Galway vs Roscommon

Why are the Mayo fans trying to make everything about them?

This thread is to discuss Galway/Ross.
Superb performance from Roscommon, fully deserved. I did not see that coming for a minute.
All of them played well but Enda Smith, Devenney and McManus especially good.

Hard to see Galway lifting themselves after that. A meltdown every bit as bad as the one v tipp last year

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 09/07/2017 21:32:30    2013408

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Why are the Mayo fans trying to make everything about them?

Superb performance from Roscommon, fully deserved. I did not see that coming for a minute.

Hard to see Galway lifting themselves after that. A meltdown every bit as bad as the one v tipp last year"
Because Mayo blame everybody and every ref when they lose a game

paul39 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 09/07/2017 22:16:47    2013462

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Why are the Mayo fans trying to make everything about them?

Hard to see Galway lifting themselves after that. A meltdown every bit as bad as the one v tipp last year"
Lol because there are some people from outside Mayo have a special interest in everything Mayo and make it so.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/07/2017 22:34:55    2013489

Replying To paul39:  "Because Mayo blame everybody and every ref when they lose a game"
There's a few Galway posters aiming at the ref today and there are usually a few poster from every county that blame the referee when there county lose but the to a lot of people it only Mayo.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/07/2017 22:36:39    2013493

Better team by a mile won .

This had nothing to do with the result but that was the worst referring I have ever witnessed.

I nearly couldn't watch it as it was so bad . Players train all week for that nonsense .

Shouldn't get near a GAA pitch at that level again . It's frightening.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/07/2017 22:40:53    2013501

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Better team by a mile won .

This had nothing to do with the result but that was the worst referring I have ever witnessed.

I nearly couldn't watch it as it was so bad . Players train all week for that nonsense .

Shouldn't get near a GAA pitch at that level again . It's frightening."
What are the odds on us both seeing him again on the 22nd?!

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 09/07/2017 22:53:46    2013512

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Better team by a mile won .

Shouldn't get near a GAA pitch at that level again . It's frightening."
Thank you! I can't believe some people said he was good and mcstay without being asked said he was brilliant. He was awful clearly favoured Roscommon. We got a point and he decided to take it off us and give a free (don't care if it was an easily scoreable free) . Comer gets a yellow for throwing the ball. He goes down with a wallop to the side of his head and play is not stopped and Roscommon are allowed to take there lockout. Bradshaw got a yellow for having his leg pulled there was numerous more incidents and this referee has form.

And this is not from someone who thinks my team were done out of connacht title. We weren't we played terribly and Roscommon absolutely deserved their victory but that doesn't excuse the referee bias

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 09/07/2017 23:03:33    2013520

Replying To galwayfball:  "Thank you! I can't believe some people said he was good and mcstay without being asked said he was brilliant. He was awful clearly favoured Roscommon. We got a point and he decided to take it off us and give a free (don't care if it was an easily scoreable free) . Comer gets a yellow for throwing the ball. He goes down with a wallop to the side of his head and play is not stopped and Roscommon are allowed to take there lockout. Bradshaw got a yellow for having his leg pulled there was numerous more incidents and this referee has form.

And this is not from someone who thinks my team were done out of connacht title. We weren't we played terribly and Roscommon absolutely deserved their victory but that doesn't excuse the referee bias"
No bias.He did give soft frees to both teams.I don't like soft frees particularly on a wet and windy day.Any focus on the ref would have no relevance as to why Roscommon won this match.Best of luck to Galway against Donegal.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 09/07/2017 23:10:09    2013527

Nope if we start giving out about refs the media, the Sunday game, the cccc, the weather we will be just like Mayo.. Take our beating and move on. On a plus the minors made it 3 in a row in Connacht today. Some great young players coming through.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 10/07/2017 00:22:21    2013589

No time to worry about refs. Great nite thus far from woodmount to johnntowns to kiltoom to Knockcroghery...and Ros town...Nite of celebration in Ros land....north of county tomorrow....well done...The Rossies roared today!!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 10/07/2017 00:29:28    2013593

Replying To riverboys:  "Galway v Donegal could be in either Dr Hyde Park Roscommon or in MacHale Park Castlebar. Cork v Mayo should be played in Cusack Park Ennis, at least Ennis is halfway between the 2 counties, Limerick isn't."
Cusack Park and GGs are about 30 minutes apart and the GGS is a far better venue

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 10/07/2017 04:19:35    2013620

I watched as a neutral yesterday (with a slight Galway bias). In fairness to the ref, I thought he did a very good job in tough conditions. All sendings off were merited, and showed great communication with linesmen. He definitely favoured forwards when giving frees, but this was consistent for both sides- more of this nationwide would definitely discourage backs from off the ball pulling and dragging.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 10/07/2017 08:32:28    2013648

Agree with most of the Galway lads here. Beaten by the better team on the day , Well done Roscommon.

