Dublin bullying of media...

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "You're making the non-call on the Crowley hit bigger than it was. It would have given Kerry a 50 yard free to level the game. Hardly a gimme. And Dublin would still have 2 minutes to score the winner, and being in total dominance at the time it is most likely that they would have scored, as Connolly did. And Keegan fouled Connolly in the replay. It was arguably a black card 7 refs out of 10 would say black, 3 yellow. Mayo didn't suffer because of Keegan's absence, they defended well only conceded 5 points in second half. Goalkeeping error cost them Sam. So these incidents shouldn't be seen as huge calls going Dublin's way."
Sometimes posters on here just make the daftest statements. You can argue about the black card if you want but to say Mayo didn't suffer when Keegan went off is one of the stupidest statements I have ever read, ever. You don't have to make stupid points just to try and prove a point. Mayo last by a point and lacked a cutting edge especially in the last 10 minutes. Keegan was one of our main scorers and attacking platforms, in case you missed the other games and the first half in the build up to the soft black card. Reading an awful lot of mush from Dubs posters in the last couple of weeks lads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 03/07/2017 11:14:46    2009477

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Sometimes posters on here just make the daftest statements. You can argue about the black card if you want but to say Mayo didn't suffer when Keegan went off is one of the stupidest statements I have ever read, ever. You don't have to make stupid points just to try and prove a point. Mayo last by a point and lacked a cutting edge especially in the last 10 minutes. Keegan was one of our main scorers and attacking platforms, in case you missed the other games and the first half in the build up to the soft black card. Reading an awful lot of mush from Dubs posters in the last couple of weeks lads."
It was def a black card

Not as blatant as the 2015 off the ball challenge on Connolly but a black card all the same

His luck deservedly ran out

Are you suggesting that it wasn't a black card?

That would be fairly funny

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/07/2017 11:28:23    2009488

Replying To cavanman47:  "He was one of their main attacking threats too, scoring a goal in the 1st half. He was player of the year. Of course it was a big call.

As for 7 refs would give it - well those 7 refs would be wrong as a pull back is not a black card, a black card is awarded for pulling a player to ground. That did not happen. I'm not even sure how you can argue that point, everyone saw it and everyone who has internet access can read the rule book."
You're all correct lads. We haven't won an All-Ireland fairly since God knows when. Mayo are the real champions and Kerry are 'the keepers of the flame' of good football. If it wasn't for the 'free' cars and biased refs there wouldn't be a celtic cross in the county. The media, despite mostly coming from outside the pale, are all corporate shills working for Parnell Pk. and Dublin play all their matches 'at home'*.

We're sorry. We'll split the county in two so that a few other big counties can win the All-Ireland. Or should we split it into 10 and also split Cork, Limerick, Antrim, Galway, Meath and Kildare so that Carlow and Leitrim can compete on an even playing field? I know Meath, kildare or Antrim haven't won anything recently but they have these big populations you see and that's what it's all about. What chance do Kilkenny (hurling) or Monaghan (football) have against the Limericks and Kildares of this world?

Any money we get from headquarters we promise not to spend on putting GPOs into schools and clubs but we'll run up a huge debt building a white elephant out by the Lee, I mean M50, instead. Our sponsors will fill the gap you say? Don't worry, we'll stop competing with the hype and marketing behind soccer and rugby so that Dublin kids can go back to playing those games. Our playing pool will plummet and sponsors will run a mile from us. It's a win-win.

You'll miss us when we're gone though lads. Won't be the same heading up to Croke Park to play Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown or Fingal.

*Our home ground is Parnell Pk. Where our hurlers beat Laois last Saturday when Dublin had home advantage. Leinster council moves our matches to Croke Park to maximise its (and the 2 counties involved) revenues.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 03/07/2017 11:30:08    2009490

Replying To jimbodub:  "It was def a black card

Not as blatant as the 2015 off the ball challenge on Connolly but a black card all the same

His luck deservedly ran out

Are you suggesting that it wasn't a black card?

