Meath vs Donegal

Well done lads. Lots of doubts before this game. Character is there in bags. Proud despite what may be said here tonight. Hard luck to Meath. I think they are finally going to get their mojo back after this game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/07/2017 20:24:07    2012494

Replying To TheFlaker:  "
Replying To Commodore:  "Out of curiosity who would you and Pan of dropped in place of Gillespie assuming everyone else was fit and available for selection?I thought Rory got our starting teams bang on last year and was always happy with the team he selected. He let himself down with his use of the bench and tactically in big games and although his use of the bench has improved this year the tactics haven't. I completely understand and agree with supporters not being happy with Rory tactictally but to say he should of played younger players last year who don't look physically up to it this year is absolute nonsense.
Mobot (Donegal) - Posts:248 - 06/07/2017 08:25:35

For me Kieran Gillespie and Martin McElhinney are definite starters in this current squad, most likely at the expense of Jamie Brennan and Eoin McHugh. I would also consider starting Karl Lacey at Right Corner Back in place of Caolan Ward, as Lacey is still razor sharp in the tackle and corner back could still suit him.

I would place Michael Murphy at Left Corner Forward, and give Martin McElhinney and Hugh McFadden defensive midfield roles providing physical cover to our half back line against runners coming through the middle. Place Jason McGee in a more advanced midfield role in front of McElhinney/McFadden, and utilise his excellent kicking ability a bit more.

LCF: Michael Murphy RCF: Patrick McBrearty

LWF: Ryan McHugh RWF: Ciaran Thompson

Attacking Midfielder: Jason McGee

Defensive Midfield 1: Martin McElhinney. Defensive Midfield 2: Hugh McFadden

Sweeper or Runner to link the play: Martin O'Reilly/Caolan Ward/Mark McHugh

LWB: Frank McGlynn CHB: Kieran Gillespie RWB: Eoghan Ban Gallagher

LCB: Paddy McGrath FB: Neil McGee RCB: Karl Lacey

GK: Mark Anthony McGinley

I think the above team would address some of Donegal's current issues, in shoring up the defence while keeping out most capable scoring players in advanced positions."
Have you emailed the county board about this? Sounds like you could be the man to bring Sam back to the hills."
No need too be a smart ass.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/07/2017 20:40:48    2012502

the lads gave it their all and proud of them,but some awful decisions from the ref,especially in the closing stages won them the game. clear push from murphy on menton lead to a score and a double hop for another late point.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/07/2017 20:50:18    2012511

it seemed a right good game of football from what I heard so well done to both teams for making it so dramatic in the final minutes
I'm happy Donegal got the win but hard luck Meath
Think Meath will go for the Div two this coming year and get back to Div one again
Will this victory helps up improve ? Hope we at least get a few more games and it would be nice to be in CP in four weeks time

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 08/07/2017 21:02:57    2012522

Hard luck to Meath, looking forward to the 2 mins that RTE might show of this, it's often said up here that we are a forgotten county, there is a general anti Ulster bias in RTE anyway, is it just me or does anyone anyone else notice that Donegal are always mentioned last be it in fixtures or results? the only time they can't deny us is when we win Sam and then they were mealy mouthed enough about it,
onwards and upwards,to hell with the begrudgers.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 08/07/2017 21:08:37    2012528

Congratulations to Donegal and the huge support you brought.
I have very mixed emotions after that, hugely disappointed but also so proud of the effort by all the lads, a great game of football, got to say neither team deserve to lose and we had a genuine call for free at death denied.
We have made progress and next year I think we will see another improvement.
Thank you to Andy all the back room staff, Graham and all the lads, you give so much to the cause ,
Best wishes to Donegal for the remaining of the year.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2017 21:15:05    2012531

Disallowed goal in first half was ridiculous and some really soft frees for Meath especially the last one and the one where he booked Murphy. Ref did his best to keep Meath in it. Improved performances from Ryan McHugh, Ban and Jason McGee. Caolan Ward looks like a serious man marker.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 08/07/2017 21:23:05    2012538

