Roscommon v Leitrim

This Sunday outsiders Leitrim look to deny Kevin McStay's Roscommon side back-to-back Connacht SFC final appearances. An upset would see Leitrim reach their first decider in 17 years.

This thread will be used to discuss the game at Hyde Park.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 13/06/2017 19:08:27    1999271

Replying To Administrator:  "This Sunday outsiders Leitrim look to deny Kevin McStay's Roscommon side back-to-back Connacht SFC final appearances. An upset would see Leitrim reach their first decider in 17 years.

This thread will be used to discuss the game at Hyde Park."
So this is the game where the "runner up" to Galway in this years Connacht championship is decided. No one gives the winner a prayer against the new kings of Connacht football.
After a strong Leitrim challenge which they always produce against the Rossies we should win with a few points to spare. Looking forward to the game and a good atmosphere as their usually is between these close neighbours.
May the best team win. Come on the Ros.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 13/06/2017 20:34:30    1999303

*PHEW*
I was really worried this game would be over looked. Potentially the game of the weekend, with some great players on both teams. Like yer man from Manorhamilton. And the other fella from the other town in Leitrim. Lovely county by the way, would highly recommend it for a visit. Beautiful scenery and some really stunning archaeology; notably some Elizabethan tower house types not commonly found west of the Shannon. Really an under-rated tourist destination that should get more attention. The total opposite to their current football team unfortunately.

Roscommon to win.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/06/2017 20:56:56    1999313

Replying To giveballaghback:  "So this is the game where the "runner up" to Galway in this years Connacht championship is decided. No one gives the winner a prayer against the new kings of Connacht football.
After a strong Leitrim challenge which they always produce against the Rossies we should win with a few points to spare. Looking forward to the game and a good atmosphere as their usually is between these close neighbours.
May the best team win. Come on the Ros."
You're right, no-one will give a prayer to whoever wins this game (Roscommon), but as anyone who watched the match the last day can tell you Galway are very vulnerable at the back, and went a significant portion of the game without scoring. I'm not going to say that Galway are there for the taking, but it's far from a done-deal. Whoever comes through this game (Roscommon) stands a great chance of winning, whoever they are (Roscommon).

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/06/2017 21:05:30    1999319

giveballaghback, agreed. Ye's will win, despite your end position in Division 1 and some positive shows (I think; I forget to be honest) from us in Division 4. Which is of course a pity because we're crying out for a win against an Irish-based team in the Connacht Championship, especially one against the Rossies. I have an event on this weekend so I won't be anywhere near Páirc Seán (or wherever it is). If I had nothing on though then I might have reconsidered. Looking forward to that one day in the future when Leitrim's league position suggests a competitive game against their home Connacht rivals. (And I don't live in Leitrim or else I might see them more often.)

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1048 - 13/06/2017 21:05:33    1999320

Roscommon are favourites of course and I expect them to win but look never rule anything out, I certainly don't think Roscommon are coming from a position where anything can be taken for granted. One would hope that the entire county, including former players, are behind the Rossies and that some of the divisive issues that have surfaced of late will abate. As for Leitrim they seemed a bit more progressive in the league and I hope they give a strong showing at least, their great support deserves no
less

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/06/2017 21:39:42    1999331

Roscommon should do the biz. They could give Galway a run in too. a few decent players there murtagh and co that could cause an upset in the final.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 14/06/2017 15:11:47    1999620

Galway forgot to collect the nestor Sunday so it'll be presented to them after Sunday's runner up match at the Hyde.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 14/06/2017 19:37:10    1999711

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Galway forgot to collect the nestor Sunday so it'll be presented to them after Sunday's runner up match at the Hyde."
Nice try bud! No-one in Galway will be writing off the Rossies.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/06/2017 20:05:26    1999719

Like the article says it comes with a health warning. But McStay is starting to put his squad through their paces in good time. They'll beat Leitrim and will give Galway a serious test in the Connacht Final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7375 - 14/06/2017 20:11:17    1999725

Am really looking forward to the game on Sunday. Don't know if we can beat Roscommon but I'm sure we'll give them a good rattle. Hope to see plenty of Leitrim support and a great atmosphere. Leitrim abú

Leitrimabu17 (Leitrim) - Posts: 18 - 16/06/2017 13:36:02    2000336

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Like the article says it comes with a health warning. But McStay is starting to put his squad through their paces in good time. They'll beat Leitrim and will give Galway a serious test in the Connacht Final."
Unless you are getting hammered out the gate i don't think anyone should read much in to challenges. Challenges regardless of the opposition are used to give all of the panel a run out and to improve the match fitness of first choice players. Any manager that picks his starting championship team based totally on the form within challenge games are really on to nothing.