That would be fairly funny"
Funny that the poster I replied to reckons 30 per cent of refs wouldn't have thought so. I think it was 50/50 and I defo think it wouldn't have happened if the build up to the game wasn't dominated by the chat of Keegan constantly fouling Connolly which was nonsense as anyone at the games would have seen.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 03/07/2017 11:51:29    2009506

I'm going to miss this when we are not winning All Irealnds every year all the attention is a huge compliment, its like every planet rotating around the sun.

Look, we have had one of the best teams ever to grace the game, we have already dominated, history will judge this Dublin team, we dont need acknowledgment from anyone our confidence comes from within, our scope to improve and change comes from within. we do what we do and its successful..

The only choice open to us is to sit back and enjoy or sit back and be rattled.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/07/2017 12:00:53    2009523

Anyone who thinks Dublin do not use the media when it suits them like the attack on Keeghan before AI is a fool. Sometimes, the pendulum swings the other way! I still think that Connolly was poorly treated in the Carlow match

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/07/2017 12:03:10    2009528

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Funny that the poster I replied to reckons 30 per cent of refs wouldn't have thought so. I think it was 50/50 and I defo think it wouldn't have happened if the build up to the game wasn't dominated by the chat of Keegan constantly fouling Connolly which was nonsense as anyone at the games would have seen."
His luck deservedly ran out and it was a black card offence

Look at the reaction of Keegan and his fellow players

They all knew it

You can blame your own keeper for that one. Not the ref, not Connolly... Keegan knew that there was a genuine threat of a goal there and he did what he did to prevent that.

It was black card all day long for me and Deegan is a highly experienced ref and got it spot on

Lesser refs might have given a yellow alright but that would have been a bad decision considering the scenario

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/07/2017 12:03:17    2009529

Replying To jimbodub:  "His luck deservedly ran out and it was a black card offence

They all knew it

You can blame your own keeper for that one. Not the ref, not Connolly... Keegan knew that there was a genuine threat of a goal there and he did what he did to prevent that.

It was black card all day long for me and Deegan is a highly experienced ref and got it spot on

Lesser refs might have given a yellow alright but that would have been a bad decision considering the scenario"
You are entitled to your opinion by the way but I still think you are wrong. He initially holds Connolly for a split second by the jersey, his arm is over Connolly as he starts to run, he then takes his hand away away as they are running. Connolly then dives, that is actually what happened. You can say it is payback for 2015 but you are missing the point. I am highlighting the incident and what actually happened. Would love a bit of honesty on here from time to time. I don't blame Deegan for the loss and I never blame the ref for a loss, all my posts will show that especially on the 2014 semi final involving Cormac Reilly. I responded to the poster on this thread saying Keegan was a loss, that poster claimed he wasn't. We can debate the black card if you want but anyone who says Connolly was dragged to the ground is living in fantasy land.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI_bzJyj0tA

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 03/07/2017 12:24:01    2009548

Replying To Mickmick:  "You're all correct lads. We haven't won an All-Ireland fairly since God knows when. Mayo are the real champions and Kerry are 'the keepers of the flame' of good football. If it wasn't for the 'free' cars and biased refs there wouldn't be a celtic cross in the county. The media, despite mostly coming from outside the pale, are all corporate shills working for Parnell Pk. and Dublin play all their matches 'at home'*.

We're sorry. We'll split the county in two so that a few other big counties can win the All-Ireland. Or should we split it into 10 and also split Cork, Limerick, Antrim, Galway, Meath and Kildare so that Carlow and Leitrim can compete on an even playing field? I know Meath, kildare or Antrim haven't won anything recently but they have these big populations you see and that's what it's all about. What chance do Kilkenny (hurling) or Monaghan (football) have against the Limericks and Kildares of this world?

