Jimmy's winning Chinese matches.

Fair play to him.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2017 20:53:32    2008141

People can debate whether or not he is the greatest GAA manager of all time, I don't care about that. But what other man could have achieved what he has done, regardless of whether or not he succeeds or not in pro soccer. Had just finished managing his local GAA club only 6 or 7 years ago and now he is assistant manager in a wealthy professional league and second in command to the ex Leverkusen manager. That doesn't happen with luck lads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 30/06/2017 21:03:22    2008147

Wishing him and his family every success
Incredible progress in just 4 years from a Dermot Desmond jesture to proving his worth at a very high professional level.

Hope he coins it in also as I assume this gives him a chance to secure financial well being of him and his family for years to come (likes of Villas Boas are on 11m Stg so assume the ex pat No 2's even though only on s fraction but aren't on the poverty line either. )

So it's nice to see someone get the rewards on the back of years of free Graft in the GAA world

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/06/2017 22:32:13    2008188

Replying To ruanua:  "Wishing him and his family every success
Incredible progress in just 4 years from a Dermot Desmond jesture to proving his worth at a very high professional level.

Hope he coins it in also as I assume this gives him a chance to secure financial well being of him and his family for years to come (likes of Villas Boas are on 11m Stg so assume the ex pat No 2's even though only on s fraction but aren't on the poverty line either. )

So it's nice to see someone get the rewards on the back of years of free Graft in the GAA world"
In spite of all that has been said before here, I think he must be doing something right and I have to say I admire his courage.

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 01/07/2017 00:17:04    2008217

'He got more medals than an Olympian Chinaman.' :-D

Kinda prophetic!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 01/07/2017 08:38:10    2008237

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads! Anyways, it's the Greeks he's after! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 01/07/2017 11:17:13    2008271

fair play to Jim. He said several years ago that he wanted to work in sports and the job titles he already has under his belt is impressive tp say the least.

China may not be the epicentre of soccer but he is working closely with a well renouned manager and if things go well there for both of them, they could be a duo in demand across Europe in the future.

I think Jimmy has an advantage over ex footballers turned coaches in general. He is educated to the highest level and has a proven record in another sport to bring to the table. Most ex footballers leave school before their GCSE's were given consideration and their badges are their only other life skill. Jim is cut from different cloth and I wish him the very best.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/07/2017 14:26:08    2008342

I'll tell you one thing anyway, Jim's next book is going to be some read, what a man, an absolute legend here in Donegal and I don't care what the begrudgers say, the good wishes of our fellow western men in Mayo and elsewhere are noted, always amazes me how bitter some Kerry folk are despite all they have won,
I think Mayo should have won that semi final in 2014 and I think they probably would have beaten us in that final, that is the one game I so regret us losing, I think it was the worst Kerry team I ever seen winning an All Ireland, no doubt either that Dublin would be going for 5 in a row this year but for the genius that is Jim Mc Guinness,
I wish Jim and his family the best of luck in China, I always hope he'll come back to Donegal someday, though I can see why he'd never want to have to deal with the muppets in the county board again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 01/07/2017 16:00:20    2008377

I for one rate McGuinness very highly, however I see many Donegal men rave about the quality of players they have, as I suppose any county would that have been lucky enough to se their county perform as Donegal have over the past 6 years.

However, are we saying McGuinness is legendary because he took average players to All Ireland Glory. Or did he have an exceptional bunch of players that he took to glory. If it is the latter then I would say legendary status is not right, just like I would never think to bestow that accolade on Counihan, who had achieved more in terms of silverware as a manager than McGuinness.

To put it another way, would you see anyone calling Claudio Ranieri a legend of the game even though he managed a team to the premiership that shouldbon paper have been relegated. No, you wouldn't because one swallow does not make a summer.

An innovative and clever manager yes. One of the greatest, no. Unless he goes back to Ireland and wins 2 or 3 more.

He's no Harte, Micko, Boylan, Heffernan or even Morgan just to name a few and there are others (O'Shea and O'Connor jump off the page).

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 02/07/2017 02:37:08    2008729