Galway vs Roscommon

Replying To Belclare1:  "Should be a good game all right but I feel the Mayo game we didn't perform at all and still won.. Roscommon will punish us as they have some deadly forwards.. They will also want to get us back for last year's Conn final.. Top 2 in Conn meet again..."
Brilliant. Mayo people will love that post

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 05/07/2017 10:25:50    2010850

Roscommon have to prove that they are top two. That starts on Sunday. At this moment in time they are definitely number three in Connacht and all Roscommon supporters know this. McStay and his squad know it as well. That's the challenge. It's not fiction it's fact for the Rossies and they'll only fix it on the field. To talk the talk you gotta walk the walk.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 05/07/2017 11:48:55    2010895

Strong Galway lineup, close to our strongest in my opinion. Midfield as usual will have a huge say on who wins and I think Galway have the upper hand here. Roscommon forwards can cause us plenty of problems however. Interesting comments from Kevin Walsh today saying that Roscommon will be the 5th division 1 team in a row Galway have played in the connacht championship and pointing to increasing standards overall in the province.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 05/07/2017 12:34:06    2010935

Its not a 50/50 game lads it 70/30 in favour of Galway.

Reasons why i think Galway will win.

1. Structure and system of play to their defence while Roscommon are all over the place in defence.
2. A better stronger more midfield that will likely dominate that area
3. players playing in key positions on the Galway team are suited to those positions the opposite with Roscommon
4. A better spread of scorers and better free takers especially long range ones.
5. A better bench and more strength in depth which is hugely important in modern day football. Roscommon haven't helped themselves there with a huge turnover of players from last year.

Reasons for Roscommon to cause a big upset.

1. Galway to have a pure stinker of a performance
2. Roscommon to have their best performance this year.

Conclusion Galway by 4 to 6 points.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 05/07/2017 16:42:23    2011070

Replying To Yondu:  "Its not a 50/50 game lads it 70/30 in favour of Galway.

Reasons why i think Galway will win.

1. Structure and system of play to their defence while Roscommon are all over the place in defence.
2. A better stronger more midfield that will likely dominate that area
3. players playing in key positions on the Galway team are suited to those positions the opposite with Roscommon
4. A better spread of scorers and better free takers especially long range ones.
5. A better bench and more strength in depth which is hugely important in modern day football. Roscommon haven't helped themselves there with a huge turnover of players from last year.

Reasons for Roscommon to cause a big upset.

1. Galway to have a pure stinker of a performance
2. Roscommon to have their best performance this year.

Conclusion Galway by 4 to 6 points."
Roscommon have had 2 years in division 1
Galway haven't.

All of Roscommon's preparations this year seem to be for the two games in Connacht
Last year they seemed to be stumbling from the end of the league

Galway showed how flaky they are when Tipp got at them last year

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 05/07/2017 20:32:04    2011185

Replying To dave1988:  "Brilliant. Mayo people will love that post"
Let him blow out what he wants he will find out about how good Galway are in due time. Up to Roscommon to prove him right with his impression of yerra. If it's not Sunday it will be croke park in the quarter final. I wait for a response that will be about Mayo like all his others, #obsessed

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/07/2017 21:07:49    2011204

Replying To moros:  "Id very much doubt ye will need that much improvement. Galway are form favourites and Roscommon will simply need for everything to go right for them to take this one. Hopefully it will be a right good game . Maybe wishful to think it may be like the hum dingers from 1998 when it was classic stuff. The championship needs a right good provincial decider."
He is right they only beat Mayo because Mayo let them!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/07/2017 21:11:57    2011205

Replying To Spoddgy:  "He is right they only beat Mayo because Mayo let them!"
Very descent of them all the same!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1834 - 05/07/2017 21:35:54    2011222

Replying To Spoddgy:  "He is right they only beat Mayo because Mayo let them!"
God ye are awful gobshites to do that...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/07/2017 23:02:51    2011262

Should be a good game, favourites doesnt matter all the time in Connacht as no one fears playing each other really..Roscommon have nothing to fear, Mayo's poor forwards outscored the supposdly great forward line Galway have..interesting to see the kick out strategy from both sides, will both sides go short and both not push up, if they do it will be a dog fight of a game

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 06/07/2017 08:51:12    2011342

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Let him blow out what he wants he will find out about how good Galway are in due time. Up to Roscommon to prove him right with his impression of yerra. If it's not Sunday it will be croke park in the quarter final. I wait for a response that will be about Mayo like all his others, #obsessed"
In fairness he's talking Mayo down not Galway up, don't see any Galway posters talking the team up.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/07/2017 12:39:45    2011460

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "This is championship, 50/50 game, both teams trying to avoid the dreaded 6 day turnover.

