficient.
Obviously the Clare Management thought it wasnt worthwhile going man for man for Nashs puckouts.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 09/07/2017 23:09:13    2013525

Clare obviously felt they were better off to have one of the Cork full back line effectively launching puck-outs rather than Nash

Considering the accuracy Nash can hit his puck-outs - I thought it was a reasonable plan!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 09/07/2017 23:19:54    2013535

Replying To jj72:  "What baffles you about clare's tactics? They hit the post in the first half and Cork went down the other end a scored a goal. They missed a penalty and also hit an unbelievable amount of wides. And yet they were only 2 points down in injury time. Fair enough Cork were the better team today and deserved their win but if Tony Kelly was on the form he is capable of and clare had got a small bit of luck it may well have been a different story. On a side note pat horgan should have got the line in first half. Dirty stroke. He has form though - 2013 munster final rings a bell."
Pat Horgan dirty???? Would you go away and catch yourself on.....he caught Paudie o Brian accident you that day in Gaelic Grounds, even Paudie himself said so afterwards ......poor tackle by Hoggie that was mistimed as opposed to malicious, yellow card was probably correct call, would have been a harsh red.

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 09/07/2017 23:24:38    2013538

Replying To jj72:  "What baffles you about clare's tactics? They hit the post in the first half and Cork went down the other end a scored a goal. They missed a penalty and also hit an unbelievable amount of wides. And yet they were only 2 points down in injury time. Fair enough Cork were the better team today and deserved their win but if Tony Kelly was on the form he is capable of and clare had got a small bit of luck it may well have been a different story. On a side note pat horgan should have got the line in first half. Dirty stroke. He has form though - 2013 munster final rings a bell."
Balkydalane isn't the only one that was baffled by them. They seemed to come out of a manual entitled "3 sure ways of losing a match". The game was played totally on Corks terms, they allowed Cork uncontested puck outs enabling them to build attacks, they withdrew too deep and they attempted crazy long range shots at goal that were never on. And worse, they persisted with all of these strategies when they clearly weren't working. It doesn't matter how close they came on the scoreboard at any stage because Cork won the tactical battle hands down.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 09/07/2017 23:43:22    2013553

You know your good when your not liked. Problems in the tipp camp Waterford played bad Clare's tactics were wrong. Only one or two on here have given cork credit and there is about 30posts good lord jealousy is a awful thing. Still I'm happy and we roll on, As for the game we were better and wanted it more great game by cadogan and pat Horgan sheer class really class. poor day for king Conor but that's good as he doesn't have two bad days in a row, semi final next we have already beaten all bar Wexford from the quarters so I believe it's roll on September . As for Kingston and the rock there doing the job I knew they would do it's taken a year or so but were top of Munster again let's enjoy oh and sod the begrudgers

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 09/07/2017 23:46:44    2013560

Pat Horgan was lucky to avoid a red card today. He went in hard and made contact with O Connors head. However you look at it the tackle was dangerous. Bringing 2013 into it does nothing for your argument though as that was a ridiculous red card.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 10/07/2017 00:14:58    2013584

Replying To blackrockeddie:  "You know your good when your not liked. Problems in the tipp camp Waterford played bad Clare's tactics were wrong. Only one or two on here have given cork credit and there is about 30posts good lord jealousy is a awful thing. Still I'm happy and we roll on, As for the game we were better and wanted it more great game by cadogan and pat Horgan sheer class really class. poor day for king Conor but that's good as he doesn't have two bad days in a row, semi final next we have already beaten all bar Wexford from the quarters so I believe it's roll on September . As for Kingston and the rock there doing the job I knew they would do it's taken a year or so but were top of Munster again let's enjoy oh and sod the begrudgers"
Good man Eddie doing a Jim Gavin on it trying to create a siege mentality. The post you quoted was from a Clareman before the game clutching at straws to find away his team might win. No one on here disrespecting Cork. Clare's tactics are an obvious talking point as Cork were the better team throughout the game but Clare did not change their tactics to counteract that dominance. Young Coleman was MOM for me today.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 10/07/2017 00:27:22    2013592

