Support Rant

Ormond
Yes you are a bandwagoner if you bothered to only go to 4/5 games and all been knockout games but choose not to attend other games as they weren't as important. That don't make you a hard-core supporter so yes you would be not as much of a supporter as somebody who choose to attend Munster matches ball rain or snow in both competition's
how do you not see that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/06/2017 16:36:26    2004336

After Mayo hammered Donegal in 2013, I got into a Facebook argument with a random stranger who was demanding an 'inquest' into how Donegal performed so badly on the day. 'Not good enough for the supporters who paid good money to watch that, we need to know what happened in training, blah blah blah..'

I'm guessing he wasn't around much before 2011

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 24/06/2017 17:23:48    2004347

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "I would say bandwagoners are those who show up all kitted out when the team starts going on a bit of a run in the championship then you don't hear from them for a year or two. I know a couple of these anyway. Personally I used to go to nearly every League game and every championship game. Now I can't do that but still attend regularly enough. After a while you recognise the faces of those who are regularly at the matches. These are the die hard supporters in my opinion. Don't think it's an all or nothing situation. Those living abroad are obviously excused.
Bandwagoners aren't really interested in the sport. They want to be there for the occasion then they move on to Robbie Williams or the Rugby etc etc etc"
Ya,I get why those abroad couldn't be included.
I suppose it's more a commitment thing then.If you're only bothered to go to the bigger games you might be genuinely interested but not committed.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/06/2017 17:48:15    2004359

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "I would say bandwagoners are those who show up all kitted out when the team starts going on a bit of a run in the championship then you don't hear from them for a year or two. I know a couple of these anyway. Personally I used to go to nearly every League game and every championship game. Now I can't do that but still attend regularly enough. After a while you recognise the faces of those who are regularly at the matches. These are the die hard supporters in my opinion. Don't think it's an all or nothing situation. Those living abroad are obviously excused.
Bandwagoners aren't really interested in the sport. They want to be there for the occasion then they move on to Robbie Williams or the Rugby etc etc etc"
Ya,I get why those abroad couldn't be included.
I suppose it's more a commitment thing then.If you're only bothered to go to the bigger games you might be genuinely interested but not committed.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/06/2017 17:48:47    2004361

Perfect example in Newstalk radio today of media jumping on the bandwagin. There they were praising the Lions game and the great try Sean OBrien scored. Had a brief chat after Wexford beat Limerick and calllec the game dire despite not even seeing it. Time to be more lost over about our own national games which are superior than rugby in my opinion. The Lions is the perfect example of overdhyped commercial nonience in sport.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 24/06/2017 17:56:14    2004364

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Ormond
Yes you are a bandwagoner if you bothered to only go to 4/5 games and all been knockout games but choose not to attend other games as they weren't as important. That don't make you a hard-core supporter so yes you would be not as much of a supporter as somebody who choose to attend Munster matches ball rain or snow in both competition's
how do you not see that"
Would agree and people who go to the earlier rounds can't get tickets for the bigger games because Johnny come lately knows someone and get the tickets instead. I think counties like donegal and mayo attract support over a few years when the are going well but lose that if things arent going as well

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 24/06/2017 18:07:06    2004372

how do you not see that"
Surely if you're not a hard-core supporter that doesn't make you a bandwagoner? The middle ground is the majority of GAA supporters I reckon.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7347 - 24/06/2017 18:12:51    2004375

I tell ye what's even more annoying.

The county superfan who wouldn't as much as buy a €2 lotto ticket to support their local club.

Also this superfan approach of I deserve more because I go to every match up and down the country blah blah blah gets on my goat. Of course ye do it's easy for people who don't have to worry about things like family, kids, work, expense etc with handouts of free travel etc.

Same lads would poison the local club becaus they weren't picked one day in an u12 match when they were flying in training!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 24/06/2017 18:23:36    2004379

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Let me preface this by saying that I know every county has it's bandwagon support. It's also not easy or cheap for that matter getting the whole family to games etc. But this has really been irritating me the more I think of it all week.

