Galway vs Roscommon

Fantastic result for Roscommon. Well done Kevin McStay for having the courage to stick to your principles. Enda Smith was brilliant but I can't understand how the three big Galway men in the middle sector allowed him to dominate the game so easily.
Hope they can raise their game again in the next round. A pity one Galway player allowed his frustration to get the better of him towards the finish as the game had been played in a very sporting manner.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2017 16:05:33    2013069

Replying To ponga:  "So Galway will play Donegal and Mayo play Cork on the 22nd. Double header in croker again I imagine. Should be a good day out."
Nope u2 in croker

argael (Donegal) - Posts: 132 - 09/07/2017 16:06:22    2013071

Well done Roscommon, excellent win playing brilliant football.

But Galway were so lethargic and it was like watching the Tipp game in last year's Quarter Final all over again. Not good.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 09/07/2017 16:08:46    2013074

Well done Roscommon on a thoroughly deserved victory! Dominated all over the field.

I'm not one to blame management but clearly that team was not at the races today and when a team malfunctions as a unit it's got more to do with how they were prepared than with any individual's performance. But that talk is for another day, I don't want to take away from Roscommon's day in the sun.

Best of luck to,ye going forward!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/07/2017 16:31:58    2013095

Replying To Belclare1:  "What talk? I said it was also going to be a banana skin. I didn't think we would be hammered but who did? Kevin Walsh has a lot to answer for.. Roscom.on were a joy to watch and are the best team in Connacht.. I'm especially delighted for Kevin Mc Stay.. Funny how the Mayo posters take joy in this.."
I wouldn't call Roscommon a joy to watch. Maybe out the field alright but some of their finishing was dire

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 09/07/2017 16:32:18    2013096

Well done Roscommon by far the best team. Completely agree about it being like the Tipperary game Galway didn't show up and didn't give Roscommon the respect they deserve. The players let themselves down massively again.That refereeing today was poor in my opinion and I'm shocked McCray can actually say he was brilliant.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 09/07/2017 16:36:46    2013100

Does anybody have the kickout stats? Roscommon must have been at least 50% on the Galway kickout and 80 or 90% on their own. Two years in Division 1 really showed even among the new players because these lessons learned filter through to new panel members. I'm talking about tackling and strength on the ball. It was so much better today than a few years ago when they were just brushed off. Enda Smith was immense today, just as important to Roscommon as Murphy or O'Shea are to Donegal and Mayo. Well done McStay, enjoy this week and there's no reason they can't reach the last 4 with a bit better decision making on the ball

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 09/07/2017 16:44:20    2013106

Replying To argael:  "Nope u2 in croker"
Thanks. Maybe Mayo/Cork in Ennis/Limerick. Donegal/Galway in Roscommon.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 09/07/2017 16:46:20    2013112

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I wouldn't call Roscommon a joy to watch. Maybe out the field alright but some of their finishing was dire"
In comparison to the 2 teams on the pitch yes they were a joy to watch...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 09/07/2017 16:46:43    2013113

Well done to Roscommon and hard luck Galway, an interesting game, nice to see David gough has got his mojo back and he didn't miss a trick today, that's the way I remember him always reffing, it's a pity he changed his style of reffing for the allireland semifinal last year between Kerry and Dublin but the GAA shouldn't have put him in that situation.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/07/2017 16:49:18    2013117

Congrats to my friends across the river, fully deserved, no complaints, hope ye go all the way

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 09/07/2017 17:10:06    2013144

Replying To Belclare1:  "What talk? I said it was also going to be a banana skin. I didn't think we would be hammered but who did? Kevin Walsh has a lot to answer for.. Roscom.on were a joy to watch and are the best team in Connacht.. I'm especially delighted for Kevin Mc Stay.. Funny how the Mayo posters take joy in this.."
Now now belcare your doing it again, you accuse some Mayo posters of action you are guilty of yourself.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/07/2017 17:14:12    2013149

Paidi wasn't far wrong with his colourful description of the bitter kingdom fan. You should still be happy 79 titles in a hurling province!!! Time to move on boyo!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 09/07/2017 17:18:00    2013154

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Now now belcare your doing it again, you accuse some Mayo posters of action you are guilty of yourself."
Please explain what you exactly are trying to say here today?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 09/07/2017 17:27:46    2013167

Replying To Damothedub:  "Delighted for McStay a coach I've a lot of time for , he's taken some serious stick , well done some seriously poor decisions taken by lads in poor conditions"
Kevin was always a fair panelist, never resorted to personal abuse of players/coaches or have the luxury to explain in Sunday newspaper articles.
He also had the courage to 'walk the walk' and go and manage a senior county team unlike most armchair/studio pundits.
Congratulations and well done Kevin McStay !

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 09/07/2017 17:44:56    2013181

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Congrats to my friends across the river, fully deserved, no complaints, hope ye go all the way"
Ye're still in it. Don't you hope that Galway go all the way ?

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 09/07/2017 17:46:30    2013184

Well done Roscommon on a great display. I always thought McStay should have gotten the Kildare job a few years ago but we inexplicable went for Jason Ryan instead. McStay has had a lot to deal with in the last couple of years but kept going, never resorted to any personal stuff and dealt with things with dignity. He has some decent players at his disposal but Galway were dire. Well done the Rossies.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 09/07/2017 18:09:23    2013204

Replying To ponga:  "Ye're still in it. Don't you hope that Galway go all the way ?"
There is a difference between hope and fantasy.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 09/07/2017 18:09:49    2013205

Replying To royaldunne:  "Need bit of cheering up today and this aould be just the tonic. o"
Hope ya enjoyed that RD _ good man !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 09/07/2017 18:12:35    2013209

Fair play to Kevin Mc Stay and well done Roscommon,great stuff, I think Mayo v Cork could be in Limerick and Donegal v Galway in Sligo, sure wouldn't Mayo love to play in Limerick again?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 09/07/2017 18:13:06    2013210