Féile Peile na nÓg

Replying To EDH:  "Apparently they had to act. Some so called power clubs arrived to the host families with diet sheets. They then proceeded to kick the local club up and down the pitch in a relentless show of power at the Friday night games.

There is also a story of a team from our "Capital" been brought on a warm weather training camp(Portugal) by a well to do daddy during the Easter holidays prior to playing at the Feile weekend in the past year or two!!!!"
Your story is well known in the capitol its also old and happened a fair few years back , don't be bringing it in like new news , since then thankfully normality has been restored and while teams train hard for Feile its now viewed as to what it actually is a brilliant blitz , clubs now know real achievement is not winning at under 14 but in getting lads through minor and hopefully staying on into adulthood ,
My club has hosted on the Saturday at club level for the last seven years , I've witnessed all levels of lads and lassies play and while not every year goes by without a bit of controversy by and large the days are fantastic bar the odd over enthusiastic parent

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/06/2017 11:04:55    2006204

Replying To MonaghanGlory:  "On a positive note I have to say the Féile is a fantastic tournament, It was great to see everyone come together and celebrate our national games and great to see the clubs make friend's and it brought a great buzz to the community, there was some fantastic football on display not only in the first round of games but also in the Semi final's and final's I saw today in Clones, was very impressed with South London,
I also saw that New York won Division one up in Cavan"
Fair play to South London. Again. Second time they've lifted a trophy I believe.

If only Dulwich Harps had a way of integrating these young lads into their senior team (with a dedicated minor & u21 panel - alas, coaches are not available) they wouldn't be playing Junior football in London, but at a higher level and with a demographic not usually seen on a GAA pitch.

Fun fact - Patrick Okogwu (aka Tinie Tempah) used to play underage football with Dulwich Harps and South London.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 27/06/2017 13:12:40    2006268

On side note in relation to feile in different counties,wondering how theses clubs do in following years, do the same group of players go on to win u-16 or minor. Or is there a higher drop out rate of players from feile winners compared to teams that struggled at this in their county

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 27/06/2017 17:00:03    2006415

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your story is well known in the capitol its also old and happened a fair few years back , don't be bringing it in like new news , since then thankfully normality has been restored and while teams train hard for Feile its now viewed as to what it actually is a brilliant blitz , clubs now know real achievement is not winning at under 14 but in getting lads through minor and hopefully staying on into adulthood ,
My club has hosted on the Saturday at club level for the last seven years , I've witnessed all levels of lads and lassies play and while not every year goes by without a bit of controversy by and large the days are fantastic bar the odd over enthusiastic parent"
Damon, I didn't bring it up like it was a new story. I stated a fact that many may not have known.
But the fact remains an elite competition took place at the weekend and this was hidden from the majority of players and parents

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 27/06/2017 18:03:39    2006440

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your story is well known in the capitol its also old and happened a fair few years back , don't be bringing it in like new news , since then thankfully normality has been restored and while teams train hard for Feile its now viewed as to what it actually is a brilliant blitz , clubs now know real achievement is not winning at under 14 but in getting lads through minor and hopefully staying on into adulthood ,
My club has hosted on the Saturday at club level for the last seven years , I've witnessed all levels of lads and lassies play and while not every year goes by without a bit of controversy by and large the days are fantastic bar the odd over enthusiastic parent"
Damon, I didn't bring it up like it was a new story. I stated a fact that many may not have known.
But the fact remains an elite competition took place at the weekend and this was hidden from the majority of players and parents

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 27/06/2017 18:07:00    2006441

Replying To EDH:  "Damon, I didn't bring it up like it was a new story. I stated a fact that many may not have known.
But the fact remains an elite competition took place at the weekend and this was hidden from the majority of players and parents"
What do you mean hidden?

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 27/06/2017 23:49:16    2006614

Heard that 7 or 8 years ago.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 27/06/2017 23:50:38    2006616

Replying To Westfester:  "What do you mean hidden?"
Check out the Feile 2017 (John West fixtures page) it is on Cavan GAA page, there is no mention of the teams that played in Sligo.
It was like the games were not fixed or played (Hidden).

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 28/06/2017 17:02:21    2007002

Replying To EDH:  "Check out the Feile 2017 (John West fixtures page) it is on Cavan GAA page, there is no mention of the teams that played in Sligo.
It was like the games were not fixed or played (Hidden)."
They are 2 different tournaments so why would fixtures for one be listed on the others website?

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 30/06/2017 00:00:06    2007767

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Was there another division ?
Yes, further Division between the elite and the also rans

Is this the same competition?
No - the other one is far more important

how many teams ?
All the super brilliant elite ones

how do you qualify?
Cheque for €10,000 made payable to GAA, Croke Park

Who won the girls
The prize of a load of girls was deemed a bit inappropriate so it was replaced by an actual Trophy.

Do New York get promoted to this new division?
Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha. No see answer to "How many teams" - they don't meet the criteria."
Just to correct a few inaccuracies.

The teams that went to the 'elite' Feile did not organise it themselves - they were denied entry to the main Feile.

My son was informed (prior to the county Feile) that if they won they would not be going to the main Feile. Now the boys have known that they had a good chance of winning the county feile and therefore qualifying for the main event. As they had watched neighbouring clubs, friends, schoolmates and probably brothers /cousins in some cases do in the past. So as you can imaging a lot of the boys were gutted - as aside from the football - they had all been told what great craic the whole thing is and were looking forward to a weekend away with their mates.

They were also told that the reason for this was that 'they' (Feile organisers I guess) did this because they wanted to give other counties a chance of winning (guessing that Div1 has been dominated by Dublin/Kerry et al in recent years) so they moved all the counties mentioned elsewhere in this thread to Sligo to a Regional Feile event.

Then according to another poster in this thread NY were the only team left in Div 1 from last year (and apparently they have been getting close for a few years but just couldn't quite make the breakthrough).

So I would suggest that possibly the amount in the cheque you mentioned may be correct, but you have got the wrong currency.

Play.it.fair (Down) - Posts: 3 - 30/06/2017 08:53:22    2007811

Play.it.fair - I am sure you gathered accuracy wasn't the goal in that post... :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/06/2017 09:54:52    2007831

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Play.it.fair - I am sure you gathered accuracy wasn't the goal in that post... :-)"
Ok your reply was tongue in cheek. But there is a perception that this was hidden by these clubs. The opposite is the case I would say. The John West feile made no reference to nor did they publicise the fact that the winners of these counties were not permitted to enter the feile this year.

It's fair enough that they want to give others a chance but the event that was in Sligo should at least be given some publicity on the gaa website.

Play.it.fair (Down) - Posts: 3 - 30/06/2017 11:07:16    2007859

Derry A champions went to Sligo. B and C champions went to cavan/monaghan. Both results were posted on derry website. Top hurling counties have been doing this last few years

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 01/07/2017 00:39:43    2008218