On Monday at work while dissecting the carnage we saw in Clones last Sunday and reflecting on the qualifier draw one of the lads said something along the lines of, "well that team (Donegal) is nowhere near ready and will be winning nothing anytime soon. I won't be going near another game for the foreseeable"

Yet the same boy, a Liverpool fan, will spout shite all the live long day about his beloved Red men who haven't won a Championship in 27 odd years. He'll be heard giving it the "we're in to sign this lad or that lad, we had too many injuries etc etc" He'll be over to Anfield at least twice next season throwing his money at the Premier League machine. All for a team whose marketing department really and truly just considers him another consumer of their 'product'.

Now don't get me wrong, I follow the Premier League as closely as anyone but I came to the conclusion years ago that it wasn't something to get seriously upset over if the team I follow (Newcastle) weren't going well. And let's face it I'd have been in a pretty bad place a good few times if I did!

Supporting your county is totally different. You're from there. Born and bred. I'm lucky enough to be still living in mine. Gaelic Games are part of our DNA. These men train like pro's and are under more scrutiny than ever. (I personally think we've reached saturation point with the analysis, podcasts etc). The point is they deserve better support than supposed fans dimissing them out of hand after a bad day at the office.

I'll be in Ballybofey this day week hoping to see our lads bounce back against Longford and our younger men especially to better demonstrate their massive potential and talent. Just hope the majority of our support are thinking the same.

Tír Chonnail abú!"
Totally agree. I follow the premiership but never get upset about it. I love Galway football. Always have. Always will.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 24/06/2017 18:23:45    2004380

how do you not see that"
Totally agree with you Hill.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/06/2017 18:35:24    2004384

Replying To tearintom:  "I tell ye what's even more annoying.

The county superfan who wouldn't as much as buy a €2 lotto ticket to support their local club.

Also this superfan approach of I deserve more because I go to every match up and down the country blah blah blah gets on my goat. Of course ye do it's easy for people who don't have to worry about things like family, kids, work, expense etc with handouts of free travel etc.

Same lads would poison the local club becaus they weren't picked one day in an u12 match when they were flying in training!"
lol, my parents managed to drag us all over the country with 5 kids for 20 years with no handouts, you are either a fan or a bandwagoner.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 24/06/2017 18:55:13    2004395

Replying To yew_tree:  "Bandwagon fans annoy me too but without them you would have half full Croke Park for All Ireland final day.

This new generation with their selfie sticks, instagram, twitter and Facebook profiles love to be seen at the big game to let everybody know how great their life is..."look at me" brigade"
The funniest one was when Jedward were playing at half time in Croke park during a Dublin game, I think it was a league game.

There were not even bandwagon GAA supporters there it was Jedward fans!
The little Jedward fans could not wait until the half time was over so they could see Jedward.

Then there was a fairly large exodus of families with kids in tow leaving Croke Park after it Jedward's half time was over.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 24/06/2017 19:13:18    2004401

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Surely if you're not a hard-core supporter that doesn't make you a bandwagoner? The middle ground is the majority of GAA supporters I reckon."
Yeah there are definitely layers of GAA supporter

People who can only name the well known players at county level and wander along when there is a glamour tie.

People who know the main stay of the county team and others can name fellas who are liable to break into the starting eleven in the county panel.

Others can rattle of the minor county team big names, or better still name them all and the fellas they think should be playing instead.

After that you are down to real hardcore fellas who are broken into the subsets of supporter as the country

I think the majority of GAA supporters only know of new county players when the championship comes around and just know the mainstays of the team.

