Meath vs Donegal

Replying To tiobraid:  "If Meath lose will McEntee walk or be pushed? He can only play with what he has but if they lose this it'll be another step backwards"
He will do neither, this is more than a one year task and everyone is quite accepting of that fact, there is plenty of hard work going on to improve standards but it won't happen overnight, small steps lead to big leaps and so forth.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/07/2017 15:26:43    2011549

Replying To tiobraid:  "If Meath lose will McEntee walk or be pushed? He can only play with what he has but if they lose this it'll be another step backwards"
Neither, Meath at low point when he took over and all concerned realised it will take time to improve

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 06/07/2017 18:03:54    2011599

Replying To Richieq:  "He will do neither, this is more than a one year task and everyone is quite accepting of that fact, there is plenty of hard work going on to improve standards but it won't happen overnight, small steps lead to big leaps and so forth."
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2017 18:10:12    2011604

What sort of style does McEntee have Meath playing? I watched the game against Kildare on Sky and he seemed to be deploying a sweeper but not with much success. Does he favour a more traditional game with direct ball into the forwards? Kildare caused Meath a lot of problems by delivering the ball early and fast to the full forward line but I doubt if Donegal will play this way. It's going to be an interesting match and hopefully whoever wins it can kickstart their season.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 07/07/2017 15:35:58    2012032

Out of curiosity who would you and Pan of dropped in place of Gillespie assuming everyone else was fit and available for selection?I thought Rory got our starting teams bang on last year and was always happy with the team he selected. He let himself down with his use of the bench and tactically in big games and although his use of the bench has improved this year the tactics haven't. I completely understand and agree with supporters not being happy with Rory tactictally but to say he should of played younger players last year who don't look physically up to it this year is absolute nonsense.
Mobot (Donegal) - Posts:248 - 06/07/2017 08:25:35

For me Kieran Gillespie and Martin McElhinney are definite starters in this current squad, most likely at the expense of Jamie Brennan and Eoin McHugh. I would also consider starting Karl Lacey at Right Corner Back in place of Caolan Ward, as Lacey is still razor sharp in the tackle and corner back could still suit him.

I would place Michael Murphy at Left Corner Forward, and give Martin McElhinney and Hugh McFadden defensive midfield roles providing physical cover to our half back line against runners coming through the middle. Place Jason McGee in a more advanced midfield role in front of McElhinney/McFadden, and utilise his excellent kicking ability a bit more.

LCF: Michael Murphy RCF: Patrick McBrearty

LWF: Ryan McHugh RWF: Ciaran Thompson

Attacking Midfielder: Jason McGee

Defensive Midfield 1: Martin McElhinney. Defensive Midfield 2: Hugh McFadden

Sweeper or Runner to link the play: Martin O'Reilly/Caolan Ward/Mark McHugh

LWB: Frank McGlynn CHB: Kieran Gillespie RWB: Eoghan Ban Gallagher

LCB: Paddy McGrath FB: Neil McGee RCB: Karl Lacey

GK: Mark Anthony McGinley

I think the above team would address some of Donegal's current issues, in shoring up the defence while keeping out most capable scoring players in advanced positions.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 07/07/2017 18:46:02    2012099

Replying To Commodore:  "Out of curiosity who would you and Pan of dropped in place of Gillespie assuming everyone else was fit and available for selection?I thought Rory got our starting teams bang on last year and was always happy with the team he selected. He let himself down with his use of the bench and tactically in big games and although his use of the bench has improved this year the tactics haven't. I completely understand and agree with supporters not being happy with Rory tactictally but to say he should of played younger players last year who don't look physically up to it this year is absolute nonsense.

For me Kieran Gillespie and Martin McElhinney are definite starters in this current squad, most likely at the expense of Jamie Brennan and Eoin McHugh. I would also consider starting Karl Lacey at Right Corner Back in place of Caolan Ward, as Lacey is still razor sharp in the tackle and corner back could still suit him.

I would place Michael Murphy at Left Corner Forward, and give Martin McElhinney and Hugh McFadden defensive midfield roles providing physical cover to our half back line against runners coming through the middle. Place Jason McGee in a more advanced midfield role in front of McElhinney/McFadden, and utilise his excellent kicking ability a bit more.

I think the above team would address some of Donegal's current issues, in shoring up the defence while keeping out most capable scoring players in advanced positions."
Not having a pop. But those positional names sound more like out of the NFL than gaa football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2017 20:04:48    2012117

Replying To Commodore:  "Out of curiosity who would you and Pan of dropped in place of Gillespie assuming everyone else was fit and available for selection?I thought Rory got our starting teams bang on last year and was always happy with the team he selected. He let himself down with his use of the bench and tactically in big games and although his use of the bench has improved this year the tactics haven't. I completely understand and agree with supporters not being happy with Rory tactictally but to say he should of played younger players last year who don't look physically up to it this year is absolute nonsense.

