Things you're unlikely to hear in the GAA

At every Club dinner dance throughout the Country:

And this years Senior/Reserve/Minor/U16/U14/U12/U10/U8 (delete as appropriate) Footballer of the year doesn't go to my son but to.......

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/06/2017 09:34:26    2002940

There won't be a cow milked in Kilkenny after this Leinster hurling title....

He would be the first name on the Dublin football teamsheet, why is he playing with the hurlers?

I love Quinns after a game, so quiet and calm and ventilated.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/06/2017 09:36:28    2002941

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Unfair re Cyril
He actually has a gra for the football, i remember a few years back he was the studio for a hurlng game which was abandoned. They showed a football game instead and Cyril stepped in for studio analysis

Tomas Mulcahy now on the other hand, and Pete Finnerty....those boys would be very anti football"
Liam hate to disappoint you but Tomás Mulcahy played senior football for Cork in the 1986 Munster Football Final

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 21/06/2017 10:09:13    2002955

Replying To The_Bull:  "Liam hate to disappoint you but Tomás Mulcahy played senior football for Cork in the 1986 Munster Football Final"
I am aware of that Bull, point still stands
He has said some very derogatory things in the past re football
So has another dual player Michael Duignan

Not all cork hurling people are like that tho, Dennis Walsh and The Rock would be two in particular that would curb that trend.
but tomas seems very bitter

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/06/2017 12:07:45    2003000

and meath have won their 8th all ireland :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/06/2017 12:18:15    2003008

Replying To ballydalane:  "Not so much a sentence you'll never hear in the GAA but an entire dialogue:

(Sunday Game All-Ireland football night)

Des Cahill - "And we can go over to Michael Lyster who's in the Burlington hotel with the victorious Mayo team"

Michael Lyster - "Thanks Des. I'm joined by Mayo manager Stephen Rochford and captain Cillian O'Connor. Tell me lads, do ye ever get tired of winning All-Irelands in Mayo? Can ye let someone else win it for a change?"

Stephen Rochford - "Ha ha Michael, you never get tired of winning All-Irelands. We know there was probably 31 counties cheering for Dublin today but we blocked all of that out and focused on the job at hand. We just approached it like any other match, we weren't thinking about the 10-in-a-row.""
You could have packed it in after the Des Cahill line. The rest was just self indulgence.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/06/2017 12:42:13    2003026

Before Club game:

lads do you need me to do umpire or line for youse?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/06/2017 12:48:11    2003029

Replying To catch22:  "1.Dublin are struggling to get
funds at the minute.
2.Kerry will have it tough in
Munster this year.
3.Kilkenny are shagged.
4.Tipp will do back to back.
5.Tyrone are not cynical.
6.Mayo to win it again next year."
We'll see. Tipp will eventually do back to back again. The bookies have us as the most likely to stop Galway.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/06/2017 14:00:00    2003064

that new hurling structure really looks after the weaker counties and gives them their chance in Croke Park on the big hurling days

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 21/06/2017 14:25:57    2003083

Replying To Killarney.87:  "We'll see. Tipp will eventually do back to back again. The bookies have us as the most likely to stop Galway."
I'm sure you will Killarney. It's just , for a county so steeped in hurling ye don't seem to do it often enough. I know it's not easy but ye should have done it more often for me.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/06/2017 14:28:27    2003086

He's just the latest in a long line of scoring forwards produced in Mayo.
Ex Dublin player claims there's a vendetta against Lee Keegan.
None of this Kerry senior panel have played before in Croke Park.
Of course we'll offer them a replay, in fairness that last goal of ours shouldn't have stood.
Tickets for the Railway Cup final in Croke Park are sold out.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/06/2017 14:52:41    2003098

"And there's not a bit of a sea breeze at all here in Salthill today."

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 21/06/2017 15:10:48    2003104

"The ref did a good job today and was in no way to blame for our defeat".
"We accept the referee's decision to send off our full-back. It was the correct call".

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 21/06/2017 15:28:48    2003107

This current Kerry, Dublin etc. team would destroy the Kerry, Dublin etc. team of the 60's, 70's etc.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 21/06/2017 16:02:07    2003123

And the winner of the All Ireland senior football championship of (insert current year) is Mayo

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 21/06/2017 16:02:48    2003124

"Well Hill 16 is packed with the boys in blue in great voice here before throw in, and there's still 10 minutes left in the big english premier league match between Liverpool and Manchester United."

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 21/06/2017 17:29:12    2003175

Croke Park have indicated that next years All Ireland football final will be played in Salthill.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 21/06/2017 17:56:59    2003184

"And the 'Jackeens' are livin' up to their much loved nickname, they've just unfurled a huge Union Jack on Hill 16". It says 'Dubs 4 Brexit'.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/06/2017 18:18:55    2003190

Manchester United. All Ireland Hurling champions!

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 21/06/2017 18:47:04    2003198

"It's only fair that we're out of the Championship after being comprehensively beaten in our last 2 games. It's not a flaw in a knockout competitions format that strong teams progress and weak teams are eliminated"

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 22/06/2017 01:20:15    2003343