As for this Sunday i'd expect a fairly comfortable win for the rossies something like 2-17 to 1-12.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3358 - 16/06/2017 17:42:52    2000437

Replying To festinog:  "*PHEW*
I was really worried this game would be over looked. Potentially the game of the weekend, with some great players on both teams. Like yer man from Manorhamilton. And the other fella from the other town in Leitrim. Lovely county by the way, would highly recommend it for a visit. Beautiful scenery and some really stunning archaeology; notably some Elizabethan tower house types not commonly found west of the Shannon. Really an under-rated tourist destination that should get more attention. The total opposite to their current football team unfortunately.

Roscommon to win."
Maybe after Sunday you'll have a better knowledge of Leitrim players!! A little bit of respect wouldn't go amiss from you. In the main for the last 30 years we've being fairly competitive against all our connacht neighbours including your own county . We've taken some hammerings but no more than many other counties , we're small in numbers but our spirit will never die. As for Sunday we've picked a young team with plenty of good footballers but Sunday is probably a few years too soon for them. Roscommon to win but it may be closer than expected. Best of luck lads.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 16/06/2017 18:25:21    2000450

The Rossies might only get over the line on Sunday by a few points but you can be guaranteed they have been eyeing July 9th from a long way out. One match and one performance with little pressure unlike last season. We will have to tighten up in several areas but I expect we know that already,

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1948 - 16/06/2017 19:37:33    2000473

Would love to see Leitrim win this. They're crying out for a championship win and they'd love to get it against their neighbours. If Roscommon do win as expected, I hope the Connacht final is better than the drawn game last year. That was the worst match I've seen since I can't remember when.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 17/06/2017 02:30:22    2000528

I'd like to see Leitrim win just because of the underdog!! Telling Year for Roscommon a win Sunday and you never know in a Connaught final they could surprise Galway.
I remember 1994 everyone was shouting for Leitrim no live TV Sunday games but remember having a battery powered Walkman FM radio in the back garden listening to the radio one coverage of Connaught final!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 17/06/2017 10:44:10    2000564

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Would love to see Leitrim win this. They're crying out for a championship win and they'd love to get it against their neighbours. If Roscommon do win as expected, I hope the Connacht final is better than the drawn game last year. That was the worst match I've seen since I can't remember when."
The awful weather conditions played a huge part in that contest last year, When the weather is bad no venue is worse than Salthill. Div 4 teams have fared well so far in the championship this summer. Waterford and Limerick lost by the narrowest of margins to div 2 sides and Carlow were holding their own against Dublin until they had a man sent off. Will be interesting to see how Leitrim fare tomorrow they nearly always give a good account of themselves in Hyde Park.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/06/2017 12:00:50    2000578

Id expect roscommon to win by 7+ but as stated above division four teams are well capable of giving one huge performance..i do think if we get the ball in fast to our full forward line it will do damage..we have 5 very good forwards and enda smith at mf is always worth a few scores..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1061 - 17/06/2017 13:40:01    2000596

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Maybe after Sunday you'll have a better knowledge of Leitrim players!! A little bit of respect wouldn't go amiss from you. In the main for the last 30 years we've being fairly competitive against all our connacht neighbours including your own county . We've taken some hammerings but no more than many other counties , we're small in numbers but our spirit will never die. As for Sunday we've picked a young team with plenty of good footballers but Sunday is probably a few years too soon for them. Roscommon to win but it may be closer than expected. Best of luck lads."
Good reply. To be fair though, he might have been taking the mick but at least he wasn't being patronizing. Ye are where ye are. Ye have a young team in Division 4. Ye won the connacht junior championship. Waterford nearly beat Cork. A poor division 4 side against an average division 2 side. There are hopeful signs. Roscommon will win though.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/06/2017 13:49:40    2000598

Replying To Yondu:  "The awful weather conditions played a huge part in that contest last year, When the weather is bad no venue is worse than Salthill. Div 4 teams have fared well so far in the championship this summer. Waterford and Limerick lost by the narrowest of margins to div 2 sides and Carlow were holding their own against Dublin until they had a man sent off. Will be interesting to see how Leitrim fare tomorrow they nearly always give a good account of themselves in Hyde Park."
Ah don't be making the old weather excuse now. It wasn't the weather, it was the styles of play. I remember a Kerry-Galway quarter final (2008 I think) a few years back that had ten times worse weather and it was one of the best games in the recent past.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 17/06/2017 14:21:10    2000610