Any money we get from headquarters we promise not to spend on putting GPOs into schools and clubs but we'll run up a huge debt building a white elephant out by the Lee, I mean M50, instead. Our sponsors will fill the gap you say? Don't worry, we'll stop competing with the hype and marketing behind soccer and rugby so that Dublin kids can go back to playing those games. Our playing pool will plummet and sponsors will run a mile from us. It's a win-win.

You'll miss us when we're gone though lads. Won't be the same heading up to Croke Park to play Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown or Fingal.

*Our home ground is Parnell Pk. Where our hurlers beat Laois last Saturday when Dublin had home advantage. Leinster council moves our matches to Croke Park to maximise its (and the 2 counties involved) revenues."
A: Monaghan don't have to play Tyrone in Tyrone every year, Kilkenny don't play Tipperary in Tipperary every year. Imagine the uproar if they did. Do you think they wouldn't have something to say about it? Bernard Brogan scoring his first Championship scores outside Dublin this year just highlighted the fact.
B: For Parnell Park to be considered your home ground you have to actually play there every once in a while. Your league games are in Croke Park, even though it's only 15% full for a lot of them. Your Championship games are there, even a few years back when you went through the qualifiers all your games miraculously ended up being played in Croke Park. So less of the bull about Parnell Park being your "home". Your home is where you play, Dublin play in Croker no matter what, so that's your home.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 03/07/2017 12:46:38    2009572

Jesus H some of ye have a weird opinion of the role of the media.

There's talk in this thread that 'a biased media should be silenced', there's been a mention of professional punditry, and also that pundits are supposed to be neutral.

Says who?

RTE pundits are paid to talk about a march in the bits of time where there is no match being played. They are there to drum up interest in the game, both by talking it up beforehand and making a bit of noise during and after with the only aim being to persuade the viewers from switching to something else. That's it.

Pundits aren't refs, they are not GAA officials, they're just pundits. They don't actually matter.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 03/07/2017 13:03:22    2009582

Jesus H some of ye have a weird opinion of the role of the media.

There's talk in this thread that 'a biased media should be silenced', there's been a mention of professional punditry, and also that pundits are supposed to be neutral.

Says who?

RTE pundits are paid to talk about a march in the bits of time where there is no match being played. They are there to drum up interest in the game, both by talking it up beforehand and making a bit of noise during and after with the only aim being to persuade the viewers from switching to something else. That's it.

Pundits aren't refs, they are not GAA officials, they're just pundits. They don't actually matter.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 03/07/2017 13:06:54    2009585

Replying To jimbodub:  "His luck deservedly ran out and it was a black card offence

They all knew it

Lesser refs might have given a yellow alright but that would have been a bad decision considering the scenario"
I would respectfully suggest you read the rule book and rewatch the incident. Keegan pulled Connolly back, but did not pull him down. Not a black card.

Admittedly, within the spirit of the rule yes it's a black card, but the GAA have a habit of not being able to transmit the spirit of a rule to the rule itself. Hence so many getting off on technicalities, includingKeegan himself in the semi in 2014.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 03/07/2017 13:10:01    2009589

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "A smart man doesn't believe DC shouldn't serve his 12 week suspension."
Did Whealan say that? Where did he say that?

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 03/07/2017 13:24:06    2009601

Ariston and on and on and on and on.................!

Apologies to posters too young to remember this add!

A sensible Dublin camp would realise that the world around them is not perfect - and they need to do whats required to ensure the team have the best chance of succeeding.

Stop bringing unnecessary attention to yourself!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/07/2017 13:34:33    2009608

Replying To jason:  "I would respectfully suggest you read the rule book and rewatch the incident. Keegan pulled Connolly back, but did not pull him down. Not a black card.

Admittedly, within the spirit of the rule yes it's a black card, but the GAA have a habit of not being able to transmit the spirit of a rule to the rule itself. Hence so many getting off on technicalities, includingKeegan himself in the semi in 2014."
After a completely unexpected error very close to goal with defenders out of position, Keegan was forced to cynically react and interfere with a player off the ball in order to prevent the same player who had bought a yard on him from receiving possession and setting up / scoring a goal.

