Support Rant

Replying To tearintom:  "I tell ye what's even more annoying.

The county superfan who wouldn't as much as buy a €2 lotto ticket to support their local club.

Also this superfan approach of I deserve more because I go to every match up and down the country blah blah blah gets on my goat. Of course ye do it's easy for people who don't have to worry about things like family, kids, work, expense etc with handouts of free travel etc.

Same lads would poison the local club becaus they weren't picked one day in an u12 match when they were flying in training!"
Hang on there a minute lad. Firstly I dont go to many club games cause I live outside of my county. Yes I do go to every O'Byrne league Leinster and championship (missed 1 this year in Ennis due to christening) was in cork. A home game for me is 100km round trip. There is no public transport between Westmeath and Meath. So couldn't get one even if I tried. Also I bring my kids , (and trust me I have a lot of them) to majority of games ny 10yo hasn't missed a game in 2 years. I drive I buy my tickets I buy the jerseys. Like anyone the GAA is a expensive hobby. I am lucky enough that I don't really drink anymore (haven't had a pint in well over two years, I gave up smoking as it was killing me. Meath football is my passion. Now yes i really enjoyed cilles run this year and went to as many Leinster club game and all ire run as I could, did I see them in Meath championship? Twice including final.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2017 09:00:46    2004625

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Ormond
Yes you are a bandwagoner if you bothered to only go to 4/5 games and all been knockout games but choose not to attend other games as they weren't as important. That don't make you a hard-core supporter so yes you would be not as much of a supporter as somebody who choose to attend Munster matches ball rain or snow in both competition's
how do you not see that
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12237 - 24/06/2017 16:36:26
that is such a childish argument. Many people cant afford to go or have other commitments so cant attend every week and you are very arrogant to say you are better because you attend more often. I support munster when i can. I go to games when i can. I watch all their games but cant physically attend their games because of other commitments.
Attending games doesnt make you a bigger supporter than someone who doesnt."
It kind of those when you said you only went to knockout games and didnt go to any others, how come you suddenly were able to attend those games ? Why didn't you choose to support them from at home then? Was it because they were the games that only mattered to you? If somebody else went to all the games and you didn't do you think you deserve a ticket over that person?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2017 09:26:50    2004631

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hang on there a minute lad. Firstly I dont go to many club games cause I live outside of my county. Yes I do go to every O'Byrne league Leinster and championship (missed 1 this year in Ennis due to christening) was in cork. A home game for me is 100km round trip. There is no public transport between Westmeath and Meath. So couldn't get one even if I tried. Also I bring my kids , (and trust me I have a lot of them) to majority of games ny 10yo hasn't missed a game in 2 years. I drive I buy my tickets I buy the jerseys. Like anyone the GAA is a expensive hobby. I am lucky enough that I don't really drink anymore (haven't had a pint in well over two years, I gave up smoking as it was killing me. Meath football is my passion. Now yes i really enjoyed cilles run this year and went to as many Leinster club game and all ire run as I could, did I see them in Meath championship? Twice including final."
I don't think you are in the category he is talking about as you said before you were involved in coaching in the club down where you live? So you would be involved in GAA at club level if that's the case. Some people skip the club and just do the county thing.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 25/06/2017 09:36:12    2004637

Attending games doesnt make you a bigger supporter than someone who doesnt.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:13070 - 25/06/2017 00:25:45 

I like NFL - where my team is the cleveland browns - never been to cleveland no intention of going there but i do watch any browns games on telly/internet and cheer for them

I also love gaa and do all hurling and football chamionship games , yep even tracelled north to cheer on footballers v tyrone and antrim. And most league games inc some away ones
and i do a lot of club gaes

SO by your reckoning i am as ardent/hardcore a browns fan than a limerick fan!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 09:45:43    2004638

Ormond - Many people cant afford to go

i actually think you are correct -however when i complain about people not being able to afford to go to games because of price giving ex

you give me this ould "ah sure it all has to be paid for" nonsense and tell me €10 for junior hurling is great value and come up with the comical "why not go to less games" (i buy a club season ticket -€100 gets me into all limerick club games brilliant value)