Well that was a sore one to take. Meath played with huge pride and passion tonight but unfortunately we came up short in the end. It was a great game and best wishes to Donegal going forward.
Sadly the year as a whole will go down as a failure for Meath. We remain in Division and were humilated twice by Kildare. We only bet Louth and Sligo in the championship but in fairness to Andy the lads did put in a great shift tonight. Onwards and upwards for 2018.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 08/07/2017 21:25:29    2012541

Hard luck Meath, any one point defeat is hard to take. Would have been good for Leinster football if Meath had progressed. It was hard fought stuff by the sounds of it.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 08/07/2017 21:27:53    2012545

Replying To royaldunne:  "Congratulations to Donegal and the huge support you brought.
I have very mixed emotions after that, hugely disappointed but also so proud of the effort by all the lads, a great game of football, got to say neither team deserve to lose and we had a genuine call for free at death denied.
We have made progress and next year I think we will see another improvement.
Thank you to Andy all the back room staff, Graham and all the lads, you give so much to the cause ,
Best wishes to Donegal for the remaining of the year.
Hon the Royal"
Thought he were certs for the qtr finals royal Dunne
Disappointing enough really .... good luck in 2018 ... can't get much worse anyways !!!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 08/07/2017 21:50:01    2012572

Tough on Meath but a good result for Donegal. If they were in Ulster Meath would clearly be very competitive but Dublins dominance of Leinster makes it very difficult for them to build any real momentum or have any expectation of silverware. Promotion next year has to be a priority for them.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/07/2017 22:09:17    2012587

Congrats to Donegal. They have some seriously good players, and although they have yet to hit top form, they are still capable of beating most teams. Great day for Ulster football with Armagh and Monaghan also progressing.

2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 08/07/2017 22:17:48    2012596

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Disallowed goal in first half was ridiculous and some really soft frees for Meath especially the last one and the one where he booked Murphy. Ref did his best to keep Meath in it. Improved performances from Ryan McHugh, Ban and Jason McGee. Caolan Ward looks like a serious man marker."
Murphy struck our player in the face..Get a grip!! The referee was very poor and a lot of decision's went against Meath !!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/07/2017 22:35:46    2012615

Replying To 2setsofrules:  "Congrats to Donegal. They have some seriously good players, and although they have yet to hit top form, they are still capable of beating most teams. Great day for Ulster football with Armagh and Monaghan also progressing."
Nah we want to stay in Leinster, just want Dublin and Kildare to move!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 08/07/2017 22:44:09    2012627

irony: meath fans complaining about 'awful refereeing decisions" that cost them in a big game. Still, at least you hadn't your heart broken in your biggest game in 50+ years wha....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2017 22:45:12    2012628

Replying To waynoI:  "irony: meath fans complaining about 'awful refereeing decisions" that cost them in a big game. Still, at least you hadn't your heart broken in your biggest game in 50+ years wha...."
I have never seen a dub comment on Meath so much ? You must be a bored man ,I would rather chew glass than give a damn about you lot !! Good luck for the rest of the year !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/07/2017 23:14:28    2012656

Another great game, really thought Meath had done the missus was certain her county was back but even i feel for them, it was an amazing game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 08/07/2017 23:34:23    2012665

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Murphy struck our player in the face..Get a grip!! The referee was very poor and a lot of decision's went against Meath !!"
Donegal had a perfectly good goal disallowed and am not fan of Murphy but he struck nobody

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/07/2017 23:38:05    2012669

Well done rd gr8 to have July and August to plan for next year.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 08/07/2017 23:46:10    2012677

Replying To arock:  "Another great game, really thought Meath had done the missus was certain her county was back but even i feel for them, it was an amazing game."
Stop lying man. You're happy out.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/07/2017 00:05:24    2012687