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 10/07/2017 08:49:23    2013657

I had a feeling McStay would have the Roscommon lads primed for this one and so it proved. From the first minute they looked the hungrier and more composed team. They used the wind advantage well and put pressure on the young Galway keeper's kickouts. Indeed they probably should have been further ahead at HT but for some panicked shots and poor distribution at times. They weathered the Galway storm early in the second half and once they scored their second goal it was always going to be a tall order for Galway from then on in.

I thought the Galway tactics in the first half were poor. They know Salthill better than anyone. Surely they should have turned the game into a dog fight first half. Dropped men back and frustrate Roscommon? Galway have a few big men around the middle in O'Currain, Flynn and Conroy. I'd even have brought Comer back to contest kickouts. The keeper was obviously nervous. Why not kick long and allow the big men to do what they're supposed to? Instead they seemed to go out and play their normal game, perhaps underestimating the Rossies and left themselves with too much to do second half.

But overall, Roscommon fully deserved their win. The first goal was a peach! Canavan-esque the way he passed it to the net. They kicked some beauties against the breeze as well. Fair play to McStay, He's always come across well and he has stuck to his guns.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 10/07/2017 10:21:39    2013775

Replying To galwayfball:  "Thank you! I can't believe some people said he was good and mcstay without being asked said he was brilliant. He was awful clearly favoured Roscommon. We got a point and he decided to take it off us and give a free (don't care if it was an easily scoreable free) . Comer gets a yellow for throwing the ball. He goes down with a wallop to the side of his head and play is not stopped and Roscommon are allowed to take there lockout. Bradshaw got a yellow for having his leg pulled there was numerous more incidents and this referee has form.

And this is not from someone who thinks my team were done out of connacht title. We weren't we played terribly and Roscommon absolutely deserved their victory but that doesn't excuse the referee bias"
I wonder will comer get a ban he clearly struck roscommon player near the end he will probably get 1 match for it

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 10/07/2017 10:47:16    2013808

Replying To mayo_123:  "I wonder will comer get a ban he clearly struck roscommon player near the end he will probably get 1 match for it"
You have your own agenda to have Comer dragged over the coals. Ref was horrible but congrats to Ros, they did the business.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 10/07/2017 13:01:16    2013958

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I had a feeling McStay would have the Roscommon lads primed for this one and so it proved. From the first minute they looked the hungrier and more composed team. They used the wind advantage well and put pressure on the young Galway keeper's kickouts. Indeed they probably should have been further ahead at HT but for some panicked shots and poor distribution at times. They weathered the Galway storm early in the second half and once they scored their second goal it was always going to be a tall order for Galway from then on in.

I thought the Galway tactics in the first half were poor. They know Salthill better than anyone. Surely they should have turned the game into a dog fight first half. Dropped men back and frustrate Roscommon? Galway have a few big men around the middle in O'Currain, Flynn and Conroy. I'd even have brought Comer back to contest kickouts. The keeper was obviously nervous. Why not kick long and allow the big men to do what they're supposed to? Instead they seemed to go out and play their normal game, perhaps underestimating the Rossies and left themselves with too much to do second half.

But overall, Roscommon fully deserved their win. The first goal was a peach! Canavan-esque the way he passed it to the net. They kicked some beauties against the breeze as well. Fair play to McStay, He's always come across well and he has stuck to his guns."
correct

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 10/07/2017 13:04:08    2013965

What is the story with" the mark". In the Connacht Final Gough let Roscommon get the mark and solo it directly to goal, I though you had to get rid of the ball. Ref allowed mark and solo for Ros multiple times.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 10/07/2017 13:14:00    2013978

To clarify the rule comer got yellow because he was the 2nd player that threw ball away and ref can't bring it up a 2nd time on the same incident however he can book next player that does it on dissent . hope this helps

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/07/2017 13:15:40    2013981

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "You have your own agenda to have Comer dragged over the coals. Ref was horrible but congrats to Ros, they did the business."
Watch footage again and you will see i am right

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 10/07/2017 13:45:31    2014031