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 10:00:00    2004641

I seriously don't know what enjoyment premiership fans can get out of supporting their teams, most of whom probably couldn't pick out the city they're playing for on a map - "my bunch of foreign multi-millionaires beat your bunch of foreign multi-millionaires" - wow, big deal. And the players have zero interaction with the fans, they live in big gated mansions away from society. I always find it particularly sad when I see young premiership fans hanging outside their team's training ground looking for autographs only for their "heroes" to speed past them in blacked out sports cars. Nah, couldn't follow that shite. Thank God I'm a GAA fan.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 25/06/2017 10:00:18    2004642

Replying To ballydalane:  "I seriously don't know what enjoyment premiership fans can get out of supporting their teams, most of whom probably couldn't pick out the city they're playing for on a map - "my bunch of foreign multi-millionaires beat your bunch of foreign multi-millionaires" - wow, big deal. And the players have zero interaction with the fans, they live in big gated mansions away from society. I always find it particularly sad when I see young premiership fans hanging outside their team's training ground looking for autographs only for their "heroes" to speed past them in blacked out sports cars. Nah, couldn't follow that shite. Thank God I'm a GAA fan."
Good man, I taught I was the only one that doesn't follow that English soccer, I hate to see young people wearing English soccer jersey s instead of their club or county gear

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 25/06/2017 10:26:14    2004652

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "I don't think you are in the category he is talking about as you said before you were involved in coaching in the club down where you live? So you would be involved in GAA at club level if that's the case. Some people skip the club and just do the county thing."
I do underage coaching and in that sense I am gone native :). As I would dearly love my Westmeath club to win a all ire.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2017 10:30:27    2004654

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hang on there a minute lad. Firstly I dont go to many club games cause I live outside of my county. Yes I do go to every O'Byrne league Leinster and championship (missed 1 this year in Ennis due to christening) was in cork. A home game for me is 100km round trip. There is no public transport between Westmeath and Meath. So couldn't get one even if I tried. Also I bring my kids , (and trust me I have a lot of them) to majority of games ny 10yo hasn't missed a game in 2 years. I drive I buy my tickets I buy the jerseys. Like anyone the GAA is a expensive hobby. I am lucky enough that I don't really drink anymore (haven't had a pint in well over two years, I gave up smoking as it was killing me. Meath football is my passion. Now yes i really enjoyed cilles run this year and went to as many Leinster club game and all ire run as I could, did I see them in Meath championship? Twice including final."
And your local club where your 10 year old plays, do you support that club where possible?

That's the point I'm making.

If someone can and wants to go to every county game in the country I say fair play to them. For example I would have loved to go down to limerick yesterday for our football qualifier, have a lot of friends down that way and would have been a perfect excuse, however my club was running a blitz yesterday which I was involved in and I train and coach an underage team that was playing last night.

Does that make me a bandwagoner if I go to less county games because I'm more involved with my club than I would have been when I was just playing. According to some on here apparently it does.

Yet I know of plenty of people who wouldn't buy a €2 lotto ticket to support their clubs but lecture all and sundry about the county team and how many games they go to.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1342 - 25/06/2017 11:15:59    2004680

The "you aren't a bigger fan because you attend games" logic is ridiculous. If someone has a reason to not attend games, then fair enough, but If you follow your team up and down the country, id argue your a bigger fan, than someone who couldn't be bothered to attend games.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 25/06/2017 11:49:44    2004694

It kind of those when you said you only went to knockout games and didnt go to any others, how come you suddenly were able to attend those games ? Why didn't you choose to support them from at home then? Was it because they were the games that only mattered to you? If somebody else went to all the games and you didn't do you think you deserve a ticket over that person?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12238 - 25/06/2017 09:26:50
There is no way you can say fans are more deserving of tickets to games. Does a man who goes to every one of their counties league games have more of a right to a ticket to their countys biggest championship games but isnt directly involved in a club through coaching etc than someone who can only attend their counties provincial and all ireland championship games because they are coaching teams when the league games are on?
I only have attended munsters biggest games or their games in Galway because i live, work, study or have been doing so for the past 4 years. I cant make it to Limerick/Cork for home games. I deserve a ticket to games as i put in and have put in so many hours in coaching kids, working on my club committees..

