Tipp vs Dublin (hurling)

Replying To WildPundit:  "As bad as people think Kilkenny are they are streets ahead of Tipp at the moment. I'd back KK to reach the final before Tipp.
Tipp looked a tired team Saturday they are either burnt out from the phenomenal effort of last two years or they are so far off the pace it looks like there not even training as each player was as clueless as the next.
Seamus Callinan in comparison to his fantastic work rate last year seems to me a little disinterested. The 2 Maher brothers have been been poor by their standards.John McGrath is the only player from last year who looks like he wants to hurl.
Don't care what anyone says there is something not right in this Tipp team you don't get thrashed by Galway, get beaten soft by Cork without raising s gallop and no disrespect to Westmeath we should be winning those games by double digits. This team had a chance to dominate for 2 or 3 years but because of a few different things the advantage is back with everyone else and it's Tipp who are chasing their coat tails.
We're finished yet again for 5 years at least just like in 2010.
A harsh post but that's my general feeling I even didn't renew my yearly supporters club membership which I've been paying into for over 15 years for certain reasons that will not be posted by admin."
It's a joke really. If Ryan steps down at the end of our season we are screwed.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/07/2017 12:04:12    2010310

Replying To CrubeenBlue:  "Damo,
If it is a nil all draw I will do a naked hand stand in all 32 County Grounds."
Watch out for the thistles in Casement!! ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 04/07/2017 12:29:23    2010334

Replying To cavanman47:  "Watch out for the thistles in Casement!! ;)"
Long time since I seen two teams dismiss their chances as much as this and for once nobody is being cute , both actually believe we are that poor .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/07/2017 14:45:27    2010462

Had to laugh when I heard Conal Keeney complaining about how unfair it was that Tipp had home advantage for this game.

Not big on irony is young Keeney!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/07/2017 15:03:38    2010477

Replying To Killarney.87:  "It's a joke really. If Ryan steps down at the end of our season we are screwed."
I totally agree with everything Killarney 87 says my thoughts exactly

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 04/07/2017 15:14:23    2010484

Replying To tiobraidArann:  "I totally agree with everything Killarney 87 says my thoughts exactly"
Yeah it's insert year after winning the all-Ireland all over again.

I knew Galway would be strong this year but we should be up there with them and on current form a repeat of the league final would happen if we meet them again.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/07/2017 15:54:32    2010505

we all know there is trouble in the tipp camp and certain players can try to cover it up if they want to
the bottom line is that these players need to cop on and grow up
they are representing tipp and no one man is better than tipp so if they don't want to make the effort over childishness and immaturity well then there is plenty of room on the subs bench and let in lads who want to wear the jersey

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 04/07/2017 21:16:17    2010708

Replying To tiobraidArann:  "we all know there is trouble in the tipp camp and certain players can try to cover it up if they want to
the bottom line is that these players need to cop on and grow up
they are representing tipp and no one man is better than tipp so if they don't want to make the effort over childishness and immaturity well then there is plenty of room on the subs bench and let in lads who want to wear the jersey"
Bring back Babs. He'd sort them out fairly quick. :-)

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 05/07/2017 02:07:26    2010815

Tipp in their own backyard, and Dublin have been hemorrhaging players for over a year!

Can only one result

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/07/2017 08:48:09    2010828

What is actually going on in Tipp lads? Have the players to be beating this depleted dublin team by 20+ points

Ryanwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 05/07/2017 11:50:49    2010898

Replying To Ryanwex:  "What is actually going on in Tipp lads? Have the players to be beating this depleted dublin team by 20+ points"
Rumours flying around few weeks ago are untrue. Players just look so flat, I'm hearing that Mick Ryan is holding them back to peak for quarter finals and that they have trained the night before or morning of matches. I don't believe this something is just not right you just can't hold a team back and press a switch and they just turn on a performance. Hopefully I'm wrong and we see them perform this weekend but I can only see a Dublin win.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/07/2017 12:14:26    2010911

