Buff Egan and Croke Park Wifi

Replying To Ban:  "I had similar feelings on his coverage of both these events. I think its probably a side that he'd need to refine if he was to start working closer with the GAA or anyone else for that matter."
I don't think the GAA will ever work with him for that reason, if they did some nay-sayers would bring up old offensive posts on social media and he'd be cancelled as things are these days rightly or wrongly.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1728 - 03/11/2022 13:58:12    2446346

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "why do so many people in this country resent anyone doing well for themselves."
Thats genuinely funny seeing as its in support of a fella that has that exact same problem of resenting people doing well for themselves!!!

Honestly some of the stuff this fella comes out with is primary school stuff, i mean when what age is he? He was tweeting during a prime time programme about abuse in the gaa complaining that no one was highlighting the abuse where southern GAA players were calling northern players british ++++!!

Never mind the other stuff as others have mentioned, if he wants to be taken seriously he might want to grow up a bit.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 03/11/2022 14:15:02    2446349

Replying To tearintom:  "Thats genuinely funny seeing as its in support of a fella that has that exact same problem of resenting people doing well for themselves!!!

Honestly some of the stuff this fella comes out with is primary school stuff, i mean when what age is he? He was tweeting during a prime time programme about abuse in the gaa complaining that no one was highlighting the abuse where southern GAA players were calling northern players british ++++!!

Never mind the other stuff as others have mentioned, if he wants to be taken seriously he might want to grow up a bit."
lad you are talking in riddles. We all know he isnt the brightest spark but there is no disputing the fact that what he does for the GAA is hugely positive, and as others have said, young lads go mad for him.

All Im saying is that its about time he gets looked after by the GAA for the service he is providing. I dont know the lad and ive never met him I only see what he does be putting on the apps.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 03/11/2022 14:50:11    2446352

Replying To tearintom:  "Thats genuinely funny seeing as its in support of a fella that has that exact same problem of resenting people doing well for themselves!!!

Never mind the other stuff as others have mentioned, if he wants to be taken seriously he might want to grow up a bit."
Yeah. I recognise that Buff has many fans all right, but have to say I'm not one of them. And he's far too immature and too much of a wildcard to ever be part of some sort of official partnership with the GAA, as one or two on here have suggested.

Not much has changed in that regard since this thread was actually started all the way back in 2017.....!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 03/11/2022 14:52:06    2446353

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I don't think the GAA will ever work with him for that reason, if they did some nay-sayers would bring up old offensive posts on social media and he'd be cancelled as things are these days rightly or wrongly."
Yeah unfortunately he is too politically incorrect. Doesn't know when to stay sthum. Just doesnt have that bit of savvy to realise that sometimes less is more. I wish the guy well and I hope he minds himself because if he doesn't I'd fear for him in the long run.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 03/11/2022 15:03:28    2446354

I dont get your response to other posters post either. Your points are not relevant to that exact post.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/11/2022 15:14:16    2446355

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "lad you are talking in riddles. We all know he isnt the brightest spark but there is no disputing the fact that what he does for the GAA is hugely positive, and as others have said, young lads go mad for him.

All Im saying is that its about time he gets looked after by the GAA for the service he is providing. I dont know the lad and ive never met him I only see what he does be putting on the apps."
He has a history himself of having a go at others doing well for themselves!

The lad is a complete and utter loose cannon, how could the GAA even associate themselves with him?

If he stopped acting like some teenage hard man republican (whilst ironically sharing multiple vides of Sunderland games) and had a bit of cop on he would be in a fantastic situation where he could have formed some real partnerships and done well for himself.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 03/11/2022 16:17:57    2446363

He is immature at times. But I heard him interviewed one time and think he's a smart fella. I was judging him by how he looks and speaks but not what he was saying.

A lad I work with in his late 20s, with nearly zero interest in GAA, was on about Buff. Loves the craic on the stuff he posts online. I was half amazed that he was. Cos he does post a fair bit of rubbish too, clickbaiting . So I think Buff has something that too many in the GAA haven't. He's a likeable man. He's tapped into the youth market and sparked their interest in the GAA, mainly hurling. I think the Sunday game needs a few characters like Buff who can see what the younger audience are into online and can generate more interest in a time when too many of them aren't so interested in sorts.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/11/2022 16:26:00    2446365

Replying To tearintom:  "He has a history himself of having a go at others doing well for themselves!

The lad is a complete and utter loose cannon, how could the GAA even associate themselves with him?

If he stopped acting like some teenage hard man republican (whilst ironically sharing multiple vides of Sunderland games) and had a bit of cop on he would be in a fantastic situation where he could have formed some real partnerships and done well for himself."
I will say one thing about him, at least he does it because he loves the game and is not a complete mercenary for the moolah like that gobs1te from Meath with his 'stories' that aren't even remotely funny. But I agree he'd have to tone down the politics if he was to be anyway marketable... brands don't want to know about hardcore political views...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/11/2022 16:32:09    2446367

Replying To tearintom:  "He has a history himself of having a go at others doing well for themselves!

If he stopped acting like some teenage hard man republican (whilst ironically sharing multiple vides of Sunderland games) and had a bit of cop on he would be in a fantastic situation where he could have formed some real partnerships and done well for himself."
100%. Things like Rory's Stories and The Two Johnnies started out in much the same way, and they've done well for themselves, thanks to a bit of savvy and cop-on.