I like NFL - where my team is the cleveland browns - never been to cleveland no intention of going there but i do watch any browns games on telly/internet and cheer for them
I also love gaa and do all hurling and football chamionship games , yep even tracelled north to cheer on footballers v tyrone and antrim. And most league games inc some away ones
SO by your reckoning i am as ardent/hardcore a browns fan than a limerick fan!!!!!
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:1382 - 25/06/2017 09:45:43
ridiculous argument from you. Its impossible to quantify support.

i actually think you are correct -however when i complain about people not being able to afford to go to games because of price giving ex
you give me this ould "ah sure it all has to be paid for" nonsense and tell me €10 for junior hurling is great value and come up with the comical "why not go to less games" (i buy a club season ticket -€100 gets me into all limerick club games brilliant value)
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:1382 - 25/06/2017 10:00:00
you have a hard on for complaining about junior club games being 10€. That is fine value for an hour plus entertainment. You would spend much more than that to go to cinema or other foms of entertainment.

I seriously don't know what enjoyment premiership fans can get out of supporting their teams, most of whom probably couldn't pick out the city they're playing for on a map - "my bunch of foreign multi-millionaires beat your bunch of foreign multi-millionaires" - wow, big deal. And the players have zero interaction with the fans, they live in big gated mansions away from society. I always find it particularly sad when I see young premiership fans hanging outside their team's training ground looking for autographs only for their "heroes" to speed past them in blacked out sports cars. Nah, couldn't follow that shite. Thank God I'm a GAA fan.
ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts:492 - 25/06/2017 10:00:18
Dont be such a snob. So you dont get enjoyment from premiership but thousands do and you are quite wrong to say players have zero interaction with fans.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/06/2017 15:21:57    2004755

Always think it funny to hear some supporters who don't go to the league games as the say the can't afford it yet the have no problems coming up with the 80 euro for a all ireland final and may even stay up in an overpriced hotel in dublin the weekend of the final.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 25/06/2017 18:35:55    2004892

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Let me preface this by saying that I know every county has it's bandwagon support. It's also not easy or cheap for that matter getting the whole family to games etc. But this has really been irritating me the more I think of it all week.

On Monday at work while dissecting the carnage we saw in Clones last Sunday and reflecting on the qualifier draw one of the lads said something along the lines of, "well that team (Donegal) is nowhere near ready and will be winning nothing anytime soon. I won't be going near another game for the foreseeable"

Yet the same boy, a Liverpool fan, will spout shite all the live long day about his beloved Red men who haven't won a Championship in 27 odd years. He'll be heard giving it the "we're in to sign this lad or that lad, we had too many injuries etc etc" He'll be over to Anfield at least twice next season throwing his money at the Premier League machine. All for a team whose marketing department really and truly just considers him another consumer of their 'product'.

Now don't get me wrong, I follow the Premier League as closely as anyone but I came to the conclusion years ago that it wasn't something to get seriously upset over if the team I follow (Newcastle) weren't going well. And let's face it I'd have been in a pretty bad place a good few times if I did!

Supporting your county is totally different. You're from there. Born and bred. I'm lucky enough to be still living in mine. Gaelic Games are part of our DNA. These men train like pro's and are under more scrutiny than ever. (I personally think we've reached saturation point with the analysis, podcasts etc). The point is they deserve better support than supposed fans dimissing them out of hand after a bad day at the office.

I'll be in Ballybofey this day week hoping to see our lads bounce back against Longford and our younger men especially to better demonstrate their massive potential and talent. Just hope the majority of our support are thinking the same.