Replying To Ryanwex:  "What is actually going on in Tipp lads? Have the players to be beating this depleted dublin team by 20+ points"
We have the players to beat any team by 20 points. A lot of us Tipp posters here are genuine but really we all know what is going on but admin can't post it and they are correct not to post it.
It's personal stuff and as was mentioned it's childish and some players have bigger ego's than others.
Every all Ireland goes to our head and same dung the year after we win stuck in reverse.
When I look back on the posts from the silly season Jan Feb Mar and see how Tipp were being talked up I laugh.
If we picked 15 random club players to play Saturday you'd see at least an effort other than the current crop at this moment in time.
I'm waiting for Tipp to burst into life don't think we'll see it this year. When things start bad they end bad.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 05/07/2017 12:53:41    2010941

If I were Dublin, I would be refusing to play this match in Thurles. Having played Tipp there 2-3 years ago, I think it should be in Parnell if that is the case.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 05/07/2017 13:42:28    2010969

Replying To WildPundit:  "We have the players to beat any team by 20 points. A lot of us Tipp posters here are genuine but really we all know what is going on but admin can't post it and they are correct not to post it.
It's personal stuff and as was mentioned it's childish and some players have bigger ego's than others.
Every all Ireland goes to our head and same dung the year after we win stuck in reverse.
When I look back on the posts from the silly season Jan Feb Mar and see how Tipp were being talked up I laugh.
If we picked 15 random club players to play Saturday you'd see at least an effort other than the current crop at this moment in time.
I'm waiting for Tipp to burst into life don't think we'll see it this year. When things start bad they end bad."
Aye, Iv'e heard some stuff alright but had assumed it was just media bluster after the loss against cork. Still Dublin are a shambles at the moment and I wouldn't like meeting ye in the quarter finals all the same! Too much quality in the forwards similar to Galway. Would have no fear of Kilkenny or Waterford this year.

Ryanwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 05/07/2017 13:47:35    2010974

What's the odds on some big names being dropped. Will we see Richie Hogan also dropped for KK?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2017 15:01:58    2011013

Replying To tiobraid:  "What's the odds on some big names being dropped. Will we see Richie Hogan also dropped for KK?"
Hard one to call Mick Ryan is never afraid to make changes but in this instance no one is playing good not even the guys who were given a chance in the league.
Doubt Cody will drop Hogan it's games like this you will see Richie make hay. The outrageous performances he has put in last few years out weigh the last two games. I expect him to start and perform against Waterford.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 05/07/2017 16:14:06    2011053

Replying To WildPundit:  "Hard one to call Mick Ryan is never afraid to make changes but in this instance no one is playing good not even the guys who were given a chance in the league.
Doubt Cody will drop Hogan it's games like this you will see Richie make hay. The outrageous performances he has put in last few years out weigh the last two games. I expect him to start and perform against Waterford."
I think there'll definitely be one big casualty in the Tipp team. Who that is remains to be seen.
I'd actually be surprised if Hogan starts for KK. I'd disagree that he's been excellent the last two years, I think his and Reid's form have dropped substantially,

Any idea what crowd is expected on Saturday?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/07/2017 09:21:23    2011358

Replying To tiobraid:  "I think there'll definitely be one big casualty in the Tipp team. Who that is remains to be seen.
I'd actually be surprised if Hogan starts for KK. I'd disagree that he's been excellent the last two years, I think his and Reid's form have dropped substantially,

Any idea what crowd is expected on Saturday?"
Heard yesterday morning that 30k tickets were sold.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 06/07/2017 12:40:01    2011461

Replying To tiobraid:  "I think there'll definitely be one big casualty in the Tipp team. Who that is remains to be seen.

Any idea what crowd is expected on Saturday?"
If I'm honest only John McGrath deserves his place. Someone will dropped for the abject performances in the last 3 games.

On Richie Hogan I still think his too big a player to drop Cody may throw caution to the wind but again his not afraid to drop big name stars in the past but he always had a guy to bring in where as at this stage I dont know who could take his place. Reid is popping over the free's rarely missing so his needed. Just my opinion I didnt see Limerick game so I assume he was accurate 99% of the time!!

Both stands are sold out I had to make do with a terrace ticket first time in ages might bring my recliner!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 06/07/2017 14:48:26    2011533