I think you're mixing up the six day turnaround with the six day hangover. Both things to be avoided."
top notch psychoanalysis there again from you. Did the Roscommon lads party it up in pool rooms back in the day? They moved on from that phase no doubt, both teams are serious athletes. Bounce of a ball in it?

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 06/07/2017 13:13:52    2011480

Replying To tommy132:  "Should be a good game, favourites doesnt matter all the time in Connacht as no one fears playing each other really..Roscommon have nothing to fear, Mayo's poor forwards outscored the supposdly great forward line Galway have..interesting to see the kick out strategy from both sides, will both sides go short and both not push up, if they do it will be a dog fight of a game"
"the supposdly great forward line Galway have," ....so you don't think that Galway have great forwards?

Amadán

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 06/07/2017 13:21:25    2011487

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "In fairness he's talking Mayo down not Galway up, don't see any Galway posters talking the team up."
Hit the nail on the head, I never said Galway were excellent and would be top 4 , i just said Mayo are poor, very poor in the Galway and esp Derry games..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/07/2017 13:25:58    2011497

I'd be wary enough if I was a Galway supporter. It's true they have a lot of things going for them and they are at home but i just have a feeling McStay will have Roscommon well primed for this. It's obvious they didn't put as much into the league this year. I can see why as well. Looking at the Championship draw when it was made, it was clear Roscommon just needed to beat Leitrim to reach the last 12. No harm to the Leitrim lads but he would have felt this was eminently achievable without operating at full steam.

So what we could see Sunday is a Roscommon team who have been trained to peak for this final against a team who worked hard during the spring to achieve promotion and for a titanic tussle with Mayo. We saw Galway, even with an extra man, on the ropes in the closing stages against Mayo.

So although I expect Galway to prevail, it may not be as handy as some think.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 06/07/2017 14:06:00    2011513

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'd be wary enough if I was a Galway supporter. It's true they have a lot of things going for them and they are at home but i just have a feeling McStay will have Roscommon well primed for this. It's obvious they didn't put as much into the league this year. I can see why as well. Looking at the Championship draw when it was made, it was clear Roscommon just needed to beat Leitrim to reach the last 12. No harm to the Leitrim lads but he would have felt this was eminently achievable without operating at full steam.

So what we could see Sunday is a Roscommon team who have been trained to peak for this final against a team who worked hard during the spring to achieve promotion and for a titanic tussle with Mayo. We saw Galway, even with an extra man, on the ropes in the closing stages against Mayo.

So although I expect Galway to prevail, it may not be as handy as some think."
I completely agree with you here - I tink Mc Stay will have Rossies primed and they will look to run the Galway defence ragged.

However, I think the way Galway set-up and play the counter attacking game could slightly edge it for Galway - but it will be damn close.

One final point, I think too much is read into 'Galway on the ropes' against Mayo:
1) Mayo had a gale force wind behind them
2) Galway deployed the extra man as a defender and so invited Mayo on HOWEVER they also defended well (using the extra man for this purpose), so although Mayo did keep coming forward - they really wearnt at much just passing the ball around and shooting from low-percentage areas

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 06/07/2017 14:24:39    2011520

Galway by 7

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 06/07/2017 19:37:59    2011637

Galway are poor enough but their man-mountain midfielders should give them enough of a platform to win the game. Home venue is a help also.
Hope Roscommon put in the performance that players of their ability are capable of.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/07/2017 20:01:27    2011651

Replying To neverright:  "Galway are poor enough but their man-mountain midfielders should give them enough of a platform to win the game. Home venue is a help also.
Hope Roscommon put in the performance that players of their ability are capable of."
Ah we are better than 'poor enough' as you call it. In fairness we have been consistent for over 12 months apart from the one bad day in last year's q/f. However this final could go either way due to the Ros ambush factor.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 06/07/2017 20:27:29    2011666

As the game nears we'll have a lot of giddy posters throwing in their lot and getting carried away with their comments. Galway aren't Poor enough. Roscommon aren't as bad as their showing last year. Conditions need to be right for a right good tussle . iF the weather is good it could be an entertaining high scoring encounter which may go down to the team who take their goal chances. Bookies have it fairly right and still in the realm where there won't be a lot in it. Head saying Galway Heart saying Roscommon. Best of luck to all involved and hopefully sensible refereeing throughout

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 06/07/2017 21:12:29    2011686