Replying To Ban:  "7 from today's team started in 2013"

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 10/07/2017 03:50:01    2013619

Replying To Westfester:  "Pat Horgan was lucky to avoid a red card today. He went in hard and made contact with O Connors head. However you look at it the tackle was dangerous. Bringing 2013 into it does nothing for your argument though as that was a ridiculous red card."
Westfester
I absolutely disagree with you that Pat Horgan should not have been sent off in 2013. He struck Paudie O'Brien's helmet when he had no hope of hitting the ball. The pull was dangerous and he deserved to walk.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 10/07/2017 07:15:14    2013627

Replying To Ban:  "7 from today's team started in 2013"
Too high of a turnover for what was a young Clare team in 2013.I remember in the drawn game in 2013 an outstanding Conor Ryan who was man of the match from centre back.Think there was also a Colin Ryan.Wonder what happened to those players.Didn't Clare win 3 U21 All-Ireland titles in a few years and they have no senior Munster title to show and just the senior title in 2013.Think Clare have underachieved with their U21s who were real quality.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 10/07/2017 07:24:36    2013628

Replying To Westfester:  "Good man Eddie doing a Jim Gavin on it trying to create a siege mentality. The post you quoted was from a Clareman before the game clutching at straws to find away his team might win. No one on here disrespecting Cork. Clare's tactics are an obvious talking point as Cork were the better team throughout the game but Clare did not change their tactics to counteract that dominance. Young Coleman was MOM for me today."
Not at all westfer no siege mentality from me,but reading posts on here tactics and tony kelly missing scores, sometimes you just have to say despite everything maybe they were just a wee bit better,i dont expect everybody on here to say cork deserved it but a bit of credit wouldnt go amiss now and again lord god we been down long enough.As for coleman a great find great energy coolness beyond his years as i said in my previous post fair play to kk and the rock there doing a great job

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 10/07/2017 11:58:35    2013882

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Balkydalane isn't the only one that was baffled by them. They seemed to come out of a manual entitled "3 sure ways of losing a match". The game was played totally on Corks terms, they allowed Cork uncontested puck outs enabling them to build attacks, they withdrew too deep and they attempted crazy long range shots at goal that were never on. And worse, they persisted with all of these strategies when they clearly weren't working. It doesn't matter how close they came on the scoreboard at any stage because Cork won the tactical battle hands down."
Clare played exactly like Kilkenny played against Cork in the 2006 All Ireland final.
Back then, Kilkenny crowded out the middle third, forcing Donal Og Cusack to take short puckouts to Pat Mulcahy (his corner back)
In yesterday's game, Damien Cahalane was able to target Cadogan and Horgan, who were lethal on the day.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 10/07/2017 14:35:20    2014105

Replying To Rockies:  "Clare played exactly like Kilkenny played against Cork in the 2006 All Ireland final.
Back then, Kilkenny crowded out the middle third, forcing Donal Og Cusack to take short puckouts to Pat Mulcahy (his corner back)
In yesterday's game, Damien Cahalane was able to target Cadogan and Horgan, who were lethal on the day."
I was thinking something similar and maybe the memory of that final was in Donal óg's mind, but the difference being that in 06, after initially letting Cusack puck the ball out short to Mulcahy, the Kilkenny forwards immediately descended on Mulcahy knowing that he did not want to be in possession of the ball in the corner-back position, whereupon Mulcahy was forced to send aimless balls up the field, and not as far or as accurate as Cusack would have been able to puck it, and the Kilkenny half-back line was able to clean up.

Yesterday, Clare gave the Cork full-back line the freedom of Semple Stadium to tie a ribbon on the ball before delivering it in. O'Donnell was running around like a headless chicken trying to close down three men. No wonder Cahalane left him for dead on that solo run in the second half, poor chap was probably shattered.

Allowing short puck-outs as a deliberate strategy works best in my opinion if you just leave one corner back free, ideally the one you've identified as the worst striker of the ball on the opposition fb line. Let the goalie puck-it out short to him, then descend on him - he'll be only too happy to get rid of it in a panic.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 10/07/2017 15:05:12    2014155