Just like Johnny Copper made cynical contact much further out the pitch to prevent a Mayo move from happening.

Sounds quite like two justified black cards to me and Deegan got both calls right.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/07/2017 14:02:49    2009634

I think the really sensible thing to do is take all the controversy on to the pitch and use it as motivation, to be honest we have required spark of motivation and now we have it.

At the end of the football is the great leveler and best way to answer your critics, i am a lot more confident then i was about being competitive about winning Sam then i was before the DC incident and Spillane dogma.

Its time to let the football do the talking.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/07/2017 14:13:45    2009641

Replying To jimbodub:  "After a completely unexpected error very close to goal with defenders out of position, Keegan was forced to cynically react and interfere with a player off the ball in order to prevent the same player who had bought a yard on him from receiving possession and setting up / scoring a goal.

Just like Johnny Copper made cynical contact much further out the pitch to prevent a Mayo move from happening.

Sounds quite like two justified black cards to me and Deegan got both calls right."
Again, I would respectfully request that you read the rulebook. In fact, I'll post the relevant section here:

Category II Infractions - Cynical Behaviour
5.10 To deliberately pull down an opponent.
5.11 To deliberately trip an opponent with hand(s), arm, leg or foot.
5.12 To deliberately collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play.
5.13 To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a Match Official.

PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Order the offender off by showing him a Black Card.
(ii) Allow a replacement from within the substitutions permitted in Rule 2.4, Rules of Specification.
(iii)Free kick from where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2.

5.14 To threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent or teammate.

(ii) Allow a replacement from within the substitutions permitted in Rule 2.4, Rules of Specification.
(iii)Where an opponent is involved - Free kick from where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2. Where a team-mate is involved - Throw in the ball where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions (v) and (vi) of Rule 2.2.

Keegan did not commit any of the above black card offences. He was definitely cynical in pulling Connolly's jersey, but he didn't pull him down. His foul does not come within the definition of a Category II infraction for 'Cynical Behaviour'. This is fact - there is no room for an alternative interpretation within the rules.

Cooper's black card was correct under 5.11 above.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 03/07/2017 14:54:41    2009675

Replying To jason:  "Again, I would respectfully request that you read the rulebook. In fact, I'll post the relevant section here:

5.12 To deliberately collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play.

(iii)Free kick from where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2.

5.14 To threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent or teammate.

(iii)Where an opponent is involved - Free kick from where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2. Where a team-mate is involved - Throw in the ball where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions (v) and (vi) of Rule 2.2.

Keegan did not commit any of the above black card offences. He was definitely cynical in pulling Connolly's jersey, but he didn't pull him down. His foul does not come within the definition of a Category II infraction for 'Cynical Behaviour'. This is fact - there is no room for an alternative interpretation within the rules.

Cooper's black card was correct under 5.11 above."
Would you not put Keegans infraction under 5.12:

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/07/2017 15:07:08    2009689

Replying To jimbodub:  "After a completely unexpected error very close to goal with defenders out of position, Keegan was forced to cynically react and interfere with a player off the ball in order to prevent the same player who had bought a yard on him from receiving possession and setting up / scoring a goal.

Sounds quite like two justified black cards to me and Deegan got both calls right."
Just to clarify Cooper got a black card for a hand trip, Small should have walked as well. Keegan pulled Connolly for a split second then let go, the 2 men then started running side by side Keegan has taken his hand away and at no point did he commit a black card offence. Connolly dived and conned the ref. If you don't know the rules then don't make arguments to suit your agenda. And people saying he got what was coming because of the year before won't cut it. Childish stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 03/07/2017 15:12:03    2009694

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To jason:  "Again, I would respectfully request that you read the rulebook. In fact, I'll post the relevant section here:

Cooper's black card was correct under 5.11 above."
Would you not put Keegans infraction under 5.12:
5.12 To deliberately collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play."
Thankfully Deegan did and Keegan finally got what was long due to him.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/07/2017 15:12:35    2009695