Roscommon v Leitrim

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Ah don't be making the old weather excuse now. It wasn't the weather, it was the styles of play. I remember a Kerry-Galway quarter final (2008 I think) a few years back that had ten times worse weather and it was one of the best games in the recent past."
Not excuse but a fact. Such a reply i presume a hurling snob like yourself has never attended a game in Salthill. I was at both of those games Galway v Kerry have just heavy showers the problem in Salthill is the wind and not a suitable venue for any games!

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/06/2017 16:31:18    2000633

Four teams have already knocked out of the All-Ireland championship before Roscommon have even kicked a ball. Another imbalance in the current set-up.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 17/06/2017 20:19:58    2000693

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Ah don't be making the old weather excuse now. It wasn't the weather, it was the styles of play. I remember a Kerry-Galway quarter final (2008 I think) a few years back that had ten times worse weather and it was one of the best games in the recent past."
I suppose you have forgotten that wonderful game of football between Dubs and Donegal a few years back in perfect conditions in croke pk,
or have you selective amnesia?

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 17/06/2017 23:06:48    2000814

Replying To bennybunny:  "Good reply. To be fair though, he might have been taking the mick but at least he wasn't being patronizing. Ye are where ye are. Ye have a young team in Division 4. Ye won the connacht junior championship. Waterford nearly beat Cork. A poor division 4 side against an average division 2 side. There are hopeful signs. Roscommon will win though."
Fair play Benny. And a great response from that Leitrim lad (also great to see they finally have the Internet up their. Welcome my Leitrim friends!). And to be honest I'm surprised my comment only got two 'dislikes'. Lord knows it deserved more! Truth is I'd love to see all the Connacht counties be more competitive but simple demographics are against us. With the lowest level of government investment of all the provinces year in and year out, high rural unemployment and emigration, the likes of Leitrim wIll constantly on the hind thingy. Especially as we see the bigger counties and the money they can attract from sponsors only increase the gulf as they become more and more professional in their approach. I was listening to something the other day about the resources available to the Dublin senior hurlers and it was insane. A former Galway senior hurler who was on the same interview was clearly rattled by what he heard. I can't even imagine the disparity that must exist between the likes of longford, Leitrim, etc. etc.

Anyhow, rant over and best of luck to both teams. I actually have a lot of friends in Manorhamilton and would love to see them over come the Rossies.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/06/2017 01:05:38    2000918

Replying To giveballaghback:  "I suppose you have forgotten that wonderful game of football between Dubs and Donegal a few years back in perfect conditions in croke pk,
or have you selective amnesia?"
No I remember the 2011 Dublin Donegal match all right. It indeed was a terrible game-one of the worst ever. But that doesn't make last year's Connacht final good.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 18/06/2017 01:42:19    2000926

Replying To Yondu:  "Not excuse but a fact. Such a reply i presume a hurling snob like yourself has never attended a game in Salthill. I was at both of those games Galway v Kerry have just heavy showers the problem in Salthill is the wind and not a suitable venue for any games!"
Ok so what you're saying is that there has never been a good game in salthill when it's windy? It was a terrible game - fact. Wind has no effect when 90% of the passes are 5 yard handpasses.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 18/06/2017 01:48:31    2000927

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Ok so what you're saying is that there has never been a good game in salthill when it's windy? It was a terrible game - fact. Wind has no effect when 90% of the passes are 5 yard handpasses."
Lookit both teams would have been wasting their time trying to kick the ball on that very windy day in that Connacht final seeing was believing and its true Salthill is a wnd tunnel even on a good day.

Good win for the rossies today but to be honest i still don't know if we have improved or Leitrim got worse from last year. Galway will be the big favourties for Connacht final but hopefully we give it out best shot and see where it takes us.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 18/06/2017 19:57:06    2001342

Roscommon played in Div1 this year, Galway played in Div 2. even though they swapped div for next year, i can't see why everyone is making Galway clear favourites. Roscommon were not that far away in most of the games that they lost in Div 1. They knew from way back that they only had to beat Leitrim to be in the Connacht final and that they would be the last team to enter the championship (a rediculous situation), so they have been training towards a Connacht final, lucky them. I expect Roscommon to beat Galway.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/06/2017 08:50:40    2001578

