Galway vs Roscommon

Replying To mayo_123:  "Watch footage again and you will see i am right"
I did, handbags stuff, and I watched footage from Ennis too. Do you want COC and Harrison punished by footage also, not sure if you need to touch this can of worms. Hope Galway and Mayo can advance without controversy.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 10/07/2017 14:16:31    2014084

Replying To maroondiesel:  "What is the story with" the mark". In the Connacht Final Gough let Roscommon get the mark and solo it directly to goal, I though you had to get rid of the ball. Ref allowed mark and solo for Ros multiple times."
The mark does allow you to play on so not sure what you though mark was about .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/07/2017 16:06:32    2014222

18,000 is a poor enough attendance for a Connacht final. Did Roscommon have the majority? Looked to be a lot of them on the pitch afterwards.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 10/07/2017 18:49:49    2014378

Replying To paul39:  "Because Mayo blame everybody and every ref when they lose a game"
aw poor galway another flop no more than us ye should be getting used to it but yeah do have bigger flops the arogrence of some people here is unbelievable

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 10/07/2017 19:06:21    2014395

6000 less than drawn match in same venue last year. Put this down entirely to a lot of people bitten by the traffic chaos before and after last year and further evidence that Galways premier venue is in the wrong place. Majority of crowd were from Galway by 2:1 I would say.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 10/07/2017 20:17:46    2014448

Replying To yew_tree:  "18,000 is a poor enough attendance for a Connacht final. Did Roscommon have the majority? Looked to be a lot of them on the pitch afterwards."
Galway extremely complacent yesterday.

Still Roscommon were excellent given all the difficulties they faced this year. I remember being to a few football matches when Roscommon played in the league and i worked in Tullamore. I've never met more passionate supporters.

My fear for Roscommon is their a very light team. The Stack chap who got the second goal is an example. At present they lack the conditioning and physique to go toe to toe with the big guns. But that's for another day. Congrats on a Connacht title against the odds.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/07/2017 20:18:02    2014449

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "The mark does allow you to play on so not sure what you though mark was about ."
my bad, ur right, the rule is no hand passing after mark. At any rate Roscommon were awesome yesterday and are easily #1 in Connacht regardless

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 10/07/2017 20:19:49    2014450

18,000 is a good attendance. It is easily more than Connacht Rugby or Galway Utd get. Also there was 22k at the Mayo match a few weeks ago too. I was'nt at the match myself, I live in Galway. Well done to all who showed up.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 10/07/2017 21:29:38    2014507

Replying To facethepuckout:  "6000 less than drawn match in same venue last year. Put this down entirely to a lot of people bitten by the traffic chaos before and after last year and further evidence that Galways premier venue is in the wrong place. Majority of crowd were from Galway by 2:1 I would say."
18,000 at match on Sunday, 22,000 at Mayo match. Yeah attendances are poor LOL

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 10/07/2017 21:33:03    2014513

Replying To Belclare1:  "Nope if we start giving out about refs the media, the Sunday game, the cccc, the weather we will be just like Mayo.. Take our beating and move on. On a plus the minors made it 3 in a row in Connacht today. Some great young players coming through."
More like a pre 1989 Mayo.....

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/07/2017 21:56:54    2014536

Replying To facethepuckout:  "6000 less than drawn match in same venue last year. Put this down entirely to a lot of people bitten by the traffic chaos before and after last year and further evidence that Galways premier venue is in the wrong place. Majority of crowd were from Galway by 2:1 I would say."
I would say closer to 45 55 to Galway myself crowd wise. Probably would have been close to 23k If in Hyde. Alot of people in roscommon/east galway put off by salthill. Plus sligo would have alot less support for minors then roscommon/mayo would.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 10/07/2017 22:26:29    2014567

Totally agree, the worst stadium ingress and egress ever not to mention thr fact that Ive never been there when the wind wasnt howling in off thwme Atlantic carrying a few showers. Luckliy I have a friend living in Knocknacarra that I can stay with. It should never again be used for a big game but that's wishful thinking!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 10/07/2017 23:03:56    2014598

Replying To Belclare1:  "ye Mayo lads have it in for Comer.. I suggest you look at the brawl again and see who hit first..."
I have and yes Comer, anyway it has nothing to do with who started what, a striking offence or an attempted is a straight red, if you do the crime then you can take the punishment which is a straight red or a ban by the cccc, doesn't matter which county, did Higgins deserve a straight red v Galway? Yes, he was stupid enough to do the offence then he deserved what he got, the same with Durcan against Derry, same with Vaughan against Clare

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 10/07/2017 23:37:18    2014619

Replying To riverboys:  "I have and yes Comer, anyway it has nothing to do with who started what, a striking offence or an attempted is a straight red, if you do the crime then you can take the punishment which is a straight red or a ban by the cccc, doesn't matter which county, did Higgins deserve a straight red v Galway? Yes, he was stupid enough to do the offence then he deserved what he got, the same with Durcan against Derry, same with Vaughan against Clare"
should O Connor and Harrison get suspensions now?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 11/07/2017 17:04:32    2015084

Replying To Sindar:  "Totally agree, the worst stadium ingress and egress ever not to mention thr fact that Ive never been there when the wind wasnt howling in off thwme Atlantic carrying a few showers. Luckliy I have a friend living in Knocknacarra that I can stay with. It should never again be used for a big game but that's wishful thinking!"
I thought it was very well organised last sunday no traffic problems coming or going.i was home in less than two hours..the biggest problem is the wind and that cant be fixed.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 11/07/2017 18:12:31    2015127