Buff would have had a chance of doing the same, and I'd guess some sort of association with the GAA or maybe a guest spot on radio or television wouldn't have been out of the question if he'd done things a bit differently along the way. But that ship has probably long ago sailed for him, because as you say, he's still far too much of a loose cannon.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 03/11/2022 16:47:39    2446372

Replying To Square_B:  "I will say one thing about him, at least he does it because he loves the game and is not a complete mercenary for the moolah like that gobs1te from Meath with his 'stories' that aren't even remotely funny. But I agree he'd have to tone down the politics if he was to be anyway marketable... brands don't want to know about hardcore political views..."
Rory and his stories are fairly funny if you've a sense of humour.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/11/2022 18:48:41    2446394

Replying To Pikeman96:  "100%. Things like Rory's Stories and The Two Johnnies started out in much the same way, and they've done well for themselves, thanks to a bit of savvy and cop-on.

Buff would have had a chance of doing the same, and I'd guess some sort of association with the GAA or maybe a guest spot on radio or television wouldn't have been out of the question if he'd done things a bit differently along the way. But that ship has probably long ago sailed for him, because as you say, he's still far too much of a loose cannon."
Maybe Buff doesn't have influence with those who really matter ..... the media can make or break a person.

bruffgael (Limerick) - Posts: 144 - 03/11/2022 19:24:58    2446399

Replying To Square_B:  "I will say one thing about him, at least he does it because he loves the game and is not a complete mercenary for the moolah like that gobs1te from Meath with his 'stories' that aren't even remotely funny. But I agree he'd have to tone down the politics if he was to be anyway marketable... brands don't want to know about hardcore political views..."
Funny you mention Rory's Stories at almost exactly the same time as myself, and like you, I don't find him particularly funny or entertaining either. But point remains that he had the savvy to turn an internet presence into a good living for himself, while the other fella didn't.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 03/11/2022 19:53:31    2446406

Considering we're in the throes of attempting to encourage more or even some respect for referees it would be ridiculous in my opinion to give this Buff lad any extra access to Croke Park. His chastising of referees is a notable feature of his commentaries and I think portrays him in a very poor light.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1501 - 03/11/2022 20:19:07    2446414

Replying To Pikeman96:  "100%. Things like Rory's Stories and The Two Johnnies started out in much the same way, and they've done well for themselves, thanks to a bit of savvy and cop-on.

Buff would have had a chance of doing the same, and I'd guess some sort of association with the GAA or maybe a guest spot on radio or television wouldn't have been out of the question if he'd done things a bit differently along the way. But that ship has probably long ago sailed for him, because as you say, he's still far too much of a loose cannon."
Don't really think you can compare Buff and Rory's stories given 1 got famous from sketches and the other from recording matches, only thing in common really was both using social media to raise their profile.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1728 - 03/11/2022 21:50:26    2446423

You are absolutely right tearintom, imagine the GAA having anything to do with someone who would post like he did about anybody's death.
I was also extremely disappointed with Anthony Daly geeing him on in the replies to his postings about the queen's death.
Sometimes you are best off saying nothing.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 04/11/2022 09:40:29    2446432

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Funny you mention Rory's Stories at almost exactly the same time as myself, and like you, I don't find him particularly funny or entertaining either. But point remains that he had the savvy to turn an internet presence into a good living for himself, while the other fella didn't."
Not disagreeing with your point but maybe he doesn't want to be a mercenary for moolah and you have to respect him for that. I read on his Instagtam page recently he was offered a courtesy car by two different garages and turned both down preferring to buy a car himself (and a banger at that). More fool to the garages that do sponsor cars because it doesn't make a blind bit of difference to most people.... if the brand is ***** I'm still not going to buy it.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/11/2022 11:48:09    2446447

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Rory and his stories are fairly funny if you've a sense of humour."
The humour bar must be fairly low in your household.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/11/2022 12:01:15    2446456

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Don't really think you can compare Buff and Rory's stories given 1 got famous from sketches and the other from recording matches, only thing in common really was both using social media to raise their profile."
But that's exactly the comparison I'm making, and the contrast I'm drawing. Others have shown that if there's a market for something, you can grab a nice slice of it for yourself by building up a strong social media profile and then capitalising on it.

The Rory's Stories fella (don't know his surname) is one example. The Two Johnnies are another. There's also The Hardy Bucks from a few years ago, who started out with YouTube sketches, and went to have a TV series and a movie. There was a place in the market for everything all of those people did, and they were able to make that work for them.

Similarly, there's surely a place in the market for a slightly irreverent, tongue-in-cheek, "let's have the craic" type of GAA coverage. Buff's social media presence would have been a hell of a good way for him to start getting a share of it, but he never managed to do so, for the reasons already outlined.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 04/11/2022 12:44:09    2446467

Replying To Square_B:  "Not disagreeing with your point but maybe he doesn't want to be a mercenary for moolah and you have to respect him for that. I read on his Instagtam page recently he was offered a courtesy car by two different garages and turned both down preferring to buy a car himself (and a banger at that). More fool to the garages that do sponsor cars because it doesn't make a blind bit of difference to most people.... if the brand is ***** I'm still not going to buy it."
If that's true, and it's highly unlikely it is, he's again playing the victim card.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 05/11/2022 09:31:56    2446527