Yea Galway are getting far too much credit

Toothless (Dublin) - Posts: 38 - 19/06/2017 08:57:42    2001580

Galway vs Roscommon will be very good game and I am looking forward to it always refreshing to have new upcoming teams in finals as it is usually a greta boost to their championship. BTW it must be very tough on Leitrim lads who gave it everything and I am amazed how those young men make huge sacrifices - hats off to them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 19/06/2017 09:17:52    2001594

Replying To Toothless:  "Yea Galway are getting far too much credit"
Maybe from neutrals but not within Galway. In fairness the national coverage post the win over Mayo was more about them losing rather than Galway winning. Look I agree with the general sentiment. 12 months ago Ros were slight favs going into the Connacht final and in all truth not a whole lot has changed. Galway to our credit have become better but the Ros demise is totally exaggerated. This match will be very close but I expect KW and our guys to anticipate a Ros onslaught. Don't forget we have some top quality footballers as well who will not be easily beaten and have developed physically to match any team around. If we manage to get out on the right side I feel we finally will open up and break our Croker championship hoodoo.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/06/2017 13:59:39    2001840

Replying To s goldrick:  "Roscommon played in Div1 this year, Galway played in Div 2. even though they swapped div for next year, i can't see why everyone is making Galway clear favourites. Roscommon were not that far away in most of the games that they lost in Div 1. They knew from way back that they only had to beat Leitrim to be in the Connacht final and that they would be the last team to enter the championship (a rediculous situation), so they have been training towards a Connacht final, lucky them. I expect Roscommon to beat Galway."
In fairness I would disagree that roscommon are lucky. We are the least prepared team in a provincial final. Not having had a competitive game since the championship

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 19/06/2017 18:19:48    2002032

Replying To Toothless:  "Yea Galway are getting far too much credit"
Are you suggesting that Ros could bate Mayo? Should be a good final, hard to call.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 19/06/2017 18:36:29    2002046

Replying To s goldrick:  "Roscommon played in Div1 this year, Galway played in Div 2. even though they swapped div for next year, i can't see why everyone is making Galway clear favourites. Roscommon were not that far away in most of the games that they lost in Div 1. They knew from way back that they only had to beat Leitrim to be in the Connacht final and that they would be the last team to enter the championship (a rediculous situation), so they have been training towards a Connacht final, lucky them. I expect Roscommon to beat Galway."
Roscommon were the first team to enter the championship last year(May day in New York) and the last team to enter the championship this year.Thanks for your vote of confidence but Galway at home again are clear favourites and are entitled to be.We live in hope though.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 19/06/2017 18:55:46    2002062

12 months ago Ros were slight favs going into the Connacht final and in all truth not a whole lot has changed.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts:1066 - 19/06/2017 13:59:39 2001840

Galway were slight Favs going into the Connacht final in Salthill last year Roscommon 11/10 Galway 10/11 was the odds. Right now going into Salthill its Galway 2/5 Roscommon 5/2. What has changed is 1. Galway and Roscommon have swapped places in the top two league Divisions and 2. Galway have added experienced players to their starting team and panel while we have lost a load of experience from our starting team and panel.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 19/06/2017 19:40:31    2002084

Mixed feelings on the win today. Every supporter wants their team to win and win well but no true GAA person likes to see a team take a bad beating. Leitrim are a better team than they showed yesterday. Mulligan was a huge loss to them and losing their midfielder (BC) and centre forward added to their difficulties as their panel is fairly light.
Difficult to know how Roscommon will fare out against a physically powerful Galway team. Weather conditions like yesterday would certainly be a big help

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/06/2017 20:06:39    2002086

even money on it being the windiest and wettest day in history next out

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 19/06/2017 21:07:46    2002127

Replying To The_analyser:  "12 months ago Ros were slight favs going into the Connacht final and in all truth not a whole lot has changed.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts:1066 - 19/06/2017 13:59:39 2001840

Galway were slight Favs going into the Connacht final in Salthill last year Roscommon 11/10 Galway 10/11 was the odds. Right now going into Salthill its Galway 2/5 Roscommon 5/2. What has changed is 1. Galway and Roscommon have swapped places in the top two league Divisions and 2. Galway have added experienced players to their starting team and panel while we have lost a load of experience from our starting team and panel."
Splitting hairs I guess. I recall in some quarters last year that Ros were shorter than us. Obviously things have changed to some degree but if anytning Ros are under less pressure than 12 months ago. Don't get me wrong this does not change the task ahead of ye but it may mean ye play with a bit more freedom. McStay said as much post the match yesterday. Either way this match will be very close.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/06/2017 21:25:59    2002143