Each to thier own. But it is annoying if you go to all the games and are struggling to get tickets for a semi-final/AI final

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 24/06/2017 19:24:02    2004402

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Surely if you're not a hard-core supporter that doesn't make you a bandwagoner? The middle ground is the majority of GAA supporters I reckon."
Well There's a clear difference let's say in a county supporter who goes to all the counties home league games and home championship matches or within an hour drive, compared to somebody who decides not to attend any league or provincial championship games and come august decides I will go to the all ireland quarter final because it is a big game now il bother to go.
The first person example is where the majority of county gaa supporters would rank from my experience then you would have the second person example as the bandwagon supporter.
The hard-core are the ones who go to as many games home and away as they can and would even miss a wedding to see their county playing or plan their holiday not to miss a championship game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/06/2017 19:51:35    2004417

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "The funniest one was when Jedward were playing at half time in Croke park during a Dublin game, I think it was a league game.

There were not even bandwagon GAA supporters there it was Jedward fans!
The little Jedward fans could not wait until the half time was over so they could see Jedward.

Then there was a fairly large exodus of families with kids in tow leaving Croke Park after it Jedward's half time was over."
That's completely fabricated gorm
I didn't see any large gaps in the stand after half time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/06/2017 19:56:07    2004418

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "Yeah there are definitely layers of GAA supporter

People who can only name the well known players at county level and wander along when there is a glamour tie.

People who know the main stay of the county team and others can name fellas who are liable to break into the starting eleven in the county panel.

Others can rattle of the minor county team big names, or better still name them all and the fellas they think should be playing instead.

After that you are down to real hardcore fellas who are broken into the subsets of supporter as the country

I think the majority of GAA supporters only know of new county players when the championship comes around and just know the mainstays of the team.

Each to thier own. But it is annoying if you go to all the games and are struggling to get tickets for a semi-final/AI final"
The starting eleven ?

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 24/06/2017 21:06:22    2004473

With the GAA its not clear cut, I would see most county Ladies Football, Hurling and Camogie matches from Minor up. I go to occasional Men's County football games - probably give away more tickets so I guess that makes me a Dublin Football bandwagon supporter but I attend far more county games than most people.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 24/06/2017 21:21:44    2004484

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Well There's a clear difference let's say in a county supporter who goes to all the counties home league games and home championship matches or within an hour drive, compared to somebody who decides not to attend any league or provincial championship games and come august decides I will go to the all ireland quarter final because it is a big game now il bother to go.
The first person example is where the majority of county gaa supporters would rank from my experience then you would have the second person example as the bandwagon supporter.
The hard-core are the ones who go to as many games home and away as they can and would even miss a wedding to see their county playing or plan their holiday not to miss a championship game."
There definitely is a difference between someone who goes to all the league and championship games at home and away and the January leagues, plus challenges plus underage , hardcores and bandwagoners that turn up in Croke Park because their county got through to Croker, and it's cool, definitely. Usually the bandwagoner hasn't much GAA knowledge and even less of their county players.

In between both levels I think is where most supporters sit, or stand. I reckon where you are on the scale varies depends on single/married status, if your partner has any interest in GAA, kids, money, where you live in proximity to county and a good few other factors.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7347 - 24/06/2017 21:34:44    2004491

I remember in 2005 when Galway played Cork in the All Ireland hurling final, tickets were in fierce demand and I was lucky to get one for Hill 16. A middle aged Galway man was standing beside me and we got talking. "Did you find it hard to get a ticket?" says he to me, and I replied "Yes, I was lucky to get one".
" I had awful trouble too" says he to me, " all I could get was this terrace ticket."

A couple of minutes later, he pointed to his right and asked " What's that called over there?" I told him it was the Hogan Stand. Then he pointed to his left and asked me what that was called. Told him, the Cusack Stand. And then he asked me " Where are we standing now?" Hill 16.
We didn't get into discussing the finer points of hurling after that!!!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 24/06/2017 22:56:54    2004553

Ormond
how do you not see that
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12237 - 24/06/2017 16:36:26
that is such a childish argument. Many people cant afford to go or have other commitments so cant attend every week and you are very arrogant to say you are better because you attend more often. I support munster when i can. I go to games when i can. I watch all their games but cant physically attend their games because of other commitments.
Attending games doesnt make you a bigger supporter than someone who doesnt.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/06/2017 00:25:45    2004589