Galway vs Roscommon

Congrats Roscommon, some of last years panel will be watching that from the couch rueing there decisions. Happy for McStay he stuck to his guns and has been prepared to live or die by his principles.

Hard luck to Galway but will live to play another day and could well advance.

You would think this will go a ways to jazzing up the quater and semi final pairings, hard to know who will emerge from the possible melee on that's side of the draw.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/07/2017 18:13:38    2013211

Replying To argael:  "Nope u2 in croker"
Probably be a double header in Thurles if the GAA get their way.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 09/07/2017 18:14:09    2013212

Fantatic display from Roscommon, they simply out fought Galway and fully deserved their win. Enda Smyth produced the individual performance of the championship so far. If Roscommon can polish up on their shooting they will be a handful for any side.

Galway just didn't turn up and are a much better team than this. It will be an interesting game against Donegal. Never easy to recover from a loss in a provincial decider.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 09/07/2017 18:17:45    2013217

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done to Roscommon and hard luck Galway, an interesting game, nice to see David gough has got his mojo back and he didn't miss a trick today, that's the way I remember him always reffing, it's a pity he changed his style of reffing for the allireland semifinal last year between Kerry and Dublin but the GAA shouldn't have put him in that situation."
Give it up will you. Kerry were thoroughly outplayed for most of the match. Only a ten minute spell before halftime where Cluxton gifted ye two goals kept ye in it. Referee had no impact. Well done Roscommon. Can't see Galway beating Donegal.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 09/07/2017 18:20:18    2013220

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Fair play to Kevin Mc Stay and well done Roscommon,great stuff, I think Mayo v Cork could be in Limerick and Donegal v Galway in Sligo, sure wouldn't Mayo love to play in Limerick again?"
No chance of Donegal Galway been played in Sligo Way too small

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 09/07/2017 18:35:27    2013241

Replying To cluichethar:  "No chance of Donegal Galway been played in Sligo Way too small"
The last time they met it was in Sligo

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 09/07/2017 18:56:10    2013262

Replying To ruanua:  "The last time they met it was in Sligo"
Not true. Donegal beat galway in croke park 2 years ago.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 09/07/2017 19:02:15    2013266

Galway v Donegal could be in either Dr Hyde Park Roscommon or in MacHale Park Castlebar. Cork v Mayo should be played in Cusack Park Ennis, at least Ennis is halfway between the 2 counties, Limerick isn't.

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 09/07/2017 19:12:34    2013273

Hard luck Galway. Pull yourselves together and yous will do well in the qualifiers. Super delighted for Kevin mc Stay. Always liked that man for his honesty when he was on the Sunday game. The rossies are longer push overs.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/07/2017 19:16:51    2013280

Replying To Belclare1:  "Please explain what you exactly are trying to say here today?"
You have talked in the past few weeks and months about cockiness and this perceived Mayo people losing the run of themselves when you could be accused of the same faux pass. I haven't seen any Mayo posters lose the run of themselves we can see what is in front of us and how the team are playing and that we need much improvement going into the next round. You talked up Galway and Roscommon as being better than Mayo now on paper result wise that may be through the reality is likely to be different. It should be noted that you said Roscommon would trouble us but I doubt you thought today would be the result.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/07/2017 19:17:32    2013282

Replying To Belclare1:  "Please explain what you exactly are trying to say here today?"
Besides all that hard luck to Galway today and good luck against donegal.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/07/2017 19:19:18    2013285

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Surprisingly low key build up to this game. I think it has the makings of a great game of football and is set up for a Roscommon ambush. They seem to be written off and it's widely expected to be a formality for Galway after their win against Mayo. Just might be a case of Galway not being as good as people think and Roscommon not being as bad. Normally there is a hype machine attached to Roscommon teams but their fans are very quiet at the moment. They have a very talented bunch of players who have under performed in championship for the last number of years. Some of those players will definitely be feeling like they are coming into the peak of their careers and it's now time to deliver on massive potential. They've competed in Division 1 for 2 years and while this year was disappointing I think they were more competitive in a lot of the games than they were given credit for. So unlike other years previous they may just be peaking for the summer and coming in under the radar. Odds of 5/2 on a win for them is good value IMO."
Nice call

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 09/07/2017 19:20:09    2013289

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Fair play to Kevin Mc Stay and well done Roscommon,great stuff, I think Mayo v Cork could be in Limerick and Donegal v Galway in Sligo, sure wouldn't Mayo love to play in Limerick again?"
Some atmosphere there three years ago. Wouldn't be close to a full house v Cork for a qualifier.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 09/07/2017 19:20:46    2013290

Congrats to Roscommon and a fully deserved win. Game should have been over at half time.

I made a few euros by backing Roscommon. Galway got a bit carried away after beating Mayo in my opinion.

Goalie a disaster and looked like a team that thought all they had to do was show up.

Roscommon number 3 and 7 very good. Smith excellent. Will be interesting to see how Roscommon play in Croke Park.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 09/07/2017 19:28:07    2013299

Well done to the Rossies, deserved their victory, Galway were woeful, I thought the ref was whistle happy, too easy giving soft frees, on the incident at the end of the match even though he got a black card after a yellow meaning a red I thought Comer should have got a straight red, he threw the 1st punch and according to the rules a punch or attempted punch is a striking offence and is a straight red, ref copped out, after that pathetic performance by Galway they won't beat Donegal in the qualifiers. This victory is a slap in the face to those former Roscommon players who withdrew from this years panel because of McStay and McHale or those ex players and ex managers who said they have no commitment to the Roscommon job because they played for Mayo

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 09/07/2017 19:32:31    2013303

Royal Dunne might even be gracious and congratulate us on how we done today. A bonus for a young Roscommon team. Will boost them for future years.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 09/07/2017 19:45:56    2013316

Congrats Roscommon, Galway didn't seem to have a plan at all. Roscommon were better all over the pitch. No doubt the celebrations will be mighty for the supporters tonight.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/07/2017 20:37:44    2013354

Replying To moros:  "Royal Dunne might even be gracious and congratulate us on how we done today. A bonus for a young Roscommon team. Will boost them for future years."
Enjoy the night and forget RD. He is too busy blaming refs for Meath exiting the championship

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 09/07/2017 21:07:10    2013380

Replying To riverboys:  "Well done to the Rossies, deserved their victory, Galway were woeful, I thought the ref was whistle happy, too easy giving soft frees, on the incident at the end of the match even though he got a black card after a yellow meaning a red I thought Comer should have got a straight red, he threw the 1st punch and according to the rules a punch or attempted punch is a striking offence and is a straight red, ref copped out, after that pathetic performance by Galway they won't beat Donegal in the qualifiers. This victory is a slap in the face to those former Roscommon players who withdrew from this years panel because of McStay and McHale or those ex players and ex managers who said they have no commitment to the Roscommon job because they played for Mayo"
ye Mayo lads have it in for Comer.. I suggest you look at the brawl again and see who hit first...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 09/07/2017 21:17:03    2013394

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done to Roscommon and hard luck Galway, an interesting game, nice to see David gough has got his mojo back and he didn't miss a trick today, that's the way I remember him always reffing, it's a pity he changed his style of reffing for the allireland semifinal last year between Kerry and Dublin but the GAA shouldn't have put him in that situation."
He is a full bred jack that david Goff some off his decisions today were very bad for both teams.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 09/07/2017 21:27:57    2013403