RTÉ showing Dublin matches

Replying To the_post:  "What baffles me is that RTE would never show Galway v Offaly in a Leinster Hurling Semi-final because they think the result is a foregone conclusion. Yet they will show Dublin trounce Westmeath by 31 points. Anyone in the real world would have predicted a double digit victory for Dublin yesterday."
Does it really baffle you?

I find it hard to believe that intelligent people are so baffled by RTÉ showing the Dubs in a Leinster Semi-Final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/06/2017 11:53:15    2005583

About time a red button option was implemented and then everybody's happy.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/06/2017 11:57:48    2005589

tis all about the advertising revenue.they wont get much for an ad during laois carlow,i do however wish tg4 showed these matches because i would watch it.
having said that,i wouldnt say the advertising revenue is great for a match where people turn off by half time!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/06/2017 12:13:51    2005607

Dublin are the biggest attraction in our games and as much as people hate to admit it, it's just the way it is, and the most popular, most watched teams will get more coverage by the TV companies.

My theory is that Sky Sports are after Dublin's rights to all matches & will take it a step further. We could see the start of dublingaa.tv run by Sky where you have reruns of great Dublin GAA days (the 12 Apostles 1983) and light hearted shows like 'Lads I bate' by Brian Mullins and Jimmy Keavney. A 'Where in the World' type program where Dubs fans draped in their beloved blue have to answer about county ground facilities in far off places like Limerick, Cork. Wexford, Carlow etc and then instead of the Angelus, you could have a 30 second segment of a Fair City rerun, e.g. Paddy Clarke's dog Shnaffles being knocked down on Fair City, or Jimmy Doyle getting a trial with an unnamed English club.

Live coverage on matchday would begin at 8AM when many Dubs are going to bed after a night out and will run up to 4.15PM when the game throws in after being delayed for 15 minutes. They can also have a segment called 'the unlucky Culchie' showing a poor unfortunate soul who accidentally wandered into the Big Tree and is surrounded by Dubs fans with names that end in 'O' .........

Away days, although rare, would follow a whole family as they take on the mighty trek to Louth, Westmeath or wherever. Scores of Dubs complaining about why there is no DART in these areas and then chanting 'there's only one Jim Gavin' as bemused locals look on thinking of their mate Jimmy Gavin who is drawing in round bales today. When Dublin win 9 All-Ireland's in a row, there could then be a show comparing Dublin to Celtic and Ranger's 9 in a row sides and when Kerry eventually end Dublin's dominance the Dubs TV channel will visit Kerry to see what life in a foreign country is like.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/06/2017 12:23:18    2005617

Replying To MesAmis:  "Does it really baffle you?

I find it hard to believe that intelligent people are so baffled by RTÉ showing the Dubs in a Leinster Semi-Final."
All jokes aside, I enjoyed yesterday's game. They are a ruthless machine at the top of their game and maybe in time to come they will be fully appreciated. I'm not saying I like them in any way but I admire the level they have taken the game to.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/06/2017 12:24:41    2005619

My theory is that Sky Sports are after Dublin's rights to all matches & will take it a step further. We could see the start of dublingaa.tv run by Sky where you have reruns of great Dublin GAA days (the 12 Apostles 1983) and light hearted shows like 'Lads I bate' by Brian Mullins and Jimmy Keavney. A 'Where in the World' type program where Dubs fans draped in their beloved blue have to answer about county ground facilities in far off places like Limerick, Cork. Wexford, Carlow etc and then instead of the Angelus, you could have a 30 second segment of a Fair City rerun, e.g. Paddy Clarke's dog Shnaffles being knocked down on Fair City, or Jimmy Doyle getting a trial with an unnamed English club.

Live coverage on matchday would begin at 8AM when many Dubs are going to bed after a night out and will run up to 4.15PM when the game throws in after being delayed for 15 minutes. They can also have a segment called 'the unlucky Culchie' showing a poor unfortunate soul who accidentally wandered into the Big Tree and is surrounded by Dubs fans with names that end in 'O' .........

Away days, although rare, would follow a whole family as they take on the mighty trek to Louth, Westmeath or wherever. Scores of Dubs complaining about why there is no DART in these areas and then chanting 'there's only one Jim Gavin' as bemused locals look on thinking of their mate Jimmy Gavin who is drawing in round bales today. When Dublin win 9 All-Ireland's in a row, there could then be a show comparing Dublin to Celtic and Ranger's 9 in a row sides and when Kerry eventually end Dublin's dominance the Dubs TV channel will visit Kerry to see what life in a foreign country is like.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts:5931 - 26/06/2017 12:23:18

Sounds good. Sign me up!

Everything except the Big Tree. No self respecting Dub should ever darken its door.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/06/2017 12:42:33    2005644

Replying To slayer:  "Dublin are the biggest attraction in our games and as much as people hate to admit it, it's just the way it is, and the most popular, most watched teams will get more coverage by the TV companies.

............."
Bringing Rangers into a GAA rant......is that allowed?

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 12:42:58    2005647

Bringing Rangers into a GAA rant......is that allowed?

Yeah if the Angelus, Fair City, The Big Tree and the DART are all conversation fillers then they're fair game I suppose. Except it is Sevco to give them their proper title.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/06/2017 20:54:39    2006016

It was the only front-door championship match on Sunday. It was also the first championship match in Croke Park. But am I surprised at people giving out about Dublin on here? No. Here's a suggestion: how about we ban Dublin from playing football. And by the sounds of people on here we should only play the two all Ireland finals in Croke Park. Let's make our biggest stadium completely obsolete. Sell it to yer man who owns Glastonbury.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 27/06/2017 00:00:53    2006113

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "It was the only front-door championship match on Sunday. It was also the first championship match in Croke Park. But am I surprised at people giving out about Dublin on here? No. Here's a suggestion: how about we ban Dublin from playing football. And by the sounds of people on here we should only play the two all Ireland finals in Croke Park. Let's make our biggest stadium completely obsolete. Sell it to yer man who owns Glastonbury."
Better still just gift it to Garth Brooks for country concerts for the culchies!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 27/06/2017 08:29:14    2006139

We knew that Dublin were going to win easy and it was like a training session, what was more worrying was the fact that apart from the qualifiers this was a stand alone championship fixture, every other province had their finalists already known both hurling and football, why wasn't both Leinster semi matches played over the 1 weekend or played along with the Ulster semi instead of the Ulster match played on Saturday, honestly I fell asleep watching it and when I woke up I put on TG4 to watch 'the geansai' which was about great All Ireland Final speeches, far more watchable than the dubs training session, ok the dubs fans enjoyed the game but bored the hell out of the neutrals

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 27/06/2017 14:25:55    2006325

Think RTE are showing Mayo V Clare.....should be a nail biting tense affair. Problem with Dublin playing anyone outside the top 5 is that they beat them all with too much ease. Nothing to do with Leinster which is often blamed for their one sided victories.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 03/07/2017 17:31:25    2009839