Tipperary V Westmeath

Replying To keeper7:  "Maybe, maybe not. That's their U21 manager who said that. He's not involved with the senior setup. Also, if they get a trouncing we'll see how great the experience is for the Westmeath players."
How would getting trounced (not saying they will) in Thurles be any better or worse than getting trounced in Mullingar?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 01/07/2017 17:04:14    2008399

I don't blame Tipperary for not ceding home advantage. But one similar topic if we are all gaa people that want to promote Gaelic games in every county. We do have to look at games like this and see if a chance of promoting in this case hurling in Westmeath. A few years ago I remember Longford going to Kerry o play them in qualifiers. If that was in Longford it would have being at massive marketing cue for gaa in Longford. Like wise if Dublin had gone to Carlow or mulingar in this years competition. The profile of the game in those counties would be brilliant. If a team we say are are number 1 or 2 in country in relation to football or hurling can't travel to carlow or Mullingar and win, they will be found later by stronger teams

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 01/07/2017 17:05:03    2008400

Fairly even game so far, from the sounds of it

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 01/07/2017 17:12:39    2008402

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Fairly even game so far, from the sounds of it"
1-10 to 0-9 at half time, Westmeath were all over us in the last 15 mins of that match. Full back (Tommy Doyle) and center back for Westmeath sound like they're playing a great game (I'm listening on the online "wireless"). I thought it was over when Tipp went ahead by 8 points, Westmeaths response was phenomenal. Tipp seem to have gone to sleep, they'll need to wake up for the 2nd half, seriously, Westmeath aren't messing about. Not sure who has the breeze for the 2nd half.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 01/07/2017 17:42:56    2008413

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "How would getting trounced (not saying they will) in Thurles be any better or worse than getting trounced in Mullingar?"
Do you think Westmeath would've gotten the same hammering in Cusack Park as they got in Croker against the Dubs? Did the Dubs trounce Carlow in Portlaoise?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 01/07/2017 17:55:56    2008420

Replying To keeper7:  "Do you think Westmeath would've gotten the same hammering in Cusack Park as they got in Croker against the Dubs? Did the Dubs trounce Carlow in Portlaoise?"
I've no idea. There was a draw, some teams got home advantage, some have to play away, as per susual. Is it really worth this much aggravation? A pitch is a pitch, playing at home doesn't work magic. Doesn't seem to be bothering the Westmeath lads at the moment, they've tore into Tipp so far

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 01/07/2017 18:09:00    2008426

Excellent effort from Westmeath , went down fighting. Has to be nothing but positive for Westmeath hurling. Hope the Westmeath keep it going next year, we badly need more than 9 competitive teams in hurling

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 01/07/2017 18:47:32    2008451

Fair play to Westmeath. Big save by mooney at 1-12 to 0-12. Ye rattled us big time today.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 01/07/2017 19:10:25    2008462

The goal in injury time put a gloss on the scoreline we may not have deserved. Westmeath made a statement today, they can compete with anyone. Its a pity their next competitive match is over 7 months away, but hopefully they can maintain momentum into next year, and get up to 1b.

Poor day at the office for Tipp, made all the worse by what sounds like some bad injuries.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 01/07/2017 19:34:26    2008472

That was the poorest display of hurling by a Tipp team I have seen in a long long time. Looks like this time next week we will be out of the championship.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 01/07/2017 19:55:00    2008481

Westmeath are at about the same level as Offaly at the moment.. Offaly were hammered today.. And so were Westmeath. There is some progress. As Somebody else has said, their next game is not for 7 months

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/07/2017 19:57:50    2008483

Replying To bennybunny:  "Westmeath are at about the same level as Offaly at the moment.. Offaly were hammered today.. And so were Westmeath. There is some progress. As Somebody else has said, their next game is not for 7 months"
What u on about...westmeath wernt hammered and they are a step above offaly at this stage!

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 01/07/2017 20:32:20    2008508

Replying To bennybunny:  "Westmeath are at about the same level as Offaly at the moment.. Offaly were hammered today.. And so were Westmeath. There is some progress. As Somebody else has said, their next game is not for 7 months"
Westmeath hammered!! They put it up to all Ireland champions. Westmeath are improving and should have beaten Offaly, they also have one of the best full backs in the country .

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 01/07/2017 20:39:35    2008514

i agree realtmo
shocking performance from Tipp
what kind of training are they doing?
they look completely flat like they did against Cork and Galway awhile back
it was embarrassing watching them out there
next day out is the last one
disgraceful stuff

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 01/07/2017 20:41:25    2008516

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "This will be up there with some of the greatest beatings dished out over the past 20 years. It will be over after 20 minutes. They could play it in the middle of Iran and there would still be only one outcome Tipperary by 20-23 points"
And your comment will be up there with one of the dumbest ever posted on this forum.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 01/07/2017 20:53:39    2008532

Respect to Westmeath. They've some serious players and great clubs.
From a tipp perspective I don't give us a chance against on of the 3 qualifier teams left. Just goes to show how hard back to backs are.
I'd imagine the other 3 will be praying for a home draw against us next weekend

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2017 20:57:32    2008535

Replying To tiobraidArann:  "i agree realtmo
shocking performance from Tipp
what kind of training are they doing?
they look completely flat like they did against Cork and Galway awhile back
it was embarrassing watching them out there
next day out is the last one
disgraceful stuff"
Flat is not the word for it. Seen a training game two weeks ago and it was top notch hurling. I just don't have words for that display tonight. Stuck to the ground again but they all look in great shape.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 01/07/2017 21:00:35    2008542

a nine point win is hardly scraping past,, or am i missing something

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 01/07/2017 21:11:34    2008550

Replying To preddan:  "What u on about...westmeath wernt hammered and they are a step above offaly at this stage!"
A step above Offaly?? League placings and head to head suggest that they are below them. They were beaten by 9 points. That is not close. It might not be a hammering like Offaly took but it is a hammering nonetheless.

We all can see progress. They have some lovely players. Patronizing them does nothing for them. Call it what it is. A very much below par Tipperary team easily accounting for a Division 2 side. But, like you and all others, I would love to see more competitors in hurling. Offaly are no longer competitive and Westmeath are miles off (going in right direction albeit).

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/07/2017 21:17:54    2008556

Replying To bennybunny:  "A step above Offaly?? League placings and head to head suggest that they are below them. They were beaten by 9 points. That is not close. It might not be a hammering like Offaly took but it is a hammering nonetheless.

We all can see progress. They have some lovely players. Patronizing them does nothing for them. Call it what it is. A very much below par Tipperary team easily accounting for a Division 2 side. But, like you and all others, I would love to see more competitors in hurling. Offaly are no longer competitive and Westmeath are miles off (going in right direction albeit)."
Nobodys patronising anyone..but your point about league placings dosent hold much with me..the league system in place has to be one of the worst ever...westmeath,carlow at least deserve to be in the same division as teams like limerick, offaly etc instead of playing 4 measly games in the spring. The present westmeath team is better than offaly ,only for shane dooley and goalie mistakes westmeath would have won comfortably. As regards teams punching above their weight westmeath are doing so but they need better games in the spring. As regards tipp they only know themselves if they went through the motions or not..but tgey did seem in trouble and two players could have seen the line also

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 01/07/2017 21:45:12    2008591