I think the above team would address some of Donegal's current issues, in shoring up the defence while keeping out most capable scoring players in advanced positions."
Have you emailed the county board about this? Sounds like you could be the man to bring Sam back to the hills.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 07/07/2017 21:04:12    2012146

Interesting thoughts but a couple of points. Firstly, I would only play Hugh McFadden at full forward with the strict instruction to stay in there at all times. In my opinion it has been shown time and time again that he just lacks pace for out the field and not for the lack of effort just spends the game chasing shadows. At least in at full forward he can keep defenders guessing and give an extra option rather than have Paddy trying to win ball against 2 or 3 defenders with little support. In an ideal world I would have MM in there with a corner forward flanked each side to take away some of the pressure but that is just not going to happen with RG at the helm. Michael had a good league at midfield but it has not really worked in the championship. I can imagine the management in the likes of Mayo, Tyrone, Dublin and Kerry are scratching their heads in bewilderment with how Donegal are using Michael. In my opinion all game plans should be planned around having the best full forward playing in there. Yes he gets suffocated but that is because of the slow build up play. Can you imagine Michael in the Kerry or Dublin full forward lines? Be a scary prospect esp in Kerry with Geaney and O'Donoghue stretching any full back lines to free him up. Good point on Jason McGee. Jason is an excellent of foot passer of either foot but this has been coached out of him at the moment I feel. We even seen evidence of this with the U-21's but he is a young lad who will be some player in a couple of years especially if he gets the right management structure with Donegal. That is a big 'IF' given the Donegal county board.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 07/07/2017 21:28:26    2012159

I would probably start Karl Lacey myself. Possibly in the full back line also. Does anybody remember what a fantastic foot passer Karl was? The ball he played into MM in the 2012 AI final was as good as you will see. This type of skill from Karl is now a distant memory since RG took over despite the injuries etc.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 07/07/2017 21:32:44    2012160

Replying To royaldunne:  "

Not having a pop. But those positional names sound more like out of the NFL than gaa football."
Hardly.

Sweeper is an often used term.

Attacking midfielder and a sitting midfielder would be common enough terms. You can't have been in too many actual dressing rooms down the years

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 07/07/2017 21:49:02    2012166

Not having a pop. But those positional names sound more like out of the NFL than gaa football.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:11631 - 07/07/2017 20:04:48 20

In fairness traditional positions don't represent how teams really line out.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 07/07/2017 22:05:45    2012174

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=Commodore:  "Out of curiosity who would you and Pan of dropped in place of Gillespie assuming everyone else was fit and available for selection?I thought Rory got our starting teams bang on last year and was always happy with the team he selected. He let himself down with his use of the bench and tactically in big games and although his use of the bench has improved this year the tactics haven't. I completely understand and agree with supporters not being happy with Rory tactictally but to say he should of played younger players last year who don't look physically up to it this year is absolute nonsense.

Not having a pop. But those positional names sound more like out of the NFL than gaa football."
Hardly.

Sweeper is an often used term.

Attacking midfielder and a sitting midfielder would be common enough terms. You can't have been in too many actual dressing rooms down the years"]Been in plenty actually, both as a player and coach. (uoto and including intermediate county final as coach) and attacking holding defensive midfielder? Never used them and I would say martin McHugh never heard them during his playing days . I accept it was different then. But football existed in a different form prior to 2010.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2017 22:21:19    2012183

Replying To TheFlaker:  "

Have you emailed the county board about this? Sounds like you could be the man to bring Sam back to the hills."
He could do a job in Mayo, send the details to your county board.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 07/07/2017 22:51:19    2012195

Replying To EDH:  "
Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=Commodore:  "Out of curiosity who would you and Pan of dropped in place of Gillespie assuming everyone else was fit and available for selection?I thought Rory got our starting teams bang on last year and was always happy with the team he selected. He let himself down with his use of the bench and tactically in big games and although his use of the bench has improved this year the tactics haven't. I completely understand and agree with supporters not being happy with Rory tactictally but to say he should of played younger players last year who don't look physically up to it this year is absolute nonsense.

Have you emailed the county board about this? Sounds like you could be the man to bring Sam back to the hills."
He could do a job in Mayo, send the details to your county board."]Are we going to name every county, bar Dublin and Kerry, before this joke runs it's course?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/07/2017 23:58:19    2012222

Best of luck to Meath.
I can't see ye winning, but I hope ye do.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 08/07/2017 00:32:51    2012234

Really fancy Meath here, the Sligo game was always going to be tough for them. With the home crowd behind them, I think they can snatch it by a point or 2.

Kiwiq (Kildare) - Posts: 38 - 08/07/2017 05:24:24    2012248

Nervy but we are through.

A better performance with Ryan McHugh the difference in the last 15 mins.

Hopefully we can kick on from here.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/07/2017 19:40:39    2012451

Hard luck Meath

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 08/07/2017 19:52:18    2012466

Well that was tense. Senior players really stepped up to the plate in the second half with some huge scores. Still very laboured in attack, but at this stage, a win is win

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 08/07/2017 20:03:32    2012479

Well done to Donegal, great set of travelling fans, the man with the bagpipes was a bit of craic. It was a good game of football, much better than last week's dross from both teams, it had a real championship atmosphere and played in beautiful weather. Donegal's score to win it was outstanding, and fairplay to all the their fans who made the long trip, all the best going forward.

Hard luck to our lads, never really found any sort of consistency over the summer but it's early days yet for this management team, they need to be given a fair crack at it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/07/2017 20:23:27    2012493