Support Rant

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Look it's human nature. When things are going well everyone wants a piece of the pie. My point was more due to the fact that this particular guy will spend more this year on replica kits, Sky/BT subscription, a couple of weekend trips to Anfield etc than what it costs to go to a few Donegal games. Thats his choice. But funnily enough if we do reach the last 8 he'll be the first boy you'll meet in Jury's before the game."
I know where you're coming from Lockjaw but I don't see it purely in GAA v Soccer terms. Where the top echelons of the EPL are concerned, yes, I agree, but living over here all my life, I've as deep an affiliation to Gillingham FC as many on here have to following their country up and down the country. I've done the same thing for many years. Maybe not so much these days but if anything I go lower, to non-league. Essentially it's the same argument as yours though, I'd take a sense of community and belonging over some plastic, money chasing EPL generic non-experience any day of the week.

Have to admit though I feel quite jealous of youse lot every summer, having the whole championship unfold on your doorstep. If I was living back home I'd probably go to quite a few Wexford matches, both codes. I wouldn't pretend to know anywhere near as much as most of the contributors to these threads but I've always enjoyed the occasions when I've been lucky enough to be present and to be honest it wouldn't even be a case of doing it to be a "true supporter", if anything I'd prefer the away matches. A proper day out and plenty of camaraderie. It's the social side of sport that makes it most worth watching IMO.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/06/2017 09:14:18    2005382

Yeah I know what you mean. I'd go to most Finn Harps home games and it's the same faces you see all the time. There's a good aul spirit there even if numbers are low. A lot of football fans in the county would be very dismissive of the standard being that most of what they watch is Premier League football. And yet, if you put one Harps player in their weekly 5 a side game he'd be the best player they ever played with/against!

I remember once coming up against ex Harps player Paddy McGrenaghan in the Donegal league. He must have been nearly 40. There was a 60/40 ball in my favour so I was fairly confident I was going to win possession. About 3 seconds later I was dizzily watching the ball fly into our top corner from about 25 yards, How did that happen? How did he get there? What day is this?

We are lucky over here following GAA. I get the point being made by a lot of posters - financial, family, work commitments etc are more important than a sporting fixture. But the guy I spoke about, if he is to be taken at his word, isn't going to be going to any matches in the near future solely because he doesn't see Donegal challenging for silverware. That was my gripe.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9141 - 26/06/2017 09:53:36    2005441

Ormond don't give me you can't afford it malarky. If your deciding not to attend pro12 games and only attending knock out champions cup games which are probably double the price haha.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2017 10:01:12    2005453

why does the bandwagon annoy people so much?if it wasnt for the bandwagon,the atmosphere at the leinster final on sunday would be dreadful,is that what people want?
i work in the services industry,and we had a v big event on this weekend.as i have a very expensive trip for my family to croke park next sunday,of course i took it.then i get up this morning and i see people grumbling about the small wexford support in limerick.bloody hell,it is 3pm on a saturday afternoon in limerick,it doesnt suit everybody,financially or otherwise,to get there.
there are a million reasons why every match cant have a big crowd.family logistics,work,money,distance being my biggest 4 reasons.
if wexford win on sunday,i dont think i will be able to get to the semi final as will be working again.i will definitely make the final,does that make me a bandwagoner?going to as many matches as possible,league and championship,depending on location and feasibility,and sometimes just "ah,its a wet day".
people are entitled to go to what they want,when they want.
the best trip i ever had was to ruislip many moons ago,but that was before children and mortgages took up my time and money!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/06/2017 10:10:20    2005461

Ah we all know these fella's. I've a friend who would draw the curtains if Kerry were playing in his front lawn sure he was giving out to me last week for 'wasting' my time going up to Ennis to watch the Clare game. But come All-Ireland day he's there walking around Dublin with an All-Ireland ticket in his back pocket. I remember meeting up with him for a pint straight after the 2008 final, I was obviously crestfallen and he was laughing at me and couldn't understand why I was taking it so seriously! Salt in the wound or what!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/06/2017 10:25:15    2005478

perfect10 going to all the games you can is a true supporter - i though wexford had fine support there saturday - 30/40 fans for a football qualifier cross a lot of the country is damn good going - wanna see ye go further now

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/06/2017 10:39:41    2005496

Replying To janesboro:  "perfect10 going to all the games you can is a true supporter - i though wexford had fine support there saturday - 30/40 fans for a football qualifier cross a lot of the country is damn good going - wanna see ye go further now"
exactly,unfortunately i was working on saturday so couldnt go.i probably couldnt go anyway because the next priority was my family,my son had a blitz on saturday,etc,etc.
i will deffo go for the monaghan game,once i am not working.i love home/away,but only when we are at home or away to a county close to us!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/06/2017 10:47:42    2005506

In every county, be it hurling or football, there is maybe 2-3k people who go to every match, especially in the league. Depending on how good the team is, it can be a bit more or less.
I go to every hurling match Wexford play unless for some reason I cant, and I see the same faces at every match, especially early in the season and league matches.
But then again, my club benefits greatly from the ole ole brigade when we need a grant, and if you are a genuine fan going to every game you have a season ticket, so this nonsense of "oh I go to every game and then cant get a ticket for the final" doesn't wash with me any more.
And lets face it, we all have a sport where we join the bandwagon, I admit I do it for soccer and rugby. I have cost genuine supporters a ticket for big soccer and rugby matches and couldn't give a hoot about it. If I don't do it, somebody else probably will!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 26/06/2017 15:50:08    2005833

In every county, be it hurling or football, there is maybe 2-3k people who go to every match, especially in the league. Depending on how good the team is, it can be a bit more or less.
I go to every hurling match Wexford play unless for some reason I cant, and I see the same faces at every match, especially early in the season and league matches.
But then again, my club benefits greatly from the ole ole brigade when we need a grant, and if you are a genuine fan going to every game you have a season ticket, so this nonsense of "oh I go to every game and then cant get a ticket for the final" doesn't wash with me any more.
And lets face it, we all have a sport where we join the bandwagon, I admit I do it for soccer and rugby. I have cost genuine supporters a ticket for big soccer and rugby matches and couldn't give a hoot about it. If I don't do it, somebody else probably will!
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts:3732 - 26/06/2017 15:50:08
There isnt a bandwagon. You are either a supporter of a team or you dont support them. You didnt cost anyone a ticket by choosing to go to a game as if they wanted one they could. Dismissing people who dont go to all games as ole ole brigade is extremely arrogant. You can be a very "genuine fan" and not have a season ticket.
What is a genuine fan any way? Is their actions when at a game different to someone else?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/06/2017 16:52:33    2005885