Tír Chonnail abú!"
Totally agree with you, I'm a proud wicklow supporter and noatter what I'd never turn my back on them.

That gets me when people who say "sure I'm not going there doing brutal" or "I wouldn't go and watch them useless so and so's" sorry but that's not an excuse, support them during the good and the bad.

Yes sometimes we get frustrated at the results but these players are human, they have lives off that field, who knows what they could be feeling likes of financial pressure, work stress or injuries and at the end of the day it is voluntary for them to come, they get very little from it aside from maybe a bit of gear and if there lucky enough to get any success.

WW9 (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 25/06/2017 20:27:09    2005019

ridiculous argument from you. Its impossible to quantify support. -ormo

eh attendance figures!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 20:39:58    2005041

Supporting a team is supposed to be an enjoyable experience. But some people on here make it sound more like a pilgrimage. Going to every single game, o Byrne cup, McKenna cup, Walsh cup etc. Sometimes it's much more enjoyable to watch your county on tv - i enjoy the half time analysis as well. It's not always possible to go to a lot of games during the year. That doesn't automatically make you a worse (or better) fan than the person who goes to every game. A lot of people go to games as much for the social aspect as anything else. They mightn't have a clue about the game at all. Each to their own but don't be on your high horse because you go to every game. Not missing a day of school doesn't make you a good student.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 25/06/2017 21:19:45    2005085

Replying To royaldunne:  "I do underage coaching and in that sense I am gone native :). As I would dearly love my Westmeath club to win a all ire."
Did a bit myself. We have probably crossed swords at some stage.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 25/06/2017 22:21:33    2005153

Replying To janesboro:  "Attending games doesnt make you a bigger supporter than someone who doesnt.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:13070 - 25/06/2017 00:25:45 

SO by your reckoning i am as ardent/hardcore a browns fan than a limerick fan!!!!!"
hmmmm i seem to be getting a lot of 3 dislikes --seems to me either

- 3 people dont like me - fair enough
or most likely ormo boy has two aliases or doppledangers to diss me

youve heard of the three amigos the three muskateers the three degrees the three stoogies the three tenors - now you have the three ormos!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 23:28:59    2005231

was about 30/40 wexford fans at game yesterday -diehard the lot of em , shocking poor limerick support though

the best support i ever saw was at limerick v armagh div 3 game two years ago in kilmallock i couldnt get over the very sizeable armagh support there which was amazing considering the distance and that a trip to kilmallock to play limerick in div 3 is not the most glamourous fixture - the armagh supporters was noisy, good humoured, good natured and got behind their team -they were a credit to the county -

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 23:37:45    2005241

The hard-core are the ones who go to as many games home and away as they can and would even miss a wedding to see their county playing or plan their holiday not to miss a championship game.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12244 - 24/06/2017 19:51:35

easy for ye dubs fans to plan hols ye know ye will be in provincial final, quarter final, semi and final !!
ye know the dates and venues ye will be playing in well in advance!!!

easy for limerick too we know we will be gone come august!!!!!
-our 21s and minors though may have something to say about that though!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 23:46:07    2005251

Supporting a team is supposed to be an enjoyable experience. But some people on here make it sound more like a pilgrimage.
HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts:92 - 25/06/2017 21:19:45 2005085

i do almost all limerick championship games hurling and football inc minors and 21s a lot of leagues games too, club games, not a pilgrimage love doing it great fun, do same during rugby season for musnter and young munster love doing it kids love it too, missus glad to have back of me for a bit - or tag along and go shopping - played both for years and now coaching in both which i enjoy to th ehilt

nothing worse when youve suffered a bad defeat to be comforted by the missus telling me what rubbish she/we have bought in ikea!!!

can be a bit crap at times hate watching all irelands coz i do be jealous out and im there wondering what it would be like if we ever won it and wondering if we ever will -but it aint life or death its just sport and its addictive and very enjoyable

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 23:53:19    2005260